Monster Energy Original 16 fl oz: version 2

Saved 2026-09-27 03:36 by @benjaminsen (bot): Open Food Facts photos requested with the result. This is the current version.

Source of v2

# Monster Energy Original 16 fl oz <!--product-->

## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 00070847811169
name: Monster Energy Original 16 fl oz
default_observation: us-2025
summary: The original green-logo Monster Energy drink in a 16 fl oz can, sold in the United States.
brand: brand/monster-energy
category: category/10000266
net_content: 16 fl_oz
country_of_sale: US
pack_format: can
status: active
<!--/identity-->

## Relations <!--relations-->
| role                | target                         | market | from | until | ended | status  | source       | note                                                                                                                              |
| ------------------- | ------------------------------ | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ------------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| brand_owner_at_sale | company/monster-energy-company | US     |      |       |       | printed | ^offback2025 | Can prints "Manufactured for Monster Energy Company, 1 Monster Way, Corona, CA 92879 U.S.A." and "© 2025 Monster Energy Company". |
| manufactured_for    | company/monster-energy-company | US     |      |       |       | printed | ^offback2025 | "Manufactured for Monster Energy Company"; the filler is not named on the can.                                                    |
| gs1_prefix_owner    | company/monster-energy-company |        |      |       |       | derived | ^usda        | Prefix 0070847; owner per USDA Branded Foods brand_owner (Monster Energy Company), which Open Food Facts also gives.              |
<!--/relations-->

## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status  | source  | note                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               | observed   | condition | origin | price    |
| ------- | ------- | ------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ---------- | --------- | ------ | -------- |
| US      | sourced | ^target | Target lists "Monster Energy, Original - 16 fl oz" with UPC 070847811169 (TCIN 12953443), single can.                                                                                                                                                                                                              | 2026-09-27 | new       |        | USD 2.69 |
| US      | sourced | ^amazon | Amazon.com ASIN B0025MSDR8, "Monster Energy, Original Energy Drink, 16 ounce", prints UPC 070847811169 under Grocery & Gourmet Food › Beverages › Energy Drinks. The page showed USD 25.05 while its URL slug names a 16-pack, so the quantity sold at that price is not one can and the price cell is left empty. | 2026-09-27 | new       |        |          |
| US      | derived | ^usda   | USDA FoodData Central Branded Foods fdc_id 492443 (Label Insight data, record available 2019-04-01), brand owner Monster Energy Company, market US.                                                                                                                                                                | 2026-04-30 |           |        |          |
<!--/markets-->

## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name                       | type   | locale | from | until |
| -------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Monster Energy Original    | name   | en     |      |       |
| Monster Energy Drink 16 oz | search | en     |      |       |
| Monster Green              | search | en     |      |       |
<!--/aliases-->

## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient                          | role         | kind  | note                                                      | percent | basis | market | from | until | source       | id  | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name                       | state |
| ----------------------------------- | ------------ | ----- | --------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ------------ | --- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | ---------------------------------- | ----- |
| ingredient/carbonated-water         |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a1  | us-2025     |           | 1        | CARBONATED WATER                   | known |
| ingredient/sugar                    |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a2  | us-2025     |           | 2        | SUGAR                              | known |
| ingredient/glucose                  |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a3  | us-2025     |           | 3        | GLUCOSE                            | known |
| ingredient/citric-acid              |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a4  | us-2025     |           | 4        | CITRIC ACID                        | known |
| ingredient/natural-flavourings      |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a5  | us-2025     |           | 5        | NATURAL FLAVORS                    | known |
| ingredient/taurine                  |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a6  | us-2025     |           | 6        | TAURINE                            | known |
| ingredient/sodium-citrates          |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a7  | us-2025     |           | 7        | SODIUM CITRATE                     | known |
| ingredient/colours                  | colour       | label | Printed as COLOR ADDED; the colour is not named.          |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a8  | us-2025     |           | 8        | COLOR ADDED                        | known |
| ingredient/panax-ginseng-extract    |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a9  | us-2025     |           | 9        | PANAX GINSENG EXTRACT              | known |
| ingredient/l-carnitine-l-tartrate   |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a10 | us-2025     |           | 10       | L-CARNITINE L-TARTRATE             | known |
| ingredient/caffeine                 |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a11 | us-2025     |           | 11       | CAFFEINE                           | known |
| ingredient/sorbic-acid              | preservative | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a12 | us-2025     |           | 12       | SORBIC ACID (PRESERVATIVE)         | known |
| ingredient/benzoic-acid             | preservative | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a13 | us-2025     |           | 13       | BENZOIC ACID (PRESERVATIVE)        | known |
| ingredient/nicotinamide             |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a14 | us-2025     |           | 14       | NIACINAMIDE (VIT. B3)              | known |
| ingredient/sucralose                | sweetener    | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a15 | us-2025     |           | 15       | SUCRALOSE                          | known |
| ingredient/salt                     |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a16 | us-2025     |           | 16       | SALT                               | known |
| ingredient/glucuronolactone         |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a17 | us-2025     |           | 17       | D-GLUCURONOLACTONE                 | known |
| ingredient/inositol                 |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a18 | us-2025     |           | 18       | INOSITOL                           | known |
| ingredient/guarana-seed-extract     |              | label | Printed as guarana extract.                               |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a19 | us-2025     |           | 19       | GUARANA EXTRACT                    | known |
| ingredient/pyridoxine-hydrochloride |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a20 | us-2025     |           | 20       | PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VIT. B6) | known |
| ingredient/riboflavin               |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a21 | us-2025     |           | 21       | RIBOFLAVIN (VIT. B2)               | known |
| ingredient/maltodextrin             |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a22 | us-2025     |           | 22       | MALTODEXTRIN                       | known |
| ingredient/vitamin-b12              |              | label | Printed as cyanocobalamin, the form of vitamin B12 added. |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2025 | a23 | us-2025     |           | 23       | CYANOCOBALAMIN (VIT. B12)          | known |
| ingredient/carbonated-water         |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b1  | us-2017     |           | 1        | CARBONATED WATER                   | known |
| ingredient/sugar                    |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b2  | us-2017     |           | 2        | SUGAR                              | known |
| ingredient/glucose                  |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b3  | us-2017     |           | 3        | GLUCOSE                            | known |
| ingredient/citric-acid              |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b4  | us-2017     |           | 4        | CITRIC ACID                        | known |
| ingredient/natural-flavourings      |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b5  | us-2017     |           | 5        | NATURAL FLAVORS                    | known |
| ingredient/taurine                  |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b6  | us-2017     |           | 6        | TAURINE                            | known |
| ingredient/sodium-citrates          |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b7  | us-2017     |           | 7        | SODIUM CITRATE                     | known |
| ingredient/colours                  | colour       | label | Printed as COLOR ADDED; the colour is not named.          |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b8  | us-2017     |           | 8        | COLOR ADDED                        | known |
| ingredient/panax-ginseng-extract    |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b9  | us-2017     |           | 9        | PANAX GINSENG EXTRACT              | known |
| ingredient/l-carnitine-l-tartrate   |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b10 | us-2017     |           | 10       | L-CARNITINE L-TARTRATE             | known |
| ingredient/caffeine                 |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b11 | us-2017     |           | 11       | CAFFEINE                           | known |
| ingredient/sorbic-acid              | preservative | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b12 | us-2017     |           | 12       | SORBIC ACID (PRESERVATIVE)         | known |
| ingredient/benzoic-acid             | preservative | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b13 | us-2017     |           | 13       | BENZOIC ACID (PRESERVATIVE)        | known |
| ingredient/nicotinamide             |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b14 | us-2017     |           | 14       | NIACINAMIDE (VIT. B3)              | known |
| ingredient/sucralose                | sweetener    | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b15 | us-2017     |           | 15       | SUCRALOSE                          | known |
| ingredient/salt                     |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b16 | us-2017     |           | 16       | SALT                               | known |
| ingredient/glucuronolactone         |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b17 | us-2017     |           | 17       | D-GLUCURONOLACTONE                 | known |
| ingredient/inositol                 |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b18 | us-2017     |           | 18       | INOSITOL                           | known |
| ingredient/guarana-seed-extract     |              | label | Printed as guarana extract.                               |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b19 | us-2017     |           | 19       | GUARANA EXTRACT                    | known |
| ingredient/pyridoxine-hydrochloride |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b20 | us-2017     |           | 20       | PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VIT. B6) | known |
| ingredient/riboflavin               |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b21 | us-2017     |           | 21       | RIBOFLAVIN (VIT. B2)               | known |
| ingredient/maltodextrin             |              | label |                                                           |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b22 | us-2017     |           | 22       | MALTODEXTRIN                       | known |
| ingredient/vitamin-b12              |              | label | Printed as cyanocobalamin, the form of vitamin B12 added. |         |       | US     |      |       | ^offback2019 | b23 | us-2017     |           | 23       | CYANOCOBALAMIN (VIT. B12)          | known |
<!--/ingredients-->

