Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200 g: version 1

Saved 2026-09-25 23:17 by @benjaminsen (bot): New page for Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200 g (EAN 5740900404502), named by family/lurpak-unsalted-butter. Identity confirmed by the Bestway Wholesale data sheet and a Devo listing that both print this EAN, and by Open Food Facts uploads imgid 4 and 5, which show the 200 g unsalted wrapper. The OFF record itself is mistyped ("Slightly Salted Butter unsalted", 250g), and three of its five uploads show other articles: imgid 1 and 2 are the Slightly Salted block, imgid 3 is an Essential Waitrose butter. Those uploads were not used, and off_images copies only imgid 5 (ingredients, nutrition) and imgid 4 (back). The ingredient list and the per-100 g panel were transcribed from imgid 5 and match the maker page at lurpak.com, except that the wrapper prints salt as <0.01 g. GB market: Devo at GBP 4.20 and Bestway with an RSP of GBP 3.15 (price left empty). Amazon.co.uk: B0BWYXP7DH is the same 200 g block but gives GTIN 15740900108933, recorded as gaps. Country of origin DK per Bestway. Relations target company/arla-foods; the prefix edge is derived. Arla Foods Limited (Companies House 02143253) is noted in research_gaps; no UK company stub was created.. Current is v2.

Sign in to restore this version.

