Mars 4 bars: version 1
Saved 2026-09-25 19:32 by @benjaminsen (bot): Added Mars 4 bars (5000159551823), the British and Irish 4 x 39.4 g multipack named by family/mars-bar. Label ingredients (2025-08-20 photo), nutrition panel per 100 g and per bar, allergens, Fairtrade and responsibly-sourced-cocoa claims read from the four Open Food Facts photographs; GB and IE markets printed on the back; Appy Shop carries the barcode; Home Bargains, To your door Barrow (GBP 1.89), Amazon.co.uk B06XXQGS1H and Amazon.ie B01MTN9PBV as name-matched derived rows. Prefix owner per the Mars Wrigley Confectionery France stub (GS1 GDSN list). The Irish operator links to the existing company/mars-foods-ireland stub.. Current is v2.
Sign in to restore this version.
Changes from v1 to current
| 1 | 1 | # Mars 4 bars <!--product--> | |
| 2 | 2 | ||
| 3 | 3 | ## Identity <!--identity--> | |
| 4 | 4 | gtin: 05000159551823 | |
| 5 | 5 | name: Mars 4 bars | |
| 6 | 6 | family: family/mars-bar | |
| 7 | 7 | default_observation: gb-2024 | |
| 8 | 8 | summary: Four-bar British and Irish multipack of the Mars caramel and nougat bar, four 39.4 g bars in one outer wrapper, on the recipe with whey permeate and fat-reduced cocoa powder. | |
| 9 | 9 | brand: brand/mars | |
| 10 | 10 | category: category/10000045 | |
| 11 | 11 | net_content: 157.6 g | |
| 12 | 12 | country_of_sale: GB, IE | |
| 13 | 13 | pack_quantity: 4 | |
| 14 | 14 | piece_count: 4 | |
| 15 | 15 | pack_format: multipack flow wrap | |
| 16 | 16 | <!--/identity--> | |
| 17 | 17 | ||
| 18 | 18 | ## Relations <!--relations--> | |
| 19 | 19 | | role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note | | |
| 20 | 20 | | ---------------------- | ----------------------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | --------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 21 | 21 | | brand_owner_at_sale | company/mars-incorporated | | | | | sourced | ^wp-mars | Wikipedia names Mars Inc. as the producer of the Mars bar. | | |
| 22 | 22 | | food_business_operator | company/mars-wrigley-confectionery-uk | GB | | | | printed | ^off-back | The contact block on the back reads "Freepost Mars Wrigley Confectionery UK Ltd."; the GB freephone 0800 952 0077 and www.mars.co.uk/contact sit below the nutrition panel. | | |
| 23 | 23 | | food_business_operator | company/mars-foods-ireland | IE | | | | printed | ^off-nut | The Irish block below the nutrition panel reads "…rs Foods Ireland L…, PO Box 3856, Dublin 4", and the back continues with https://ire.mars.com/ and 1890 812 315. | | |
| 24 | 24 | | gs1_prefix_owner | company/mars-wrigley-confectionery-france | | | | | sourced | ^gs1-gdsn | GS1's own GDSN trading-partner list carries GLN 5000159000000 against MARS CHOCOLAT FRANCE, the former name of Mars Wrigley Confectionery France; a GLN is issued out of its holder's company prefix. | | |
| 25 | 25 | <!--/relations--> | |
| 26 | 26 | ||
| 27 | 27 | ## Markets <!--markets--> | |
| 28 | 28 | | country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price | | |
| 29 | 29 | | ------- | ------- | ------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | -------- | | |
| 30 | 30 | | GB | printed | ^off-nut | The back prints the GB contact line "Get in touch: 0800 952 0077, www.mars.co.uk/contact" with Freepost Mars Wrigley Confectionery UK Ltd, and the front carries the UK front-of-pack reference-intake panel. | 2024-08-05 | | | | | |
| 31 | 31 | | IE | printed | ^off-nut | The same back prints an Irish block, Mars Foods Ireland Ltd, PO Box 3856, Dublin 4, with https://ire.mars.com/ and the Irish number 1890 812 315. | 2024-08-05 | | | | | |
| 32 | 32 | | GB | sourced | ^appyshop | Bradley's Supermarket in Quorn, Loughborough, lists "Mars Caramel, Nougat & Milk Chocolate Bars Multipack 4 x 39.4g" on Appy Shop under a URL ending in this barcode; the price is loaded by script and was not read. | 2026-09-25 | new | | | | |
| 33 | 33 | | GB | derived | ^homebargains | Home Bargains lists "Mars Chocolate Bars Multipack 4 x 39.4g" at GBP 1.89 in its structured product data; brand, bar count and bar weight match, no barcode is printed, and the earlier four-bar code 5000159484527 has the same name and size, so the listing may be either article. | 2026-09-25 | new | | GBP 1.89 | | |
| 34 | 34 | | GB | derived | ^barrow | To your door Barrow, a convenience delivery shop in Barrow-in-Furness, lists "Mars Caramel, Nougat & Milk Chocolate Snack Bars Multipack 4 x 39.4g" at GBP 1.89, shown sold out; no barcode is printed. | 2026-09-25 | new | | GBP 1.89 | | |
| 35 | 35 | | GB | derived | ^amazon-uk | Amazon.co.uk "Mars Bars, 4 x 39.4g" (ASIN B06XXQGS1H, Grocery › Food Cupboard › Snacks & Sweets › Chocolate Candy › Blocks & Bars) gives 157.6 g, four pieces and country as labelled United Kingdom but prints no barcode; the page showed no buy-box offer, only "See All Buying Options", and its ingredient text still names lactose and whey powder, the earlier recipe. | 2026-09-25 | new | | | | |
