Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena 500 ml: version 3
Saved 2026-09-14 12:18 by site bot: Prefix audit: gs1_prefix_owner status sourced → derived (the company stub's prefix was itself derived). This is the current version.
Source of v3
# Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena 500 ml <!--product-->
## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 00067800000678
name: Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena 500 ml
name.fr: Vinaigre balsamique de Modène Unico 500 ml
default_observation: label-2025
summary: Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI from Italy, imported into Canada by Unico Inc. in a 500 ml bottle.
brand: brand/unico
category: category/10000051
net_content: 500 ml
country_of_sale: CA
country_of_origin: IT
pack_quantity: 1
pack_format: bottle
status: active
<!--/identity-->
## Relations <!--relations-->
| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
| ---------------- | ------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ---------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| imported_by | company/unico | CA | | | | printed | ^label-2025 | Imported by / Importé par Unico Inc., Concord, Ontario, Canada L4K 2A4; the same importer block is on the 2019 label (^label-2019). |
| gs1_prefix_owner | company/unico | | | | | derived | ^off-black-beans | Derived: company/unico no longer states this prefix; its attribution came from a pack or brand-owner record, not a registry (prefix audit 2026-09-14). GS1 company prefix 0067800 is stated in the gs1_prefixes of company/unico, which derives it from other Unico articles under the same prefix. |
<!--/relations-->
## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price |
| ------- | ------- | ------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | -------- |
| CA | printed | ^label-2025 | The back label prints a bilingual Canadian Nutrition Facts / Valeur nutritive table and the Canadian importer address (Unico Inc., Concord, Ontario). | 2025-01-12 | new | IT | |
| CA | sourced | ^cornerpantry | Corner Pantry Co. listing prints SKU 067800000678, Unico, 500ml, product origin Italy. | 2026-09-14 | new | IT | CAD 6.99 |
| CA | derived | ^walmart | Walmart.ca listing matches brand, name (Balsamic Vinegar of Modena PGI), 500 mL and bottle; the page prints no barcode. | 2026-09-14 | new | | CAD 5.27 |
<!--/markets-->
## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name | type | locale | from | until |
| ----------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Vinaigre balsamique de Modène | name | fr | | |
| Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI | name | it | | |
| Unico Balsamic Vinegar | search | en | | |
<!--/aliases-->
## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state |
| ---------------------------------- | ---- | ----- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ---------- | ----------- | -------------- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | ----------------------- | ----- |
| ingredient/wine-vinegar | | label | | | | CA | | | ^label-2025 | n-wine-vinegar | label-2025 | | 1 | Wine vinegar | known |
| ingredient/sugar | | label | Printed as Sugar with concentrated grape must in brackets. | | | CA | | | ^label-2025 | n-sugar | label-2025 | | 2 | Sugar | known |
| ingredient/concentrated-grape-must | | label | | | | CA | | | ^label-2025 | n-grape-must | label-2025 | n-sugar | 1 | concentrated grape must | known |
| ingredient/caramel-colour | | label | Printed as Caramel; the class (E150a to E150d) is not stated. | | | CA | | | ^label-2025 | n-caramel | label-2025 | | 3 | Caramel | known |
| ingredient/wine-vinegar | | label | until is the date of the last photo showing this label (2020-08-05), not a known change date. | | | CA | | 2020-08-05 | ^label-2019 | o-wine-vinegar | label-2019 | | 1 | WINE VINEGAR | known |
| ingredient/concentrated-grape-must | | label | until is the date of the last photo showing this label (2020-08-05), not a known change date. | | | CA | | 2020-08-05 | ^label-2019 | o-grape-must | label-2019 | | 2 | CONCENTRATED GRAPE MUST | known |
| ingredient/caramel-colour | | label | Printed as CARAMEL; class not stated. until is the date of the last photo showing this label (2020-08-05), not a known change date. | | | CA | | 2020-08-05 | ^label-2019 | o-caramel | label-2019 | | 3 | CARAMEL | known |
| ingredient/sulphites | | label | until is the date of the last photo showing this label (2020-08-05), not a known change date. | | | CA | | 2020-08-05 | ^label-2019 | o-sulphites | label-2019 | | 4 | SULFITES | known |
<!--/ingredients-->
## Specifications <!--specifications-->
| property | value | unit | source | note | observation | key | numeric_value | mode | state | method | qualifier |
| -------- | --------------------- | ---- | ----------- | ------------------------ | ----------- | --- | ------------- | ---- | ----- | ------- | --------- |
| Acidity | 6% Acetic Acid | % | ^label-2025 | Front label, 2025 photo. | label-2025 | | 6 | | known | printed | exact |
| Acidity | 6% Acetic Acid/Volume | % | ^label-2019 | Front label, 2019 photo. | label-2019 | | 6 | | known | printed | exact |
<!--/specifications-->
## Observations <!--observations-->
| id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
| ---------- | ----------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | -------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ |
| label-2025 | Canadian English/French label, best before 2028 | label | CA | en | | | 2025-01-12 | supported | Ingredients Wine vinegar, Sugar (concentrated grape must), Caramel. Contains Sulphites. / Ingrédients Vinaigre de vin, Sucre (moût de raisin concentré), Caramel. Contient Sulfites. | listed | | ^label-2025 | Front and back photographed 2025-01-12; lot L.24236E1, BB/MA 2028/AU/23; bottling site n° CSQA 213281; Produced in Modena. | 500 ml | 1 | | bottle | |
| label-2019 | Canadian English/French label, best before 2021 | label | CA | en | | 2020-08-05 | 2019-02-11 | supported | INGREDIENTS: WINE VINEGAR, CONCENTRATED GRAPE MUST, CARAMEL, SULFITES. / INGRÉDIENTS: VINAIGRE DE VIN, MOÛT DE RAISIN CONCENTRÉ, CARAMEL, SULFITES. | listed | | ^label-2019 | Front and back photographed 2019-02-11 (BBD 2021.MA.11); the same nutrition panel is on a 2020-08-05 upload, the last date this label was seen. Front band reads Our Premium Collection. Bottling sites A CSQA 215611 and B CSQA 216311 (second number read from a curved label). Produced in Province of Modena. | 500 ml | 1 | | bottle | |
