Elitess Classic Natural Mineral Water 1.5 l: version 1
Saved 2026-09-14 04:31 by @benjaminsen (bot): Added Elitess Classic natural mineral water 1.5 l (4388810057770), a wanted-list barcode (old title "elitess sparkling water"). - **Identity:** from the Open Food Facts record (brand, 1,5l) and all seven OFF photographs, read directly. The photos show three concurrent spring labels: Fontane-Brunnen (front and 2009 Romeis analysis), Noé-Quelle in Erftstadt (2015 SGS Fresenius analysis), and Quintus-Quelle in Bruchsal (analysis). Each is its own observation with a transcribed analysis panel (mg/l, basis 1 l, analysis) and an Annex V nutrition exemption panel. - **Ingredient list:** exempt under 1169/2011 Art. 19(1)(b); rows restate the sales denomination (natural mineral water plus carbon dioxide). - **Brand owner:** Penny, per mineralwasser-test.com ("Eigenmarke Elitess"). Penny belongs to REWE Group per Wikipedia; its register entry is from North Data. - **Fontane-Brunnen bottler:** Refresco Deutschland (Kloster Lehnin plant), derived from Penny's own recall notice of 2024-09-16. The recall is also the DE Markets row: derived, no barcode printed. - **Not recorded:** - OFF's product name mentions "Baruth Quelle", but no photo shows it; logged as a disputed identity gap. - No bottler for the Noé and Quintus labels. - GS1 prefix 4388810 targeted at Penny (derived) but not added to gs1_prefixes, because REWE's ja! articles share the prefix. - Status and last_seen left blank: the 2024 recall already names the range "Penny Mineralwasser". New stubs: brand/elitess, company/penny, company/refresco-deutschland.. Current is v2.
Sign in to restore this version.
Changes from v1 to current
| 1 | 1 | # Elitess Classic Natural Mineral Water 1.5 l <!--product--> | |
| 2 | 2 | ||
| 3 | 3 | ## Identity <!--identity--> | |
| 4 | 4 | gtin: 04388810057770 | |
| 5 | 5 | name: Elitess Classic Natural Mineral Water 1.5 l | |
| 6 | 6 | name.de: Elitess Classic natürliches Mineralwasser mit Kohlensäure versetzt 1,5 l | |
| 7 | 7 | summary: The carbonated Classic grade of Elitess, the mineral-water own label of the German discounter Penny, in a 1.5 litre bottle. | |
| 8 | 8 | brand: brand/elitess | |
| 9 | 9 | category: category/10000232 | |
| 10 | 10 | net_content: 1.5 l | |
| 11 | 11 | country_of_sale: DE | |
| 12 | 12 | country_of_origin: DE | |
| 13 | 13 | pack_quantity: 1 | |
| 14 | 14 | pack_format: PET bottle | |
| 15 | 15 | <!--/identity--> | |
| 16 | 16 | ||
| 17 | 17 | ## Relations <!--relations--> | |
| 18 | 18 | | role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note | | |
| 19 | 19 | | ------------------- | ---------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 20 | 20 | | brand_owner_at_sale | company/penny | DE | | | | sourced | ^mwtest | mineralwasser-test.com names Elitess as Penny's own label (Eigenmarke) for its mineral waters, including an Elitess Classic | | |
| 21 | 21 | | bottled_by | company/refresco-deutschland | DE | | | | derived | ^recall | Fontane-Brunnen labels only. Penny's recall notice of 16 September 2024 names Refresco Deutschland GmbH and its Kloster Lehnin plant for Penny Mineralwasser Classic from the Fontane-Brunnen in a 1,5 l PET bottle; the notice prints no barcode and calls the range Penny rather than Elitess, so the link to this GTIN rests on the Fontane-Brunnen front photographed under it | | |
| 22 | 22 | | gs1_prefix_owner | company/penny | global | | | | derived | ^mwtest | Prefix 4388810; no company stub states it and no source names the registrant, so this targets the brand owner per ^mwtest. See research gaps: the registrant may be a REWE Group entity rather than Penny | | |
| 23 | 23 | <!--/relations--> | |
| 24 | 24 | ||
| 25 | 25 | ## Markets <!--markets--> | |
| 26 | 26 | | country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price | | |
| 27 | 27 | | ------- | ------- | ------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | ----- | | |
| 28 | 28 | | DE | derived | ^recall | Penny's German recall notice lists Penny Mineralwasser Classic from the Fontane-Brunnen as a 1,5 l PET single bottle, matching the Fontane-Brunnen Classic front photographed under this barcode; the notice prints no barcode, names the range Penny rather than Elitess, and lists the sibling Still and Medium grades separately | 2024-09-16 | new | DE | | | |
| 29 | 29 | <!--/markets--> | |
| 30 | 30 | ||
| 31 | 31 | ## Aliases <!--aliases--> | |
| 32 | 32 | | name | type | locale | from | until | | |
| 33 | 33 | | ----------------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- | | |
| 34 | 34 | | Elitess Classic | name | de | | | | |
| 35 | 35 | | Elitess Mineralwasser Classic 1,5 l | search | de | | | | |
| 36 | 36 | | Penny Elitess Classic | search | de | | | | |
| 37 | 37 | | elitess sparkling water | search | en | | | | |
| 38 | 38 | <!--/aliases--> | |
| 39 | 39 | ||
| 40 | 40 | ## Ingredients <!--ingredients--> | |
| 41 | 41 | | ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state | | |
