Lucozade Energy Orange 250 ml: version 3
Saved 2026-09-26 18:29 by site bot: #bp-family-subfamilies: filed under its line family/lucozade-energy-orange. This is the current version.
Source of v3
# Lucozade Energy Orange 250 ml <!--product-->
## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 05054267001336
name: Lucozade Energy Orange 250 ml
family: family/lucozade-energy-orange
default_observation: off-2019
summary: Slim can of Lucozade Energy Orange, the sparkling orange glucose drink of the British Lucozade brand, owned by Lucozade Ribena Suntory.
brand: brand/lucozade
category: category/10000266
net_content: 250 ml
country_of_sale: US
pack_format: aluminium can
<!--/identity-->
## Relations <!--relations-->
| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
| ------------------- | ------------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ------ | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| brand_owner_at_sale | company/lucozade-ribena-suntory | | | | | sourced | ^usda | USDA Branded Foods gives the brand owner as "Lucozade Ribena Suntory Ltd". |
| gs1_prefix_owner | company/lucozade-ribena-suntory | | | | | derived | ^usda | Prefix 5054267 (GS1 UK, 500-509); owner per the USDA brand_owner field. The Open Food Facts packs under 5054267 carry the Suntory GB&I brands Lucozade, Ribena and Orangina (first 29 read on 2026-09-26). |
<!--/relations-->
## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price |
| ------- | ------- | ------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | ----- |
| US | derived | ^usda | USDA FoodData Central Branded Foods record, fdc_id 2084942 (Label Insight data), available 2021-10-28, record modified 2017-07-14; USDA gives the market as US. | 2021-10-28 | | | |
<!--/markets-->
## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name | type | locale | from | until |
| ---------------------------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Lucozade Energy Drink Orange Can 250 ml | search | en | | |
| Lucozade Energy Sparkling Orange Glucose Drink | search | en | | |
<!--/aliases-->
## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state |
| ---------------------------------------- | ----------------- | ----- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ---------- | ------ | -------------------------------- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | ----------------------------- | ----- |
| ingredient/carbonated-water | | label | `until` is the modification date of the USDA record this list was read from. | | | | | 2017-07-14 | ^usda | u1-carbonated-water | usda-2017 | | 1 | Carbonated Water | known |
| ingredient/glucose-fructose-syrup | | label | | 21 | | | | 2017-07-14 | ^usda | u2-glucose-fructose-syrup | usda-2017 | | 2 | Glucose Fructose Syrup | known |
| ingredient/orange-juice-from-concentrate | | label | | 5 | | | | 2017-07-14 | ^usda | u3-orange-juice-from-concentrate | usda-2017 | | 3 | Orange Juice from Concentrate | known |
| ingredient/citric-acid | acid | label | | | | | | 2017-07-14 | ^usda | u4-citric-acid | usda-2017 | | 4 | Citric Acid | known |
| ingredient/sodium-citrates | acidity regulator | label | | | | | | 2017-07-14 | ^usda | u5-sodium-citrates | usda-2017 | | 5 | Sodium Citrate | known |
| ingredient/potassium-sorbate | preservative | label | | | | | | 2017-07-14 | ^usda | u6-potassium-sorbate | usda-2017 | | 6 | Potassium Sorbate | known |
| ingredient/gum-arabic | stabiliser | label | | | | | | 2017-07-14 | ^usda | u7-gum-arabic | usda-2017 | | 7 | Acacia Gum | known |
| ingredient/caffeine | | label | | | | | | 2017-07-14 | ^usda | u8-caffeine | usda-2017 | | 8 | Caffeine | known |
| ingredient/ascorbic-acid | antioxidant | label | | | | | | 2017-07-14 | ^usda | u9-ascorbic-acid | usda-2017 | | 9 | Ascorbic Acid | known |
| ingredient/flavourings | flavouring | label | | | | | | 2017-07-14 | ^usda | u10-flavourings | usda-2017 | | 10 | Flavourings | known |
| ingredient/beta-carotene | colour | label | | | | | | 2017-07-14 | ^usda | u11-beta-carotene | usda-2017 | | 11 | Beta Carotene | known |
<!--/ingredients-->
## Observations <!--observations-->
| id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
| --------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | ------ | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ------------ |
| usda-2017 | USDA Branded Foods label record, fdc_id 2084942 | label | US | en | | | 2017-07-14 | supported | Carbonated Water, Glucose Fructose Syrup (21%), Orange Juice from Concentrate (5%), Acid (Citric Acid), Acidity Regulator (Sodium Citrate), Preservative (Potassium Sorbate), Stabiliser (Acacia Gum), Caffeine, Antioxidant (Ascorbic Acid), Flavourings, Colour (Beta Carotene). | listed | | ^usda | Label Insight record, modified 2017-07-14 and published 2021-10-28, description "Lucozade, Energy, Sparkling Orange Glucose Drink, Orange". The list has no sweeteners and the record gives 13 g sugars per 100 ml, the full-sugar recipe that Lucozade Energy carried before its 2017 sugar cut. Net content is not stated in the record. | | | | | |
