Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Sugarfree Gum 35 g: version 1

Saved 2026-09-13 17:39 by @benjaminsen (bot): Added Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Sugarfree Gum 35 g Handy Box (EAN 4009900016179) from the wanted list (old Barcodepedia title "wrigleys extra handy box peppermint"). - Identity: confirmed by the Open Food Facts record and photos, the archived 2010 Barcodepedia page, and a Devo (Nisa Local, Enfield) listing that carries the EAN, 35 g, GBP 1.20, in stock on 2026-09-13. - Two label observations read from OFF raw uploads: 2019 (xylitol, sorbitol, aspartame, mannitol, acesulfame K ... BHA; soybean allergen; phenylalanine and laxative warnings) as the default, and a partly legible 2015 list (sorbitol, maltitol, maltitol syrup, mannitol ...) with BDHF and Irish Dental Association marks. - Nutrition: only the cropped first line of the 2019 declaration is visible (149 kcal, fat 0 g, saturates 0 g); the kJ figure is marked disputed against OFF's typed 1054 kJ, and the rest is not_researched. OFF's typed 62 g carbohydrate/sugars were not copied. - Markets: GB sourced (Devo), IE printed (Irish Dental Association mark on the 2015 pack). France from OFF countries_tags was not listed because the 'fr' photo shows an English pack. - Relations: brand owner Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company (Wikipedia); gs1_prefix_owner derived to a new stub company/wrigley-gmbh (North Data: HRB 44637, LEI, merged 2017), with no gs1_prefixes added because nothing names the registrant. No manufacturer recorded (no back panel). - New stubs: company/wrigley-gmbh, ingredient/xylitol. Existing brand/wrigley-s and family/wrigley-s-extra reused.. Current is v2.

Sign in to restore this version.