## Observations <!--observations-->
| id      | label                                       | kind  | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed   | status    | ingredients_text                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source       | note                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
| ------- | ------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | ------------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ |
| us-2025 | US can, © 2025 label (single-serving panel) | label | US     | en       |            |             | 2025-11-06 | supported | CARBONATED WATER, SUGAR, GLUCOSE, CITRIC ACID, NATURAL FLAVORS, TAURINE, SODIUM CITRATE, COLOR ADDED, PANAX GINSENG EXTRACT, L-CARNITINE L-TARTRATE, CAFFEINE, SORBIC ACID (PRESERVATIVE), BENZOIC ACID (PRESERVATIVE), NIACINAMIDE (VIT. B3), SUCRALOSE, SALT, D-GLUCURONOLACTONE, INOSITOL, GUARANA EXTRACT, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VIT. B6), RIBOFLAVIN (VIT. B2), MALTODEXTRIN, CYANOCOBALAMIN (VIT. B12). | listed                  |                          | ^offback2025 | Read from Open Food Facts back photos uploaded 2025-09-23 (imgid 9), 2025-10-29 (imgid 13) and 2025-11-06 (imgid 15); the can prints "© 2025 Monster Energy Company". The front photos of the same cans (imgid 8, 12, 14) show "16 FL. OZ." and the barcode 0 70847 81116 9 appears on the 2025-11-08 upload (imgid 16). | 16 fl_oz    |               |             | can         |              |
| us-2017 | US can, © 2017 label (two 8 fl oz servings) | label | US     | en       |            |             | 2019-03-11 | supported | CARBONATED WATER, SUGAR, GLUCOSE, CITRIC ACID, NATURAL FLAVORS, TAURINE, SODIUM CITRATE, COLOR ADDED, PANAX GINSENG EXTRACT, L-CARNITINE L-TARTRATE, CAFFEINE, SORBIC ACID (PRESERVATIVE), BENZOIC ACID (PRESERVATIVE), NIACINAMIDE (VIT. B3), SUCRALOSE, SALT, D-GLUCURONOLACTONE, INOSITOL, GUARANA EXTRACT, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VIT. B6), RIBOFLAVIN (VIT. B2), MALTODEXTRIN, CYANOCOBALAMIN (VIT. B12). | listed                  |                          | ^offback2019 | Read from the Open Food Facts back photo uploaded 2019-03-11 (imgid 3); the can prints "© 2017 Monster Energy Company". The ingredient statement matches the 2025 label word for word; the Nutrition Facts panel differs.                                                                                                | 16 fl_oz    |               |             | can         |              |
<!--/observations-->

## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
| id      | observation | label                  | basis    | basis_state | basis_note                                                  | declaration | exempt_basis | source       | note                                                                           |
| ------- | ----------- | ---------------------- | -------- | ----------- | ----------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------ | ------------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
| n25-can | us-2025     | Per serving (1 can)    | 16 fl_oz | as_sold     | Serving size printed as "1 can".                            | transcribed |              | ^offback2025 | Caffeine is from the "Caffeine from all sources" line printed under the panel. |
| n17-srv | us-2017     | Per 8 fl. oz. (240 mL) | 240 ml   | as_sold     | Serving Size 8.0 fl. oz. (240mL), Servings Per Container 2. | transcribed |              | ^offback2019 | Caffeine is from the "Caffeine from all sources" line printed under the panel. |
| n17-can | us-2017     | Per can                | 16 fl_oz | as_sold     | Column headed "Per Can".                                    | transcribed |              | ^offback2019 | Caffeine is from the "Caffeine from all sources" line printed under the panel. |
<!--/nutrition_panels-->

## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
| panel   | nutrient       | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value                            | state | method  | source | note                           |
| ------- | -------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ---------------------------------------- | ----- | ------- | ------ | ------------------------------ |
| n25-can | energy_kcal    | 230   |           |           |            | Calories 230                             | known | printed |        |                                |
| n25-can | fat_g          | 0     |           |           | 0          | Total Fat 0g 0%                          | known | printed |        |                                |
| n25-can | sodium_mg      | 370   |           |           | 16         | Sodium 370mg 16%                         | known | printed |        |                                |
| n25-can | carbohydrate_g | 58    |           |           | 21         | Total Carbohydrate 58g 21%               | known | printed |        |                                |
| n25-can | sugars_g       | 54    |           |           |            | Total Sugars 54g                         | known | printed |        |                                |
| n25-can | added_sugars_g | 54    |           |           | 108        | Includes 54g Added Sugars 108%           | known | printed |        |                                |
| n25-can | protein_g      | 0     |           |           |            | Protein 0g                               | known | printed |        |                                |
| n25-can | riboflavin_mg  |       |           |           | 260        | Riboflavin (Vit. B2) 260%                | known | printed |        | Printed as % Daily Value only. |
| n25-can | niacin_mg      |       |           |           | 250        | Niacin (Vit. B3) 250%                    | known | printed |        | Printed as % Daily Value only. |
| n25-can | vitamin_b6_mg  |       |           |           | 240        | Vitamin B6 240%                          | known | printed |        | Printed as % Daily Value only. |
| n25-can | vitamin_b12_ug |       |           |           | 500        | Vitamin B12 500%                         | known | printed |        | Printed as % Daily Value only. |
| n25-can | caffeine_mg    | 160   |           |           |            | Caffeine from all sources: 160mg per can | known | printed |        |                                |
| n17-srv | energy_kcal    | 110   |           |           |            | Calories 110                             | known | printed |        |                                |
| n17-srv | fat_g          | 0     |           |           | 0          | Total Fat 0g 0%                          | known | printed |        |                                |
| n17-srv | sodium_mg      | 180   |           |           | 8          | Sodium 180mg 8%                          | known | printed |        |                                |
| n17-srv | carbohydrate_g | 27    |           |           | 9          | Total Carb 27g 9%                        | known | printed |        |                                |
| n17-srv | sugars_g       | 27    |           |           |            | Sugars 27g                               | known | printed |        |                                |
| n17-srv | protein_g      | 0     |           |           |            | Protein 0g                               | known | printed |        |                                |
| n17-srv | riboflavin_mg  |       |           |           | 100        | Riboflavin (Vit. B2) 100%                | known | printed |        | Printed as % Daily Value only. |
| n17-srv | niacin_mg      |       |           |           | 100        | Niacin (Vit. B3) 100%                    | known | printed |        | Printed as % Daily Value only. |
| n17-srv | vitamin_b6_mg  |       |           |           | 100        | Vitamin B6 100%                          | known | printed |        | Printed as % Daily Value only. |
| n17-srv | vitamin_b12_ug |       |           |           | 100        | Vitamin B12 100%                         | known | printed |        | Printed as % Daily Value only. |
| n17-srv | caffeine_mg    | 80    |           |           |            | 80mg per 8 fl. oz. serving               | known | printed |        |                                |
| n17-can | energy_kcal    | 210   |           |           |            | 210                                      | known | printed |        |                                |
| n17-can | fat_g          | 0     |           |           | 0          | 0g 0%                                    | known | printed |        |                                |
| n17-can | sodium_mg      | 370   |           |           | 15         | 370mg 15%                                | known | printed |        |                                |
| n17-can | carbohydrate_g | 54    |           |           | 18         | 54g 18%                                  | known | printed |        |                                |
| n17-can | sugars_g       | 54    |           |           |            | 54g                                      | known | printed |        |                                |
| n17-can | protein_g      | 0     |           |           |            | 0g                                       | known | printed |        |                                |
| n17-can | riboflavin_mg  |       |           |           | 200        | 200%                                     | known | printed |        | Printed as % Daily Value only. |
| n17-can | niacin_mg      |       |           |           | 200        | 200%                                     | known | printed |        | Printed as % Daily Value only. |
| n17-can | vitamin_b6_mg  |       |           |           | 200        | 200%                                     | known | printed |        | Printed as % Daily Value only. |
| n17-can | vitamin_b12_ug |       |           |           | 200        | 200%                                     | known | printed |        | Printed as % Daily Value only. |
| n17-can | caffeine_mg    | 160   |           |           |            | 160mg per can                            | known | printed |        |                                |
<!--/nutrition_values-->

## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
| observation | domain        | state   | detail                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 | source       |
| ----------- | ------------- | ------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ |
|             | relationships | unknown | The GS1 company prefix length and its registered holder are not stated by any source read; the 0070847 block on Open Food Facts mixes Monster brands with Hansen's, Peace Tea and Hubert's packs, brands whose ownership changed between groups, so no prefix is written to a company. | ^off         |
|             | relationships | unknown | The filler or bottler of this can is not printed; the can names only the company it is manufactured for.                                                                                                                                                                               | ^offback2025 |
| us-2025     | packaging     | unknown | The metric volume printed beside 16 FL. OZ. on the front is outside the frame of the available photos.                                                                                                                                                                                 | ^offfront    |
|             | markets       | unknown | Amazon.com: the listing that prints this UPC (ASIN B0025MSDR8) did not state a single-can price; a single-can price on amazon.com remains to be recorded.                                                                                                                              | ^amazon      |
<!--/research_gaps-->

## Research <!--research-->
structure_version: 2
reviewed_on: 2026-09-27
<!--/research-->

## Images <!--images-->
| asset                    | kind        | source          | licence      | attribution                  | url                                                   | accessed   | note | provider_entity_id | provider_image_id | source_image_url                                                         | download_url | retrieved_at             | matched_barcode | match_method | match_confidence | original_width | original_height | stored_width | stored_height | upscaled | observation |
| ------------------------ | ----------- | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---- | ------------------ | ----------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ------------ | ------------------------ | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------- | -------------- | --------------- | ------------ | ------------- | -------- | ----------- |
| front-f7bab39a.jpg       | front       | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0070847811169 | 2026-09-27 |      | 0070847811169      | 14                | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/007/084/781/1169/14.jpg |              | 2026-09-27T03:36:21.605Z | 0070847811169   | barcode      | 1                | 592            | 1280            | 592          | 1280          |          |             |
| nutrition-9cc24d75.jpg   | nutrition   | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0070847811169 | 2026-09-27 |      | 0070847811169      | 9                 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/007/084/781/1169/9.jpg  |              | 2026-09-27T03:36:22.324Z | 0070847811169   | barcode      | 1                | 590            | 1280            | 590          | 1280          |          |             |
| ingredients-b10ff87d.jpg | ingredients | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0070847811169 | 2026-09-27 |      | 0070847811169      | 9                 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/007/084/781/1169/9.jpg  |              | 2026-09-27T03:36:23.348Z | 0070847811169   | barcode      | 1                | 590            | 1280            | 590          | 1280          |          |             |
<!--/images-->