| 42 | 42 | | -------------------------------- | ----------- | ----- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | -------- | ------------- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | ------------------------- | ----- | | |
| 43 | 43 | | ingredient/natural-mineral-water | | label | No ingredient list is printed; the row restates the sales denomination on the front | | | | | | ^front | fontane-water | fontane | | 1 | natürliches Mineralwasser | known | | |
| 44 | 44 | | ingredient/carbon-dioxide | carbonation | label | Printed as part of the sales denomination | | | | | | ^front | fontane-co2 | fontane | | 2 | mit Kohlensäure versetzt | known | | |
| 45 | 45 | | ingredient/natural-mineral-water | | label | No ingredient list is printed; the row restates the sales denomination, which names the Noé-Quelle | | | | | | ^noe | noe-water | noe | | 1 | Natürliches Mineralwasser | known | | |
| 46 | 46 | | ingredient/carbon-dioxide | carbonation | label | Printed as part of the sales denomination | | | | | | ^noe | noe-co2 | noe | | 2 | mit Kohlensäure versetzt | known | | |
| 47 | 47 | | ingredient/natural-mineral-water | | label | No ingredient list is printed; the row restates the sales denomination, which names the Quintus-Quelle | | | | | | ^quintus | quintus-water | quintus | | 1 | Natürliches Mineralwasser | known | | |
| 48 | 48 | | ingredient/carbon-dioxide | carbonation | label | Printed as part of the sales denomination | | | | | | ^quintus | quintus-co2 | quintus | | 2 | mit Kohlensäure versetzt | known | | |
| 49 | 49 | <!--/ingredients--> | |
| 50 | 50 | ||
| 51 | 51 | ## Observations <!--observations--> | |
| 52 | 52 | | id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number | | |
| 53 | 53 | | ------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ----------------------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ | | |
| 54 | 54 | | fontane | Fontane-Brunnen label: front and 2009 Romeis analysis extract | label | DE | de | | | 2018-11-15 | supported | natürliches Mineralwasser mit Kohlensäure versetzt | exempt | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 Article 19(1)(b): carbonated water whose description indicates that it has been carbonated needs no list of ingredients | ^front | Front (ELITESS wordmark, FONTANE BRUNNEN, Classic) and analysis extract uploaded to Open Food Facts on the same day; the front uploaded on 2021-02-16 shows the same label. Market DE from Penny's recall of Fontane-Brunnen Classic 1,5 l | | | | | | | |
| 55 | 55 | | noe | Noé-Quelle label, Erftstadt: sales denomination and 2015 SGS Fresenius analysis extract | label | | de | | | 2019-01-13 | supported | Natürliches Mineralwasser mit Kohlensäure versetzt, aus der Noé-Quelle. Abgefüllt am Quellort Erftstadt, Deutschland. | exempt | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 Article 19(1)(b): carbonated water whose description indicates that it has been carbonated needs no list of ingredients | ^noe | The same text and analysis appear on a second photograph uploaded 2021-03-02, which also prints 1,5l and the storage and best-before lines; no market is printed, so none is assigned | 1.5 l | | | | | | |
| 56 | 56 | | quintus | Quintus-Quelle label, Bruchsal: sales denomination and analysis extract | label | | de | | | 2019-03-12 | supported | Natürliches Mineralwasser mit Kohlensäure versetzt, aus der Quintus-Quelle. Abgefüllt am Quellort Bruchsal, Deutschland. | exempt | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 Article 19(1)(b): carbonated water whose description indicates that it has been carbonated needs no list of ingredients | ^quintus | The analysis panel for the Quintus-Quelle was photographed separately on 2021-02-16; its crop cuts off the analysis date and laboratory. No market is printed, so none is assigned | | | | | | | |
| 57 | 57 | <!--/observations--> | |
| 58 | 58 | ||
| 59 | 59 | ## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels--> | |
| 60 | 60 | | id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note | | |
| 61 | 61 | | ---------------- | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------ | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 62 | 62 | | fontane-exempt | fontane | Nutrition declaration, exempt | 100 ml | as_sold | | exempt | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 Annex V point 3: waters intended for human consumption, including those whose only added ingredients are carbon dioxide and/or flavourings | ^eu1169av | No nutrition declaration appears on the photographed surfaces; the label prints a mineral analysis instead | | |
| 63 | 63 | | fontane-2009 | fontane | Auszug aus der Mineralwasseranalyse vom 06.07.2009 der Institut Romeis Bad Kissingen GmbH, Oberthulba | 1 l | analysis | | transcribed | | ^fontanean | Printed in mg per litre for the Fontane-Brunnen. The photograph is soft; the figures read from it match those mineralwasser-test.com lists for Elitess (Fontane Brunnen) Still, the same spring | | |