| maker-site | Unico product page (500 mL and 5 L) | label | | | | | 2026-09-14 | unconfirmed | | | | ^unico-product | Unico's page for Unico Balsamic Vinegar names two sizes and prints one panel that matches neither photographed label; which size or label revision it describes is not stated. | | | | | |
<!--/observations-->
## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
| id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note |
| ----------- | ----------- | ------------------ | ----- | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ------------ | -------------- | -------------------------------------------------------- |
| p2025-tbsp | label-2025 | Per 1 tbsp (15 mL) | 15 ml | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^label-2025 | |
| p2019-tbsp | label-2019 | Per 1 tbsp (15 mL) | 15 ml | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^label-2019 | |
| pmaker-tbsp | maker-site | 1 tbsp (15ml) | 15 ml | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^unico-product | Transcribed from the maker's web page, not from a label. |
<!--/nutrition_panels-->
## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
| ----------- | --------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | -------------- | ---- |
| p2025-tbsp | energy_kcal | 10 | exact | | | Calories 10 | known | printed | ^label-2025 | |
| p2025-tbsp | fat_g | 0 | exact | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | |
| p2025-tbsp | carbohydrate_g | 2 | exact | | | 2 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | |
| p2025-tbsp | sugars_g | 2 | exact | | | 2 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | |
| p2025-tbsp | protein_g | 0.1 | exact | | | 0.1 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | |
| p2019-tbsp | energy_kcal | 15 | exact | | | Calories 15 | known | printed | ^label-2019 | |
| p2019-tbsp | fat_g | 0 | exact | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | |
| p2019-tbsp | carbohydrate_g | 3 | exact | | | 3 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | |
| p2019-tbsp | sugars_g | 3 | exact | | | 3 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | |
| p2019-tbsp | protein_g | 0.2 | exact | | | 0.2 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | |
| pmaker-tbsp | energy_kcal | 10 | exact | | | Calories 10 | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | fat_g | 0 | exact | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | saturated_fat_g | 0 | exact | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | trans_fat_g | 0 | exact | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | cholesterol_mg | 0 | exact | | | 0 mg | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | sodium_mg | 0 | exact | | | 0 mg | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | carbohydrate_g | 2 | exact | | | 2 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | fibre_g | 0 | exact | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | sugars_g | 1 | exact | | | 1 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | protein_g | 0.2 | exact | | | 0.2 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
<!--/nutrition_values-->
## Allergen declarations <!--allergens-->
| observation | allergen | declaration | source | note |
| ----------- | --------- | ----------- | ----------- | ---------------------------------------- |
| label-2025 | sulphites | contains | ^label-2025 | Contains Sulphites. / Contient Sulfites. |
<!--/allergens-->
## Label claims <!--claims-->
| observation | claim | kind | source | note |
| ----------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------- | ----------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| label-2025 | Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI (Protected Geographical Indication) | certification | ^label-2025 | EU PGI logo on the front; back: Certified by a Control Body authorized by the Competent Ministry - ITALY. Declared on the label, not checked by us. |
| label-2025 | Product of Italy / Produit d'Italie | label | ^label-2025 | Front band; back reads Produced in Modena / Produit à Modène. |
| label-2019 | Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI (Protected Geographical Indication) | certification | ^label-2019 | EU PGI logo on the front; back: Certified by control body authorized by Ministero delle Politiche Agricole Alimentari e Forestali. Declared on the label, not checked by us. |
| label-2019 | Product of Italy / Produit d'Italie | label | ^label-2019 | Front band; back reads Produced in Province of Modena. |
<!--/claims-->
## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
| observation | domain | state | detail | source |
| ----------- | ------------- | -------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------- |
| | relationships | unknown | Neither label nor any source found names the bottler behind CSQA bottling-site numbers 215611, 216311 (2019) and 213281 (2025), so there is no bottled_by or manufactured_by row. | ^label-2025 |
| maker-site | nutrition | disputed | Unico's product page prints sugars 1 g and protein 0.2 g per 15 ml with 10 Calories; the 2025 label prints sugars 2 g and protein 0.1 g, the 2019 label 15 Calories, 3 g sugars. | ^unico-product |
| | packaging | unknown | The date the label changed from the 2019 revision (15 Calories, no sugar listed) to the 2025 revision is unknown; photos bound it between 2020-08-05 and 2025-01-12. | ^off |
| | evidence | disputed | Walmart.ca copy says the vinegar is aged at least 6 years (6 stars) with a certificate of authenticity; neither label states an age, so it is not recorded as a claim. | ^walmart |
| | images | stale | Open Food Facts files the 2025 front and back photos under Romanian (front_ro, nutrition_ro); the label is English and French. | ^off |
| | markets | not_researched | Unico lists a 5 L size; its barcode was not researched and it is a separate article. | ^unico-product |
| | schema | schema_gap | Acidity (6% acetic acid) has no controlled specification key; kept as a free property. | ^label-2025 |
<!--/research_gaps-->
## Research <!--research-->
structure_version: 2
reviewed_on: 2026-09-14
note: New entry built from two photographed label revisions (2019 and 2025) on Open Food Facts, the maker's product page and Canadian retailer listings.