| 36 | 36 | | IE | derived | ^amazon-ie | Amazon.ie "Mars Multipack Standard 4 x 39.4G" (ASIN B01MTN9PBV, manufacturer Mars Wrigley Confectionary UK, 157.6 g, four pieces) matches brand, bar count and bar weight but prints no barcode; shown as currently unavailable. | 2026-09-25 | new | | | | |
| 37 | 37 | <!--/markets--> | |
| 38 | 38 | ||
| 39 | 39 | ## Aliases <!--aliases--> | |
| 40 | 40 | | name | type | locale | from | until | | |
| 41 | 41 | | ---------------------------------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- | | |
| 42 | 42 | | Mars 4 x 39.4g | search | en | | | | |
| 43 | 43 | | Mars Chocolate Bars Multipack 4 x 39.4g | search | en | | | | |
| 44 | 44 | | Mars Caramel, Nougat & Milk Chocolate Bars Multipack | search | en | | | | |
| 45 | 45 | | Mars Bar 4 Pack | search | en | | | | |
| 46 | 46 | <!--/aliases--> | |
| 47 | 47 | ||
| 48 | 48 | ## Ingredients <!--ingredients--> | |
| 49 | 49 | | ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state | | |
| 50 | 50 | | ----------------------------------- | ---------- | ----- | ------------------------------ | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | --------- | --- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | -------------------------- | ----- | | |
| 51 | 51 | | ingredient/sugar | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i1 | gb-2024 | | 1 | sugar | known | | |
| 52 | 52 | | ingredient/glucose-syrup | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i2 | gb-2024 | | 2 | glucose syrup | known | | |
| 53 | 53 | | ingredient/skimmed-milk-powder | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i3 | gb-2024 | | 3 | skimmed milk powder | known | | |
| 54 | 54 | | ingredient/cocoa-butter | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i4 | gb-2024 | | 4 | cocoa butter | known | | |
| 55 | 55 | | ingredient/cocoa-mass | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i5 | gb-2024 | | 5 | cocoa mass | known | | |
| 56 | 56 | | ingredient/sunflower-oil | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i6 | gb-2024 | | 6 | sunflower oil | known | | |
| 57 | 57 | | ingredient/whey-permeate | | label | declared "(milk)" on the label | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i7 | gb-2024 | | 7 | whey permeate (milk) | known | | |
| 58 | 58 | | ingredient/palm-fat | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i8 | gb-2024 | | 8 | palm fat | known | | |
| 59 | 59 | | ingredient/butterfat | | label | printed as "milk fat" | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i9 | gb-2024 | | 9 | milk fat | known | | |
| 60 | 60 | | ingredient/fat-reduced-cocoa-powder | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i10 | gb-2024 | | 10 | fat-reduced cocoa powder | known | | |
| 61 | 61 | | ingredient/barley-malt-extract | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i11 | gb-2024 | | 11 | barley malt extract | known | | |
| 62 | 62 | | ingredient/salt | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i12 | gb-2024 | | 12 | salt | known | | |
| 63 | 63 | | ingredient/soy-lecithin | emulsifier | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i13 | gb-2024 | | 13 | emulsifier (soya lecithin) | known | | |
| 64 | 64 | | ingredient/egg-white-powder | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i14 | gb-2024 | | 14 | egg white powder | known | | |
| 65 | 65 | <!--/ingredients--> | |
| 66 | 66 | ||
| 67 | 67 | ## Observations <!--observations--> | |
| 68 | 68 | | id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number | | |
| 69 | 69 | | ------- | ------------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | --------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ------------------- | ------------ | | |
| 70 | 70 | | gb-2024 | British and Irish back label and front of the four-pack | label | GB, IE | en | | | 2024-08-05 | supported | Milk chocolate (40%) with soft nougat (32%) and caramel centre (27%). Ingredients: sugar, glucose syrup, skimmed milk powder, cocoa butter, cocoa mass, sunflower oil, whey permeate (milk), palm fat, milk fat, fat-reduced cocoa powder, barley malt extract, salt, emulsifier (soya lecithin), egg white powder. (May contain: peanuts and other nuts). Milk chocolate contains milk solids 14% minimum. Milk chocolate contains vegetable fats in addition to cocoa butter. | listed | | ^off-ingr | Statement transcribed from the 2276 x 657 px Open Food Facts photograph uploaded 2025-08-20, allergens set in bold; its last sentence is completed from the 3024 x 4032 px back photograph of 2024-08-05, which carries the same statement from "palm fat" onwards beside "4 x 39.4 g ℮ = 157.6 g", the Fairtrade Cocoa mark and the contact blocks. The front photograph of the same day shows the yellow "4 BARS" flash, a "Mars = 39.4 g" portion icon, a reference-intake panel with saturates 3.0g (15%), sugars 24g (27%) and salt 0.27g (5%), "442 kcal" per 100 g, and a "Responsibly sourced 100% cocoa" roundel. | 157.6 g | 4 | 4 | multipack flow wrap | | | |
| 71 | 71 | <!--/observations--> | |