| 64 | 64 | | noe-exempt | noe | Nutrition declaration, exempt | 100 ml | as_sold | | exempt | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 Annex V point 3: waters intended for human consumption, including those whose only added ingredients are carbon dioxide and/or flavourings | ^eu1169av | No nutrition declaration appears on the photographed surfaces | | |
| 65 | 65 | | noe-2015 | noe | Auszug aus der Mineralwasseranalyse vom 17.02.2015 der SGS Institut Fresenius GmbH, D-65232 Taunusstein | 1 l | analysis | | transcribed | | ^noe | Printed in mg per litre for the Noé-Quelle; identical on the photograph of 2021-03-02 | | |
| 66 | 66 | | quintus-exempt | quintus | Nutrition declaration, exempt | 100 ml | as_sold | | exempt | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 Annex V point 3: waters intended for human consumption, including those whose only added ingredients are carbon dioxide and/or flavourings | ^eu1169av | No nutrition declaration appears on the photographed surfaces | | |
| 67 | 67 | | quintus-analysis | quintus | In 1l Mineralwasser aus der Quintus-Quelle sind enthalten | 1 l | analysis | | transcribed | | ^quintus2021 | Printed in mg per litre; the analysis date and laboratory are cut off in the photograph | | |
| 68 | 68 | <!--/nutrition_panels--> | |
| 69 | 69 | ||
| 70 | 70 | ## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values--> | |
| 71 | 71 | | panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | printed_value | state | method | source | note | | |
| 72 | 72 | | ---------------- | --------------------- | ----- | --------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | ------------ | --------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 73 | 73 | | fontane-2009 | sodium_mg | 7.5 | exact | 7,5 mg/l | known | printed | ^fontanean | | | |
| 74 | 74 | | fontane-2009 | potassium_mg | 0.8 | exact | 0,8 mg/l | known | printed | ^fontanean | | | |
| 75 | 75 | | fontane-2009 | magnesium_mg | 7 | exact | 7,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^fontanean | | | |
| 76 | 76 | | fontane-2009 | calcium_mg | 86 | exact | 86,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^fontanean | | | |
| 77 | 77 | | fontane-2009 | chloride_mg | 26 | exact | 26,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^fontanean | | | |
| 78 | 78 | | fontane-2009 | sulphate_mg | 89 | exact | 89,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^fontanean | | | |
| 79 | 79 | | fontane-2009 | hydrogen_carbonate_mg | 174 | exact | 174,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^fontanean | | | |
| 80 | 80 | | noe-2015 | sodium_mg | 7.3 | exact | 7,3 mg/l | known | printed | ^noe | The label adds "Geeignet für natriumarme Ernährung" | | |
| 81 | 81 | | noe-2015 | potassium_mg | 2.3 | exact | 2,3 mg/l | known | printed | ^noe | | | |
| 82 | 82 | | noe-2015 | magnesium_mg | 13.6 | exact | 13,6 mg/l | known | printed | ^noe | | | |
| 83 | 83 | | noe-2015 | calcium_mg | 70.9 | exact | 70,9 mg/l | known | printed | ^noe | | | |
| 84 | 84 | | noe-2015 | chloride_mg | 14 | exact | 14,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^noe | | | |
| 85 | 85 | | noe-2015 | sulphate_mg | 41 | exact | 41,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^noe | | | |
| 86 | 86 | | noe-2015 | hydrogen_carbonate_mg | 240 | exact | 240,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^noe | | | |
| 87 | 87 | | quintus-analysis | sodium_mg | 20 | exact | 20,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | | | |
| 88 | 88 | | quintus-analysis | potassium_mg | 2 | exact | 2,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | | | |
| 89 | 89 | | quintus-analysis | magnesium_mg | 18.2 | exact | 18,2 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | | | |
| 90 | 90 | | quintus-analysis | calcium_mg | 97 | exact | 97,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | | | |
| 91 | 91 | | quintus-analysis | chloride_mg | 4.6 | exact | 4,6 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | No less-than sign is visible in the photograph | | |
| 92 | 92 | | quintus-analysis | sulphate_mg | 14.1 | exact | 14,1 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | | | |
| 93 | 93 | | quintus-analysis | hydrogen_carbonate_mg | 415 | exact | 415,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | | | |
| 94 | 94 | | quintus-analysis | fluoride_mg | 0.35 | exact | 0,35 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | | | |
| 95 | 95 | <!--/nutrition_values--> | |
| 96 | 96 | ||
| 97 | 97 | ## Label claims <!--claims--> | |
| 98 | 98 | | observation | claim | kind | source | note | | |
| 99 | 99 | | ----------- | ---------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | | |
| 100 | 100 | | noe | Geeignet für natriumarme Ernährung | label | ^noe | Printed in a banner above the analysis extract; consistent with the 7,3 mg/l sodium figure | | |
| 101 | 101 | <!--/claims--> | |
| 102 | 102 | ||
| 103 | 103 | ## Research gaps <!--research_gaps--> | |
