Food & drink
Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Sugarfree Gum 35 g 35 g cardboard handy box
1 / 1 FrontFront photo matched to this barcode via Open Food Facts contributors. It is not evidence for the selected observation.
A 25-piece, 35 g cardboard Handy Box of Wrigley's Extra peppermint sugarfree chewing gum, sold in the United Kingdom.
Size & format
English label photographed in 2019 (blue Handy Box)[5]
Market not established · English · supported
Evidence reviewed
Context, dates & evidence notes · Other observations
- Evidence observed
- 2019-01-10
- Net content
- 35 g
- Pack
- cardboard handy box
- Pieces
- 25
Read from Open Food Facts raw upload 3 (2722 x 417 px), a side-panel strip; the front photo (upload 2) was uploaded the same day and shows the same Handy Box design with 25 pieces. The nutrition line below the list is cut off at the lower edge. Market not stated on the photographed panels
Nutrition
Nutrition panel
Per 100 gas sold[5]
| Nutrient | Amount per 100 g |
|---|---|
| Energy | Disputed |
| Energy | 149 kcal |
| Fat | 0 g |
| of which saturates | 0 g |
| Carbohydrate | Not researched |
| of which sugars | Not researched |
| Protein | Not researched |
| Salt | Not researched |
Original values, qualifications & sources
Nutrition declaration per 100 g
- Energy · kJ
- Disputed[5]disputed · exact · printed
The kilojoule figure reads as 620 kJ from the upper half of the digits, which fits 149 kcal; the Open Food Facts typed record gives 1054 kJ, which does not
- Energy · kcal
- 149 kcal[5]Printed: 149 kcalknown · exact · printed
Upper half of the digits visible; the Open Food Facts typed record also gives 149 kcal
- Fat · g
- 0 g[5]Printed: Fat 0 gknown · exact · printed
- of which saturates · g
- 0 g[5]Printed: of which saturates 0 gknown · exact · printed
- Carbohydrate · g
- Not researched[8]not_researched · exact · printed
Cut off in the photo; Open Food Facts typed 62 g, not verified against a label
- of which sugars · g
- Not researched[8]not_researched · exact · printed
Cut off in the photo; Open Food Facts typed 62 g for a sugarfree gum, not verified against a label
- Protein · g
- Not researched[5]not_researched · exact · printed
Cut off in the photo
- Salt · g
- Not researched[5]not_researched · exact · printed
Cut off in the photo
Only the start of the declaration is in the photo and only the upper half of its characters is visible; the remaining nutrients are cut off
Ingredients
Declared ingredients
- Xylitol,
- Sorbitol,
- Aspartame,
- Mannitol,
- Acesulfame K,
- Gum base,
- Gum arabic,
- Flavourings,
- Glycerol,
- Soy lecithin,
- Titanium dioxide,
- Carnauba wax,
- Butylated hydroxyanisole
Original statement & ingredient evidence
Ingredients: Sweeteners xylitol, sorbitol, aspartame, mannitol, acesulfame K; gum base, thickener gum arabic, flavourings, humectant glycerol, emulsifier soybean lecithin, colour E171, glazing agent carnauba wax, antioxidant BHA. Contains a source of phenylalanine. Excessive consumption may produce laxative effects.
Declared ingredients
- Xylitol — Sweeteners xylitol · sweetener [5] known
- Sorbitol — sorbitol · sweetener [5] known
- Aspartame — aspartame · sweetener [5] known
- Mannitol — mannitol · sweetener [5] known
- Acesulfame K — acesulfame K · sweetener [5] known
- Gum base — gum base [5] known
- Gum arabic — thickener gum arabic · thickener [5] known
- Flavourings — flavourings [5] known
- Glycerol — humectant glycerol · humectant [5] known
- Soy lecithin — emulsifier SOYBEAN lecithin · emulsifier [5] knownThe soybean allergen is printed in bold
- Titanium dioxide — colour E171 · colour [5] knownPrinted by E-number only
- Carnauba wax — glazing agent carnauba wax · glazing agent [5] known
- Butylated hydroxyanisole — antioxidant BHA · antioxidant [5] knownPrinted as the abbreviation BHA
Allergen declarations
- contains: soybeans[5] · "emulsifier SOYBEAN lecithin", allergen in bold
Statements on the label
- Contains a source of phenylalanine[5]label · Mandatory warning for aspartame, not a marketing claim
- Excessive consumption may produce laxative effects[5]label · Mandatory advisory statement for polyols, not a marketing claim
- Sugarfree[9]label · Printed beside a tooth symbol on the front photographed the same day as the ingredient panel
Other observations & source differences (3)
Different sources or national labels can coexist. Differences alone do not establish a change to the product.