| 72 | 72 | ||
| 73 | 73 | ## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels--> | |
| 74 | 74 | | id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note | | |
| 75 | 75 | | ------- | ----------- | ------------------------------ | ------ | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------ | -------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | | |
| 76 | 76 | | gb-100g | gb-2024 | Nutrition Information / 100 g | 100 g | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^off-nut | | | |
| 77 | 77 | | gb-39g | gb-2024 | Nutrition Information / 39.4 g | 39.4 g | as_sold | printed portion column; one bar, four portions per pack | transcribed | | ^off-nut | The percentage reference intakes printed beside each figure (reference intake of an average adult, 8400 kJ/2000 kcal) are kept in printed_value. | | |
| 78 | 78 | <!--/nutrition_panels--> | |
| 79 | 79 | ||
| 80 | 80 | ## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values--> | |
| 81 | 81 | | panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value | state | method | source | note | | |
| 82 | 82 | | ------- | --------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | -------- | ---- | | |
| 83 | 83 | | gb-100g | energy_kj | 1858 | exact | | | 1858kJ | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 84 | 84 | | gb-100g | energy_kcal | 442 | exact | | | 442kcal | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 85 | 85 | | gb-100g | fat_g | 16 | exact | | | 16g | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 86 | 86 | | gb-100g | saturated_fat_g | 7.5 | exact | | | 7.5g | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 87 | 87 | | gb-100g | carbohydrate_g | 70 | exact | | | 70g | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 88 | 88 | | gb-100g | sugars_g | 61 | exact | | | 61g | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 89 | 89 | | gb-100g | protein_g | 4.5 | exact | | | 4.5g | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 90 | 90 | | gb-100g | salt_g | 0.68 | exact | | | 0.68g | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 91 | 91 | | gb-39g | energy_kj | 732 | exact | | | 732kJ (9%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 92 | 92 | | gb-39g | energy_kcal | 174 | exact | | | 174kcal (9%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 93 | 93 | | gb-39g | fat_g | 6.3 | exact | | | 6.3g (9%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 94 | 94 | | gb-39g | saturated_fat_g | 3 | exact | | | 3.0g (15%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 95 | 95 | | gb-39g | carbohydrate_g | 27 | exact | | | 27g (10%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 96 | 96 | | gb-39g | sugars_g | 24 | exact | | | 24g (27%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 97 | 97 | | gb-39g | protein_g | 1.8 | exact | | | 1.8g (4%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 98 | 98 | | gb-39g | salt_g | 0.27 | exact | | | 0.27g (5%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | | | |
| 99 | 99 | <!--/nutrition_values--> | |
| 100 | 100 | ||
| 101 | 101 | ## Allergen declarations <!--allergens--> | |
| 102 | 102 | | observation | allergen | declaration | source | note | | |
| 103 | 103 | | ----------- | -------- | ----------- | --------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 104 | 104 | | gb-2024 | milk | contains | ^off-ingr | Set in bold: skimmed milk powder, whey permeate (milk), milk fat. | | |
| 105 | 105 | | gb-2024 | gluten | contains | ^off-ingr | Barley malt extract, barley in bold. | | |
| 106 | 106 | | gb-2024 | soybeans | contains | ^off-ingr | Emulsifier (soya lecithin), soya in bold. | | |
| 107 | 107 | | gb-2024 | eggs | contains | ^off-ingr | Egg white powder, egg in bold. | | |
| 108 | 108 | | gb-2024 | peanuts | may_contain | ^off-ingr | "(May contain: peanuts and other nuts)". | | |
| 109 | 109 | | gb-2024 | nuts | may_contain | ^off-ingr | "(May contain: peanuts and other nuts)", nuts in bold. | | |
| 110 | 110 | <!--/allergens--> | |
| 111 | 111 | ||
| 112 | 112 | ## Label claims <!--claims--> | |
| 113 | 113 | | observation | claim | kind | source | note | | |
| 114 | 114 | | ----------- | ------------------------------ | ------------- | ---------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 115 | 115 | | gb-2024 | Fairtrade Cocoa | certification | ^off-back | Fairtrade Cocoa mark with the text "Fairtrade cocoa: mass balance is used to match Fairtrade sourcing. Visit info.fairtrade.net/sourcing." | | |
| 116 | 116 | | gb-2024 | Responsibly sourced 100% cocoa | label | ^off-front | Roundel on the front; the back repeats it beside a "Scan me" QR code with a footnote that begins "100% verified as responsibly sourced cocoa". | | |
| 117 | 117 | <!--/claims--> | |
| 118 | 118 | ||
| 119 | 119 | ## Research gaps <!--research_gaps--> | |
| 120 | 120 | | observation | domain | state | detail | source | | |
| 121 | 121 | | ----------- | ------------- | -------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | --------- | | |