| 104 | 104 | | observation | domain | state | detail | source | | |
| 105 | 105 | | ----------- | ------------- | -------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | | |
| 106 | 106 | | | identity | disputed | Open Food Facts names the product "Mineralwasser Baruth Quelle, Elitess, classic" and mineralwasser-test.com lists an Elitess (Baruth Quelle) Classic, but none of the seven photographs under this barcode names Baruth: they name the Fontane-Brunnen, the Noé-Quelle (Erftstadt) and the Quintus-Quelle (Bruchsal). A Baruth-filled label is therefore not recorded as an observation | ^off | | |
| 107 | 107 | | | evidence | unknown | No photograph shows the barcode beside a back label; the three spring labels are tied to this GTIN only by their upload to its Open Food Facts record, and no source states that one barcode covers all three fillings | ^off | | |
| 108 | 108 | | | relationships | unknown | The bottlers of the Noé-Quelle and Quintus-Quelle labels are not named on the photographed surfaces and were not established from a register, so no bottled_by row is recorded for them | | | |
| 109 | 109 | | | relationships | unknown | GS1 prefix 4388810 is not stated by any company stub. It is targeted at Penny as brand owner, but Open Food Facts also files REWE's ja! articles under the same seven digits, so the registrant may be a REWE Group entity; the prefix was therefore not added to the Penny stub's gs1_prefixes | | | |
| 110 | 110 | | fontane | markets | stale | Penny's recall of September 2024 already calls the Fontane-Brunnen range Penny Mineralwasser rather than Elitess; whether this barcode is still on sale, and under which label, is not established, so status and last_seen are left blank | ^recall | | |
| 111 | 111 | | | markets | unknown | Open Food Facts files photographs under English and French, but every photographed surface is German-language and no listing outside Germany was found | ^off | | |
| 112 | 112 | | quintus | nutrition | unknown | The analysis date and laboratory of the Quintus-Quelle extract are cut off in the only photograph of that panel | ^quintus2021 | | |
| 113 | 113 | <!--/research_gaps--> | |
| 114 | 114 | ||
| 115 | 115 | ## Research <!--research--> | |
| 116 | 116 | structure_version: 2 | |
| 117 | 117 | reviewed_on: 2026-09-14 | |
| 118 | 118 | note: New entry from the wanted list. Identity from the Open Food Facts record and its seven photographs, read directly: three concurrent spring labels (Fontane-Brunnen, Noé-Quelle, Quintus-Quelle), each with its own printed mineral analysis transcribed as an analysis panel. Brand ownership from mineralwasser-test.com; the Fontane-Brunnen bottler and the German market from Penny's own recall notice. The Baruth spring named in the Open Food Facts product name is not on any photograph and is recorded as a disputed identity gap. | |
| 119 | 119 | <!--/research--> | |
| 120 | 120 | ||
| 121 | 121 | ## Meta <!--meta--> | |
| 122 | 122 | title: Elitess Classic natural mineral water 1.5 l (EAN 4388810057770) | |
| 123 | 123 | description: Penny's Elitess Classic carbonated mineral water in the 1.5 l bottle: the springs on its labels, their printed mineral analyses, the bottler and the 2024 recall. | |
| 124 | 124 | <!--/meta--> | |
| 125 | 125 | ||
| 126 | + | ## Images <!--images--> | |
| 127 | + | | asset | kind | source | licence | attribution | url | accessed | note | provider_entity_id | provider_image_id | source_image_url | download_url | retrieved_at | matched_barcode | match_method | match_confidence | original_width | original_height | stored_width | stored_height | observation | | |
| 128 | + | | ------------------------ | ----------- | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---- | ------------------ | ----------------- | ---------------- | ------------ | ------------ | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------- | -------------- | --------------- | ------------ | ------------- | ----------- | | |
| 129 | + | | front-ce673116.jpg | front | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 | 2026-09-14 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 130 | + | | ingredients-2d23d42d.jpg | ingredients | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 | 2026-09-14 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 131 | + | | nutrition-d1b30362.jpg | nutrition | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 | 2026-09-14 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 132 | + | <!--/images--> | |
| 133 | + | ||
| 126 | 134 | ## References <!--references--> | |
| 127 | 135 | | ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream | | |
| 128 | 136 | | ----------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---------------------- | ----------- | ---------- | ------------- | ------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 129 | 137 | | off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 | Open Food Facts: Mineralwasser Baruth Quelle, Elitess, classic, 1,5l | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 4388810057770 | | odbl | Open Food Facts contributors | | | |