Changes from v1 to current

11# Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Sugarfree Gum 35 g <!--product-->
22 
33## Identity <!--identity-->
44gtin: 04009900016179
55name: Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Sugarfree Gum 35 g
66family: family/wrigley-s-extra
77default_observation: label-2019
88summary: A 25-piece, 35 g cardboard Handy Box of Wrigley's Extra peppermint sugarfree chewing gum, sold in the United Kingdom.
99brand: brand/wrigley-s
1010category: category/10006390
1111net_content: 35 g
1212country_of_sale: GB, IE
1313piece_count: 25
1414pack_format: cardboard handy box
1515status: active
1616last_seen: 2026-09-13
1717last_seen_note: Listed in stock at GBP 1.20 by a Nisa Local store on Devo
1818<!--/identity-->
1919 
2020## Relations <!--relations-->
2121| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
2222| ------------------- | ----------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ----------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
2323| brand_owner_at_sale | company/wm-wrigley-jr-company | global | | | | sourced | ^wp-wrigley | Extra is a Wrigley Company gum brand (^wp-extra); the Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company, a subsidiary of Mars, Incorporated since 2008, owns the Wrigley's gum brands |
2424| gs1_prefix_owner | company/wrigley-gmbh | | | | | derived | ^northdata | Prefix 4009900 lies in the GS1 Germany range 400-440; no source names the registrant and no back-label photo was available, so the German Wrigley company (Wrigley GmbH, Unterhaching, formerly Deutsche Wrigley GmbH) is recorded as the likely licensee; nothing names it on the pack |
2525<!--/relations-->
2626 
2727## Markets <!--markets-->
2828| country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price |
2929| ------- | ------- | ---------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | -------- |
3030| GB | sourced | ^devo | Devo listing for Nisa Local, Enfield (London EN1) with the EAN 4009900016179 in the URL: "Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Gum Sugar Free Handy Box 25pk", 35g, in stock | 2026-09-13 | new | | GBP 1.20 |
3131| IE | printed | ^off-front | The Irish Dental Association "Approved" mark is printed on the front of the 2015 pack beside the British Dental Health Foundation mark; no Irish retailer listing was found | 2015-03-01 | | | |
3232<!--/markets-->
3333 
3434## Aliases <!--aliases-->
3535| name | type | locale | from | until |
3636| -------------------------------------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
3737| Wrigley's Extra Handy Box Peppermint | search | en | | |
3838| Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Gum Sugar Free Handy Box 25pk | search | en | | |
3939| Extra Peppermint Sugarfree Gum Handy Box 25 Pieces 35g | search | en | | |
4040<!--/aliases-->
4141 
4242## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
4343| ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state |
4444| ----------------------------------- | ------------- | ----- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ---------- | ---------------- | ------ | ----------- | --------- | -------- | --------------------------- | ----- |
4545| ingredient/xylitol | sweetener | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingredients | s19-1 | label-2019 | | 1 | Sweeteners xylitol | known |
4646| ingredient/sorbitol | sweetener | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingredients | s19-2 | label-2019 | | 2 | sorbitol | known |
4747| ingredient/aspartame | sweetener | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingredients | s19-3 | label-2019 | | 3 | aspartame | known |
4848| ingredient/mannitol | sweetener | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingredients | s19-4 | label-2019 | | 4 | mannitol | known |
4949| ingredient/acesulfame-k | sweetener | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingredients | s19-5 | label-2019 | | 5 | acesulfame K | known |
5050| ingredient/gum-base | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingredients | s19-6 | label-2019 | | 6 | gum base | known |
5151| ingredient/gum-arabic | thickener | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingredients | s19-7 | label-2019 | | 7 | thickener gum arabic | known |
5252| ingredient/flavourings | | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingredients | s19-8 | label-2019 | | 8 | flavourings | known |
5353| ingredient/glycerol | humectant | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingredients | s19-9 | label-2019 | | 9 | humectant glycerol | known |
5454| ingredient/soy-lecithin | emulsifier | label | The soybean allergen is printed in bold | | | | | | ^off-ingredients | s19-10 | label-2019 | | 10 | emulsifier SOYBEAN lecithin | known |
5555| ingredient/titanium-dioxide | colour | label | Printed by E-number only | | | | | | ^off-ingredients | s19-11 | label-2019 | | 11 | colour E171 | known |
5656| ingredient/carnauba-wax | glazing agent | label | | | | | | | ^off-ingredients | s19-12 | label-2019 | | 12 | glazing agent carnauba wax | known |
5757| ingredient/butylated-hydroxyanisole | antioxidant | label | Printed as the abbreviation BHA | | | | | | ^off-ingredients | s19-13 | label-2019 | | 13 | antioxidant BHA | known |
5858| ingredient/sorbitol | sweetener | label | | | | | | 2015-03-01 | ^off-front | s15-1 | label-2015 | | 1 | Sweeteners sorbitol | known |
5959| ingredient/maltitol | sweetener | label | | | | | | 2015-03-01 | ^off-front | s15-2 | label-2015 | | 2 | maltitol | known |
6060| ingredient/maltitol-syrup | sweetener | label | | | | | | 2015-03-01 | ^off-front | s15-3 | label-2015 | | 3 | maltitol syrup | known |
6161| ingredient/mannitol | sweetener | label | | | | | | 2015-03-01 | ^off-front | s15-4 | label-2015 | | 4 | mannitol | known |
6262| ingredient/acesulfame-k | sweetener | label | Legible on the second line of the strip after a cropped, unreadable word; position counts legible entries only | | | | | 2015-03-01 | ^off-front | s15-5 | label-2015 | | 5 | acesulfame K | known |
6363| ingredient/gum-base | | label | Legible after acesulfame K; position counts legible entries only | | | | | 2015-03-01 | ^off-front | s15-6 | label-2015 | | 6 | gum base | known |
6464| ingredient/soy-lecithin | | label | Printed inside the gum base bracket; the rest of the bracket is cut off | | | | | 2015-03-01 | ^off-front | s15-7 | label-2015 | s15-6 | 1 | contains soybean lecithin | known |
6565<!--/ingredients-->
6666 