| 122 | 122 | | | identity | unknown | The Mars bar family also lists 5000159484527, a 4 x 39.4 g pack photographed in 2019 and 2022 with lactose, milk protein and vanilla extract in its statement; whether this barcode replaced it is not stated by Mars. | ^off | | |
| 123 | 123 | | | markets | unknown | Search results name an ALDI Ireland groceries page "Caramel, Nougat & Milk Chocolate Bars Multipack 39.4g Mars" and a Rayburn Trading wholesale page under URLs ending in this barcode, and Tesco.com and Tesco.ie product 314095314 "Mars Chocolate Bars Multipack 4 X 39.4g 157.6G"; the ALDI page redirects to the aldi.ie home page, Rayburn returned an empty shell and Tesco answered 403, so none is a Markets row. | | | |
| 124 | 124 | | | markets | unknown | Searched amazon.co.uk on 2026-09-25 for the barcode 5000159551823 (no results), for "Mars Bars 4 x 39.4g" (B01BND12YU, which prints the earlier code 5000159484527, and B06XXQGS1H) and for the brand "Mars"; no amazon.co.uk listing that prints this barcode was found. | | | |
| 125 | 125 | | | markets | unknown | Searched amazon.ie on 2026-09-25 for the barcode 5000159551823 and for "Mars 4 x 39.4g" (both no results) and for the brand "Mars", which listed only other sizes; B01MTN9PBV was read directly and prints no barcode. | | | |
| 126 | 126 | | | relationships | unknown | GS1's GDSN trading-partner list settles who holds the prefix but not how long it is, so 5000159 is recorded as a seven-digit prefix without a published allocation length. | ^gs1-gdsn | | |
| 127 | 127 | | | identity | not_researched | The photographs read carry no origin statement, so country_of_origin is left empty. | | | |
| 128 | 128 | <!--/research_gaps--> | |
| 129 | 129 | ||
| 130 | 130 | ## Research <!--research--> | |
| 131 | 131 | structure_version: 2 | |
| 132 | 132 | reviewed_on: 2026-09-25 | |
| 133 | 133 | note: Built from the barcode's four Open Food Facts photographs (2024 front, back and nutrition panel, 2025 ingredient statement), the Appy Shop listing that carries the barcode, and name-matched listings at Home Bargains, To your door Barrow, Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.ie. | |
| 134 | 134 | <!--/research--> | |
| 135 | 135 | ||
| 136 | 136 | ## Meta <!--meta--> | |
| 137 | 137 | title: Mars 4 bars (5000159551823) | |
| 138 | 138 | description: The British and Irish four-bar Mars multipack, 4 x 39.4 g, with its label ingredients, nutrition panel, allergens and store listings. | |
| 139 | 139 | <!--/meta--> | |
| 140 | 140 | ||
| 141 | + | ## Images <!--images--> | |
| 142 | + | | asset | kind | source | licence | attribution | url | accessed | note | provider_entity_id | provider_image_id | source_image_url | download_url | retrieved_at | matched_barcode | match_method | match_confidence | original_width | original_height | stored_width | stored_height | upscaled | observation | | |
| 143 | + | | ------------------------ | ----------- | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---- | ------------------ | ----------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ------------------------ | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------- | -------------- | --------------- | ------------ | ------------- | -------- | ----------- | | |
| 144 | + | | front-fe2389cb.jpg | front | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/5000159551823 | 2026-09-25 | | 5000159551823 | front_en | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/500/015/955/1823/front_en.3.full.jpg | | 2026-09-25T19:32:15.507Z | 5000159551823 | barcode | 1 | 3024 | 4032 | 1200 | 1600 | | | | |
| 145 | + | | ingredients-9365800a.jpg | ingredients | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/5000159551823 | 2026-09-25 | | 5000159551823 | ingredients_en | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/500/015/955/1823/ingredients_en.20.full.jpg | | 2026-09-25T19:32:17.097Z | 5000159551823 | barcode | 1 | 2276 | 657 | 1600 | 462 | | | | |
| 146 | + | | nutrition-f98e21a1.jpg | nutrition | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/5000159551823 | 2026-09-25 | | 5000159551823 | nutrition_en | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/500/015/955/1823/nutrition_en.7.full.jpg | | 2026-09-25T19:32:19.118Z | 5000159551823 | barcode | 1 | 3024 | 4032 | 1200 | 1600 | | | | |
| 147 | + | <!--/images--> | |
| 148 | + | ||
| 141 | 149 | ## References <!--references--> | |
| 142 | 150 | | ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream | | |
| 143 | 151 | | ------------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ------------------- | ----------- | --------- | ------------- | -------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | -------- | | |
| 144 | 152 | | off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/5000159551823 | Open Food Facts: Mars Bar 157.6 g (5000159551823) | 2026-09-25 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 5000159551823 | | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | | | |
| 145 | 153 | | off-ingr | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/500/015/955/1823/ingredients_en.20.full.jpg | Ingredient statement of the Mars four-pack photographed on Open Food Facts | 2026-09-25 | Open Food Facts | pack | | 5000159551823 | imgid 4, 2276 x 657 px, uploaded 2025-08-20 | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | off | | |
| 146 | 154 | | off-back | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/500/015/955/1823/2.jpg | Back of the Mars four-pack photographed on Open Food Facts | 2026-09-25 | Open Food Facts | pack | | 5000159551823 | imgid 2, 3024 x 4032 px, uploaded 2024-08-05 | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | off | | |
| 147 | 155 | | off-nut | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/500/015/955/1823/nutrition_en.7.full.jpg | Nutrition panel of the Mars four-pack photographed on Open Food Facts | 2026-09-25 | Open Food Facts | pack | | 5000159551823 | imgid 3, 3024 x 4032 px, uploaded 2024-08-05 | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | off | | |
| 148 | 156 | | off-front | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/500/015/955/1823/front_en.3.full.jpg | Front of the Mars four-pack photographed on Open Food Facts | 2026-09-25 | Open Food Facts | pack | | 5000159551823 | imgid 1, 3024 x 4032 px, uploaded 2024-08-05 | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | off | | |
| 149 | 157 | | appyshop | https://appyshop.co.uk/store-4/food-cupboard/confectionery/mars-bar-4-pack-5000159551823 | Mars Caramel, Nougat & Milk Chocolate Bars Multipack 4 x 39.4g, Bradley's Supermarket Quorn | 2026-09-25 | Appy Shop | retailer | | 5000159551823 | barcode in the listing URL | | | | | |
| 150 | 158 | | homebargains | https://home.bargains/product/38409cef-e50b-4130-b037-ca336b0845aa/mars-chocolate-bars-multipack-4-x-394g | Mars Chocolate Bars Multipack 4 x 39.4g, Home Bargains | 2026-09-25 | Home Bargains | retailer | | | GBP 1.89, schema.org offer | | | | | |
| 151 | 159 | | barrow | https://toyourdoorbarrow.com/products/mars-caramel-nougat-milk-chocolate-snack-bars-multipack-4-x-39-4g | Mars Caramel, Nougat & Milk Chocolate Snack Bars Multipack 4 x 39.4g, To your door Barrow | 2026-09-25 | To your door Barrow | retailer | | | GBP 1.89, sold out | | | | | |
| 152 | 160 | | amazon-uk | https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B06XXQGS1H | Mars Bars, 4 x 39.4g : Amazon.co.uk | 2026-09-25 | Amazon.co.uk | retailer | | B06XXQGS1H | no buy-box offer | | | | | |
| 153 | 161 | | amazon-ie | https://www.amazon.ie/dp/B01MTN9PBV | Mars Multipack Standard 4 x 39.4G : Amazon.ie | 2026-09-25 | Amazon.ie | retailer | | B01MTN9PBV | currently unavailable | | | | | |
| 154 | 162 | | wp-mars | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mars_bar | Mars bar | 2026-09-25 | Wikipedia | publication | | | lead, History | CC BY-SA | Wikipedia contributors | | | |
| 155 | 163 | | gs1-gdsn | https://www.gs1.org/docs/gdsn/stats/gdsn_trading_partners.pdf | GDSN trading partners: GS1 GDSN member companies and their GLNs | 2026-09-25 | GS1 | registry | | 5000159000000 | GLN 5000159000000, MARS CHOCOLAT FRANCE | | | | | |
| 156 | 164 | <!--/references--> | |
| 157 | 165 | ||
| 158 | 166 | ## About <!--about--> | |
| 159 | 167 | Mars 4 bars is the British and Irish multipack of the Mars bar: four 39.4 g bars of milk chocolate (40%) with soft nougat (32%) and caramel centre (27%) in one outer wrapper, 157.6 g in all, sold under barcode 5000159551823.[^off-ingr][^off-back] Its panel declares 1858 kJ / 442 kcal per 100 g and 732 kJ / 174 kcal per bar, with four portions to the pack.[^off-nut] The back prints consumer contacts for Britain, through Mars Wrigley Confectionery UK, and for Ireland, through Mars Foods Ireland, and carries the Fairtrade Cocoa mark on a mass-balance basis.[^off-back][^off-nut] The front shows a yellow "4 BARS" flash and a "Responsibly sourced 100% cocoa" roundel.[^off-front] The brand belongs to Mars Inc.[^wp-mars] | |
| 160 | 168 | ||
| 161 | 169 | Forrest Mars Sr. first made the bar in Slough in 1932, modelling it on his father's American Milky Way bar.[^wp-mars] This pack's statement lists whey permeate and fat-reduced cocoa powder and no lactose, milk protein or vanilla extract, which the earlier four-bar code 5000159484527 declared.[^off-ingr] The barcode's company prefix 5000159 belongs to the group's French confectionery company: GS1's list of GDSN member companies carries GLN 5000159000000 against MARS CHOCOLAT FRANCE, the former name of Mars Wrigley Confectionery France.[^gs1-gdsn] | |
| 162 | 170 | <!--/about--> |
Source of v1
# Mars 4 bars <!--product-->
## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 05000159551823
name: Mars 4 bars
family: family/mars-bar
default_observation: gb-2024
summary: Four-bar British and Irish multipack of the Mars caramel and nougat bar, four 39.4 g bars in one outer wrapper, on the recipe with whey permeate and fat-reduced cocoa powder.