| 130 | 138 | | front | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/438/881/005/7770/1.jpg | Open Food Facts: front of the Fontane-Brunnen Classic label, uploaded 2018-11-15 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 1 | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 | | |
| 131 | 139 | | fontanean | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/438/881/005/7770/2.jpg | Open Food Facts: Fontane-Brunnen analysis extract of 2009, uploaded 2018-11-15 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 2 | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 | | |
| 132 | 140 | | noe | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/438/881/005/7770/3.jpg | Open Food Facts: Noé-Quelle denomination and 2015 analysis extract, uploaded 2019-01-13 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 3 | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 | | |
| 133 | 141 | | noe2021 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/438/881/005/7770/7.jpg | Open Food Facts: Noé-Quelle back label with 1,5l, uploaded 2021-03-02 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 7 | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 | | |
| 134 | 142 | | quintus | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/438/881/005/7770/4.jpg | Open Food Facts: Quintus-Quelle sales denomination, uploaded 2019-03-12 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 4 | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 | | |
| 135 | 143 | | quintus2021 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/438/881/005/7770/6.jpg | Open Food Facts: Quintus-Quelle analysis panel, uploaded 2021-02-16 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 6 | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 | | |
| 136 | 144 | | mwtest | https://mineralwasser-test.com/discounter/penny/ | Mineralwasser-Test: Penny Mineralwasser, Wasser von Penny | 2026-09-14 | mineralwasser-test.com | publication | 2018-07-23 | | | | | | | |
| 137 | 145 | | recall | https://www.penny.de/presse/rueckruf-penny-mineralwasser | PENNY.de: Rückruf Penny Mineralwasser aus dem Fontane-Brunnen, 16.09.2024 | 2026-09-14 | PENNY Markt GmbH | retailer | 2024-09-16 | | | | | | | |
| 138 | 146 | | wikipenny | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Penny_(supermarket) | Wikipedia: Penny (supermarket) | 2026-09-14 | Wikipedia | publication | | | | cc-by-sa-4.0 | Wikipedia contributors | | | |
| 139 | 147 | | eu1169a19 | https://www.legislation.gov.uk/eur/2011/1169/article/19 | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011, Article 19 (as retained 31 December 2020) | 2026-09-14 | legislation.gov.uk | publication | | | | | | | | |
| 140 | 148 | | eu1169av | https://www.legislation.gov.uk/eur/2011/1169/annex/V | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011, Annex V (as retained 31 December 2020) | 2026-09-14 | legislation.gov.uk | publication | | | | | | | | |
| 141 | 149 | | archive | https://web.archive.org/web/20080417024315/http://en.barcodepedia.com/4388810057770/elitess-sparkling-water | Barcodepedia (2008, archived): elitess sparkling water | 2026-09-14 | Internet Archive | other | 2008-04-17 | | | | | | | |
| 142 | 150 | <!--/references--> | |
| 143 | 151 | ||
| 144 | 152 | ## About <!--about--> | |
| 145 | 153 | Elitess Classic is a carbonated natural mineral water in a 1.5 litre bottle, sold under Elitess, the mineral-water own label of the German discounter Penny.[^mwtest][^front] Penny has been wholly owned by the REWE Group since 1989.[^wikipenny] Photographs filed under this barcode show the Classic label filled at three German springs: the Fontane-Brunnen, the Noé-Quelle at Erftstadt and the Quintus-Quelle at Bruchsal, each printing its own mineral analysis.[^front][^noe][^quintus] As a carbonated water it needs no ingredient list, and waters are exempt from the nutrition declaration.[^eu1169a19][^eu1169av] | |
| 146 | 154 | ||
| 147 | 155 | In September 2024 Refresco Deutschland recalled Penny still, medium and classic waters from the Fontane-Brunnen, filled at its Kloster Lehnin plant, over deviations in smell and taste; the notice already calls the range Penny Mineralwasser rather than Elitess.[^recall] The 2008 Barcodepedia page recorded the barcode as "elitess sparkling water", 1500 ml.[^archive] Open Food Facts names the product after a Baruth spring that none of its photographs shows.[^off] | |
| 148 | 156 | <!--/about--> |
Source of v1
# Elitess Classic Natural Mineral Water 1.5 l <!--product-->
## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 04388810057770
name: Elitess Classic Natural Mineral Water 1.5 l
name.de: Elitess Classic natürliches Mineralwasser mit Kohlensäure versetzt 1,5 l
summary: The carbonated Classic grade of Elitess, the mineral-water own label of the German discounter Penny, in a 1.5 litre bottle.
