King Oscar Sardines Classic in Extra Virgin Olive Oil 106 g can: version 2

Saved 2026-09-11 04:46 by @benjaminsen (bot): Open Food Facts photos requested with the result. Current is v3.

Sign in to restore this version.

Changes from v2 to current

11# King Oscar Sardines Classic in Extra Virgin Olive Oil 106 g can <!--product-->
22 
33## Identity <!--identity-->
44gtin: 07027110222453
55name: King Oscar Sardines Classic in Extra Virgin Olive Oil 106 g can
66name.nb: King Oscar Sardiner Classic i Extra Virgin Olivenolje 106 g boks
77family: family/king-oscar-sardiner
8+default_observation: label-nb
9+summary: Lightly smoked Norwegian brisling sardines, hand-packed in Spanish extra virgin olive oil, in a 106 g can.
810brand: brand/king-oscar
911category: category/10000018
1012net_content: 106 g
1113country_of_sale: NO
14+pack_quantity: 1
1215pack_format: can
1316status: active
14ingredients_text.nb: FISK – LETTRØKT BRISLING SARDINER, extra virgin olivenolje, salt.
17+last_seen: 2026-09-12
18+last_seen_note: Priced by Norwegian chains as recently as 2026-09-11 and still published on the maker's Norwegian site.
1519<!--/identity-->
1620 
1721## Relations <!--relations-->
18| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
19| ------------------- | --------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
20| brand_owner_at_sale | company/king-oscar-as | NO | 2009 | | | sourced | ^wiki | King Oscar AS has held the brand since 2009; the company has been owned by Thai Union Group since 2014 |
21| marketed_by | company/king-oscar-as | NO | | | | sourced | ^maker | the maker's Norwegian site publishes this 106 g article and gives [email protected] as its contact |
22| gs1_prefix_owner | company/king-oscar-as | | | | | derived | ^brreg | GS1 prefix 702 is GS1 Norway; no public register names a licensee, so the barcode is attributed to the Norwegian brand owner named by ^wiki and registered in Bergen per ^brreg |
22+| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
23+| ------------------- | --------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
24+| brand_owner_at_sale | company/king-oscar-as | NO | 2009 | | | sourced | ^wiki | King Oscar AS became the owner of the brand in 2009; the company passed to Procuritas in 2010 and to Thai Union Group in 2014 |
25+| marketed_by | company/king-oscar-as | NO | | | | sourced | ^maker | The maker's Norwegian site publishes this 106 g article and gives [email protected] as the contact address |
26+| gs1_prefix_owner | company/king-oscar-as | | | | | derived | ^brreg | Prefix 7027110; no company stub states it. GS1 prefix 702 is GS1 Norway and the brand owner is registered in Bergen under organisation number 993791296 |
2327<!--/relations-->
2428 
2529## Markets <!--markets-->
26| country | status | source | note |
27| ------- | ------- | ------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
28| NO | sourced | ^ernaer | listed under this EAN with prices from Meny, Rema 1000, Joker, Spar, Bunnpris and Nærbutikken, most recently 10 September 2026 |
30+| country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price |
31+| ------- | ------- | ------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | --------- |
32+| NO | sourced | ^ernaer | Dated Norwegian chain prices under this EAN: Bunnpris 31,90 on 11 Sep 2026, Meny 27,90 on 10 Sep, Joker 31,90 on 8 Sep, Engrosnett 38,19 on 28 Aug, Spar 28,50 on 19 Aug, Rema 1000 25,90 on 8 Aug and Nærbutikken 29,90 on 12 Jul | 2026-09-11 | new | | NOK 31.90 |
2933<!--/markets-->
3034 
3135## Aliases <!--aliases-->
3236| name | type | locale | from | until |
3337| ------------------------------------------------------ | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
3438| Sardiner i Extra Virgin Olivenolje | name | nb | | |
3539| Sardiner olivenolje classic 106g | name | nb | | |
3640| Sardiner Classic i Olivenolje 106g King Oscar | search | nb | | |
3741| King Oscar Brisling Sardines in Extra Virgin Olive Oil | search | en | | |
3842<!--/aliases-->
3943 
4044## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
41| ingredient | role | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source |
42| --------------------------------- | -------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ------------------ |
43| ingredient/sprat | fish | printed as "LETTRØKT BRISLING SARDINER" and capitalised as the fish allergen; the maker calls it Norwegian brisling caught at 9,5–13,5 cm | | | | | | as printed on pack |
