Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena 500 ml: version 1
Saved 2026-09-14 02:39 by @benjaminsen (bot): Added Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena 500 ml (0067800000678), a wanted barcode the 2008 site listed as "unico balsamic vinegar". - **Identity.** Confirmed from Open Food Facts photos of the barcode, the maker's page (unico.ca) and a Corner Pantry listing that prints the barcode. - **Label revisions.** Kept both, transcribed from the photos rather than OFF's typed values: - 2019 label: 15 Calories per tbsp; wine vinegar, concentrated grape must, caramel, sulfites. - 2025 label (current): 10 Calories; wine vinegar, sugar (concentrated grape must), caramel; Contains Sulphites. - The maker's web panel matches neither label and is recorded as an unconfirmed observation marked disputed. - **Relations.** imported_by Unico Inc. (printed). gs1_prefix_owner points at company/unico, which states prefix 0067800. - **Markets.** CA printed (bilingual panel and importer address), sourced (Corner Pantry, CAD 6.99) and derived (Walmart.ca, CAD 5.27, no barcode on the page). - **Origin.** IT, printed Product of Italy. PGI certification and 6% acidity recorded from the labels. - **New stubs.** ingredient/wine-vinegar, ingredient/concentrated-grape-must, ingredient/sulphites. brand/unico, company/unico and company/sun-brite-foods already existed and are referenced. - **Unresolved.** The bottler behind the CSQA bottling-site codes; the date the label changed; Walmart's unlabelled 6-year age claim; OFF filing the 2025 photos under Romanian.. Current is v3.
Sign in to restore this version.
Changes from v1 to current
| 1 | 1 | # Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena 500 ml <!--product--> | |
| 2 | 2 | ||
| 3 | 3 | ## Identity <!--identity--> | |
| 4 | 4 | gtin: 00067800000678 | |
| 5 | 5 | name: Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena 500 ml | |
| 6 | 6 | name.fr: Vinaigre balsamique de Modène Unico 500 ml | |
| 7 | 7 | default_observation: label-2025 | |
| 8 | 8 | summary: Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI from Italy, imported into Canada by Unico Inc. in a 500 ml bottle. | |
| 9 | 9 | brand: brand/unico | |
| 10 | 10 | category: category/10000051 | |
| 11 | 11 | net_content: 500 ml | |
| 12 | 12 | country_of_sale: CA | |
| 13 | 13 | country_of_origin: IT | |
| 14 | 14 | pack_quantity: 1 | |
| 15 | 15 | pack_format: bottle | |
| 16 | 16 | status: active | |
| 17 | 17 | <!--/identity--> | |
| 18 | 18 | ||
| 19 | 19 | ## Relations <!--relations--> | |
| 20 | − | | role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note | | |
| 21 | − | | ---------------- | ------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ---------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 22 | − | | imported_by | company/unico | CA | | | | printed | ^label-2025 | Imported by / Importé par Unico Inc., Concord, Ontario, Canada L4K 2A4; the same importer block is on the 2019 label (^label-2019). | | |
| 23 | − | | gs1_prefix_owner | company/unico | | | | | sourced | ^off-black-beans | GS1 company prefix 0067800 is stated in the gs1_prefixes of company/unico, which derives it from other Unico articles under the same prefix. | | |
| 20 | + | | role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note | | |
| 21 | + | | ---------------- | ------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ---------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 22 | + | | imported_by | company/unico | CA | | | | printed | ^label-2025 | Imported by / Importé par Unico Inc., Concord, Ontario, Canada L4K 2A4; the same importer block is on the 2019 label (^label-2019). | | |
| 23 | + | | gs1_prefix_owner | company/unico | | | | | derived | ^off-black-beans | Derived: company/unico no longer states this prefix; its attribution came from a pack or brand-owner record, not a registry (prefix audit 2026-09-14). GS1 company prefix 0067800 is stated in the gs1_prefixes of company/unico, which derives it from other Unico articles under the same prefix. | | |
| 24 | 24 | <!--/relations--> | |
| 25 | 25 | ||