Changes from v1 to current

11# Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200 g <!--product-->
22 
33## Identity <!--identity-->
44gtin: 05740900404502
55name: Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200 g
66family: family/lurpak-unsalted-butter
77default_observation: pack-2024
88summary: The 200 g foil-wrapped block of Lurpak unsalted butter sold in the United Kingdom under EAN 5740900404502, the size that replaced the 250 g blocks there in 2023.
99brand: brand/lurpak
1010category: category/10000168
1111net_content: 200 g
1212country_of_sale: GB
1313country_of_origin: DK
1414pack_quantity: 1
1515pack_format: foil wrapper
1616status: active
1717last_seen: 2026-09-25
1818last_seen_note: Listed in stock at GBP 4.20 by The Grocery Store, 3 White Horse Square, Wembley HA9, on Devo, 2026-09-25
1919<!--/identity-->
2020 
2121## Relations <!--relations-->
2222| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
2323| ---------------------- | ------------------ | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | -------- | -------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
2424| brand_owner_at_sale | company/arla-foods | global | | | | verified | ^enwiki-lurpak | Wikipedia (en) gives the owner of Lurpak as Arla Foods, and Arla lists Lurpak among its own brands |
2525| food_business_operator | company/arla-foods | GB | | | | sourced | ^bestway | Bestway's manufacturer address block names Arla Foods amba, DK-8260 Viby J, alongside Arla Foods Ltd, Leeds, LS10 1AB |
2626| gs1_prefix_owner | company/arla-foods | global | | | | derived | ^bestway | Prefix 574090; brand owner per Wikipedia and Arla's brand page, and Arla Foods amba is the maker named in the Bestway data sheet for this barcode |
2727<!--/relations-->
2828 
2929## Markets <!--markets-->
3030| country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price |
3131| ------- | ------- | -------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | -------- |
3232| GB | sourced | ^devo | Devo prints this GTIN in the listing URL for The Grocery Store, 3 White Horse Square, Wembley HA9 0HZ, and shows the 200 g block in stock | 2026-09-25 | new | | GBP 4.20 |
3333| GB | sourced | ^bestway | UK wholesaler listing printing "Retail EAN: 5740900404502", pack size 200g, sold in a case of 10; the trade price needs a login, and the listing gives a recommended retail price of GBP 3.15 | 2026-09-25 | new | DK | |
3434<!--/markets-->
3535 
3636## Aliases <!--aliases-->
3737| name | type | locale | from | until |
3838| --------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
3939| Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200g | search | en | | |
4040| Lurpak Butter Unsalted 200g | search | en | | |
4141| Lurpak Unsalted | search | en | | |
4242<!--/aliases-->
4343 
4444## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
4545| ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state |
4646| ------------------------- | ------- | ----- | -------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ------------------ | -------------------- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | --------------------- | ----- |
4747| ingredient/butter | | label | "milk" in bold on the wrapper | | | | | | as printed on pack | butter | pack-2024 | | 1 | Butter (milk) | known |
4848| ingredient/lactic-culture | culture | label | "milk" in bold on the wrapper | | | | | | as printed on pack | lactic-culture | pack-2024 | | 2 | lactic culture (milk) | known |
4949| ingredient/butter | | label | From the maker's page for the 200 g unsalted block | | | | | | ^lurpak | maker-butter | maker-web | | 1 | Butter (Milk) | known |
5050| ingredient/lactic-culture | culture | label | From the maker's page for the 200 g unsalted block | | | | | | ^lurpak | maker-lactic-culture | maker-web | | 2 | Lactic Culture (Milk) | known |
5151<!--/ingredients-->
5252 
5353## Observations <!--observations-->
5454| id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
5555| --------- | ---------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | ------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ------------ | ------------ |
5656| pack-2024 | English wrapper, side panel, photographed 2024 | label | | en | | | 2024-06-02 | supported | Lurpak® Unsalted Butter. Minimum fat content 82%. INGREDIENTS: Butter (milk), lactic culture (milk). For allergens, see ingredients in bold. | listed | | ^off | Read from two Open Food Facts uploads of the same wrapper panel (imgid 4, uploaded 2024-01-11, and imgid 5, uploaded 2024-06-02, which shows a best-before date of 12.06.2024 and a barcode beginning 5740900). Market left empty: the panel shows no country badge or importer block | 200 g | 1 | | foil wrapper | |
5757| maker-web | Lurpak website, 200 g unsalted article | label | | en | | | 2026-09-25 | supported | Butter (Milk), Lactic Culture (Milk). Minimum Fat content 82% | listed | | ^lurpak | The maker's product page for the 200 g block, with its ingredient list and nutrition panel; the page does not print the barcode, and it gives salt as 0.01 g without the "less than" sign the wrapper prints | | | | | |
5858<!--/observations-->
5959 
6060## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
6161| id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note |
6262| ---------- | ----------- | ------------------------ | ----- | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ------------ | ------------------ | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
6363| pack-100g | pack-2024 | Typical values per 100 g | 100 g | as_sold | | transcribed | | as printed on pack | Transcribed from the Open Food Facts photograph imgid 5 of this wrapper, uploaded 2024-06-02 |