44| ingredient/extra-virgin-olive-oil | packing medium | printed as "extra virgin olivenolje"; the maker's page for this article says Spanish extra virgin olive oil | | | | | | as printed on pack |
45| ingredient/salt | seasoning | | | | | | | as printed on pack |
45+| ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state |
46+| --------------------------------- | -------------- | ----- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | --------- | ----------- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | --------------------------------- | ----- |
47+| ingredient/sprat | fish | label | Capitalised on the can as the fish allergen; the maker calls it Norwegian brisling caught at 9,5 to 13,5 cm | | | | | | ^ingphoto | sprat-can | label-nb | | 1 | FISK – LETTRØKT BRISLING SARDINER | known |
48+| ingredient/extra-virgin-olive-oil | packing medium | label | The maker's page for this article says Spanish extra virgin olive oil | | | | | | ^ingphoto | evoo-can | label-nb | | 2 | extra virgin olivenolje | known |
49+| ingredient/salt | seasoning | label | | | | | | | ^ingphoto | salt-can | label-nb | | 3 | salt | known |
50+| ingredient/sprat | fish | label | The maker states the origin of the fish, which the can does not | | | | | | ^maker | sprat-maker | maker-page | | 1 | Lettrøkt norsk brisling | known |
51+| ingredient/extra-virgin-olive-oil | packing medium | label | The maker states the origin of the oil, which the can does not | | | | | | ^maker | evoo-maker | maker-page | | 2 | spansk extra virgin olivenolje | known |
52+| ingredient/salt | seasoning | label | | | | | | | ^maker | salt-maker | maker-page | | 3 | salt | known |
4653<!--/ingredients-->
4754 
48## Nutrition <!--nutrition-->
49basis: 100 g
50energy_kcal: 261
51energy_kj: 1083
52fat_g: 21
53saturated_fat_g: 5
54trans_fat_g: 0
55cholesterol_mg: 78
56carbohydrate_g: 0
57sugars_g: 0
58fibre_g: 0
59protein_g: 18
60salt_g: 1
61calcium_mg: 290
62iron_mg: 1.6
63potassium_mg: 276
64vitamin_d_ug: 11
65vitamin_c_mg: 10
66vitamin_b12_ug: 7.7
67printed: energy_kj, energy_kcal, fat_g, saturated_fat_g, carbohydrate_g, sugars_g, protein_g, salt_g, calcium_mg
68less_than: vitamin_c_mg
69source: as printed on pack
70note: the nine fields named in printed are transcribed from the panel photographed on the can, which is headed "NÆRINGSINNHOLD PER 100 g DRENET VEKT", so the basis is 100 g of drained fish and oil rather than 100 g of can contents; the remaining fields are taken from the maker's table for this article, which carries the same energy, fat, saturated fat, carbohydrate, sugar, protein, salt and calcium values but is headed only "per 100 g". Open Food Facts types the energy as 246 kcal against 1083 kJ; the pack and the maker both print 261 kcal, and 261 is what the macronutrients give (21 g fat and 18 g protein), so the typed value was not used. The maker's table also prints sodium 315 mg, which does not agree with the 1,0 g of salt printed on the can and in that same table (1,0 g of salt is 400 mg of sodium), so no sodium value is recorded here.
71<!--/nutrition-->
55+## Observations <!--observations-->
56+| id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
57+| ---------- | --------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | --------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ |
58+| label-nb | Norwegian 106 g can | label | NO | nb | | | 2023-10-02 | supported | Ingredienser: FISK – LETTRØKT BRISLING SARDINER, extra virgin olivenolje, salt. | listed | | ^ingphoto | The ingredient strip and the panel were photographed 2023-10-02 and the front 2024-09-08. The panel on this can is headed per 100 g drained weight | 106 g | 1 | | can | |
59+| maker-page | King Oscar Norway page for this article | label | NO | nb | | | 2026-09-12 | supported | Lettrøkt norsk brisling, spansk extra virgin olivenolje, salt. | listed | | ^maker | The maker's own current statement of the same recipe. It names the origin of both inputs, declares no additives, and carries a fuller nutrient table headed only per 100 g | 106 g | 1 | | can | |
60+<!--/observations-->
7261 
62+## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
63+| id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note |
64+| ----------- | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------ | ----- | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ------------ | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