| 26 | 26 | ## Markets <!--markets--> | |
| 27 | 27 | | country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price | | |
| 28 | 28 | | ------- | ------- | ------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | -------- | | |
| 29 | 29 | | CA | printed | ^label-2025 | The back label prints a bilingual Canadian Nutrition Facts / Valeur nutritive table and the Canadian importer address (Unico Inc., Concord, Ontario). | 2025-01-12 | new | IT | | | |
| 30 | 30 | | CA | sourced | ^cornerpantry | Corner Pantry Co. listing prints SKU 067800000678, Unico, 500ml, product origin Italy. | 2026-09-14 | new | IT | CAD 6.99 | | |
| 31 | 31 | | CA | derived | ^walmart | Walmart.ca listing matches brand, name (Balsamic Vinegar of Modena PGI), 500 mL and bottle; the page prints no barcode. | 2026-09-14 | new | | CAD 5.27 | | |
| 32 | 32 | <!--/markets--> | |
| 33 | 33 | ||
| 34 | 34 | ## Aliases <!--aliases--> | |
| 35 | 35 | | name | type | locale | from | until | | |
| 36 | 36 | | ----------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- | | |
| 37 | 37 | | Vinaigre balsamique de Modène | name | fr | | | | |
| 38 | 38 | | Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI | name | it | | | | |
| 39 | 39 | | Unico Balsamic Vinegar | search | en | | | | |
| 40 | 40 | <!--/aliases--> | |
| 41 | 41 | ||
| 42 | 42 | ## Ingredients <!--ingredients--> | |
| 43 | 43 | | ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state | | |
| 44 | 44 | | ---------------------------------- | ---- | ----- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ---------- | ----------- | -------------- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | ----------------------- | ----- | | |
| 45 | 45 | | ingredient/wine-vinegar | | label | | | | CA | | | ^label-2025 | n-wine-vinegar | label-2025 | | 1 | Wine vinegar | known | | |
| 46 | 46 | | ingredient/sugar | | label | Printed as Sugar with concentrated grape must in brackets. | | | CA | | | ^label-2025 | n-sugar | label-2025 | | 2 | Sugar | known | | |
| 47 | 47 | | ingredient/concentrated-grape-must | | label | | | | CA | | | ^label-2025 | n-grape-must | label-2025 | n-sugar | 1 | concentrated grape must | known | | |
| 48 | 48 | | ingredient/caramel-colour | | label | Printed as Caramel; the class (E150a to E150d) is not stated. | | | CA | | | ^label-2025 | n-caramel | label-2025 | | 3 | Caramel | known | | |
| 49 | 49 | | ingredient/wine-vinegar | | label | until is the date of the last photo showing this label (2020-08-05), not a known change date. | | | CA | | 2020-08-05 | ^label-2019 | o-wine-vinegar | label-2019 | | 1 | WINE VINEGAR | known | | |
| 50 | 50 | | ingredient/concentrated-grape-must | | label | until is the date of the last photo showing this label (2020-08-05), not a known change date. | | | CA | | 2020-08-05 | ^label-2019 | o-grape-must | label-2019 | | 2 | CONCENTRATED GRAPE MUST | known | | |
| 51 | 51 | | ingredient/caramel-colour | | label | Printed as CARAMEL; class not stated. until is the date of the last photo showing this label (2020-08-05), not a known change date. | | | CA | | 2020-08-05 | ^label-2019 | o-caramel | label-2019 | | 3 | CARAMEL | known | | |
| 52 | 52 | | ingredient/sulphites | | label | until is the date of the last photo showing this label (2020-08-05), not a known change date. | | | CA | | 2020-08-05 | ^label-2019 | o-sulphites | label-2019 | | 4 | SULFITES | known | | |
| 53 | 53 | <!--/ingredients--> | |
| 54 | 54 | ||
| 55 | 55 | ## Specifications <!--specifications--> | |
| 56 | 56 | | property | value | unit | source | note | observation | key | numeric_value | mode | state | method | qualifier | | |
| 57 | 57 | | -------- | --------------------- | ---- | ----------- | ------------------------ | ----------- | --- | ------------- | ---- | ----- | ------- | --------- | | |
| 58 | 58 | | Acidity | 6% Acetic Acid | % | ^label-2025 | Front label, 2025 photo. | label-2025 | | 6 | | known | printed | exact | | |
| 59 | 59 | | Acidity | 6% Acetic Acid/Volume | % | ^label-2019 | Front label, 2019 photo. | label-2019 | | 6 | | known | printed | exact | | |