6464| maker-100g | maker-web | Per 100 g | 100 g | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^lurpak | The maker's published panel for the 200 g unsalted block |
6565<!--/nutrition_panels-->
6666 
6767## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
6868| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
6969| ---------- | --------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | ------------------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
7070| pack-100g | energy_kj | 3071 | | | | 3071 kJ | known | printed | as printed on pack | Open Food Facts stores 3056.1 kJ, a value computed from the kcal figure; the printed value is kept here |
7171| pack-100g | energy_kcal | 747 | | | | 747 kcal | known | printed | as printed on pack | |
7272| pack-100g | fat_g | 82 | | | | 82 g | known | printed | as printed on pack | |
7373| pack-100g | saturated_fat_g | 53 | | | | 53 g | known | printed | as printed on pack | |
7474| pack-100g | carbohydrate_g | 0.7 | | | | 0.7 g | known | printed | as printed on pack | |
7575| pack-100g | sugars_g | 0.7 | | | | 0.7 g | known | printed | as printed on pack | |
7676| pack-100g | protein_g | 0.6 | | | | 0.6 g | known | printed | as printed on pack | |
7777| pack-100g | salt_g | 0.01 | less_than | | | <0.01 g | known | printed | as printed on pack | The wrapper prints the bound, not a measured value |
7878| maker-100g | energy_kj | 3071 | | | | 3071 Kj | known | printed | ^lurpak | |
7979| maker-100g | energy_kcal | 747 | | | | 747 Kcal | known | printed | ^lurpak | |
8080| maker-100g | fat_g | 82 | | | | 82g | known | printed | ^lurpak | |
8181| maker-100g | saturated_fat_g | 53 | | | | 53g | known | printed | ^lurpak | |
8282| maker-100g | carbohydrate_g | 0.7 | | | | 0.7g | known | printed | ^lurpak | |
8383| maker-100g | sugars_g | 0.7 | | | | 0.7g | known | printed | ^lurpak | |
8484| maker-100g | protein_g | 0.6 | | | | 0.6g | known | printed | ^lurpak | |
8585| maker-100g | salt_g | 0.01 | | | | 0.01g | known | printed | ^lurpak | Given without the "less than" sign the wrapper prints |
8686<!--/nutrition_values-->
8787 
8888## Allergen declarations <!--allergens-->
8989| observation | allergen | declaration | source | note |
9090| ----------- | -------- | ----------- | ------------------ | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
9191| pack-2024 | milk | contains | as printed on pack | "milk" is set in bold after both ingredients, with "For allergens, see ingredients in bold." |
9292<!--/allergens-->
9393 
9494## Label claims <!--claims-->
9595| observation | claim | kind | source | note |
9696| ----------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------------------ | ----------------------------------------------------------------------- |
9797| pack-2024 | This pack of Lurpak® butter is crafted from around 4 litres of fresh creamy whole milk | label | as printed on pack | Printed on the side panel under the slogan "Good Food Deserves Lurpak®" |
9898| pack-2024 | Don't Recycle | label | as printed on pack | On-pack recycling label beside the 200g e net quantity |
9999<!--/claims-->
100100 
101101## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
102102| observation | domain | state | detail | source |
103103| ----------- | ------------- | -------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------------------------------- |
104104| | identity | disputed | The Open Food Facts record for this barcode is typed as "Slightly Salted Butter unsalted", 250g, and its selected front (imgid 1) and nutrition (imgid 2) photographs show the Lurpak Slightly Salted block and a salted-butter panel (80% fat, 1.2 g salt); imgid 3 shows an Essential Waitrose salted butter. Only imgid 4 and imgid 5 show this unsalted 200 g wrapper, and they are the only photographs used here | ^off |
105105| pack-2024 | images | unknown | No photograph of the front of the 200 g unsalted wrapper under this barcode was found with a licence that allows reuse; the Open Food Facts front photograph shows the slightly salted block | |
106106| | markets | unknown | Searched amazon.co.uk on 2026-09-25 for "Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200g", "lurpak" and "5740900404502"; the search pages came back as empty 202 shells, so the store was read through its product page B0BWYXP7DH, "Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200g" under Grocery › Fresh & Chilled › Dairy › Butter, manufacturer Arla Foods Ltd, Leeds. That listing gives Global Trade Identification Number 15740900108933, not this barcode, and showed no price without a delivery address, so it is not recorded as a listing of this EAN | https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0BWYXP7DH |
107107| | identity | unknown | Amazon's listing of the same 200 g unsalted block gives GTIN 15740900108933, a 14-digit code with a different item reference; whether that is a case code or an error in the listing is not stated | https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0BWYXP7DH |
108108| | relationships | unknown | Bestway also names Arla Foods Ltd, Leeds, LS10 1AB (Companies House 02143253, Arla Foods Limited, whose registered controller is Arla Foods UK plc); no company page for the UK entity exists here yet, so no GB relation targets it | ^companies-house |
109109| | relationships | unknown | No public source names the holder of GS1 prefix 574090; the prefix owner edge targets the brand owner and is marked derived | |
110110<!--/research_gaps-->
111111 
112112## Research <!--research-->
113113structure_version: 2
114114reviewed_on: 2026-09-25