brand: brand/mars
category: category/10000045
net_content: 157.6 g
country_of_sale: GB, IE
pack_quantity: 4
piece_count: 4
pack_format: multipack flow wrap
<!--/identity-->
## Relations <!--relations-->
| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
| ---------------------- | ----------------------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | --------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| brand_owner_at_sale | company/mars-incorporated | | | | | sourced | ^wp-mars | Wikipedia names Mars Inc. as the producer of the Mars bar. |
| food_business_operator | company/mars-wrigley-confectionery-uk | GB | | | | printed | ^off-back | The contact block on the back reads "Freepost Mars Wrigley Confectionery UK Ltd."; the GB freephone 0800 952 0077 and www.mars.co.uk/contact sit below the nutrition panel. |
| food_business_operator | company/mars-foods-ireland | IE | | | | printed | ^off-nut | The Irish block below the nutrition panel reads "…rs Foods Ireland L…, PO Box 3856, Dublin 4", and the back continues with https://ire.mars.com/ and 1890 812 315. |
| gs1_prefix_owner | company/mars-wrigley-confectionery-france | | | | | sourced | ^gs1-gdsn | GS1's own GDSN trading-partner list carries GLN 5000159000000 against MARS CHOCOLAT FRANCE, the former name of Mars Wrigley Confectionery France; a GLN is issued out of its holder's company prefix. |
<!--/relations-->
## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price |
| ------- | ------- | ------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | -------- |
| GB | printed | ^off-nut | The back prints the GB contact line "Get in touch: 0800 952 0077, www.mars.co.uk/contact" with Freepost Mars Wrigley Confectionery UK Ltd, and the front carries the UK front-of-pack reference-intake panel. | 2024-08-05 | | | |
| IE | printed | ^off-nut | The same back prints an Irish block, Mars Foods Ireland Ltd, PO Box 3856, Dublin 4, with https://ire.mars.com/ and the Irish number 1890 812 315. | 2024-08-05 | | | |
| GB | sourced | ^appyshop | Bradley's Supermarket in Quorn, Loughborough, lists "Mars Caramel, Nougat & Milk Chocolate Bars Multipack 4 x 39.4g" on Appy Shop under a URL ending in this barcode; the price is loaded by script and was not read. | 2026-09-25 | new | | |
| GB | derived | ^homebargains | Home Bargains lists "Mars Chocolate Bars Multipack 4 x 39.4g" at GBP 1.89 in its structured product data; brand, bar count and bar weight match, no barcode is printed, and the earlier four-bar code 5000159484527 has the same name and size, so the listing may be either article. | 2026-09-25 | new | | GBP 1.89 |
| GB | derived | ^barrow | To your door Barrow, a convenience delivery shop in Barrow-in-Furness, lists "Mars Caramel, Nougat & Milk Chocolate Snack Bars Multipack 4 x 39.4g" at GBP 1.89, shown sold out; no barcode is printed. | 2026-09-25 | new | | GBP 1.89 |
| GB | derived | ^amazon-uk | Amazon.co.uk "Mars Bars, 4 x 39.4g" (ASIN B06XXQGS1H, Grocery › Food Cupboard › Snacks & Sweets › Chocolate Candy › Blocks & Bars) gives 157.6 g, four pieces and country as labelled United Kingdom but prints no barcode; the page showed no buy-box offer, only "See All Buying Options", and its ingredient text still names lactose and whey powder, the earlier recipe. | 2026-09-25 | new | | |
| IE | derived | ^amazon-ie | Amazon.ie "Mars Multipack Standard 4 x 39.4G" (ASIN B01MTN9PBV, manufacturer Mars Wrigley Confectionary UK, 157.6 g, four pieces) matches brand, bar count and bar weight but prints no barcode; shown as currently unavailable. | 2026-09-25 | new | | |
<!--/markets-->
## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name | type | locale | from | until |
| ---------------------------------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Mars 4 x 39.4g | search | en | | |
| Mars Chocolate Bars Multipack 4 x 39.4g | search | en | | |
| Mars Caramel, Nougat & Milk Chocolate Bars Multipack | search | en | | |
| Mars Bar 4 Pack | search | en | | |
<!--/aliases-->
## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state |
| ----------------------------------- | ---------- | ----- | ------------------------------ | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | --------- | --- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | -------------------------- | ----- |
| ingredient/sugar | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i1 | gb-2024 | | 1 | sugar | known |
| ingredient/glucose-syrup | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i2 | gb-2024 | | 2 | glucose syrup | known |
| ingredient/skimmed-milk-powder | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i3 | gb-2024 | | 3 | skimmed milk powder | known |
| ingredient/cocoa-butter | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i4 | gb-2024 | | 4 | cocoa butter | known |
| ingredient/cocoa-mass | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i5 | gb-2024 | | 5 | cocoa mass | known |
| ingredient/sunflower-oil | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i6 | gb-2024 | | 6 | sunflower oil | known |
| ingredient/whey-permeate | | label | declared "(milk)" on the label | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i7 | gb-2024 | | 7 | whey permeate (milk) | known |
| ingredient/palm-fat | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i8 | gb-2024 | | 8 | palm fat | known |
| ingredient/butterfat | | label | printed as "milk fat" | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i9 | gb-2024 | | 9 | milk fat | known |
| ingredient/fat-reduced-cocoa-powder | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i10 | gb-2024 | | 10 | fat-reduced cocoa powder | known |
| ingredient/barley-malt-extract | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i11 | gb-2024 | | 11 | barley malt extract | known |
| ingredient/salt | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i12 | gb-2024 | | 12 | salt | known |
| ingredient/soy-lecithin | emulsifier | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i13 | gb-2024 | | 13 | emulsifier (soya lecithin) | known |
| ingredient/egg-white-powder | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingr | i14 | gb-2024 | | 14 | egg white powder | known |
<!--/ingredients-->
## Observations <!--observations-->
| id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
| ------- | ------------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | --------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ------------------- | ------------ |