brand: brand/elitess
category: category/10000232
net_content: 1.5 l
country_of_sale: DE
country_of_origin: DE
pack_quantity: 1
pack_format: PET bottle
<!--/identity-->
## Relations <!--relations-->
| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
| ------------------- | ---------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| brand_owner_at_sale | company/penny | DE | | | | sourced | ^mwtest | mineralwasser-test.com names Elitess as Penny's own label (Eigenmarke) for its mineral waters, including an Elitess Classic |
| bottled_by | company/refresco-deutschland | DE | | | | derived | ^recall | Fontane-Brunnen labels only. Penny's recall notice of 16 September 2024 names Refresco Deutschland GmbH and its Kloster Lehnin plant for Penny Mineralwasser Classic from the Fontane-Brunnen in a 1,5 l PET bottle; the notice prints no barcode and calls the range Penny rather than Elitess, so the link to this GTIN rests on the Fontane-Brunnen front photographed under it |
| gs1_prefix_owner | company/penny | global | | | | derived | ^mwtest | Prefix 4388810; no company stub states it and no source names the registrant, so this targets the brand owner per ^mwtest. See research gaps: the registrant may be a REWE Group entity rather than Penny |
<!--/relations-->
## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price |
| ------- | ------- | ------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | ----- |
| DE | derived | ^recall | Penny's German recall notice lists Penny Mineralwasser Classic from the Fontane-Brunnen as a 1,5 l PET single bottle, matching the Fontane-Brunnen Classic front photographed under this barcode; the notice prints no barcode, names the range Penny rather than Elitess, and lists the sibling Still and Medium grades separately | 2024-09-16 | new | DE | |
<!--/markets-->
## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name | type | locale | from | until |
| ----------------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Elitess Classic | name | de | | |
| Elitess Mineralwasser Classic 1,5 l | search | de | | |
| Penny Elitess Classic | search | de | | |
| elitess sparkling water | search | en | | |
<!--/aliases-->
## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state |
| -------------------------------- | ----------- | ----- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | -------- | ------------- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | ------------------------- | ----- |
| ingredient/natural-mineral-water | | label | No ingredient list is printed; the row restates the sales denomination on the front | | | | | | ^front | fontane-water | fontane | | 1 | natürliches Mineralwasser | known |
| ingredient/carbon-dioxide | carbonation | label | Printed as part of the sales denomination | | | | | | ^front | fontane-co2 | fontane | | 2 | mit Kohlensäure versetzt | known |
| ingredient/natural-mineral-water | | label | No ingredient list is printed; the row restates the sales denomination, which names the Noé-Quelle | | | | | | ^noe | noe-water | noe | | 1 | Natürliches Mineralwasser | known |
| ingredient/carbon-dioxide | carbonation | label | Printed as part of the sales denomination | | | | | | ^noe | noe-co2 | noe | | 2 | mit Kohlensäure versetzt | known |
| ingredient/natural-mineral-water | | label | No ingredient list is printed; the row restates the sales denomination, which names the Quintus-Quelle | | | | | | ^quintus | quintus-water | quintus | | 1 | Natürliches Mineralwasser | known |
| ingredient/carbon-dioxide | carbonation | label | Printed as part of the sales denomination | | | | | | ^quintus | quintus-co2 | quintus | | 2 | mit Kohlensäure versetzt | known |
<!--/ingredients-->
## Observations <!--observations-->
| id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
| ------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ----------------------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ |
| fontane | Fontane-Brunnen label: front and 2009 Romeis analysis extract | label | DE | de | | | 2018-11-15 | supported | natürliches Mineralwasser mit Kohlensäure versetzt | exempt | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 Article 19(1)(b): carbonated water whose description indicates that it has been carbonated needs no list of ingredients | ^front | Front (ELITESS wordmark, FONTANE BRUNNEN, Classic) and analysis extract uploaded to Open Food Facts on the same day; the front uploaded on 2021-02-16 shows the same label. Market DE from Penny's recall of Fontane-Brunnen Classic 1,5 l | | | | | |
| noe | Noé-Quelle label, Erftstadt: sales denomination and 2015 SGS Fresenius analysis extract | label | | de | | | 2019-01-13 | supported | Natürliches Mineralwasser mit Kohlensäure versetzt, aus der Noé-Quelle. Abgefüllt am Quellort Erftstadt, Deutschland. | exempt | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 Article 19(1)(b): carbonated water whose description indicates that it has been carbonated needs no list of ingredients | ^noe | The same text and analysis appear on a second photograph uploaded 2021-03-02, which also prints 1,5l and the storage and best-before lines; no market is printed, so none is assigned | 1.5 l | | | | |
| quintus | Quintus-Quelle label, Bruchsal: sales denomination and analysis extract | label | | de | | | 2019-03-12 | supported | Natürliches Mineralwasser mit Kohlensäure versetzt, aus der Quintus-Quelle. Abgefüllt am Quellort Bruchsal, Deutschland. | exempt | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 Article 19(1)(b): carbonated water whose description indicates that it has been carbonated needs no list of ingredients | ^quintus | The analysis panel for the Quintus-Quelle was photographed separately on 2021-02-16; its crop cuts off the analysis date and laboratory. No market is printed, so none is assigned | | | | | |
<!--/observations-->
## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
| id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note |
| ---------------- | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------ | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| fontane-exempt | fontane | Nutrition declaration, exempt | 100 ml | as_sold | | exempt | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 Annex V point 3: waters intended for human consumption, including those whose only added ingredients are carbon dioxide and/or flavourings | ^eu1169av | No nutrition declaration appears on the photographed surfaces; the label prints a mineral analysis instead |
| fontane-2009 | fontane | Auszug aus der Mineralwasseranalyse vom 06.07.2009 der Institut Romeis Bad Kissingen GmbH, Oberthulba | 1 l | analysis | | transcribed | | ^fontanean | Printed in mg per litre for the Fontane-Brunnen. The photograph is soft; the figures read from it match those mineralwasser-test.com lists for Elitess (Fontane Brunnen) Still, the same spring |
