Food & drink
Monster Energy Original 16 fl oz can
1 / 3 Front
2 / 3 Ingredients
3 / 3 NutritionFront photo matched to this barcode via Open Food Facts contributors. It is not evidence for the selected observation.
Top owner on file
Via Monster Energy Company. The chain may go further. See the chain and its sources
The original green-logo Monster Energy drink in a 16 fl oz can, sold in the United States.
Where to buy
Other stores
Affiliate links: if you buy through one, Barcodepedia may earn a commission. It costs you nothing and changes nothing on this page. As an Amazon Associate, Barcodepedia earns from qualifying purchases. How this works
US can, © 2017 label (two 8 fl oz servings)[5]
United States · English · supported
Evidence reviewed
Context, dates & evidence notes · Other observations
- Evidence observed
- 2019-03-11
- Net content
- 16 fl_oz
- Pack
- can
Read from the Open Food Facts back photo uploaded 2019-03-11 (imgid 3); the can prints "© 2017 Monster Energy Company". The ingredient statement matches the 2025 label word for word; the Nutrition Facts panel differs.
Nutrition
Nutrition panel
Per 240 mlas sold · Serving Size 8.0 fl. oz. (240mL), Servings Per Container 2.[5]
| Nutrient | Amount per 240 ml |
|---|---|
| Energy | 110 kcal |
| Fat | 0 g (0% DV) |
| Carbohydrate | 27 g (9% DV) |
| of which sugars | 27 g |
| Protein | 0 g |
| Sodium | 180 mg (8% DV) |
| Vitamin B12 | 100% DV |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 100% DV |
| Niacin | 100% DV |
| Vitamin B6 | 100% DV |
| Caffeine | 80 mg |
Notes on this panel
- Vitamin B12 · µg · 100% DV[5]
- Printed as % Daily Value only.
- Riboflavin (B2) · mg · 100% DV[5]
- Printed as % Daily Value only.
- Niacin · mg · 100% DV[5]
- Printed as % Daily Value only.
- Vitamin B6 · mg · 100% DV[5]
- Printed as % Daily Value only.
Caffeine is from the "Caffeine from all sources" line printed under the panel.
Nutrition panel
Per 16 fl_ozas sold · Column headed "Per Can".[5]
| Nutrient | Amount per 16 fl_oz |
|---|---|
| Energy | 210 kcal |
| Fat | 0 g (0% DV) |
| Carbohydrate | 54 g (18% DV) |
| of which sugars | 54 g |
| Protein | 0 g |
| Sodium | 370 mg (15% DV) |
| Vitamin B12 | 200% DV |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 200% DV |
| Niacin | 200% DV |
| Vitamin B6 | 200% DV |
| Caffeine | 160 mg |
Notes on this panel
- Vitamin B12 · µg · 200% DV[5]
- Printed as % Daily Value only.
- Riboflavin (B2) · mg · 200% DV[5]
- Printed as % Daily Value only.
- Niacin · mg · 200% DV[5]
- Printed as % Daily Value only.
- Vitamin B6 · mg · 200% DV[5]
- Printed as % Daily Value only.
Caffeine is from the "Caffeine from all sources" line printed under the panel.
Ingredients
As printed, EnglishCARBONATED WATER, SUGAR, GLUCOSE, CITRIC ACID, NATURAL FLAVORS, TAURINE, SODIUM CITRATE, COLOR ADDED, PANAX GINSENG EXTRACT, L-CARNITINE L-TARTRATE, CAFFEINE, SORBIC ACID (PRESERVATIVE), BENZOIC ACID (PRESERVATIVE), NIACINAMIDE (VIT. B3), SUCRALOSE, SALT, D-GLUCURONOLACTONE, INOSITOL, GUARANA EXTRACT, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VIT. B6), RIBOFLAVIN (VIT. B2), MALTODEXTRIN, CYANOCOBALAMIN (VIT. B12).
- Carbonated water
- Sugar
- Glucose
- Citric acid
- Natural flavourings “NATURAL FLAVORS”
- Taurine
- Sodium citrates “SODIUM CITRATE”
- Colours colour “COLOR ADDED”Printed as COLOR ADDED; the colour is not named.
- Panax ginseng extract
- L-carnitine L-tartrate
- Caffeine
- Sorbic acid preservative “SORBIC ACID (PRESERVATIVE)”
- Benzoic acid preservative “BENZOIC ACID (PRESERVATIVE)”
- Nicotinamide “NIACINAMIDE (VIT. B3)”
- Sucralose sweetener
- Salt
- Glucuronolactone “D-GLUCURONOLACTONE”
- Inositol
- Guarana seed extract “GUARANA EXTRACT”Printed as guarana extract.