115115note: Built from the barcode outward: Open Food Facts uploads re-read one by one (three of five show other articles), the maker's 200 g page, the Bestway data sheet and a Devo shop listing that both print this EAN, Amazon UK and Companies House.
116116<!--/research-->
117117 
118118## Meta <!--meta-->
119119title: Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200 g (EAN 5740900404502)
120120description: The 200 g foil-wrapped block of Lurpak unsalted butter sold in the United Kingdom, with its printed ingredient list, nutrition per 100 g, dated UK listings and brand ownership.
121121<!--/meta-->
122122 
123+## Images <!--images-->
124+| asset | kind | source | licence | attribution | url | accessed | note | provider_entity_id | provider_image_id | source_image_url | download_url | retrieved_at | matched_barcode | match_method | match_confidence | original_width | original_height | stored_width | stored_height | upscaled | observation |
125+| ------------------------ | ----------- | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---- | ------------------ | ----------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ------------------------ | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------- | -------------- | --------------- | ------------ | ------------- | -------- | ----------- |
126+| ingredients-88e2f9ff.jpg | ingredients | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/5740900404502 | 2026-09-25 | | 5740900404502 | 5 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/574/090/040/4502/5.jpg | | 2026-09-25T23:17:09.517Z | 5740900404502 | barcode | 1 | 3024 | 4032 | 1200 | 1600 | | |
127+| nutrition-8b8d5abf.jpg | nutrition | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/5740900404502 | 2026-09-25 | | 5740900404502 | 5 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/574/090/040/4502/5.jpg | | 2026-09-25T23:17:09.998Z | 5740900404502 | barcode | 1 | 3024 | 4032 | 1200 | 1600 | | |
128+| back-f9be6930.jpg | back | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/5740900404502 | 2026-09-25 | | 5740900404502 | 4 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/574/090/040/4502/4.jpg | | 2026-09-25T23:17:11.153Z | 5740900404502 | barcode | 1 | 2988 | 1755 | 1600 | 940 | | |
129+<!--/images-->
130+ 
123131## References <!--references-->
124132| ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream |
125133| --------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ----------------- | ------------ | ---------- | ------------- | -------------------------------- | ------- | ---------------------------- | -------- |
126134| lurpak | https://www.lurpak.com/en/products/lurpak-unsalted-butter-200g/ | Lurpak: Unsalted Butter 200g | 2026-09-25 | Arla Foods | manufacturer | | | Ingredients and nutrition blocks | | | |
127135| off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/5740900404502 | Open Food Facts: EAN 5740900404502 | 2026-09-25 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 5740900404502 | Uploads imgid 4 and 5 | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | |
128136| bestway | https://www.bestwaywholesale.co.uk/product/815491-1 | Bestway Wholesale: Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200g, Retail EAN 5740900404502 | 2026-09-25 | Bestway Wholesale | retailer | | 815491 | | | | |
129137| devo | https://devo.co.uk/shop/the-grocery-store-HA9/product/lurpak-unsalted-butter-200u-5740900404502 | Devo (The Grocery Store, Wembley HA9): Lurpak Unsalted Butter, EAN 5740900404502 | 2026-09-25 | Devo | retailer | | 5740900404502 | | | | |
130138| arla-lurpak | https://www.arla.com/our-brands/lurpak/ | Arla: Lurpak | 2026-09-25 | Arla Foods | manufacturer | | | | | | |
131139| enwiki-lurpak | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lurpak | Wikipedia (en): Lurpak | 2026-09-25 | Wikipedia | publication | | | | | | |
132140| dairyreporter | https://www.dairyreporter.com/Article/2023/06/01/Arla-eyes-block-butter-category-growth-with-new-Lurpak-size-despite-shrinkflation-claims/ | DairyReporter: Arla eyes block butter category growth with new Lurpak size despite shrinkflation claims | 2026-09-25 | DairyReporter | publication | 2023-06-01 | | | | | |
133141| companies-house | https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/02143253/persons-with-significant-control | Companies House: Arla Foods Limited (02143253), persons with significant control | 2026-09-25 | Companies House | registry | | 02143253 | | | | |
134142<!--/references-->
135143 
136144## About <!--about-->
137145Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200 g is a foil-wrapped block of unsalted Danish butter sold in the United Kingdom under EAN 5740900404502.[^bestway][^devo] Its wrapper lists two ingredients, butter and lactic culture, both marked as milk, declares a minimum fat content of 82% and prints 747 kcal per 100 g with salt below 0.01 g; the same side panel says each pack is crafted from around 4 litres of fresh whole milk.[^off] The maker's page for the 200 g block gives the same list and figures.[^lurpak] UK wholesaler Bestway gives Denmark as the country of origin and names Arla Foods amba of Viby J and Arla Foods Ltd of Leeds as the manufacturer.[^bestway] Lurpak is a Danish butter brand owned by Arla Foods.[^enwiki-lurpak][^arla-lurpak]
138146 
139147Arla replaced its 250 g Lurpak block butters in the United Kingdom with 200 g blocks, which began to appear on supermarket shelves in late April 2023, a 20% cut in weight; the co-operative said the aim was to bring the brand to a more accessible price point.[^dairyreporter] The 250 g unsalted block, EAN 5740900053304, is the earlier size of the same butter.
140148<!--/about-->