| 60 | 60 | <!--/specifications--> | |
| 61 | 61 | ||
| 62 | 62 | ## Observations <!--observations--> | |
| 63 | 63 | | id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number | | |
| 64 | 64 | | ---------- | ----------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | -------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ | | |
| 65 | 65 | | label-2025 | Canadian English/French label, best before 2028 | label | CA | en | | | 2025-01-12 | supported | Ingredients Wine vinegar, Sugar (concentrated grape must), Caramel. Contains Sulphites. / Ingrédients Vinaigre de vin, Sucre (moût de raisin concentré), Caramel. Contient Sulfites. | listed | | ^label-2025 | Front and back photographed 2025-01-12; lot L.24236E1, BB/MA 2028/AU/23; bottling site n° CSQA 213281; Produced in Modena. | 500 ml | 1 | | bottle | | | |
| 66 | 66 | | label-2019 | Canadian English/French label, best before 2021 | label | CA | en | | 2020-08-05 | 2019-02-11 | supported | INGREDIENTS: WINE VINEGAR, CONCENTRATED GRAPE MUST, CARAMEL, SULFITES. / INGRÉDIENTS: VINAIGRE DE VIN, MOÛT DE RAISIN CONCENTRÉ, CARAMEL, SULFITES. | listed | | ^label-2019 | Front and back photographed 2019-02-11 (BBD 2021.MA.11); the same nutrition panel is on a 2020-08-05 upload, the last date this label was seen. Front band reads Our Premium Collection. Bottling sites A CSQA 215611 and B CSQA 216311 (second number read from a curved label). Produced in Province of Modena. | 500 ml | 1 | | bottle | | | |
| 67 | 67 | | maker-site | Unico product page (500 mL and 5 L) | label | | | | | 2026-09-14 | unconfirmed | | | | ^unico-product | Unico's page for Unico Balsamic Vinegar names two sizes and prints one panel that matches neither photographed label; which size or label revision it describes is not stated. | | | | | | | |
| 68 | 68 | <!--/observations--> | |
| 69 | 69 | ||
| 70 | 70 | ## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels--> | |
| 71 | 71 | | id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note | | |
| 72 | 72 | | ----------- | ----------- | ------------------ | ----- | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ------------ | -------------- | -------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 73 | 73 | | p2025-tbsp | label-2025 | Per 1 tbsp (15 mL) | 15 ml | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^label-2025 | | | |
| 74 | 74 | | p2019-tbsp | label-2019 | Per 1 tbsp (15 mL) | 15 ml | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^label-2019 | | | |
| 75 | 75 | | pmaker-tbsp | maker-site | 1 tbsp (15ml) | 15 ml | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^unico-product | Transcribed from the maker's web page, not from a label. | | |
| 76 | 76 | <!--/nutrition_panels--> | |
| 77 | 77 | ||
| 78 | 78 | ## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values--> | |
| 79 | − | | panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | printed_value | state | method | source | note | | |
| 80 | − | | ----------- | --------------- | ----- | --------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | -------------- | ---- | | |
| 81 | − | | p2025-tbsp | energy_kcal | 10 | exact | Calories 10 | known | printed | ^label-2025 | | | |
| 82 | − | | p2025-tbsp | fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | | | |
| 83 | − | | p2025-tbsp | carbohydrate_g | 2 | exact | 2 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | | | |
| 84 | − | | p2025-tbsp | sugars_g | 2 | exact | 2 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | | | |
| 85 | − | | p2025-tbsp | protein_g | 0.1 | exact | 0.1 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | | | |
| 86 | − | | p2019-tbsp | energy_kcal | 15 | exact | Calories 15 | known | printed | ^label-2019 | | | |
| 87 | − | | p2019-tbsp | fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | | | |
| 88 | − | | p2019-tbsp | carbohydrate_g | 3 | exact | 3 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | | | |
| 89 | − | | p2019-tbsp | sugars_g | 3 | exact | 3 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | | | |
| 90 | − | | p2019-tbsp | protein_g | 0.2 | exact | 0.2 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | | | |
| 91 | − | | pmaker-tbsp | energy_kcal | 10 | exact | Calories 10 | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 92 | − | | pmaker-tbsp | fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 93 | − | | pmaker-tbsp | saturated_fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 94 | − | | pmaker-tbsp | trans_fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 95 | − | | pmaker-tbsp | cholesterol_mg | 0 | exact | 0 mg | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 96 | − | | pmaker-tbsp | sodium_mg | 0 | exact | 0 mg | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 97 | − | | pmaker-tbsp | carbohydrate_g | 2 | exact | 2 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 98 | − | | pmaker-tbsp | fibre_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 99 | − | | pmaker-tbsp | sugars_g | 1 | exact | 1 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 100 | − | | pmaker-tbsp | protein_g | 0.2 | exact | 0.2 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 79 | + | | panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value | state | method | source | note | | |
| 80 | + | | ----------- | --------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | -------------- | ---- | | |
| 81 | + | | p2025-tbsp | energy_kcal | 10 | exact | | | Calories 10 | known | printed | ^label-2025 | | | |
| 82 | + | | p2025-tbsp | fat_g | 0 | exact | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | | | |
| 83 | + | | p2025-tbsp | carbohydrate_g | 2 | exact | | | 2 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | | | |
| 84 | + | | p2025-tbsp | sugars_g | 2 | exact | | | 2 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | | | |
| 85 | + | | p2025-tbsp | protein_g | 0.1 | exact | | | 0.1 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | | | |
| 86 | + | | p2019-tbsp | energy_kcal | 15 | exact | | | Calories 15 | known | printed | ^label-2019 | | | |
| 87 | + | | p2019-tbsp | fat_g | 0 | exact | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | | | |
| 88 | + | | p2019-tbsp | carbohydrate_g | 3 | exact | | | 3 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | | | |
| 89 | + | | p2019-tbsp | sugars_g | 3 | exact | | | 3 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | | | |
| 90 | + | | p2019-tbsp | protein_g | 0.2 | exact | | | 0.2 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | | | |
| 91 | + | | pmaker-tbsp | energy_kcal | 10 | exact | | | Calories 10 | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 92 | + | | pmaker-tbsp | fat_g | 0 | exact | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 93 | + | | pmaker-tbsp | saturated_fat_g | 0 | exact | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 94 | + | | pmaker-tbsp | trans_fat_g | 0 | exact | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 95 | + | | pmaker-tbsp | cholesterol_mg | 0 | exact | | | 0 mg | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 96 | + | | pmaker-tbsp | sodium_mg | 0 | exact | | | 0 mg | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 97 | + | | pmaker-tbsp | carbohydrate_g | 2 | exact | | | 2 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 98 | + | | pmaker-tbsp | fibre_g | 0 | exact | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 99 | + | | pmaker-tbsp | sugars_g | 1 | exact | | | 1 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 100 | + | | pmaker-tbsp | protein_g | 0.2 | exact | | | 0.2 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | | | |
| 101 | 101 | <!--/nutrition_values--> | |
| 102 | 102 | ||
| 103 | 103 | ## Allergen declarations <!--allergens--> | |
| 104 | 104 | | observation | allergen | declaration | source | note | | |
| 105 | 105 | | ----------- | --------- | ----------- | ----------- | ---------------------------------------- | | |
| 106 | 106 | | label-2025 | sulphites | contains | ^label-2025 | Contains Sulphites. / Contient Sulfites. | | |
| 107 | 107 | <!--/allergens--> | |
| 108 | 108 | ||
| 109 | 109 | ## Label claims <!--claims--> | |
| 110 | 110 | | observation | claim | kind | source | note | | |