- English label photographed in 2019 (blue Handy Box) supported · selected
Read from Open Food Facts raw upload 3 (2722 x 417 px), a side-panel strip; the front photo (upload 2) was uploaded the same day and shows the same Handy Box design with 25 pieces. The nutrition line below the list is cut off at the lower edge. Market not stated on the photographed panels
- English label photographed in 2015 (teal Handy Box with dental association marks) supported · Compare evidence
Read from Open Food Facts raw upload 1 (2000 x 1130 px): the front with the top and bottom flaps; the ingredient list on the bottom flap is only partly legible, so the observation keeps what can be read and marks the gaps. The top flap shows 35 g and the end of a statement ending "a varied and balanced diet and a healthy lifestyle are important"
- Evidence awaiting context review unconfirmed · Compare evidence
Product facts
Explore the family ↗- Barcode
- 4009900016179 check digit OK
- Brand
- Wrigley's
- Family
- Wrigley's Extra
- Net content
- 35 g
- Pack
- cardboard handy box
- Sold in
- 🇬🇧 United Kingdom[1], 🇮🇪 Ireland[2]
- Pieces
- 25
- Last observed on sale
- 2026-09-13
- Last sale evidence
- Listed in stock at GBP 1.20 by a Nisa Local store on Devo
- GS1 prefix
- 400 · Germany
- Status
- active
About this product
Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Sugarfree Gum 35 g is a cardboard Handy Box of 25 pellets of peppermint chewing gum listed by a Nisa Local store in Enfield, England, at £1.20 in September 2026.[1] Extra is the Wrigley Company's sugarfree gum line, launched in the United States in 1984 and sold in Great Britain since 1990.[3] Wrigley has been a subsidiary of Mars, Incorporated since 2008.[4] The pack photographed in 2019 sweetens the gum with xylitol, sorbitol, aspartame, mannitol and acesulfame K and warns of phenylalanine.[5] An earlier pack photographed in 2015 led its list with sorbitol, maltitol and maltitol syrup and carried British Dental Health Foundation and Irish Dental Association approval marks.[2]
Where it's sold
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Gum Sugar Free Handy Box 25pk, Ni[1] sourced
- Listing observed
- Recorded price
- GBP 1.20
- Condition
- new
Devo listing for Nisa Local, Enfield (London EN1) with the EAN 4009900016179 in the URL: "Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Gum Sugar Free Handy Box 25pk", 35g, in stock
🇮🇪 Ireland
Front, top and bottom flaps of the 35 g Handy Box, teal desi[2] printed
- Listing observed
The Irish Dental Association "Approved" mark is printed on the front of the 2015 pack beside the British Dental Health Foundation mark; no Irish retailer listing was found
A listing is evidence that this barcode is sold there, on that date; a price is what that listing showed, not a recommended price.
Reviews
No ratings yet.
Sign in to rate and review this product. Reviews are opinions of the people who wrote them, published under their handle.
Sources & research
Evidence reviewed
Devo
Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Gum Sugar Free Handy Box 25pk, Nisa Local - Enfield
retailer · Accessed 2026-09-13
Source & attribution [1] ↗Open Food Facts
Front, top and bottom flaps of the 35 g Handy Box, teal design
pack · Accessed 2026-09-13
Source & attribution [2] ↗Coverage & research gaps (13)
Coverage measures the evidence recorded here. It does not rate the product.