## References <!--references-->
| ref          | url                                                                                      | title                                                                                            | accessed   | publisher                               | kind        | published  | record_id     | locator                              | licence      | attribution                  | upstream      |
| ------------ | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ---------- | --------------------------------------- | ----------- | ---------- | ------------- | ------------------------------------ | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ------------- |
| offback2025  | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/007/084/781/1169/9.jpg                  | Open Food Facts: back of the 16 fl oz can, © 2025 label, Nutrition Facts and ingredients legible | 2026-09-27 | Open Food Facts                         | pack        | 2025-09-23 | 0070847811169 | Back label, image id 9 (also 13, 15) | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors |               |
| offback2019  | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/007/084/781/1169/3.jpg                  | Open Food Facts: back of the 16 fl oz can, © 2017 label, Nutrition Facts and ingredients legible | 2026-09-27 | Open Food Facts                         | pack        | 2019-03-11 | 0070847811169 | Back label, image id 3               | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors |               |
| offfront     | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/007/084/781/1169/14.jpg                 | Open Food Facts: front of the 16 fl oz can                                                       | 2026-09-27 | Open Food Facts                         | pack        | 2025-11-06 | 0070847811169 | Front, image id 14                   | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors |               |
| off          | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0070847811169                                    | Open Food Facts: Monster Energy, 0070847811169                                                   | 2026-09-27 | Open Food Facts                         | catalogue   |            | 0070847811169 |                                      | ODbL         | Open Food Facts contributors |               |
| usda         | https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/492443/nutrients                                   | USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods, Energy Drink, fdc_id 492443                                | 2026-09-27 | USDA Agricultural Research Service      | catalogue   | 2019-04-01 | 492443        |                                      | CC0          |                              | Label Insight |
| target       | https://www.target.com/p/monster-energy-original-16-fl-oz-can/-/A-12953443               | Target: Monster Energy, Original - 16 fl_oz                                                      | 2026-09-27 | Target                                  | retailer    |            | 12953443      |                                      |              |                              |               |
| amazon       | https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0025MSDR8                                                     | Amazon.com: Monster Energy, Original Energy Drink, 16 ounce                                      | 2026-09-27 | Amazon.com                              | retailer    |            | B0025MSDR8    |                                      |              |                              |               |
| wiki-monster | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monster_Energy                                             | Wikipedia: Monster Energy                                                                        | 2026-09-27 | Wikipedia                               | publication |            |               |                                      | CC BY-SA 4.0 |                              |               |
| sec-ex21     | https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/865752/000110465924029425/mnst-20231231xex21.htm | Monster Beverage Corporation, Form 10-K for 2023, Exhibit 21: Subsidiaries                       | 2026-09-27 | U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission | registry    | 2024-02-29 |               | Exhibit 21                           |              |                              |               |
<!--/references-->

## About <!--about-->
Monster Energy Original is the black can with the green claw-mark "M" that launched the Monster Energy brand, here in its 16 US fl oz can sold in the United States under UPC 070847811169.[^wiki-monster][^target] The can is manufactured for Monster Energy Company of Corona, California,[^offback2025] a Delaware subsidiary of Monster Beverage Corporation.[^sec-ex21] It is a carbonated energy drink sweetened with sugar, glucose and sucralose, with taurine, Panax ginseng extract, L-carnitine L-tartrate, guarana extract, B vitamins and 160 mg of caffeine per can.[^offback2025] The current label, dated 2025, treats the whole can as one serving of 230 kcal with 54 g of added sugars; the 2017 label split it into two 8 fl oz servings of 110 kcal, 210 kcal per can, with the same ingredient list.[^offback2019]

Hansen Natural Company, which renamed itself Monster Beverage Corporation in 2012, created the brand and released this original flavour on 18 April 2002.[^wiki-monster] The can carries the warning that it is not recommended for children, people sensitive to caffeine, or pregnant or nursing women.[^offback2025]
<!--/about-->