| 111 | 111 | | ----------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------- | ----------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 112 | 112 | | label-2025 | Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI (Protected Geographical Indication) | certification | ^label-2025 | EU PGI logo on the front; back: Certified by a Control Body authorized by the Competent Ministry - ITALY. Declared on the label, not checked by us. | | |
| 113 | 113 | | label-2025 | Product of Italy / Produit d'Italie | label | ^label-2025 | Front band; back reads Produced in Modena / Produit à Modène. | | |
| 114 | 114 | | label-2019 | Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI (Protected Geographical Indication) | certification | ^label-2019 | EU PGI logo on the front; back: Certified by control body authorized by Ministero delle Politiche Agricole Alimentari e Forestali. Declared on the label, not checked by us. | | |
| 115 | 115 | | label-2019 | Product of Italy / Produit d'Italie | label | ^label-2019 | Front band; back reads Produced in Province of Modena. | | |
| 116 | 116 | <!--/claims--> | |
| 117 | 117 | ||
| 118 | 118 | ## Research gaps <!--research_gaps--> | |
| 119 | 119 | | observation | domain | state | detail | source | | |
| 120 | 120 | | ----------- | ------------- | -------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------- | | |
| 121 | 121 | | | relationships | unknown | Neither label nor any source found names the bottler behind CSQA bottling-site numbers 215611, 216311 (2019) and 213281 (2025), so there is no bottled_by or manufactured_by row. | ^label-2025 | | |
| 122 | 122 | | maker-site | nutrition | disputed | Unico's product page prints sugars 1 g and protein 0.2 g per 15 ml with 10 Calories; the 2025 label prints sugars 2 g and protein 0.1 g, the 2019 label 15 Calories, 3 g sugars. | ^unico-product | | |
| 123 | 123 | | | packaging | unknown | The date the label changed from the 2019 revision (15 Calories, no sugar listed) to the 2025 revision is unknown; photos bound it between 2020-08-05 and 2025-01-12. | ^off | | |
| 124 | 124 | | | evidence | disputed | Walmart.ca copy says the vinegar is aged at least 6 years (6 stars) with a certificate of authenticity; neither label states an age, so it is not recorded as a claim. | ^walmart | | |
| 125 | 125 | | | images | stale | Open Food Facts files the 2025 front and back photos under Romanian (front_ro, nutrition_ro); the label is English and French. | ^off | | |
| 126 | 126 | | | markets | not_researched | Unico lists a 5 L size; its barcode was not researched and it is a separate article. | ^unico-product | | |
| 127 | 127 | | | schema | schema_gap | Acidity (6% acetic acid) has no controlled specification key; kept as a free property. | ^label-2025 | | |
| 128 | 128 | <!--/research_gaps--> | |
| 129 | 129 | ||
| 130 | 130 | ## Research <!--research--> | |
| 131 | 131 | structure_version: 2 | |
| 132 | 132 | reviewed_on: 2026-09-14 | |
| 133 | 133 | note: New entry built from two photographed label revisions (2019 and 2025) on Open Food Facts, the maker's product page and Canadian retailer listings. | |
| 134 | 134 | <!--/research--> | |
| 135 | 135 | ||
| 136 | + | ## Images <!--images--> | |
| 137 | + | | asset | kind | source | licence | attribution | url | accessed | note | provider_entity_id | provider_image_id | source_image_url | download_url | retrieved_at | matched_barcode | match_method | match_confidence | original_width | original_height | stored_width | stored_height | upscaled | observation | | |
| 138 | + | | ------------------------ | ----------- | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---- | ------------------ | ----------------- | ---------------- | ------------ | ------------ | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------- | -------------- | --------------- | ------------ | ------------- | -------- | ----------- | | |