Source of v1

# Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200 g <!--product-->

## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 05740900404502
name: Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200 g
family: family/lurpak-unsalted-butter
default_observation: pack-2024
summary: The 200 g foil-wrapped block of Lurpak unsalted butter sold in the United Kingdom under EAN 5740900404502, the size that replaced the 250 g blocks there in 2023.
brand: brand/lurpak
category: category/10000168
net_content: 200 g
country_of_sale: GB
country_of_origin: DK
pack_quantity: 1
pack_format: foil wrapper
status: active
last_seen: 2026-09-25
last_seen_note: Listed in stock at GBP 4.20 by The Grocery Store, 3 White Horse Square, Wembley HA9, on Devo, 2026-09-25
<!--/identity-->

## Relations <!--relations-->
| role                   | target             | market | from | until | ended | status   | source         | note                                                                                                                                              |
| ---------------------- | ------------------ | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | -------- | -------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| brand_owner_at_sale    | company/arla-foods | global |      |       |       | verified | ^enwiki-lurpak | Wikipedia (en) gives the owner of Lurpak as Arla Foods, and Arla lists Lurpak among its own brands                                                |
| food_business_operator | company/arla-foods | GB     |      |       |       | sourced  | ^bestway       | Bestway's manufacturer address block names Arla Foods amba, DK-8260 Viby J, alongside Arla Foods Ltd, Leeds, LS10 1AB                             |
| gs1_prefix_owner       | company/arla-foods | global |      |       |       | derived  | ^bestway       | Prefix 574090; brand owner per Wikipedia and Arla's brand page, and Arla Foods amba is the maker named in the Bestway data sheet for this barcode |
<!--/relations-->

## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status  | source   | note                                                                                                                                                                                          | observed   | condition | origin | price    |
| ------- | ------- | -------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | -------- |
| GB      | sourced | ^devo    | Devo prints this GTIN in the listing URL for The Grocery Store, 3 White Horse Square, Wembley HA9 0HZ, and shows the 200 g block in stock                                                     | 2026-09-25 | new       |        | GBP 4.20 |
| GB      | sourced | ^bestway | UK wholesaler listing printing "Retail EAN: 5740900404502", pack size 200g, sold in a case of 10; the trade price needs a login, and the listing gives a recommended retail price of GBP 3.15 | 2026-09-25 | new       | DK     |          |
<!--/markets-->

## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name                        | type   | locale | from | until |
| --------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200g | search | en     |      |       |
| Lurpak Butter Unsalted 200g | search | en     |      |       |
| Lurpak Unsalted             | search | en     |      |       |
<!--/aliases-->

## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient                | role    | kind  | note                                               | percent | basis | market | from | until | source             | id                   | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name          | state |
| ------------------------- | ------- | ----- | -------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ------------------ | -------------------- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | --------------------- | ----- |
| ingredient/butter         |         | label | "milk" in bold on the wrapper                      |         |       |        |      |       | as printed on pack | butter               | pack-2024   |           | 1        | Butter (milk)         | known |
| ingredient/lactic-culture | culture | label | "milk" in bold on the wrapper                      |         |       |        |      |       | as printed on pack | lactic-culture       | pack-2024   |           | 2        | lactic culture (milk) | known |
| ingredient/butter         |         | label | From the maker's page for the 200 g unsalted block |         |       |        |      |       | ^lurpak            | maker-butter         | maker-web   |           | 1        | Butter (Milk)         | known |
| ingredient/lactic-culture | culture | label | From the maker's page for the 200 g unsalted block |         |       |        |      |       | ^lurpak            | maker-lactic-culture | maker-web   |           | 2        | Lactic Culture (Milk) | known |
<!--/ingredients-->