65+| can-drained | label-nb | Næringsinnhold per 100 g drenet vekt, on the can | 100 g | as_drained | | transcribed | | ^nutphoto | The panel is headed PER 100 g DRENET VEKT, so the basis is 100 g of drained fish and oil rather than 100 g of can contents |
66+| maker-100g | maker-page | Maker's published table per 100 g | 100 g | as_sold | | secondary | | ^maker | Headed only per 100 g. It repeats the printed values and adds eighteen nutrients the can does not print, including the omega-3s |
67+<!--/nutrition_panels-->
68+ 
69+## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
70+| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
71+| ----------- | --------------------- | ----- | --------- | ------------- | -------- | ---------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
72+| can-drained | energy_kj | 1083 | exact | 1083 kJ | known | printed | ^nutphoto | |
73+| can-drained | energy_kcal | 261 | exact | 261 kcal | known | printed | ^nutphoto | Open Food Facts types 246 kcal, which its own macronutrients do not support |
74+| can-drained | fat_g | 21 | exact | 21 g | known | printed | ^nutphoto | |
75+| can-drained | saturated_fat_g | 5 | exact | 5,0 g | known | printed | ^nutphoto | |
76+| can-drained | carbohydrate_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^nutphoto | A printed zero, not a missing value |
77+| can-drained | sugars_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^nutphoto | A printed zero, not a missing value |
78+| can-drained | protein_g | 18 | exact | 18 g | known | printed | ^nutphoto | |
79+| can-drained | salt_g | 1 | exact | 1,0 g | known | printed | ^nutphoto | |
80+| can-drained | calcium_mg | 290 | exact | 290 mg | known | printed | ^nutphoto | Printed as 36 % of the reference value |
81+| maker-100g | energy_kj | 1083 | exact | 1083 | known | printed | ^maker | |
82+| maker-100g | energy_kcal | 261 | exact | 261 | known | printed | ^maker | |
83+| maker-100g | fat_g | 21 | exact | 21 g | known | printed | ^maker | |
84+| maker-100g | saturated_fat_g | 5 | exact | 5 g | known | printed | ^maker | |
85+| maker-100g | monounsaturated_fat_g | 14 | exact | 14 g | known | printed | ^maker | Not printed on the can |
86+| maker-100g | polyunsaturated_fat_g | 4 | exact | 4,0 g | known | printed | ^maker | Not printed on the can |
87+| maker-100g | trans_fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^maker | |
88+| maker-100g | carbohydrate_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^maker | |
89+| maker-100g | sugars_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^maker | |
90+| maker-100g | fibre_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^maker | |
91+| maker-100g | protein_g | 18 | exact | 18 g | known | printed | ^maker | |
92+| maker-100g | salt_g | 1 | exact | 1,0 g | known | printed | ^maker | |
93+| maker-100g | cholesterol_mg | 78 | exact | 78 mg | known | printed | ^maker | |
94+| maker-100g | sodium_mg | 315 | exact | 315 mg | disputed | printed | ^maker | The same table prints salt 1,0 g, which is 400 mg of sodium; both are kept as printed |
95+| maker-100g | omega_3_g | 3.5 | exact | 3,5 g | known | printed | ^maker | |
96+| maker-100g | epa_mg | 800 | exact | 0,8 g | known | normalized | ^maker | The page prints grams; the schema field is milligrams |
97+| maker-100g | dha_mg | 1400 | exact | 1,4 g | known | normalized | ^maker | The page prints grams; the schema field is milligrams |
98+| maker-100g | omega_6_g | 1.4 | exact | 1,4 g | known | printed | ^maker | |
99+| maker-100g | vitamin_a_ug | 100 | exact | 100 µg | known | printed | ^maker | |
100+| maker-100g | vitamin_b12_ug | 7.7 | exact | 7,7 µg | known | printed | ^maker | |
101+| maker-100g | vitamin_c_mg | 10 | less_than | <10 mg | known | printed | ^maker | Printed as an upper bound |
102+| maker-100g | vitamin_d_ug | 11 | exact | 11 µg | known | printed | ^maker | |
103+| maker-100g | vitamin_e_mg | 1.86 | exact | 1,86 mg | known | printed | ^maker | |
104+| maker-100g | selenium_ug | 35 | exact | 35 µg | known | printed | ^maker | |
105+| maker-100g | iodine_ug | 1.4 | exact | 1,4 µg | known | printed | ^maker | |
106+| maker-100g | calcium_mg | 290 | exact | 290 mg | known | printed | ^maker | |
107+| maker-100g | iron_mg | 1.6 | exact | 1,6 mg | known | printed | ^maker | |
108+| maker-100g | potassium_mg | 276 | exact | 276 mg | known | printed | ^maker | |
109+<!--/nutrition_values-->
110+ 
111+## Allergen declarations <!--allergens-->
112+| observation | allergen | declaration | source | note |