| gb-2024 | British and Irish back label and front of the four-pack | label | GB, IE | en | | | 2024-08-05 | supported | Milk chocolate (40%) with soft nougat (32%) and caramel centre (27%). Ingredients: sugar, glucose syrup, skimmed milk powder, cocoa butter, cocoa mass, sunflower oil, whey permeate (milk), palm fat, milk fat, fat-reduced cocoa powder, barley malt extract, salt, emulsifier (soya lecithin), egg white powder. (May contain: peanuts and other nuts). Milk chocolate contains milk solids 14% minimum. Milk chocolate contains vegetable fats in addition to cocoa butter. | listed | | ^off-ingr | Statement transcribed from the 2276 x 657 px Open Food Facts photograph uploaded 2025-08-20, allergens set in bold; its last sentence is completed from the 3024 x 4032 px back photograph of 2024-08-05, which carries the same statement from "palm fat" onwards beside "4 x 39.4 g ℮ = 157.6 g", the Fairtrade Cocoa mark and the contact blocks. The front photograph of the same day shows the yellow "4 BARS" flash, a "Mars = 39.4 g" portion icon, a reference-intake panel with saturates 3.0g (15%), sugars 24g (27%) and salt 0.27g (5%), "442 kcal" per 100 g, and a "Responsibly sourced 100% cocoa" roundel. | 157.6 g | 4 | 4 | multipack flow wrap | |
<!--/observations-->
## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
| id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note |
| ------- | ----------- | ------------------------------ | ------ | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------ | -------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
| gb-100g | gb-2024 | Nutrition Information / 100 g | 100 g | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^off-nut | |
| gb-39g | gb-2024 | Nutrition Information / 39.4 g | 39.4 g | as_sold | printed portion column; one bar, four portions per pack | transcribed | | ^off-nut | The percentage reference intakes printed beside each figure (reference intake of an average adult, 8400 kJ/2000 kcal) are kept in printed_value. |
<!--/nutrition_panels-->
## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
| ------- | --------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | -------- | ---- |
| gb-100g | energy_kj | 1858 | exact | | | 1858kJ | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-100g | energy_kcal | 442 | exact | | | 442kcal | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-100g | fat_g | 16 | exact | | | 16g | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-100g | saturated_fat_g | 7.5 | exact | | | 7.5g | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-100g | carbohydrate_g | 70 | exact | | | 70g | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-100g | sugars_g | 61 | exact | | | 61g | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-100g | protein_g | 4.5 | exact | | | 4.5g | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-100g | salt_g | 0.68 | exact | | | 0.68g | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-39g | energy_kj | 732 | exact | | | 732kJ (9%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-39g | energy_kcal | 174 | exact | | | 174kcal (9%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-39g | fat_g | 6.3 | exact | | | 6.3g (9%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-39g | saturated_fat_g | 3 | exact | | | 3.0g (15%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-39g | carbohydrate_g | 27 | exact | | | 27g (10%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-39g | sugars_g | 24 | exact | | | 24g (27%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-39g | protein_g | 1.8 | exact | | | 1.8g (4%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
| gb-39g | salt_g | 0.27 | exact | | | 0.27g (5%) | known | printed | ^off-nut | |
<!--/nutrition_values-->
## Allergen declarations <!--allergens-->
| observation | allergen | declaration | source | note |
| ----------- | -------- | ----------- | --------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------- |
| gb-2024 | milk | contains | ^off-ingr | Set in bold: skimmed milk powder, whey permeate (milk), milk fat. |
| gb-2024 | gluten | contains | ^off-ingr | Barley malt extract, barley in bold. |
| gb-2024 | soybeans | contains | ^off-ingr | Emulsifier (soya lecithin), soya in bold. |
| gb-2024 | eggs | contains | ^off-ingr | Egg white powder, egg in bold. |
| gb-2024 | peanuts | may_contain | ^off-ingr | "(May contain: peanuts and other nuts)". |
| gb-2024 | nuts | may_contain | ^off-ingr | "(May contain: peanuts and other nuts)", nuts in bold. |
<!--/allergens-->
## Label claims <!--claims-->
| observation | claim | kind | source | note |
| ----------- | ------------------------------ | ------------- | ---------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| gb-2024 | Fairtrade Cocoa | certification | ^off-back | Fairtrade Cocoa mark with the text "Fairtrade cocoa: mass balance is used to match Fairtrade sourcing. Visit info.fairtrade.net/sourcing." |
| gb-2024 | Responsibly sourced 100% cocoa | label | ^off-front | Roundel on the front; the back repeats it beside a "Scan me" QR code with a footnote that begins "100% verified as responsibly sourced cocoa". |
<!--/claims-->
## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
| observation | domain | state | detail | source |
| ----------- | ------------- | -------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | --------- |
| | identity | unknown | The Mars bar family also lists 5000159484527, a 4 x 39.4 g pack photographed in 2019 and 2022 with lactose, milk protein and vanilla extract in its statement; whether this barcode replaced it is not stated by Mars. | ^off |
| | markets | unknown | Search results name an ALDI Ireland groceries page "Caramel, Nougat & Milk Chocolate Bars Multipack 39.4g Mars" and a Rayburn Trading wholesale page under URLs ending in this barcode, and Tesco.com and Tesco.ie product 314095314 "Mars Chocolate Bars Multipack 4 X 39.4g 157.6G"; the ALDI page redirects to the aldi.ie home page, Rayburn returned an empty shell and Tesco answered 403, so none is a Markets row. | |
| | markets | unknown | Searched amazon.co.uk on 2026-09-25 for the barcode 5000159551823 (no results), for "Mars Bars 4 x 39.4g" (B01BND12YU, which prints the earlier code 5000159484527, and B06XXQGS1H) and for the brand "Mars"; no amazon.co.uk listing that prints this barcode was found. | |
| | markets | unknown | Searched amazon.ie on 2026-09-25 for the barcode 5000159551823 and for "Mars 4 x 39.4g" (both no results) and for the brand "Mars", which listed only other sizes; B01MTN9PBV was read directly and prints no barcode. | |
| | relationships | unknown | GS1's GDSN trading-partner list settles who holds the prefix but not how long it is, so 5000159 is recorded as a seven-digit prefix without a published allocation length. | ^gs1-gdsn |
| | identity | not_researched | The photographs read carry no origin statement, so country_of_origin is left empty. | |
<!--/research_gaps-->
## Research <!--research-->
structure_version: 2
reviewed_on: 2026-09-25
note: Built from the barcode's four Open Food Facts photographs (2024 front, back and nutrition panel, 2025 ingredient statement), the Appy Shop listing that carries the barcode, and name-matched listings at Home Bargains, To your door Barrow, Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.ie.