| off-2019 | Open Food Facts front and nutrition photographs, 2019 | label | | en | | | 2019-11-15 | supported | | | | ^off | Photographs 1 (front) and 2 (nutrition panel), uploaded 2019-11-15. The front shows a slim orange can: "Lucozade", "Energy", "Orange", "Powered by glucose". The panel gives typical values per 100ml; the ingredient list above it is cut off except for its end, "...of Phenylalanine", the aspartame warning of the 2017 lower-sugar recipe. | 250 ml | | | aluminium can | |
<!--/observations-->
## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
| id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note |
| --------- | ----------- | --------------------------------------------- | ------ | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ------------ | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
| usda-100 | usda-2017 | USDA Branded Foods nutrients, per 100 ml | 100 ml | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^usda | USDA states label nutrients per 100 ml; sodium and salt are not given in the record. |
| off19-100 | off-2019 | Nutritional information, typical values 100ml | 100 ml | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^off | Read from photograph 2 (1797 x 1059 pixels); every figure is legible. |
<!--/nutrition_panels-->
## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
| --------- | --------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ----------------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ---------- | ------ | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| usda-100 | energy_kcal | 63 | | | | | known | normalized | | |
| usda-100 | fat_g | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | | |
| usda-100 | saturated_fat_g | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | | |
| usda-100 | carbohydrate_g | 15 | | | | | known | normalized | | |
| usda-100 | sugars_g | 13 | | | | | known | normalized | | |
| usda-100 | protein_g | 0.1 | | | | | known | normalized | | |
| off19-100 | energy_kj | 149 | | | | 149 | known | printed | | Printed "Energy, kJ / kcal 149 / 35". |
| off19-100 | energy_kcal | 35 | | | | 35 | known | printed | | |
| off19-100 | fat_g | | trace | | | Contains negligible amounts of – Fat, Saturates and Protein | known | printed | | |
| off19-100 | saturated_fat_g | | trace | | | Contains negligible amounts of – Fat, Saturates and Protein | known | printed | | |
| off19-100 | carbohydrate_g | 8.4 | | | | 8.4 | known | printed | | The label adds: "Contains 7.9g glucose based carbohydrate per 100ml and 19.8g per 2…", the end of the sentence curving out of the frame. |
| off19-100 | sugars_g | 4.5 | | | | 4.5 | known | printed | | |
| off19-100 | protein_g | | trace | | | Contains negligible amounts of – Fat, Saturates and Protein | known | printed | | |
| off19-100 | salt_g | 0.06 | | | | 0.06 | known | printed | | |
<!--/nutrition_values-->
## Label claims <!--claims-->
| observation | claim | kind | source | note |
| ----------- | ------------------ | ----- | ------ | ------------------------------------ |
| off-2019 | Powered by glucose | label | ^off | Printed under "Orange" on the front. |
<!--/claims-->
## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
| observation | domain | state | detail | source |
| ----------- | ------------- | ------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------ |
| off-2019 | packaging | unknown | The net content rests on the title of the insta-express.com listing for this barcode, "LUCOZADE ENERGY DRINK ORANGE CAN 250 ML", as shown by a web search on 2026-09-26 (the site refused connections), and on the label's 7.9 g of glucose-based carbohydrate per 100 ml against 19.8 g per serving; no photograph of the volume mark is on file. | ^insta |
| off-2019 | ingredients | unknown | The ingredient list on the 2019 photograph is outside the frame except for its closing phenylalanine warning, so the lower-sugar recipe of this can is not transcribed. | ^off |
| | markets | unknown | amazon.com: a web search restricted to amazon.com for "Lucozade Energy Orange 250ml can" on 2026-09-26 returned Lucozade Energy Orange listings of 500 ml, 900 ml and 1 l only; the store's own search for the full name, "lucozade" and 5054267001336 answered a bot interstitial. | |
| | identity | unknown | The maker's 250 ml orange can page (lucozade.com/product/lucozade-energy/cans/orange/lucozade-energy-orange/5827/) answered 404 on 2026-09-26. Other 250 ml orange articles carry 5054267004665 (British Food Depot) and, as a case of 24, 5054267012981 (Zorbaonline); whether either succeeds this barcode is not stated by any source read. | ^bfd |
| | relationships | unknown | GS1 prefix 5054267: the owner is inferred from the USDA brand owner and the brands in the Open Food Facts block; no fetched source names the licensee. | |
<!--/research_gaps-->
## Research <!--research-->
structure_version: 2
reviewed_on: 2026-09-26
note: Built from the wanted queue (named by family/lucozade-energy). Two label generations: the USDA record of 2017 (full-sugar recipe, glucose-fructose syrup 21%, 13 g sugars per 100 ml) and the 2019 Open Food Facts can photograph (35 kcal and 4.5 g sugars per 100 ml, aspartame warning).