113+| ----------- | -------- | ----------- | --------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------- |
114+| label-nb | fish | contains | ^ingphoto | FISK is set in capitals at the head of the ingredient statement |
115+| maker-page | fish | contains | ^maker | The maker's page states "Produktet inneholder fisk" under Allergi |
116+<!--/allergens-->
117+ 
118+## Label claims <!--claims-->
119+| observation | claim | kind | source | note |
120+| ----------- | --------------------------- | ------------- | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
121+| label-nb | BY SPECIAL ROYAL PERMISSION | label | ^frontphoto | Printed under the wordmark beside the portrait of Oscar II; the permission dates from 1902 |
122+| label-nb | 8-14 FISK | label | ^frontphoto | The can states that it holds between 8 and 14 fish |
123+| label-nb | RIK PÅ OMEGA-3 | label | ^frontphoto | "Rich in omega-3" |
124+| label-nb | Nøkkelhullet | certification | ^frontphoto | The Nordic Keyhole symbol is printed on the front of the can |
125+| label-nb | Kosher | certification | ^frontphoto | A circled U is printed on the front; King Oscar brisling products have been kosher-certified since 1950 |
126+| maker-page | Uten tilsetningsstoffer | manufacturer | ^maker | The maker states that the product contains no additives |
127+| maker-page | Pakket for hånd | manufacturer | ^maker | The maker states that each sardine is laid in the can by hand |
128+<!--/claims-->
129+ 
130+## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
131+| observation | domain | state | detail | source |
132+| ----------- | ------------- | -------------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- |
133+| | identity | unknown | No country_of_origin is recorded: neither the can nor the maker's page states where it was made, and the Norwegian retailer record gives Produsert i as Ukjent. Wikipedia notes a King Oscar production facility in Svolvær, but nothing ties this article to it | ^ernaer |
134+| maker-page | nutrition | disputed | The maker's table prints sodium 315 mg beside salt 1,0 g, which is 400 mg of sodium; both figures are kept as printed and the sodium is marked disputed | ^maker |
135+| label-nb | nutrition | disputed | Open Food Facts types the energy as 246 kcal against its own 1083 kJ; the can and the maker both print 261 kcal, which the macronutrients support, so the typed value is not used | ^off |
136+| label-nb | identity | schema_gap | The can states 8 to 14 fish per tin; piece_count holds a single integer and cannot express a range, so the figure is kept as a label claim | ^frontphoto |
137+| | packaging | not_applicable | Open Food Facts gives origins as "FAO 27, Nordøst-Atlanteren", which is the catch area and never a country of origin | ^off |
138+| | relationships | stale | company/king-oscar-as states no gs1_prefixes; a review pass cannot amend an existing company stub, so prefix 7027110 is recorded only on the gs1_prefix_owner row here | ^brreg |
139+<!--/research_gaps-->
140+ 
141+## Research <!--research-->
142+structure_version: 2
143+reviewed_on: 2026-09-12
144+note: Full evidence review. The printed panel is now stored with basis_state as_drained, which the earlier structure could not express and had to explain in prose, and the maker's fuller table became a secondary panel, so the omega-3, EPA, DHA, vitamin A and E, selenium and iodine values that were previously trapped in a note are now nutrition values. The sodium and energy disagreements are kept as disputed rather than resolved silently. Every source was re-fetched and the Markets row now carries dated chain prices.
145+<!--/research-->
146+ 
73147## Meta <!--meta-->
74148title: King Oscar Sardines Classic in Extra Virgin Olive Oil 106 g
75149description: Lightly smoked brisling sardines hand-packed in Spanish extra virgin olive oil, sold in Norway in a 106 g can under EAN 7027110222453.
76150<!--/meta-->
77151 
78152## Images <!--images-->
79| asset | kind | source | licence | attribution | url | accessed |
80| ------------------------ | ----------- | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---------- |
81| front-8e260213.jpg | front | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453 | 2026-09-11 |
82| ingredients-85adbda1.jpg | ingredients | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453 | 2026-09-11 |
83| nutrition-b59d37c9.jpg | nutrition | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453 | 2026-09-11 |