<!--/research-->
## Meta <!--meta-->
title: Mars 4 bars (5000159551823)
description: The British and Irish four-bar Mars multipack, 4 x 39.4 g, with its label ingredients, nutrition panel, allergens and store listings.
<!--/meta-->
## References <!--references-->
| ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream |
| ------------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ------------------- | ----------- | --------- | ------------- | -------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | -------- |
| off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/5000159551823 | Open Food Facts: Mars Bar 157.6 g (5000159551823) | 2026-09-25 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 5000159551823 | | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | |
| off-ingr | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/500/015/955/1823/ingredients_en.20.full.jpg | Ingredient statement of the Mars four-pack photographed on Open Food Facts | 2026-09-25 | Open Food Facts | pack | | 5000159551823 | imgid 4, 2276 x 657 px, uploaded 2025-08-20 | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | off |
| off-back | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/500/015/955/1823/2.jpg | Back of the Mars four-pack photographed on Open Food Facts | 2026-09-25 | Open Food Facts | pack | | 5000159551823 | imgid 2, 3024 x 4032 px, uploaded 2024-08-05 | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | off |
| off-nut | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/500/015/955/1823/nutrition_en.7.full.jpg | Nutrition panel of the Mars four-pack photographed on Open Food Facts | 2026-09-25 | Open Food Facts | pack | | 5000159551823 | imgid 3, 3024 x 4032 px, uploaded 2024-08-05 | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | off |
| off-front | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/500/015/955/1823/front_en.3.full.jpg | Front of the Mars four-pack photographed on Open Food Facts | 2026-09-25 | Open Food Facts | pack | | 5000159551823 | imgid 1, 3024 x 4032 px, uploaded 2024-08-05 | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | off |
| appyshop | https://appyshop.co.uk/store-4/food-cupboard/confectionery/mars-bar-4-pack-5000159551823 | Mars Caramel, Nougat & Milk Chocolate Bars Multipack 4 x 39.4g, Bradley's Supermarket Quorn | 2026-09-25 | Appy Shop | retailer | | 5000159551823 | barcode in the listing URL | | | |
| homebargains | https://home.bargains/product/38409cef-e50b-4130-b037-ca336b0845aa/mars-chocolate-bars-multipack-4-x-394g | Mars Chocolate Bars Multipack 4 x 39.4g, Home Bargains | 2026-09-25 | Home Bargains | retailer | | | GBP 1.89, schema.org offer | | | |
| barrow | https://toyourdoorbarrow.com/products/mars-caramel-nougat-milk-chocolate-snack-bars-multipack-4-x-39-4g | Mars Caramel, Nougat & Milk Chocolate Snack Bars Multipack 4 x 39.4g, To your door Barrow | 2026-09-25 | To your door Barrow | retailer | | | GBP 1.89, sold out | | | |
| amazon-uk | https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B06XXQGS1H | Mars Bars, 4 x 39.4g : Amazon.co.uk | 2026-09-25 | Amazon.co.uk | retailer | | B06XXQGS1H | no buy-box offer | | | |
| amazon-ie | https://www.amazon.ie/dp/B01MTN9PBV | Mars Multipack Standard 4 x 39.4G : Amazon.ie | 2026-09-25 | Amazon.ie | retailer | | B01MTN9PBV | currently unavailable | | | |
| wp-mars | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mars_bar | Mars bar | 2026-09-25 | Wikipedia | publication | | | lead, History | CC BY-SA | Wikipedia contributors | |
| gs1-gdsn | https://www.gs1.org/docs/gdsn/stats/gdsn_trading_partners.pdf | GDSN trading partners: GS1 GDSN member companies and their GLNs | 2026-09-25 | GS1 | registry | | 5000159000000 | GLN 5000159000000, MARS CHOCOLAT FRANCE | | | |
<!--/references-->
## About <!--about-->
Mars 4 bars is the British and Irish multipack of the Mars bar: four 39.4 g bars of milk chocolate (40%) with soft nougat (32%) and caramel centre (27%) in one outer wrapper, 157.6 g in all, sold under barcode 5000159551823.[^off-ingr][^off-back] Its panel declares 1858 kJ / 442 kcal per 100 g and 732 kJ / 174 kcal per bar, with four portions to the pack.[^off-nut] The back prints consumer contacts for Britain, through Mars Wrigley Confectionery UK, and for Ireland, through Mars Foods Ireland, and carries the Fairtrade Cocoa mark on a mass-balance basis.[^off-back][^off-nut] The front shows a yellow "4 BARS" flash and a "Responsibly sourced 100% cocoa" roundel.[^off-front] The brand belongs to Mars Inc.[^wp-mars]
Forrest Mars Sr. first made the bar in Slough in 1932, modelling it on his father's American Milky Way bar.[^wp-mars] This pack's statement lists whey permeate and fat-reduced cocoa powder and no lactose, milk protein or vanilla extract, which the earlier four-bar code 5000159484527 declared.[^off-ingr] The barcode's company prefix 5000159 belongs to the group's French confectionery company: GS1's list of GDSN member companies carries GLN 5000159000000 against MARS CHOCOLAT FRANCE, the former name of Mars Wrigley Confectionery France.[^gs1-gdsn]
<!--/about-->