- Pyridoxine hydrochloride “PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VIT. B6)”
- Riboflavin “RIBOFLAVIN (VIT. B2)”
- Maltodextrin
- Vitamin B12 “CYANOCOBALAMIN (VIT. B12)”Printed as cyanocobalamin, the form of vitamin B12 added.
Other observations & source differences (3)
Different sources or national labels can coexist. Differences alone do not establish a change to the product.
- US can, © 2025 label (single-serving panel) supported · Compare evidence
Read from Open Food Facts back photos uploaded 2025-09-23 (imgid 9), 2025-10-29 (imgid 13) and 2025-11-06 (imgid 15); the can prints "© 2025 Monster Energy Company". The front photos of the same cans (imgid 8, 12, 14) show "16 FL. OZ." and the barcode 0 70847 81116 9 appears on the 2025-11-08 upload (imgid 16).
- US can, © 2017 label (two 8 fl oz servings) supported · selected
Read from the Open Food Facts back photo uploaded 2019-03-11 (imgid 3); the can prints "© 2017 Monster Energy Company". The ingredient statement matches the 2025 label word for word; the Nutrition Facts panel differs.
- Evidence awaiting context review unconfirmed · Compare evidence
Product facts
- Barcode
- 070847811169 check digit OK
- Brand
- Monster Energy
- Top owner on file
- Monster Beverage Corporation
- Category
- Food/Beverage, Beverages, Non Alcoholic Beverages - Ready to Drink, Stimulants/Energy Drinks - Ready to Drink
- Net content
- 16 fl_oz
- Pack
- can
- Sold in
- 🇺🇸 United States[1]
- GS1 prefix
- 007 · United States and Canada
- Status
- active
Who owns it
Monster Energy ↗- Top owner on file
- Monster Beverage Corporation
- Made in
- Not recorded
Monster Beverage Corporation's page records no owner above it and does not state that there is none, so the chain may go further.
Sources for each tie
- Monster Energy → Monster Energy CompanyUSDA Agricultural Research Service ↗
- Monster Energy Company → Monster Beverage CorporationU.S. Securities and Exchange Commission ↗
The ownership drawing
Owner not on file
group
ownsin United States
What the sources say about these ties
- Monster Energy Company owns
- USDA Branded Foods names Monster Energy Company as brand owner of the 16 fl oz Original can; the can itself prints "© 2025 Monster Energy Company".
Built from the ownership rows on the brand and company pages, each cited where it is recorded. Made in is the country of production on this product's record; the GS1 prefix of a barcode names the issuing organisation, not where the product was made.
About this product
Monster Energy Original is the black can with the green claw-mark "M" that launched the Monster Energy brand, here in its 16 US fl oz can sold in the United States under UPC 070847811169.[2][1] The can is manufactured for Monster Energy Company of Corona, California,[3] a Delaware subsidiary of Monster Beverage Corporation.[4] It is a carbonated energy drink sweetened with sugar, glucose and sucralose, with taurine, Panax ginseng extract, L-carnitine L-tartrate, guarana extract, B vitamins and 160 mg of caffeine per can.[3] The current label, dated 2025, treats the whole can as one serving of 230 kcal with 54 g of added sugars; the 2017 label split it into two 8 fl oz servings of 110 kcal, 210 kcal per can, with the same ingredient list.[5]
Hansen Natural Company, which renamed itself Monster Beverage Corporation in 2012, created the brand and released this original flavour on 18 April 2002.[2] The can carries the warning that it is not recommended for children, people sensitive to caffeine, or pregnant or nursing women.[3]
Where it's sold
- Target [1] United States USD 2.69 · new Target lists "Monster Energy, Original - 16 fl oz" with UPC 070847811169 (TCIN 12953443), single can.
- Amazon.com [7] United States new Amazon.com ASIN B0025MSDR8, "Monster Energy, Original Energy Drink, 16 ounce", prints UPC 070847811169 under Grocery & Gourmet Food › Beverages › Energy Drinks. The page showed USD 25.05 while its URL slug names a 16-pack, so the quantity sold at that price is not one can and the price cell is left empty.
- USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods, Energy Drink, fdc_id 4 information[6] United States USDA FoodData Central Branded Foods fdc_id 492443 (Label Insight data, record available 2019-04-01), brand owner Monster Energy Company, market US.
A listing is evidence that this barcode is sold there, on that date; a price is what that listing showed, not a recommended price. Store links may be affiliate links (how this works).
Other names for this product
Also known as
- Monster Energy Original en
Reviews
No ratings yet.