<!--/research-->
## Images <!--images-->
| asset | kind | source | licence | attribution | url | accessed | note | provider_entity_id | provider_image_id | source_image_url | download_url | retrieved_at | matched_barcode | match_method | match_confidence | original_width | original_height | stored_width | stored_height | upscaled | observation |
| ---------------------- | --------- | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---- | ------------------ | ----------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ------------------------ | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------- | -------------- | --------------- | ------------ | ------------- | -------- | ----------- |
| front-4cb56b3c.jpg | front | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/5054267001336 | 2026-09-26 | | 5054267001336 | front_en | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/505/426/700/1336/front_en.4.full.jpg | | 2026-09-26T06:59:30.346Z | 5054267001336 | barcode | 1 | 507 | 1200 | 507 | 1200 | | |
| nutrition-3bcc38e3.jpg | nutrition | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/5054267001336 | 2026-09-26 | | 5054267001336 | nutrition_en | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/505/426/700/1336/nutrition_en.6.full.jpg | | 2026-09-26T06:59:31.393Z | 5054267001336 | barcode | 1 | 1797 | 1059 | 1600 | 943 | | |
<!--/images-->
## References <!--references-->
| ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream |
| --------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------------------- | ----------- | ---------- | ------------- | -------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ------------- |
| usda | https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2084942/nutrients | USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (LI): Lucozade, Energy, Sparkling Orange Glucose Drink | 2026-09-26 | USDA FoodData Central | catalogue | 2021-10-28 | 2084942 | | CC0 | | Label Insight |
| off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/5054267001336 | Open Food Facts: Lucozade, energy, sparkling orange glucose drink, orange (5054267001336) | 2026-09-26 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | 2020-04-23 | 5054267001336 | photos 1 and 2 | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | |
| insta | https://insta-express.com/lucozade-energy-drink-orange-can-250-ml.html | Insta Express: Lucozade Energy Drink Orange Can 250 ml | 2026-09-26 | Insta Express | retailer | | | | | | |
| bfd | https://britishfooddepot.com/lucozade-energy-orange-250ml/ | British Food Depot: Lucozade Energy Orange 250ml | 2026-09-26 | British Food Depot | retailer | | | | | | |
| wikipedia | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lucozade | Wikipedia: Lucozade | 2026-09-26 | Wikipedia | publication | | | | CC BY-SA 4.0 | Wikipedia contributors | |
<!--/references-->
## About <!--about-->
Lucozade Energy Orange 250 ml is a slim can of the orange variety of Lucozade Energy, the sparkling glucose drink of the British Lucozade brand, whose owner USDA gives as Lucozade Ribena Suntory Ltd.[^usda] Orange joined the original Lucozade flavour in 1986.[^wikipedia] A retailer lists the barcode as a 250 ml can.[^insta] Two label generations are on record. The USDA record, last modified in July 2017, lists glucose-fructose syrup at 21% and orange juice from concentrate at 5% with no sweeteners, and gives 63 kcal and 13 g of sugars per 100 ml.[^usda] A 2019 photograph of the can shows the lower-sugar recipe: 35 kcal and 4.5 g of sugars per 100 ml, and the end of a phenylalanine warning above the panel.[^off]
Lucozade Energy cut its sugar to 22.5 g per 500 ml in 2017, ahead of the British soft drinks levy, and added aspartame and acesulfame K.[^wikipedia]
<!--/about-->