6767## Observations <!--observations-->
6868| id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
6969| ---------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | ---------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ------------------- | ------------ |
7070| label-2019 | English label photographed in 2019 (blue Handy Box) | label | | en | | | 2019-01-10 | supported | Ingredients: Sweeteners xylitol, sorbitol, aspartame, mannitol, acesulfame K; gum base, thickener gum arabic, flavourings, humectant glycerol, emulsifier soybean lecithin, colour E171, glazing agent carnauba wax, antioxidant BHA. Contains a source of phenylalanine. Excessive consumption may produce laxative effects. | listed | | ^off-ingredients | Read from Open Food Facts raw upload 3 (2722 x 417 px), a side-panel strip; the front photo (upload 2) was uploaded the same day and shows the same Handy Box design with 25 pieces. The nutrition line below the list is cut off at the lower edge. Market not stated on the photographed panels | 35 g | | 25 | cardboard handy box | |
7171| label-2015 | English label photographed in 2015 (teal Handy Box with dental association marks) | label | | en | | | 2015-03-01 | supported | Ingredients: Sweeteners sorbitol, maltitol, maltitol syrup, mannitol, [...] acesulfame K, gum base (contains soybean lecithin [...] | listed | | ^off-front | Read from Open Food Facts raw upload 1 (2000 x 1130 px): the front with the top and bottom flaps; the ingredient list on the bottom flap is only partly legible, so the observation keeps what can be read and marks the gaps. The top flap shows 35 g and the end of a statement ending "a varied and balanced diet and a healthy lifestyle are important" | 35 g | | 25 | cardboard handy box | |
7272<!--/observations-->
7373 
7474## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
7575| id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note |
7676| --------- | ----------- | ------------------------------- | ----- | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ------------ | ---------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
7777| np19-100g | label-2019 | Nutrition declaration per 100 g | 100 g | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^off-ingredients | Only the start of the declaration is in the photo and only the upper half of its characters is visible; the remaining nutrients are cut off |
7878<!--/nutrition_panels-->
7979 
8080## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
8181| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
8282| --------- | --------------- | ----- | --------- | ---------------------- | -------------- | ------- | ---------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
8383| np19-100g | energy_kcal | 149 | | 149 kcal | known | printed | ^off-ingredients | Upper half of the digits visible; the Open Food Facts typed record also gives 149 kcal |
8484| np19-100g | energy_kj | | | | disputed | printed | ^off-ingredients | The kilojoule figure reads as 620 kJ from the upper half of the digits, which fits 149 kcal; the Open Food Facts typed record gives 1054 kJ, which does not |
8585| np19-100g | fat_g | 0 | | Fat 0 g | known | printed | ^off-ingredients | |
8686| np19-100g | saturated_fat_g | 0 | | of which saturates 0 g | known | printed | ^off-ingredients | |
8787| np19-100g | carbohydrate_g | | | | not_researched | printed | ^off | Cut off in the photo; Open Food Facts typed 62 g, not verified against a label |
8888| np19-100g | sugars_g | | | | not_researched | printed | ^off | Cut off in the photo; Open Food Facts typed 62 g for a sugarfree gum, not verified against a label |
8989| np19-100g | protein_g | | | | not_researched | printed | | Cut off in the photo |
9090| np19-100g | salt_g | | | | not_researched | printed | | Cut off in the photo |
9191<!--/nutrition_values-->
9292 
9393## Allergen declarations <!--allergens-->
9494| observation | allergen | declaration | source | note |
9595| ----------- | -------- | ----------- | ---------------- | ----------------------------------------------- |
9696| label-2019 | soybeans | contains | ^off-ingredients | "emulsifier SOYBEAN lecithin", allergen in bold |
9797| label-2015 | soybeans | contains | ^off-front | "gum base (contains soybean lecithin" |
9898<!--/allergens-->
9999 
100100## Label claims <!--claims-->
101101| observation | claim | kind | source | note |
102102| ----------- | -------------------------------------------------- | ------------- | ---------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
103103| label-2019 | Contains a source of phenylalanine | label | ^off-ingredients | Mandatory warning for aspartame, not a marketing claim |
104104| label-2019 | Excessive consumption may produce laxative effects | label | ^off-ingredients | Mandatory advisory statement for polyols, not a marketing claim |
105105| label-2019 | Sugarfree | label | ^off-front-2019 | Printed beside a tooth symbol on the front photographed the same day as the ingredient panel |
106106| label-2015 | Peppermint sugarfree gum | label | ^off-front | |
107107| label-2015 | British Dental Health Foundation Approved | certification | ^off-front | Approval mark as printed on the front; recorded as the label's declaration |
108108| label-2015 | Irish Dental Association Approved | certification | ^off-front | Approval mark as printed on the front; recorded as the label's declaration |
109109<!--/claims-->
110110 
111111## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
112112| observation | domain | state | detail | source |
113113| ----------- | ------------- | -------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- |
114114| | relationships | unknown | No back or side panel with the maker or distributor block was available, so no manufactured_by or food business operator is recorded. The 2006-2013 Barcodepedia page said "Produced in Germany by The Wrigley Company LTD", but that line was generated from the prefix and is not evidence | ^archive |
115115| | identity | unknown | No public source names the licensee of GS1 prefix 4009900; Wrigley GmbH is a derived target only, and the prefix is not added to its gs1_prefixes for that reason | ^northdata |
116116| label-2019 | nutrition | disputed | The 2019 nutrition line is cut off at the photo edge: energy reads 620 kJ / 149 kcal, fat 0 g, saturates 0 g; Open Food Facts typed 1054 kJ, 62 g carbohydrate and 62 g sugars, which contradict the kcal figure and a sugarfree gum. A full side-panel photo is needed | ^off |