153+| asset | kind | source | licence | attribution | url | accessed | note | observation |
154+| ------------------------ | ----------- | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | -------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- |
155+| front-8e260213.jpg | front | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453 | 2026-09-11 | Uploaded 2024-09-08; portrait, Keyhole and kosher marks | label-nb |
156+| ingredients-85adbda1.jpg | ingredients | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453 | 2026-09-11 | Uploaded 2023-10-02; a 2436 x 119 strip, fully legible | label-nb |
157+| nutrition-b59d37c9.jpg | nutrition | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453 | 2026-09-11 | Uploaded 2023-10-02; the panel headed per 100 g drained weight | label-nb |
84158<!--/images-->
85159 
86160## References <!--references-->
87| ref | url | title | accessed |
88| ---------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- |
89| maker | https://www.kingoscar.no/produkter/sardiner/sardiner-olivenolje-classic-106g/ | King Oscar Norway: Sardiner olivenolje classic 106g, description, ingredients and nutrition table | 2026-09-11 |
90| range | https://www.kingoscar.no/produkter/sardiner/ | King Oscar Norway: Sardiner, the sardine range and how King Oscar sardines are made | 2026-09-11 |
91| wiki | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/King_Oscar_(company) | Wikipedia: King Oscar (company) | 2026-09-11 |
92| brreg | https://data.brreg.no/enhetsregisteret/api/enheter/993791296 | Enhetsregisteret (Brønnøysundregistrene): KING OSCAR AS, organisation number 993791296 | 2026-09-11 |
93| ernaer | https://www.xn--ernr-xoa.no/matvarer/sardiner-classic-i-olivenolje-106g-king-oscar | Ernær: Sardiner Classic i Olivenolje 106g King Oscar, EAN, Norwegian chain prices and allergens | 2026-09-11 |
94| off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453 | Open Food Facts: Sardiner i Extra Virgin Olivenolje, King Oscar (ODbL) | 2026-09-11 |
95| frontphoto | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/702/711/022/2453/front_nb.35.full.jpg | Photograph of the front of the can, Open Food Facts | 2026-09-11 |
96| ingphoto | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/702/711/022/2453/ingredients_nb.14.full.jpg | Photograph of the ingredient statement on the can, Open Food Facts | 2026-09-11 |
97| nutphoto | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/702/711/022/2453/nutrition_nb.33.full.jpg | Photograph of the nutrition panel on the can, Open Food Facts | 2026-09-11 |
98| tuwiki | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thai_Union_Group | Wikipedia: Thai Union Group | 2026-09-11 |
161+| ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream |
162+| ---------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------------------- | ------------ | --------- | --------- | ------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- |
163+| maker | https://www.kingoscar.no/produkter/sardiner/sardiner-olivenolje-classic-106g/ | King Oscar Norway: Sardiner olivenolje classic 106g, description, ingredients and nutrition table | 2026-09-12 | King Oscar AS | manufacturer | | | | | | |
164+| range | https://www.kingoscar.no/produkter/sardiner/ | King Oscar Norway: Sardiner, the sardine range and how King Oscar sardines are made | 2026-09-12 | King Oscar AS | manufacturer | | | | | | |
165+| wiki | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/King_Oscar_(company) | Wikipedia: King Oscar (company) | 2026-09-12 | Wikipedia | publication | | | | cc-by-sa-4.0 | Wikipedia contributors | |
166+| brreg | https://data.brreg.no/enhetsregisteret/api/enheter/993791296 | Enhetsregisteret (Brønnøysundregistrene): KING OSCAR AS, organisation number 993791296 | 2026-09-12 | Brønnøysundregistrene | registry | | | | | | |
167+| ernaer | https://www.xn--ernr-xoa.no/matvarer/sardiner-classic-i-olivenolje-106g-king-oscar | Ernær: Sardiner Classic i Olivenolje 106g King Oscar, EAN, Norwegian chain prices and allergens | 2026-09-12 | Ernær | retailer | | | | | | |
168+| off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453 | Open Food Facts: Sardiner i Extra Virgin Olivenolje, King Oscar | 2026-09-12 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | | | odbl | Open Food Facts contributors | |
169+| frontphoto | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/702/711/022/2453/front_nb.35.full.jpg | Open Food Facts: front of the can, uploaded 2024-09-08 | 2026-09-12 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453 |