| noe-exempt | noe | Nutrition declaration, exempt | 100 ml | as_sold | | exempt | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 Annex V point 3: waters intended for human consumption, including those whose only added ingredients are carbon dioxide and/or flavourings | ^eu1169av | No nutrition declaration appears on the photographed surfaces |
| noe-2015 | noe | Auszug aus der Mineralwasseranalyse vom 17.02.2015 der SGS Institut Fresenius GmbH, D-65232 Taunusstein | 1 l | analysis | | transcribed | | ^noe | Printed in mg per litre for the Noé-Quelle; identical on the photograph of 2021-03-02 |
| quintus-exempt | quintus | Nutrition declaration, exempt | 100 ml | as_sold | | exempt | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 Annex V point 3: waters intended for human consumption, including those whose only added ingredients are carbon dioxide and/or flavourings | ^eu1169av | No nutrition declaration appears on the photographed surfaces |
| quintus-analysis | quintus | In 1l Mineralwasser aus der Quintus-Quelle sind enthalten | 1 l | analysis | | transcribed | | ^quintus2021 | Printed in mg per litre; the analysis date and laboratory are cut off in the photograph |
<!--/nutrition_panels-->
## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
| ---------------- | --------------------- | ----- | --------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | ------------ | --------------------------------------------------- |
| fontane-2009 | sodium_mg | 7.5 | exact | 7,5 mg/l | known | printed | ^fontanean | |
| fontane-2009 | potassium_mg | 0.8 | exact | 0,8 mg/l | known | printed | ^fontanean | |
| fontane-2009 | magnesium_mg | 7 | exact | 7,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^fontanean | |
| fontane-2009 | calcium_mg | 86 | exact | 86,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^fontanean | |
| fontane-2009 | chloride_mg | 26 | exact | 26,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^fontanean | |
| fontane-2009 | sulphate_mg | 89 | exact | 89,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^fontanean | |
| fontane-2009 | hydrogen_carbonate_mg | 174 | exact | 174,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^fontanean | |
| noe-2015 | sodium_mg | 7.3 | exact | 7,3 mg/l | known | printed | ^noe | The label adds "Geeignet für natriumarme Ernährung" |
| noe-2015 | potassium_mg | 2.3 | exact | 2,3 mg/l | known | printed | ^noe | |
| noe-2015 | magnesium_mg | 13.6 | exact | 13,6 mg/l | known | printed | ^noe | |
| noe-2015 | calcium_mg | 70.9 | exact | 70,9 mg/l | known | printed | ^noe | |
| noe-2015 | chloride_mg | 14 | exact | 14,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^noe | |
| noe-2015 | sulphate_mg | 41 | exact | 41,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^noe | |
| noe-2015 | hydrogen_carbonate_mg | 240 | exact | 240,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^noe | |
| quintus-analysis | sodium_mg | 20 | exact | 20,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | |
| quintus-analysis | potassium_mg | 2 | exact | 2,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | |
| quintus-analysis | magnesium_mg | 18.2 | exact | 18,2 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | |
| quintus-analysis | calcium_mg | 97 | exact | 97,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | |
| quintus-analysis | chloride_mg | 4.6 | exact | 4,6 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | No less-than sign is visible in the photograph |
| quintus-analysis | sulphate_mg | 14.1 | exact | 14,1 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | |
| quintus-analysis | hydrogen_carbonate_mg | 415 | exact | 415,0 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | |
| quintus-analysis | fluoride_mg | 0.35 | exact | 0,35 mg/l | known | printed | ^quintus2021 | |
<!--/nutrition_values-->
## Label claims <!--claims-->
| observation | claim | kind | source | note |
| ----------- | ---------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
| noe | Geeignet für natriumarme Ernährung | label | ^noe | Printed in a banner above the analysis extract; consistent with the 7,3 mg/l sodium figure |
<!--/claims-->
## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
| observation | domain | state | detail | source |
| ----------- | ------------- | -------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ |
| | identity | disputed | Open Food Facts names the product "Mineralwasser Baruth Quelle, Elitess, classic" and mineralwasser-test.com lists an Elitess (Baruth Quelle) Classic, but none of the seven photographs under this barcode names Baruth: they name the Fontane-Brunnen, the Noé-Quelle (Erftstadt) and the Quintus-Quelle (Bruchsal). A Baruth-filled label is therefore not recorded as an observation | ^off |
| | evidence | unknown | No photograph shows the barcode beside a back label; the three spring labels are tied to this GTIN only by their upload to its Open Food Facts record, and no source states that one barcode covers all three fillings | ^off |
| | relationships | unknown | The bottlers of the Noé-Quelle and Quintus-Quelle labels are not named on the photographed surfaces and were not established from a register, so no bottled_by row is recorded for them | |
| | relationships | unknown | GS1 prefix 4388810 is not stated by any company stub. It is targeted at Penny as brand owner, but Open Food Facts also files REWE's ja! articles under the same seven digits, so the registrant may be a REWE Group entity; the prefix was therefore not added to the Penny stub's gs1_prefixes | |
| fontane | markets | stale | Penny's recall of September 2024 already calls the Fontane-Brunnen range Penny Mineralwasser rather than Elitess; whether this barcode is still on sale, and under which label, is not established, so status and last_seen are left blank | ^recall |
| | markets | unknown | Open Food Facts files photographs under English and French, but every photographed surface is German-language and no listing outside Germany was found | ^off |
| quintus | nutrition | unknown | The analysis date and laboratory of the Quintus-Quelle extract are cut off in the only photograph of that panel | ^quintus2021 |
<!--/research_gaps-->
## Research <!--research-->
structure_version: 2
reviewed_on: 2026-09-14
note: New entry from the wanted list. Identity from the Open Food Facts record and its seven photographs, read directly: three concurrent spring labels (Fontane-Brunnen, Noé-Quelle, Quintus-Quelle), each with its own printed mineral analysis transcribed as an analysis panel. Brand ownership from mineralwasser-test.com; the Fontane-Brunnen bottler and the German market from Penny's own recall notice. The Baruth spring named in the Open Food Facts product name is not on any photograph and is recorded as a disputed identity gap.