117117| label-2015 | ingredients | unknown | The 2015 ingredient list on the bottom flap is only partly legible: after mannitol one or more words are unreadable, and the list after the gum base bracket is cut off | ^off-front |
118118| | markets | disputed | Open Food Facts countries_tags list France and the United Kingdom; the photo filed as the French front shows an English-language pack, so France is not recorded | ^off |
119119| | markets | unknown | Sainsbury's lists "Extra Peppermint Sugar Free Gum Handy Box 25 Pieces 35g" but its page refused retrieval (HTTP 403), so it is not cited as a listing | |
120120| | evidence | not_researched | Whether the 2015 and 2019 packs are successive label revisions for one market or concurrent labels is not established; the 2015 photo shows maltitol and maltitol syrup, the 2019 photo xylitol | |
121121<!--/research_gaps-->
122122 
123123## Research <!--research-->
124124structure_version: 2
125125reviewed_on: 2026-09-13
126126note: New entry from the wanted list. Labels read from the Open Food Facts photographs uploaded 2015-03-01 and 2019-01-10; United Kingdom market from a Devo listing that carries the EAN; brand ownership from Wikipedia; the German Wrigley company checked on North Data.
127127<!--/research-->
128128 
129129## Meta <!--meta-->
130130title: Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Sugarfree Gum 35 g Handy Box (EAN 4009900016179)
131131description: The 25-piece 35 g Handy Box of Wrigley's Extra peppermint sugarfree gum: two label revisions, ingredients, allergens, markets and brand ownership.
132132<!--/meta-->
133133 
134+## Images <!--images-->
135+| asset | kind | source | licence | attribution | url | accessed | note | provider_entity_id | provider_image_id | source_image_url | download_url | retrieved_at | matched_barcode | match_method | match_confidence | original_width | original_height | stored_width | stored_height | upscaled | observation |
136+| ------------------ | ----- | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---- | ------------------ | ----------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ------------------------ | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------- | -------------- | --------------- | ------------ | ------------- | -------- | ----------- |
137+| front-e9640252.jpg | front | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4009900016179 | 2026-09-14 | | 4009900016179 | front_en | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/400/990/001/6179/front_en.3.full.jpg | | 2026-09-14T11:11:53.356Z | 4009900016179 | barcode | 1 | 2000 | 1130 | 1600 | 904 | | |
138+<!--/images-->
139+ 
134140## References <!--references-->
135141| ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream |
136142| --------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---------------- | ----------- | ---------- | ------------- | ------------------------------------ | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ------------------- |
137143| off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4009900016179 | extra peppermint, wrigley's, 35 g | 2026-09-13 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 4009900016179 | | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | |
138144| off-ingredients | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/400/990/001/6179/3.jpg | Ingredient panel of the 35 g Handy Box, with the start of the nutrition declaration | 2026-09-13 | Open Food Facts | pack | 2019-01-10 | | Side panel, raw upload 3 | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | |
139145| off-front-2019 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/400/990/001/6179/2.jpg | Front of the 35 g Handy Box, blue design | 2026-09-13 | Open Food Facts | pack | 2019-01-10 | | Front panel, raw upload 2 | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | |
140146| off-front | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/400/990/001/6179/1.jpg | Front, top and bottom flaps of the 35 g Handy Box, teal design | 2026-09-13 | Open Food Facts | pack | 2015-03-01 | | Front panel with flaps, raw upload 1 | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | |
141147| devo | https://devo.co.uk/shop/nisa-local-enfield-en1/product/wrigley-s-extra-peppermint-gum-sugar-free-handy-box-25pk-35g-4009900016179 | Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Gum Sugar Free Handy Box 25pk, Nisa Local - Enfield | 2026-09-13 | Devo | retailer | | 4009900016179 | Product page, price and size | | | |
142148| archive | https://web.archive.org/web/20100121122323/http://en.barcodepedia.com/4009900016179/wrigleys-extra-handy-box-peppermint | Wrigley's Extra Handy Box Peppermint, the 2006-2013 Barcodepedia entry | 2026-09-13 | Internet Archive | other | 2010-01-21 | | | | | en.barcodepedia.com |
143149| wp-wrigley | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wrigley_Company | Wrigley Company | 2026-09-13 | Wikipedia | publication | | | | CC BY-SA | Wikipedia contributors | |
144150| wp-extra | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extra_(gum) | Extra (gum) | 2026-09-13 | Wikipedia | publication | | | | CC BY-SA | Wikipedia contributors | |
145151| northdata | https://www.northdata.com/Wrigley%20GmbH,%20Unterhaching/Amtsgericht%20M%C3%BCnchen%20HRB%2044637 | Wrigley GmbH, Unterhaching, District Court of Munich HRB 44637 | 2026-09-13 | North Data | registry | | HRB 44637 | | | | Handelsregister |
146152<!--/references-->
147153 
148154## About <!--about-->
149155Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Sugarfree Gum 35 g is a cardboard Handy Box of 25 pellets of peppermint chewing gum listed by a Nisa Local store in Enfield, England, at £1.20 in September 2026.[^devo] Extra is the Wrigley Company's sugarfree gum line, launched in the United States in 1984 and sold in Great Britain since 1990.[^wp-extra] Wrigley has been a subsidiary of Mars, Incorporated since 2008.[^wp-wrigley] The pack photographed in 2019 sweetens the gum with xylitol, sorbitol, aspartame, mannitol and acesulfame K and warns of phenylalanine.[^off-ingredients] An earlier pack photographed in 2015 led its list with sorbitol, maltitol and maltitol syrup and carried British Dental Health Foundation and Irish Dental Association approval marks.[^off-front]
150156 
151157The barcode was already on the 2006-2013 Barcodepedia, whose entry described 25 sugarfree peppermint pellets in a "Handy Box".[^archive] Its GS1 prefix lies in the German range; no source names the licensee.[^northdata]
152158<!--/about-->