170+| ingphoto | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/702/711/022/2453/ingredients_nb.14.full.jpg | Open Food Facts: ingredient statement on the can, uploaded 2023-10-02 | 2026-09-12 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453 |
171+| nutphoto | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/702/711/022/2453/nutrition_nb.33.full.jpg | Open Food Facts: nutrition panel on the can, uploaded 2023-10-02 | 2026-09-12 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453 |
172+| tuwiki | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thai_Union_Group | Wikipedia: Thai Union Group | 2026-09-12 | Wikipedia | publication | | | | cc-by-sa-4.0 | Wikipedia contributors | |
99173<!--/references-->
100174 
101175## About <!--about-->
102A 106 g can of lightly smoked brisling sardines packed in extra virgin olive oil, sold in Norway as the Classic member of the King Oscar sardine range.[^maker][^range] The front of the can carries the portrait of Oscar II and the line "BY SPECIAL ROYAL PERMISSION", a reference to 1902, when the king allowed the Stavanger cannery Chr. Bjelland & Co to put his name and likeness on a line of sardines.[^frontphoto][^wiki] It also claims 8–14 fish per can and carries the Nordic Keyhole symbol and a kosher mark; King Oscar brisling products have been kosher-certified since 1950.[^frontphoto][^wiki]
103 
104"Sardine" here is a method rather than a species: King Oscar packs brisling, a small sprat fished in the North Sea and the deep Norwegian fjords and caught full-grown at 9,5 to 13,5 cm, and each fish is laid in the can by hand.[^range][^maker] The ingredient statement on the can reads "FISK – LETTRØKT BRISLING SARDINER, extra virgin olivenolje, salt"; the maker's page states the same recipe more precisely as lightly smoked Norwegian brisling in Spanish extra virgin olive oil, and declares no additives.[^ingphoto][^maker]
105 
106The nutrition panel is printed per 100 g of drained weight and gives 1083 kJ / 261 kcal, 21 g of fat, 18 g of protein, 1,0 g of salt and 290 mg of calcium.[^nutphoto] Open Food Facts types the same record at 246 kcal, which does not follow from its own macronutrients, so the printed figure is used here.[^off]
176+A 106 g can of lightly smoked brisling sardines packed in extra virgin olive oil, sold in Norway as the Classic member of the King Oscar sardine range.[^maker][^range] The front carries the portrait of Oscar II and the line "BY SPECIAL ROYAL PERMISSION", a reference to 1902, when the king allowed the Stavanger cannery Chr. Bjelland & Co to put his name and likeness on a line of sardines.[^frontphoto][^wiki] "Sardine" here is a method rather than a species: King Oscar packs brisling, a small sprat fished in the North Sea and the deep Norwegian fjords and caught full-grown at 9,5 to 13,5 cm, and each fish is laid in the can by hand.[^range][^maker] The panel on this can is printed per 100 g of drained weight, and the maker publishes a fuller table for the same article.[^nutphoto][^maker]
107177 
108The brand belongs to King Oscar AS, registered in Bergen since 13 February 2009 under organisation number 993791296 and classed as a processor of fish.[^brreg][^wiki] That company has been owned by the Thai seafood group Thai Union Group since 2014, which lists King Oscar as its Norwegian business; the maker's Norwegian site gives a thaiunion.com address for customer contact.[^wiki][^tuwiki][^maker] The can is stocked by the Norwegian grocery chains, among them Meny, Rema 1000, Joker, Spar and Bunnpris.[^ernaer] Where it was made is not stated on the material seen here: the retailer record gives the country of manufacture as unknown, and no country of origin is recorded on this page.[^ernaer]
178+The brand belongs to King Oscar AS, founded on 13 February 2009, entered in the Norwegian register on 26 February 2009 under organisation number 993791296, seated at Nordre Nøstekaien 1 in Bergen and classed as a processor of fish.[^brreg] The company took over the brand in 2009, was bought by Procuritas Capital Investments in 2010 and has been owned by the Thai seafood group Thai Union Group since 2014, which lists King Oscar as its Norwegian business.[^wiki][^tuwiki] Kosher certification of King Oscar brisling products dates from 1950.[^wiki] The can is stocked by the Norwegian grocery chains, among them Meny, Rema 1000, Joker, Spar, Bunnpris and Nærbutikken.[^ernaer]
109179<!--/about-->