- Identity: 3 / 3 · Name, brand and classification recorded
- Context: 2 / 3 · Evidence groups assigned to a researched label, edition or analysis
- Label photographs: 0 / 2 · Researched contexts with an assigned photograph
- English label photographed in 2019 (blue Handy Box): nutrient evidence: 8 / 8 · Recorded nutrient rows linked to a source; not the number of nutrients that ought to exist
- relationships · unknown: No back or side panel with the maker or distributor block was available, so no manufactured_by or food business operator is recorded. The 2006-2013 Barcodepedia page said "Produced in Germany by The Wrigley Company LTD", but that line was generated from the prefix and is not evidence
- identity · unknown: No public source names the licensee of GS1 prefix 4009900; Wrigley GmbH is a derived target only, and the prefix is not added to its gs1_prefixes for that reason
- nutrition · disputed: The 2019 nutrition line is cut off at the photo edge: energy reads 620 kJ / 149 kcal, fat 0 g, saturates 0 g; Open Food Facts typed 1054 kJ, 62 g carbohydrate and 62 g sugars, which contradict the kcal figure and a sugarfree gum. A full side-panel photo is needed
- ingredients · unknown: The 2015 ingredient list on the bottom flap is only partly legible: after mannitol one or more words are unreadable, and the list after the gum base bracket is cut off
- markets · disputed: Open Food Facts countries_tags list France and the United Kingdom; the photo filed as the French front shows an English-language pack, so France is not recorded
- markets · unknown: Sainsbury's lists "Extra Peppermint Sugar Free Gum Handy Box 25 Pieces 35g" but its page refused retrieval (HTTP 403), so it is not cited as a listing
- evidence · not_researched: Whether the 2015 and 2019 packs are successive label revisions for one market or concurrent labels is not established; the 2015 photo shows maltitol and maltitol syrup, the 2019 photo xylitol
- evidence · stale: Evidence was observed over a year ago; check for newer labels. Historical evidence remains valid.
- evidence · stale: Evidence was observed over a year ago; check for newer labels. Historical evidence remains valid.
- schema · schema_gap: Review and assign legacy facts to coherent observations.
- nutrition · not_researched: Nutrition declaration or exemption not recorded.
- ingredients · not_researched: Ingredient statement or sourced exemption not recorded.
- nutrition · not_researched: Nutrition declaration or exemption not recorded.
All references & source details
References
- ↑ Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Gum Sugar Free Handy Box 25pk, Nisa Local - Enfield Devo. retailer. Accessed 2026-09-13. Record: 4009900016179. Product page, price and size.
- ↑ Front, top and bottom flaps of the 35 g Handy Box, teal design Open Food Facts. pack. Published 2015-03-01. Accessed 2026-09-13. Front panel with flaps, raw upload 1. CC BY-SA 3.0. Open Food Facts contributors.
- ↑ Extra (gum) Wikipedia. publication. Accessed 2026-09-13. CC BY-SA. Wikipedia contributors.
- ↑ Wrigley Company Wikipedia. publication. Accessed 2026-09-13. CC BY-SA. Wikipedia contributors.
- ↑ Ingredient panel of the 35 g Handy Box, with the start of the nutrition declaration Open Food Facts. pack. Published 2019-01-10. Accessed 2026-09-13. Side panel, raw upload 3. CC BY-SA 3.0. Open Food Facts contributors.
- ↑ Wrigley's Extra Handy Box Peppermint, the 2006-2013 Barcodepedia entry Internet Archive. other. Published 2010-01-21. Accessed 2026-09-13. Upstream: en.barcodepedia.com.
- ↑ Wrigley GmbH, Unterhaching, District Court of Munich HRB 44637 North Data. registry. Accessed 2026-09-13. Record: HRB 44637. Upstream: Handelsregister.
- ↑ extra peppermint, wrigley's, 35 g Open Food Facts. catalogue. Accessed 2026-09-13. Record: 4009900016179. ODbL. Open Food Facts contributors.
- ↑ Front of the 35 g Handy Box, blue design Open Food Facts. pack. Published 2019-01-10. Accessed 2026-09-13. Front panel, raw upload 2. CC BY-SA 3.0. Open Food Facts contributors.
Barcode & identifiers

- GTIN-14
04009900016179- EAN-13 / GTIN-13
4009900016179
Every detail has a history.
Explore the observations, changes and sources behind this record.
Reuse freely with credit: text CC BY-SA 4.0, data ODbL. Cite this page as Source: Barcodepedia, https://barcodepedia.com/product/4009900016179/wrigley-s-extra-peppermint-sugarfree-gum-35-g (licence).