Source of v1

# Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Sugarfree Gum 35 g <!--product-->

## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 04009900016179
name: Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Sugarfree Gum 35 g
family: family/wrigley-s-extra
default_observation: label-2019
summary: A 25-piece, 35 g cardboard Handy Box of Wrigley's Extra peppermint sugarfree chewing gum, sold in the United Kingdom.
brand: brand/wrigley-s
category: category/10006390
net_content: 35 g
country_of_sale: GB, IE
piece_count: 25
pack_format: cardboard handy box
status: active
last_seen: 2026-09-13
last_seen_note: Listed in stock at GBP 1.20 by a Nisa Local store on Devo
<!--/identity-->

## Relations <!--relations-->
| role                | target                        | market | from | until | ended | status  | source      | note                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    |
| ------------------- | ----------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ----------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| brand_owner_at_sale | company/wm-wrigley-jr-company | global |      |       |       | sourced | ^wp-wrigley | Extra is a Wrigley Company gum brand (^wp-extra); the Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company, a subsidiary of Mars, Incorporated since 2008, owns the Wrigley's gum brands                                                                                                                             |
| gs1_prefix_owner    | company/wrigley-gmbh          |        |      |       |       | derived | ^northdata  | Prefix 4009900 lies in the GS1 Germany range 400-440; no source names the registrant and no back-label photo was available, so the German Wrigley company (Wrigley GmbH, Unterhaching, formerly Deutsche Wrigley GmbH) is recorded as the likely licensee; nothing names it on the pack |
<!--/relations-->

## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status  | source     | note                                                                                                                                                                        | observed   | condition | origin | price    |
| ------- | ------- | ---------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | -------- |
| GB      | sourced | ^devo      | Devo listing for Nisa Local, Enfield (London EN1) with the EAN 4009900016179 in the URL: "Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Gum Sugar Free Handy Box 25pk", 35g, in stock          | 2026-09-13 | new       |        | GBP 1.20 |
| IE      | printed | ^off-front | The Irish Dental Association "Approved" mark is printed on the front of the 2015 pack beside the British Dental Health Foundation mark; no Irish retailer listing was found | 2015-03-01 |           |        |          |
<!--/markets-->

## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name                                                     | type   | locale | from | until |
| -------------------------------------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Wrigley's Extra Handy Box Peppermint                     | search | en     |      |       |
| Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Gum Sugar Free Handy Box 25pk | search | en     |      |       |
| Extra Peppermint Sugarfree Gum Handy Box 25 Pieces 35g   | search | en     |      |       |
<!--/aliases-->

## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient                          | role          | kind  | note                                                                                                           | percent | basis | market | from | until      | source           | id     | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name                | state |
| ----------------------------------- | ------------- | ----- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ---------- | ---------------- | ------ | ----------- | --------- | -------- | --------------------------- | ----- |
| ingredient/xylitol                  | sweetener     | label |                                                                                                                |         |       |        |      |            | ^off-ingredients | s19-1  | label-2019  |           | 1        | Sweeteners xylitol          | known |
| ingredient/sorbitol                 | sweetener     | label |                                                                                                                |         |       |        |      |            | ^off-ingredients | s19-2  | label-2019  |           | 2        | sorbitol                    | known |
| ingredient/aspartame                | sweetener     | label |                                                                                                                |         |       |        |      |            | ^off-ingredients | s19-3  | label-2019  |           | 3        | aspartame                   | known |
| ingredient/mannitol                 | sweetener     | label |                                                                                                                |         |       |        |      |            | ^off-ingredients | s19-4  | label-2019  |           | 4        | mannitol                    | known |
| ingredient/acesulfame-k             | sweetener     | label |                                                                                                                |         |       |        |      |            | ^off-ingredients | s19-5  | label-2019  |           | 5        | acesulfame K                | known |
| ingredient/gum-base                 |               | label |                                                                                                                |         |       |        |      |            | ^off-ingredients | s19-6  | label-2019  |           | 6        | gum base                    | known |
| ingredient/gum-arabic               | thickener     | label |                                                                                                                |         |       |        |      |            | ^off-ingredients | s19-7  | label-2019  |           | 7        | thickener gum arabic        | known |
| ingredient/flavourings              |               | label |                                                                                                                |         |       |        |      |            | ^off-ingredients | s19-8  | label-2019  |           | 8        | flavourings                 | known |
| ingredient/glycerol                 | humectant     | label |                                                                                                                |         |       |        |      |            | ^off-ingredients | s19-9  | label-2019  |           | 9        | humectant glycerol          | known |
| ingredient/soy-lecithin             | emulsifier    | label | The soybean allergen is printed in bold                                                                        |         |       |        |      |            | ^off-ingredients | s19-10 | label-2019  |           | 10       | emulsifier SOYBEAN lecithin | known |
| ingredient/titanium-dioxide         | colour        | label | Printed by E-number only                                                                                       |         |       |        |      |            | ^off-ingredients | s19-11 | label-2019  |           | 11       | colour E171                 | known |
| ingredient/carnauba-wax             | glazing agent | label |                                                                                                                |         |       |        |      |            | ^off-ingredients | s19-12 | label-2019  |           | 12       | glazing agent carnauba wax  | known |
| ingredient/butylated-hydroxyanisole | antioxidant   | label | Printed as the abbreviation BHA                                                                                |         |       |        |      |            | ^off-ingredients | s19-13 | label-2019  |           | 13       | antioxidant BHA             | known |
| ingredient/sorbitol                 | sweetener     | label |                                                                                                                |         |       |        |      | 2015-03-01 | ^off-front       | s15-1  | label-2015  |           | 1        | Sweeteners sorbitol         | known |
| ingredient/maltitol                 | sweetener     | label |                                                                                                                |         |       |        |      | 2015-03-01 | ^off-front       | s15-2  | label-2015  |           | 2        | maltitol                    | known |
| ingredient/maltitol-syrup           | sweetener     | label |                                                                                                                |         |       |        |      | 2015-03-01 | ^off-front       | s15-3  | label-2015  |           | 3        | maltitol syrup              | known |
| ingredient/mannitol                 | sweetener     | label |                                                                                                                |         |       |        |      | 2015-03-01 | ^off-front       | s15-4  | label-2015  |           | 4        | mannitol                    | known |
| ingredient/acesulfame-k             | sweetener     | label | Legible on the second line of the strip after a cropped, unreadable word; position counts legible entries only |         |       |        |      | 2015-03-01 | ^off-front       | s15-5  | label-2015  |           | 5        | acesulfame K                | known |
| ingredient/gum-base                 |               | label | Legible after acesulfame K; position counts legible entries only                                               |         |       |        |      | 2015-03-01 | ^off-front       | s15-6  | label-2015  |           | 6        | gum base                    | known |
| ingredient/soy-lecithin             |               | label | Printed inside the gum base bracket; the rest of the bracket is cut off                                        |         |       |        |      | 2015-03-01 | ^off-front       | s15-7  | label-2015  | s15-6     | 1        | contains soybean lecithin   | known |
<!--/ingredients-->

## Observations <!--observations-->
| id         | label                                                                             | kind  | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed   | status    | ingredients_text                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source           | note                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format         | model_number |
| ---------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | ---------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ------------------- | ------------ |
| label-2019 | English label photographed in 2019 (blue Handy Box)                               | label |        | en       |            |             | 2019-01-10 | supported | Ingredients: Sweeteners xylitol, sorbitol, aspartame, mannitol, acesulfame K; gum base, thickener gum arabic, flavourings, humectant glycerol, emulsifier soybean lecithin, colour E171, glazing agent carnauba wax, antioxidant BHA. Contains a source of phenylalanine. Excessive consumption may produce laxative effects. | listed                  |                          | ^off-ingredients | Read from Open Food Facts raw upload 3 (2722 x 417 px), a side-panel strip; the front photo (upload 2) was uploaded the same day and shows the same Handy Box design with 25 pieces. The nutrition line below the list is cut off at the lower edge. Market not stated on the photographed panels                                                           | 35 g        |               | 25          | cardboard handy box |              |
| label-2015 | English label photographed in 2015 (teal Handy Box with dental association marks) | label |        | en       |            |             | 2015-03-01 | supported | Ingredients: Sweeteners sorbitol, maltitol, maltitol syrup, mannitol, [...] acesulfame K, gum base (contains soybean lecithin [...]                                                                                                                                                                                           | listed                  |                          | ^off-front       | Read from Open Food Facts raw upload 1 (2000 x 1130 px): the front with the top and bottom flaps; the ingredient list on the bottom flap is only partly legible, so the observation keeps what can be read and marks the gaps. The top flap shows 35 g and the end of a statement ending "a varied and balanced diet and a healthy lifestyle are important" | 35 g        |               | 25          | cardboard handy box |              |
<!--/observations-->

## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
| id        | observation | label                           | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source           | note                                                                                                                                        |
| --------- | ----------- | ------------------------------- | ----- | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ------------ | ---------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| np19-100g | label-2019  | Nutrition declaration per 100 g | 100 g | as_sold     |            | transcribed |              | ^off-ingredients | Only the start of the declaration is in the photo and only the upper half of its characters is visible; the remaining nutrients are cut off |
<!--/nutrition_panels-->

## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
| panel     | nutrient        | value | qualifier | printed_value          | state          | method  | source           | note                                                                                                                                                        |
| --------- | --------------- | ----- | --------- | ---------------------- | -------------- | ------- | ---------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| np19-100g | energy_kcal     | 149   |           | 149 kcal               | known          | printed | ^off-ingredients | Upper half of the digits visible; the Open Food Facts typed record also gives 149 kcal                                                                      |
| np19-100g | energy_kj       |       |           |                        | disputed       | printed | ^off-ingredients | The kilojoule figure reads as 620 kJ from the upper half of the digits, which fits 149 kcal; the Open Food Facts typed record gives 1054 kJ, which does not |
| np19-100g | fat_g           | 0     |           | Fat 0 g                | known          | printed | ^off-ingredients |                                                                                                                                                             |
| np19-100g | saturated_fat_g | 0     |           | of which saturates 0 g | known          | printed | ^off-ingredients |                                                                                                                                                             |
| np19-100g | carbohydrate_g  |       |           |                        | not_researched | printed | ^off             | Cut off in the photo; Open Food Facts typed 62 g, not verified against a label                                                                              |
| np19-100g | sugars_g        |       |           |                        | not_researched | printed | ^off             | Cut off in the photo; Open Food Facts typed 62 g for a sugarfree gum, not verified against a label                                                          |
| np19-100g | protein_g       |       |           |                        | not_researched | printed |                  | Cut off in the photo                                                                                                                                        |
| np19-100g | salt_g          |       |           |                        | not_researched | printed |                  | Cut off in the photo                                                                                                                                        |
<!--/nutrition_values-->

## Allergen declarations <!--allergens-->
| observation | allergen | declaration | source           | note                                            |
| ----------- | -------- | ----------- | ---------------- | ----------------------------------------------- |
| label-2019  | soybeans | contains    | ^off-ingredients | "emulsifier SOYBEAN lecithin", allergen in bold |
| label-2015  | soybeans | contains    | ^off-front       | "gum base (contains soybean lecithin"           |
<!--/allergens-->

## Label claims <!--claims-->
| observation | claim                                              | kind          | source           | note                                                                                         |
| ----------- | -------------------------------------------------- | ------------- | ---------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| label-2019  | Contains a source of phenylalanine                 | label         | ^off-ingredients | Mandatory warning for aspartame, not a marketing claim                                       |
| label-2019  | Excessive consumption may produce laxative effects | label         | ^off-ingredients | Mandatory advisory statement for polyols, not a marketing claim                              |
| label-2019  | Sugarfree                                          | label         | ^off-front-2019  | Printed beside a tooth symbol on the front photographed the same day as the ingredient panel |
| label-2015  | Peppermint sugarfree gum                           | label         | ^off-front       |                                                                                              |
| label-2015  | British Dental Health Foundation Approved          | certification | ^off-front       | Approval mark as printed on the front; recorded as the label's declaration                   |
| label-2015  | Irish Dental Association Approved                  | certification | ^off-front       | Approval mark as printed on the front; recorded as the label's declaration                   |
<!--/claims-->

## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
| observation | domain        | state          | detail                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       | source     |
| ----------- | ------------- | -------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- |
|             | relationships | unknown        | No back or side panel with the maker or distributor block was available, so no manufactured_by or food business operator is recorded. The 2006-2013 Barcodepedia page said "Produced in Germany by The Wrigley Company LTD", but that line was generated from the prefix and is not evidence | ^archive   |
|             | identity      | unknown        | No public source names the licensee of GS1 prefix 4009900; Wrigley GmbH is a derived target only, and the prefix is not added to its gs1_prefixes for that reason                                                                                                                            | ^northdata |
| label-2019  | nutrition     | disputed       | The 2019 nutrition line is cut off at the photo edge: energy reads 620 kJ / 149 kcal, fat 0 g, saturates 0 g; Open Food Facts typed 1054 kJ, 62 g carbohydrate and 62 g sugars, which contradict the kcal figure and a sugarfree gum. A full side-panel photo is needed                      | ^off       |
| label-2015  | ingredients   | unknown        | The 2015 ingredient list on the bottom flap is only partly legible: after mannitol one or more words are unreadable, and the list after the gum base bracket is cut off                                                                                                                      | ^off-front |
|             | markets       | disputed       | Open Food Facts countries_tags list France and the United Kingdom; the photo filed as the French front shows an English-language pack, so France is not recorded                                                                                                                             | ^off       |
|             | markets       | unknown        | Sainsbury's lists "Extra Peppermint Sugar Free Gum Handy Box 25 Pieces 35g" but its page refused retrieval (HTTP 403), so it is not cited as a listing                                                                                                                                       |            |
|             | evidence      | not_researched | Whether the 2015 and 2019 packs are successive label revisions for one market or concurrent labels is not established; the 2015 photo shows maltitol and maltitol syrup, the 2019 photo xylitol                                                                                              |            |
<!--/research_gaps-->