Sign in to rate and review this product. Reviews are opinions of the people who wrote them, published under their handle.
Sources & research
Evidence reviewed
Target
Target: Monster Energy, Original - 16 fl_oz
retailer · Accessed 2026-09-27
Source & attribution [1] ↗Open Food Facts
Open Food Facts: back of the 16 fl oz can, © 2025 label, Nutrition Facts and ingredients legible
pack · Accessed 2026-09-27
Source & attribution [3] ↗Coverage & research gaps (8)
Coverage measures the evidence recorded here. It does not rate the product.
- Identity: 3 / 3 · Name, brand and classification recorded
- Context: 2 / 3 · Evidence groups assigned to a researched label, edition or analysis
- Label photographs: 0 / 2 · Researched contexts with an assigned photograph
- US can, © 2025 label (single-serving panel): nutrient evidence: 12 / 12 · Recorded nutrient rows linked to a source; not the number of nutrients that ought to exist
- US can, © 2017 label (two 8 fl oz servings): nutrient evidence: 22 / 22 · Recorded nutrient rows linked to a source; not the number of nutrients that ought to exist
- relationships · unknown: The GS1 company prefix length and its registered holder are not stated by any source read; the 0070847 block on Open Food Facts mixes Monster brands with Hansen's, Peace Tea and Hubert's packs, brands whose ownership changed between groups, so no prefix is written to a company.
- relationships · unknown: The filler or bottler of this can is not printed; the can names only the company it is manufactured for.
- packaging · unknown: The metric volume printed beside 16 FL. OZ. on the front is outside the frame of the available photos.
- markets · unknown: Amazon.com: the listing that prints this UPC (ASIN B0025MSDR8) did not state a single-can price; a single-can price on amazon.com remains to be recorded.
- evidence · stale: Evidence was observed over a year ago; check for newer labels. Historical evidence remains valid.
- schema · schema_gap: Review and assign legacy facts to coherent observations.
- ingredients · not_researched: Ingredient statement or sourced exemption not recorded.
- nutrition · not_researched: Nutrition declaration or exemption not recorded.
All references & source details
References
- ↑ Target: Monster Energy, Original - 16 fl_oz Target. retailer. Accessed 2026-09-27. Record: 12953443.
- ↑ Wikipedia: Monster Energy Wikipedia. publication. Accessed 2026-09-27. CC BY-SA 4.0.
- ↑ Open Food Facts: back of the 16 fl oz can, © 2025 label, Nutrition Facts and ingredients legible Open Food Facts. pack. Published 2025-09-23. Accessed 2026-09-27. Record: 0070847811169. Back label, image id 9 (also 13, 15). cc-by-sa-3.0. Open Food Facts contributors.
- ↑ Monster Beverage Corporation, Form 10-K for 2023, Exhibit 21: Subsidiaries U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. registry. Published 2024-02-29. Accessed 2026-09-27. Exhibit 21.
- ↑ Open Food Facts: back of the 16 fl oz can, © 2017 label, Nutrition Facts and ingredients legible Open Food Facts. pack. Published 2019-03-11. Accessed 2026-09-27. Record: 0070847811169. Back label, image id 3. cc-by-sa-3.0. Open Food Facts contributors.
- ↑ USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods, Energy Drink, fdc_id 492443 USDA Agricultural Research Service. catalogue. Published 2019-04-01. Accessed 2026-09-27. Record: 492443. CC0. Upstream: Label Insight.
- ↑ Amazon.com: Monster Energy, Original Energy Drink, 16 ounce Amazon.com. retailer. Accessed 2026-09-27. Record: B0025MSDR8.
Further sources
Additional sources recorded for this entry, including other observations and related pages.
- Open Food Facts: front of the 16 fl oz can Open Food Facts. pack. Published 2025-11-06. Accessed 2026-09-27. Record: 0070847811169. Front, image id 14. cc-by-sa-3.0. Open Food Facts contributors.
- Open Food Facts: Monster Energy, 0070847811169 Open Food Facts. catalogue. Accessed 2026-09-27. Record: 0070847811169. ODbL. Open Food Facts contributors.
Barcode & identifiers
- GTIN-14
00070847811169- EAN-13 / GTIN-13
0070847811169- UPC-A / GTIN-12
070847811169
Read the complete structured record (JSON) ↗ · Barcode image ↗
Every detail has a history.
Explore the observations, changes and sources behind this record.
Reuse freely with credit: text CC BY-SA 4.0, data ODbL. Cite this page as Source: Barcodepedia, https://barcodepedia.com/product/070847811169/monster-energy-original-16-fl-oz (licence).