<!--/research-->
## Images <!--images-->
| asset | kind | source | licence | attribution | url | accessed | note | provider_entity_id | provider_image_id | source_image_url | download_url | retrieved_at | matched_barcode | match_method | match_confidence | original_width | original_height | stored_width | stored_height | upscaled | observation |
| ------------------------ | ----------- | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---- | ------------------ | ----------------- | ---------------- | ------------ | ------------ | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------- | -------------- | --------------- | ------------ | ------------- | -------- | ----------- |
| front-2aa31b18.jpg | front | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 | 2026-09-14 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| ingredients-f0069612.jpg | ingredients | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 | 2026-09-14 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| nutrition-bc770219.jpg | nutrition | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 | 2026-09-14 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
<!--/images-->
## References <!--references-->
| ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream |
| ----------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ----------------- | ------------ | ---------- | ------------- | --------------------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- |
| off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 | Open Food Facts: Balsamic Vinegar of Modena, Unico, 500 ml | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 0067800000678 | | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | |
| label-2025 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/006/780/000/0678/9.jpg | Photographs of the bottle: front (imgid 8) and back label (imgid 9), uploaded 2025-01-12 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | pack | 2025-01-12 | 0067800000678 | Uploads 8.jpg, 9.jpg | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 |
| label-2019 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/006/780/000/0678/2.jpg | Photographs of the bottle: front (imgid 1) and back label (imgid 2), uploaded 2019-02-11; nutrition panel again in imgid 6, 2020-08-05 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | pack | 2019-02-11 | 0067800000678 | Uploads 1.jpg, 2.jpg, 6.jpg | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 |
| unico-product | https://www.unico.ca/products.php?id=5&catid=10 | Unico Balsamic Vinegar | 2026-09-14 | Unico | manufacturer | | | | | | |
| unico-history | https://www.unico.ca/corporate.php?id=3 | Unico Corporate Overview: Our History | 2026-09-14 | Unico | manufacturer | | | | | | |
| cornerpantry | https://shop.cornerpantry.ca/products/unico-balsamic-vinegar-of-modena-500ml | Corner Pantry Co.: Unico - Balsamic Vinegar of Modena - 500ml | 2026-09-14 | Corner Pantry Co. | retailer | | 067800000678 | | | | |
| walmart | https://www.walmart.ca/en/ip/Unico-Balsamic-Vinegar-of-Modena-PGI/10284578 | Walmart.ca: Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena PGI | 2026-09-14 | Walmart Canada | retailer | | 10284578 | | | | |
| off-black-beans | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800002528 | Open Food Facts: Black Beans, Unico, 540 mL | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 0067800002528 | | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | |
| barcodepedia-2008 | https://web.archive.org/web/20081120171544/http://en.barcodepedia.com/067800000678/unico-balsamic-vinegar | Barcodepedia (archived 2008-11-20): Unico Balsamic Vinegar | 2026-09-14 | Barcodepedia | other | 2008-11-20 | | | | | |
<!--/references-->
## About <!--about-->
Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena is an Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI sold in a 500 ml bottle under Unico, a Canadian brand of Mediterranean-style foods. The label says it was produced in Modena and certified by a control body authorised by the Italian ministry.[^label-2025] Unico Inc. of Concord, Ontario imports it into Canada,[^label-2025] and Sun-Brite Foods has owned Unico Inc. since 1997.[^unico-history] The current label lists wine vinegar, sugar (concentrated grape must) and caramel, declares sulphites and prints 10 Calories per tablespoon.[^label-2025] The 2019 label listed concentrated grape must without the word sugar and printed 15 Calories.[^label-2019] Canadian retailers sell it, including Corner Pantry, whose listing shows this barcode.[^cornerpantry]
Barcodepedia's original site listed the barcode in 2008 as "Unico Balsamic Vinegar", 500 mL.[^barcodepedia-2008]
<!--/about-->