## Research <!--research-->
structure_version: 2
reviewed_on: 2026-09-13
note: New entry from the wanted list. Labels read from the Open Food Facts photographs uploaded 2015-03-01 and 2019-01-10; United Kingdom market from a Devo listing that carries the EAN; brand ownership from Wikipedia; the German Wrigley company checked on North Data.
<!--/research-->

## Meta <!--meta-->
title: Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Sugarfree Gum 35 g Handy Box (EAN 4009900016179)
description: The 25-piece 35 g Handy Box of Wrigley's Extra peppermint sugarfree gum: two label revisions, ingredients, allergens, markets and brand ownership.
<!--/meta-->

## References <!--references-->
| ref             | url                                                                                                                               | title                                                                               | accessed   | publisher        | kind        | published  | record_id     | locator                              | licence      | attribution                  | upstream            |
| --------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---------------- | ----------- | ---------- | ------------- | ------------------------------------ | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ------------------- |
| off             | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/4009900016179                                                                             | extra peppermint, wrigley's, 35 g                                                   | 2026-09-13 | Open Food Facts  | catalogue   |            | 4009900016179 |                                      | ODbL         | Open Food Facts contributors |                     |
| off-ingredients | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/400/990/001/6179/3.jpg                                                           | Ingredient panel of the 35 g Handy Box, with the start of the nutrition declaration | 2026-09-13 | Open Food Facts  | pack        | 2019-01-10 |               | Side panel, raw upload 3             | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors |                     |
| off-front-2019  | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/400/990/001/6179/2.jpg                                                           | Front of the 35 g Handy Box, blue design                                            | 2026-09-13 | Open Food Facts  | pack        | 2019-01-10 |               | Front panel, raw upload 2            | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors |                     |
| off-front       | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/400/990/001/6179/1.jpg                                                           | Front, top and bottom flaps of the 35 g Handy Box, teal design                      | 2026-09-13 | Open Food Facts  | pack        | 2015-03-01 |               | Front panel with flaps, raw upload 1 | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors |                     |
| devo            | https://devo.co.uk/shop/nisa-local-enfield-en1/product/wrigley-s-extra-peppermint-gum-sugar-free-handy-box-25pk-35g-4009900016179 | Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Gum Sugar Free Handy Box 25pk, Nisa Local - Enfield      | 2026-09-13 | Devo             | retailer    |            | 4009900016179 | Product page, price and size         |              |                              |                     |
| archive         | https://web.archive.org/web/20100121122323/http://en.barcodepedia.com/4009900016179/wrigleys-extra-handy-box-peppermint           | Wrigley's Extra Handy Box Peppermint, the 2006-2013 Barcodepedia entry              | 2026-09-13 | Internet Archive | other       | 2010-01-21 |               |                                      |              |                              | en.barcodepedia.com |
| wp-wrigley      | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wrigley_Company                                                                                     | Wrigley Company                                                                     | 2026-09-13 | Wikipedia        | publication |            |               |                                      | CC BY-SA     | Wikipedia contributors       |                     |
| wp-extra        | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extra_(gum)                                                                                         | Extra (gum)                                                                         | 2026-09-13 | Wikipedia        | publication |            |               |                                      | CC BY-SA     | Wikipedia contributors       |                     |
| northdata       | https://www.northdata.com/Wrigley%20GmbH,%20Unterhaching/Amtsgericht%20M%C3%BCnchen%20HRB%2044637                                 | Wrigley GmbH, Unterhaching, District Court of Munich HRB 44637                      | 2026-09-13 | North Data       | registry    |            | HRB 44637     |                                      |              |                              | Handelsregister     |
<!--/references-->

## About <!--about-->
Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Sugarfree Gum 35 g is a cardboard Handy Box of 25 pellets of peppermint chewing gum listed by a Nisa Local store in Enfield, England, at £1.20 in September 2026.[^devo] Extra is the Wrigley Company's sugarfree gum line, launched in the United States in 1984 and sold in Great Britain since 1990.[^wp-extra] Wrigley has been a subsidiary of Mars, Incorporated since 2008.[^wp-wrigley] The pack photographed in 2019 sweetens the gum with xylitol, sorbitol, aspartame, mannitol and acesulfame K and warns of phenylalanine.[^off-ingredients] An earlier pack photographed in 2015 led its list with sorbitol, maltitol and maltitol syrup and carried British Dental Health Foundation and Irish Dental Association approval marks.[^off-front]

The barcode was already on the 2006-2013 Barcodepedia, whose entry described 25 sugarfree peppermint pellets in a "Handy Box".[^archive] Its GS1 prefix lies in the German range; no source names the licensee.[^northdata]
<!--/about-->