Source of v2

# King Oscar Sardines Classic in Extra Virgin Olive Oil 106 g can <!--product-->

## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 07027110222453
name: King Oscar Sardines Classic in Extra Virgin Olive Oil 106 g can
name.nb: King Oscar Sardiner Classic i Extra Virgin Olivenolje 106 g boks
family: family/king-oscar-sardiner
brand: brand/king-oscar
category: category/10000018
net_content: 106 g
country_of_sale: NO
pack_format: can
status: active
ingredients_text.nb: FISK – LETTRØKT BRISLING SARDINER, extra virgin olivenolje, salt.
<!--/identity-->

## Relations <!--relations-->
| role                | target                | market | from | until | ended | status  | source | note                                                                                                                                                                            |
| ------------------- | --------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| brand_owner_at_sale | company/king-oscar-as | NO     | 2009 |       |       | sourced | ^wiki  | King Oscar AS has held the brand since 2009; the company has been owned by Thai Union Group since 2014                                                                          |
| marketed_by         | company/king-oscar-as | NO     |      |       |       | sourced | ^maker | the maker's Norwegian site publishes this 106 g article and gives [email protected] as its contact                                                                        |
| gs1_prefix_owner    | company/king-oscar-as |        |      |       |       | derived | ^brreg | GS1 prefix 702 is GS1 Norway; no public register names a licensee, so the barcode is attributed to the Norwegian brand owner named by ^wiki and registered in Bergen per ^brreg |
<!--/relations-->

## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status  | source  | note                                                                                                                           |
| ------- | ------- | ------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
| NO      | sourced | ^ernaer | listed under this EAN with prices from Meny, Rema 1000, Joker, Spar, Bunnpris and Nærbutikken, most recently 10 September 2026 |
<!--/markets-->

## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name                                                   | type   | locale | from | until |
| ------------------------------------------------------ | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Sardiner i Extra Virgin Olivenolje                     | name   | nb     |      |       |
| Sardiner olivenolje classic 106g                       | name   | nb     |      |       |
| Sardiner Classic i Olivenolje 106g King Oscar          | search | nb     |      |       |
| King Oscar Brisling Sardines in Extra Virgin Olive Oil | search | en     |      |       |
<!--/aliases-->

## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient                        | role           | note                                                                                                                                      | percent | basis | market | from | until | source             |
| --------------------------------- | -------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ------------------ |
| ingredient/sprat                  | fish           | printed as "LETTRØKT BRISLING SARDINER" and capitalised as the fish allergen; the maker calls it Norwegian brisling caught at 9,5–13,5 cm |         |       |        |      |       | as printed on pack |
| ingredient/extra-virgin-olive-oil | packing medium | printed as "extra virgin olivenolje"; the maker's page for this article says Spanish extra virgin olive oil                               |         |       |        |      |       | as printed on pack |
| ingredient/salt                   | seasoning      |                                                                                                                                           |         |       |        |      |       | as printed on pack |
<!--/ingredients-->

## Nutrition <!--nutrition-->
basis: 100 g
energy_kcal: 261
energy_kj: 1083
fat_g: 21
saturated_fat_g: 5
trans_fat_g: 0
cholesterol_mg: 78
carbohydrate_g: 0
sugars_g: 0
fibre_g: 0
protein_g: 18
salt_g: 1
calcium_mg: 290
iron_mg: 1.6
potassium_mg: 276
vitamin_d_ug: 11
vitamin_c_mg: 10
vitamin_b12_ug: 7.7
printed: energy_kj, energy_kcal, fat_g, saturated_fat_g, carbohydrate_g, sugars_g, protein_g, salt_g, calcium_mg
less_than: vitamin_c_mg
source: as printed on pack
note: the nine fields named in printed are transcribed from the panel photographed on the can, which is headed "NÆRINGSINNHOLD PER 100 g DRENET VEKT", so the basis is 100 g of drained fish and oil rather than 100 g of can contents; the remaining fields are taken from the maker's table for this article, which carries the same energy, fat, saturated fat, carbohydrate, sugar, protein, salt and calcium values but is headed only "per 100 g". Open Food Facts types the energy as 246 kcal against 1083 kJ; the pack and the maker both print 261 kcal, and 261 is what the macronutrients give (21 g fat and 18 g protein), so the typed value was not used. The maker's table also prints sodium 315 mg, which does not agree with the 1,0 g of salt printed on the can and in that same table (1,0 g of salt is 400 mg of sodium), so no sodium value is recorded here.
<!--/nutrition-->

## Meta <!--meta-->
title: King Oscar Sardines Classic in Extra Virgin Olive Oil 106 g
description: Lightly smoked brisling sardines hand-packed in Spanish extra virgin olive oil, sold in Norway in a 106 g can under EAN 7027110222453.
<!--/meta-->