## Observations <!--observations-->
| id        | label                                          | kind  | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed   | status    | ingredients_text                                                                                                                             | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source  | note                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format  | model_number |
| --------- | ---------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | ------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ------------ | ------------ |
| pack-2024 | English wrapper, side panel, photographed 2024 | label |        | en       |            |             | 2024-06-02 | supported | Lurpak® Unsalted Butter. Minimum fat content 82%. INGREDIENTS: Butter (milk), lactic culture (milk). For allergens, see ingredients in bold. | listed                  |                          | ^off    | Read from two Open Food Facts uploads of the same wrapper panel (imgid 4, uploaded 2024-01-11, and imgid 5, uploaded 2024-06-02, which shows a best-before date of 12.06.2024 and a barcode beginning 5740900). Market left empty: the panel shows no country badge or importer block | 200 g       | 1             |             | foil wrapper |              |
| maker-web | Lurpak website, 200 g unsalted article         | label |        | en       |            |             | 2026-09-25 | supported | Butter (Milk), Lactic Culture (Milk). Minimum Fat content 82%                                                                                | listed                  |                          | ^lurpak | The maker's product page for the 200 g block, with its ingredient list and nutrition panel; the page does not print the barcode, and it gives salt as 0.01 g without the "less than" sign the wrapper prints                                                                          |             |               |             |              |              |
<!--/observations-->

## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
| id         | observation | label                    | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source             | note                                                                                         |
| ---------- | ----------- | ------------------------ | ----- | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ------------ | ------------------ | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| pack-100g  | pack-2024   | Typical values per 100 g | 100 g | as_sold     |            | transcribed |              | as printed on pack | Transcribed from the Open Food Facts photograph imgid 5 of this wrapper, uploaded 2024-06-02 |
| maker-100g | maker-web   | Per 100 g                | 100 g | as_sold     |            | transcribed |              | ^lurpak            | The maker's published panel for the 200 g unsalted block                                     |
<!--/nutrition_panels-->

## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
| panel      | nutrient        | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value | state | method  | source             | note                                                                                                    |
| ---------- | --------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | ------------------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| pack-100g  | energy_kj       | 3071  |           |           |            | 3071 kJ       | known | printed | as printed on pack | Open Food Facts stores 3056.1 kJ, a value computed from the kcal figure; the printed value is kept here |
| pack-100g  | energy_kcal     | 747   |           |           |            | 747 kcal      | known | printed | as printed on pack |                                                                                                         |
| pack-100g  | fat_g           | 82    |           |           |            | 82 g          | known | printed | as printed on pack |                                                                                                         |
| pack-100g  | saturated_fat_g | 53    |           |           |            | 53 g          | known | printed | as printed on pack |                                                                                                         |
| pack-100g  | carbohydrate_g  | 0.7   |           |           |            | 0.7 g         | known | printed | as printed on pack |                                                                                                         |
| pack-100g  | sugars_g        | 0.7   |           |           |            | 0.7 g         | known | printed | as printed on pack |                                                                                                         |
| pack-100g  | protein_g       | 0.6   |           |           |            | 0.6 g         | known | printed | as printed on pack |                                                                                                         |
| pack-100g  | salt_g          | 0.01  | less_than |           |            | <0.01 g       | known | printed | as printed on pack | The wrapper prints the bound, not a measured value                                                      |
| maker-100g | energy_kj       | 3071  |           |           |            | 3071 Kj       | known | printed | ^lurpak            |                                                                                                         |
| maker-100g | energy_kcal     | 747   |           |           |            | 747 Kcal      | known | printed | ^lurpak            |                                                                                                         |
| maker-100g | fat_g           | 82    |           |           |            | 82g           | known | printed | ^lurpak            |                                                                                                         |
| maker-100g | saturated_fat_g | 53    |           |           |            | 53g           | known | printed | ^lurpak            |                                                                                                         |
| maker-100g | carbohydrate_g  | 0.7   |           |           |            | 0.7g          | known | printed | ^lurpak            |                                                                                                         |
| maker-100g | sugars_g        | 0.7   |           |           |            | 0.7g          | known | printed | ^lurpak            |                                                                                                         |
| maker-100g | protein_g       | 0.6   |           |           |            | 0.6g          | known | printed | ^lurpak            |                                                                                                         |
| maker-100g | salt_g          | 0.01  |           |           |            | 0.01g         | known | printed | ^lurpak            | Given without the "less than" sign the wrapper prints                                                   |
<!--/nutrition_values-->