<!--/research-->
## Meta <!--meta-->
title: Elitess Classic natural mineral water 1.5 l (EAN 4388810057770)
description: Penny's Elitess Classic carbonated mineral water in the 1.5 l bottle: the springs on its labels, their printed mineral analyses, the bottler and the 2024 recall.
<!--/meta-->
## References <!--references-->
| ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream |
| ----------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---------------------- | ----------- | ---------- | ------------- | ------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- |
| off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 | Open Food Facts: Mineralwasser Baruth Quelle, Elitess, classic, 1,5l | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 4388810057770 | | odbl | Open Food Facts contributors | |
| front | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/438/881/005/7770/1.jpg | Open Food Facts: front of the Fontane-Brunnen Classic label, uploaded 2018-11-15 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 1 | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 |
| fontanean | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/438/881/005/7770/2.jpg | Open Food Facts: Fontane-Brunnen analysis extract of 2009, uploaded 2018-11-15 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 2 | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 |
| noe | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/438/881/005/7770/3.jpg | Open Food Facts: Noé-Quelle denomination and 2015 analysis extract, uploaded 2019-01-13 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 3 | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 |
| noe2021 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/438/881/005/7770/7.jpg | Open Food Facts: Noé-Quelle back label with 1,5l, uploaded 2021-03-02 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 7 | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 |
| quintus | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/438/881/005/7770/4.jpg | Open Food Facts: Quintus-Quelle sales denomination, uploaded 2019-03-12 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 4 | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 |
| quintus2021 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/438/881/005/7770/6.jpg | Open Food Facts: Quintus-Quelle analysis panel, uploaded 2021-02-16 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 6 | | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4388810057770 |
| mwtest | https://mineralwasser-test.com/discounter/penny/ | Mineralwasser-Test: Penny Mineralwasser, Wasser von Penny | 2026-09-14 | mineralwasser-test.com | publication | 2018-07-23 | | | | | |
| recall | https://www.penny.de/presse/rueckruf-penny-mineralwasser | PENNY.de: Rückruf Penny Mineralwasser aus dem Fontane-Brunnen, 16.09.2024 | 2026-09-14 | PENNY Markt GmbH | retailer | 2024-09-16 | | | | | |
| wikipenny | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Penny_(supermarket) | Wikipedia: Penny (supermarket) | 2026-09-14 | Wikipedia | publication | | | | cc-by-sa-4.0 | Wikipedia contributors | |
| eu1169a19 | https://www.legislation.gov.uk/eur/2011/1169/article/19 | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011, Article 19 (as retained 31 December 2020) | 2026-09-14 | legislation.gov.uk | publication | | | | | | |
| eu1169av | https://www.legislation.gov.uk/eur/2011/1169/annex/V | Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011, Annex V (as retained 31 December 2020) | 2026-09-14 | legislation.gov.uk | publication | | | | | | |
| archive | https://web.archive.org/web/20080417024315/http://en.barcodepedia.com/4388810057770/elitess-sparkling-water | Barcodepedia (2008, archived): elitess sparkling water | 2026-09-14 | Internet Archive | other | 2008-04-17 | | | | | |
<!--/references-->
## About <!--about-->
Elitess Classic is a carbonated natural mineral water in a 1.5 litre bottle, sold under Elitess, the mineral-water own label of the German discounter Penny.[^mwtest][^front] Penny has been wholly owned by the REWE Group since 1989.[^wikipenny] Photographs filed under this barcode show the Classic label filled at three German springs: the Fontane-Brunnen, the Noé-Quelle at Erftstadt and the Quintus-Quelle at Bruchsal, each printing its own mineral analysis.[^front][^noe][^quintus] As a carbonated water it needs no ingredient list, and waters are exempt from the nutrition declaration.[^eu1169a19][^eu1169av]
In September 2024 Refresco Deutschland recalled Penny still, medium and classic waters from the Fontane-Brunnen, filled at its Kloster Lehnin plant, over deviations in smell and taste; the notice already calls the range Penny Mineralwasser rather than Elitess.[^recall] The 2008 Barcodepedia page recorded the barcode as "elitess sparkling water", 1500 ml.[^archive] Open Food Facts names the product after a Baruth spring that none of its photographs shows.[^off]
<!--/about-->