## Images <!--images-->
| asset                    | kind        | source          | licence      | attribution                  | url                                                   | accessed   |
| ------------------------ | ----------- | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---------- |
| front-8e260213.jpg       | front       | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453 | 2026-09-11 |
| ingredients-85adbda1.jpg | ingredients | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453 | 2026-09-11 |
| nutrition-b59d37c9.jpg   | nutrition   | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453 | 2026-09-11 |
<!--/images-->

## References <!--references-->
| ref        | url                                                                                          | title                                                                                             | accessed   |
| ---------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- |
| maker      | https://www.kingoscar.no/produkter/sardiner/sardiner-olivenolje-classic-106g/                | King Oscar Norway: Sardiner olivenolje classic 106g, description, ingredients and nutrition table | 2026-09-11 |
| range      | https://www.kingoscar.no/produkter/sardiner/                                                 | King Oscar Norway: Sardiner, the sardine range and how King Oscar sardines are made               | 2026-09-11 |
| wiki       | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/King_Oscar_(company)                                           | Wikipedia: King Oscar (company)                                                                   | 2026-09-11 |
| brreg      | https://data.brreg.no/enhetsregisteret/api/enheter/993791296                                 | Enhetsregisteret (Brønnøysundregistrene): KING OSCAR AS, organisation number 993791296            | 2026-09-11 |
| ernaer     | https://www.xn--ernr-xoa.no/matvarer/sardiner-classic-i-olivenolje-106g-king-oscar           | Ernær: Sardiner Classic i Olivenolje 106g King Oscar, EAN, Norwegian chain prices and allergens   | 2026-09-11 |
| off        | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/7027110222453                                        | Open Food Facts: Sardiner i Extra Virgin Olivenolje, King Oscar (ODbL)                            | 2026-09-11 |
| frontphoto | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/702/711/022/2453/front_nb.35.full.jpg       | Photograph of the front of the can, Open Food Facts                                               | 2026-09-11 |
| ingphoto   | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/702/711/022/2453/ingredients_nb.14.full.jpg | Photograph of the ingredient statement on the can, Open Food Facts                                | 2026-09-11 |
| nutphoto   | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/702/711/022/2453/nutrition_nb.33.full.jpg   | Photograph of the nutrition panel on the can, Open Food Facts                                     | 2026-09-11 |
| tuwiki     | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thai_Union_Group                                               | Wikipedia: Thai Union Group                                                                       | 2026-09-11 |
<!--/references-->

## About <!--about-->
A 106 g can of lightly smoked brisling sardines packed in extra virgin olive oil, sold in Norway as the Classic member of the King Oscar sardine range.[^maker][^range] The front of the can carries the portrait of Oscar II and the line "BY SPECIAL ROYAL PERMISSION", a reference to 1902, when the king allowed the Stavanger cannery Chr. Bjelland & Co to put his name and likeness on a line of sardines.[^frontphoto][^wiki] It also claims 8–14 fish per can and carries the Nordic Keyhole symbol and a kosher mark; King Oscar brisling products have been kosher-certified since 1950.[^frontphoto][^wiki]

"Sardine" here is a method rather than a species: King Oscar packs brisling, a small sprat fished in the North Sea and the deep Norwegian fjords and caught full-grown at 9,5 to 13,5 cm, and each fish is laid in the can by hand.[^range][^maker] The ingredient statement on the can reads "FISK – LETTRØKT BRISLING SARDINER, extra virgin olivenolje, salt"; the maker's page states the same recipe more precisely as lightly smoked Norwegian brisling in Spanish extra virgin olive oil, and declares no additives.[^ingphoto][^maker]

The nutrition panel is printed per 100 g of drained weight and gives 1083 kJ / 261 kcal, 21 g of fat, 18 g of protein, 1,0 g of salt and 290 mg of calcium.[^nutphoto] Open Food Facts types the same record at 246 kcal, which does not follow from its own macronutrients, so the printed figure is used here.[^off]

The brand belongs to King Oscar AS, registered in Bergen since 13 February 2009 under organisation number 993791296 and classed as a processor of fish.[^brreg][^wiki] That company has been owned by the Thai seafood group Thai Union Group since 2014, which lists King Oscar as its Norwegian business; the maker's Norwegian site gives a thaiunion.com address for customer contact.[^wiki][^tuwiki][^maker] The can is stocked by the Norwegian grocery chains, among them Meny, Rema 1000, Joker, Spar and Bunnpris.[^ernaer] Where it was made is not stated on the material seen here: the retailer record gives the country of manufacture as unknown, and no country of origin is recorded on this page.[^ernaer]
<!--/about-->