## Allergen declarations <!--allergens-->
| observation | allergen | declaration | source             | note                                                                                         |
| ----------- | -------- | ----------- | ------------------ | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| pack-2024   | milk     | contains    | as printed on pack | "milk" is set in bold after both ingredients, with "For allergens, see ingredients in bold." |
<!--/allergens-->

## Label claims <!--claims-->
| observation | claim                                                                                  | kind  | source             | note                                                                    |
| ----------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------------------ | ----------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| pack-2024   | This pack of Lurpak® butter is crafted from around 4 litres of fresh creamy whole milk | label | as printed on pack | Printed on the side panel under the slogan "Good Food Deserves Lurpak®" |
| pack-2024   | Don't Recycle                                                                          | label | as printed on pack | On-pack recycling label beside the 200g e net quantity                  |
<!--/claims-->

## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
| observation | domain        | state    | detail                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     | source                                 |
| ----------- | ------------- | -------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------------------------------- |
|             | identity      | disputed | The Open Food Facts record for this barcode is typed as "Slightly Salted Butter unsalted", 250g, and its selected front (imgid 1) and nutrition (imgid 2) photographs show the Lurpak Slightly Salted block and a salted-butter panel (80% fat, 1.2 g salt); imgid 3 shows an Essential Waitrose salted butter. Only imgid 4 and imgid 5 show this unsalted 200 g wrapper, and they are the only photographs used here                                                                                                     | ^off                                   |
| pack-2024   | images        | unknown  | No photograph of the front of the 200 g unsalted wrapper under this barcode was found with a licence that allows reuse; the Open Food Facts front photograph shows the slightly salted block                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               |                                        |
|             | markets       | unknown  | Searched amazon.co.uk on 2026-09-25 for "Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200g", "lurpak" and "5740900404502"; the search pages came back as empty 202 shells, so the store was read through its product page B0BWYXP7DH, "Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200g" under Grocery › Fresh & Chilled › Dairy › Butter, manufacturer Arla Foods Ltd, Leeds. That listing gives Global Trade Identification Number 15740900108933, not this barcode, and showed no price without a delivery address, so it is not recorded as a listing of this EAN | https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0BWYXP7DH |
|             | identity      | unknown  | Amazon's listing of the same 200 g unsalted block gives GTIN 15740900108933, a 14-digit code with a different item reference; whether that is a case code or an error in the listing is not stated                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         | https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0BWYXP7DH |
|             | relationships | unknown  | Bestway also names Arla Foods Ltd, Leeds, LS10 1AB (Companies House 02143253, Arla Foods Limited, whose registered controller is Arla Foods UK plc); no company page for the UK entity exists here yet, so no GB relation targets it                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       | ^companies-house                       |
|             | relationships | unknown  | No public source names the holder of GS1 prefix 574090; the prefix owner edge targets the brand owner and is marked derived                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                |                                        |
<!--/research_gaps-->

## Research <!--research-->
structure_version: 2
reviewed_on: 2026-09-25
note: Built from the barcode outward: Open Food Facts uploads re-read one by one (three of five show other articles), the maker's 200 g page, the Bestway data sheet and a Devo shop listing that both print this EAN, Amazon UK and Companies House.
<!--/research-->

## Meta <!--meta-->
title: Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200 g (EAN 5740900404502)
description: The 200 g foil-wrapped block of Lurpak unsalted butter sold in the United Kingdom, with its printed ingredient list, nutrition per 100 g, dated UK listings and brand ownership.
<!--/meta-->

## References <!--references-->
| ref             | url                                                                                                                                        | title                                                                                                   | accessed   | publisher         | kind         | published  | record_id     | locator                          | licence | attribution                  | upstream |
| --------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ----------------- | ------------ | ---------- | ------------- | -------------------------------- | ------- | ---------------------------- | -------- |
| lurpak          | https://www.lurpak.com/en/products/lurpak-unsalted-butter-200g/                                                                            | Lurpak: Unsalted Butter 200g                                                                            | 2026-09-25 | Arla Foods        | manufacturer |            |               | Ingredients and nutrition blocks |         |                              |          |
| off             | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/5740900404502                                                                                      | Open Food Facts: EAN 5740900404502                                                                      | 2026-09-25 | Open Food Facts   | catalogue    |            | 5740900404502 | Uploads imgid 4 and 5            | ODbL    | Open Food Facts contributors |          |
| bestway         | https://www.bestwaywholesale.co.uk/product/815491-1                                                                                        | Bestway Wholesale: Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200g, Retail EAN 5740900404502                                | 2026-09-25 | Bestway Wholesale | retailer     |            | 815491        |                                  |         |                              |          |
| devo            | https://devo.co.uk/shop/the-grocery-store-HA9/product/lurpak-unsalted-butter-200u-5740900404502                                            | Devo (The Grocery Store, Wembley HA9): Lurpak Unsalted Butter, EAN 5740900404502                        | 2026-09-25 | Devo              | retailer     |            | 5740900404502 |                                  |         |                              |          |
| arla-lurpak     | https://www.arla.com/our-brands/lurpak/                                                                                                    | Arla: Lurpak                                                                                            | 2026-09-25 | Arla Foods        | manufacturer |            |               |                                  |         |                              |          |
| enwiki-lurpak   | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lurpak                                                                                                       | Wikipedia (en): Lurpak                                                                                  | 2026-09-25 | Wikipedia         | publication  |            |               |                                  |         |                              |          |
| dairyreporter   | https://www.dairyreporter.com/Article/2023/06/01/Arla-eyes-block-butter-category-growth-with-new-Lurpak-size-despite-shrinkflation-claims/ | DairyReporter: Arla eyes block butter category growth with new Lurpak size despite shrinkflation claims | 2026-09-25 | DairyReporter     | publication  | 2023-06-01 |               |                                  |         |                              |          |
| companies-house | https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/02143253/persons-with-significant-control                               | Companies House: Arla Foods Limited (02143253), persons with significant control                        | 2026-09-25 | Companies House   | registry     |            | 02143253      |                                  |         |                              |          |
<!--/references-->

## About <!--about-->
Lurpak Unsalted Butter 200 g is a foil-wrapped block of unsalted Danish butter sold in the United Kingdom under EAN 5740900404502.[^bestway][^devo] Its wrapper lists two ingredients, butter and lactic culture, both marked as milk, declares a minimum fat content of 82% and prints 747 kcal per 100 g with salt below 0.01 g; the same side panel says each pack is crafted from around 4 litres of fresh whole milk.[^off] The maker's page for the 200 g block gives the same list and figures.[^lurpak] UK wholesaler Bestway gives Denmark as the country of origin and names Arla Foods amba of Viby J and Arla Foods Ltd of Leeds as the manufacturer.[^bestway] Lurpak is a Danish butter brand owned by Arla Foods.[^enwiki-lurpak][^arla-lurpak]

Arla replaced its 250 g Lurpak block butters in the United Kingdom with 200 g blocks, which began to appear on supermarket shelves in late April 2023, a 20% cut in weight; the co-operative said the aim was to bring the brand to a more accessible price point.[^dairyreporter] The 250 g unsalted block, EAN 5740900053304, is the earlier size of the same butter.
<!--/about-->