| 139 | + | | front-2aa31b18.jpg | front | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 | 2026-09-14 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 140 | + | | ingredients-f0069612.jpg | ingredients | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 | 2026-09-14 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 141 | + | | nutrition-bc770219.jpg | nutrition | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 | 2026-09-14 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 142 | + | <!--/images--> | |
| 143 | + | ||
| 136 | 144 | ## References <!--references--> | |
| 137 | 145 | | ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream | | |
| 138 | 146 | | ----------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ----------------- | ------------ | ---------- | ------------- | --------------------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 139 | 147 | | off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 | Open Food Facts: Balsamic Vinegar of Modena, Unico, 500 ml | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 0067800000678 | | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | | | |
| 140 | 148 | | label-2025 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/006/780/000/0678/9.jpg | Photographs of the bottle: front (imgid 8) and back label (imgid 9), uploaded 2025-01-12 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | pack | 2025-01-12 | 0067800000678 | Uploads 8.jpg, 9.jpg | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 | | |
| 141 | 149 | | label-2019 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/006/780/000/0678/2.jpg | Photographs of the bottle: front (imgid 1) and back label (imgid 2), uploaded 2019-02-11; nutrition panel again in imgid 6, 2020-08-05 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | pack | 2019-02-11 | 0067800000678 | Uploads 1.jpg, 2.jpg, 6.jpg | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 | | |
| 142 | 150 | | unico-product | https://www.unico.ca/products.php?id=5&catid=10 | Unico Balsamic Vinegar | 2026-09-14 | Unico | manufacturer | | | | | | | | |
| 143 | 151 | | unico-history | https://www.unico.ca/corporate.php?id=3 | Unico Corporate Overview: Our History | 2026-09-14 | Unico | manufacturer | | | | | | | | |
| 144 | 152 | | cornerpantry | https://shop.cornerpantry.ca/products/unico-balsamic-vinegar-of-modena-500ml | Corner Pantry Co.: Unico - Balsamic Vinegar of Modena - 500ml | 2026-09-14 | Corner Pantry Co. | retailer | | 067800000678 | | | | | | |
| 145 | 153 | | walmart | https://www.walmart.ca/en/ip/Unico-Balsamic-Vinegar-of-Modena-PGI/10284578 | Walmart.ca: Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena PGI | 2026-09-14 | Walmart Canada | retailer | | 10284578 | | | | | | |
| 146 | 154 | | off-black-beans | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800002528 | Open Food Facts: Black Beans, Unico, 540 mL | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 0067800002528 | | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | | | |
| 147 | 155 | | barcodepedia-2008 | https://web.archive.org/web/20081120171544/http://en.barcodepedia.com/067800000678/unico-balsamic-vinegar | Barcodepedia (archived 2008-11-20): Unico Balsamic Vinegar | 2026-09-14 | Barcodepedia | other | 2008-11-20 | | | | | | | |
| 148 | 156 | <!--/references--> | |
| 149 | 157 | ||
| 150 | 158 | ## About <!--about--> | |
| 151 | 159 | Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena is an Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI sold in a 500 ml bottle under Unico, a Canadian brand of Mediterranean-style foods. The label says it was produced in Modena and certified by a control body authorised by the Italian ministry.[^label-2025] Unico Inc. of Concord, Ontario imports it into Canada,[^label-2025] and Sun-Brite Foods has owned Unico Inc. since 1997.[^unico-history] The current label lists wine vinegar, sugar (concentrated grape must) and caramel, declares sulphites and prints 10 Calories per tablespoon.[^label-2025] The 2019 label listed concentrated grape must without the word sugar and printed 15 Calories.[^label-2019] Canadian retailers sell it, including Corner Pantry, whose listing shows this barcode.[^cornerpantry] | |
| 152 | 160 | ||
| 153 | 161 | Barcodepedia's original site listed the barcode in 2008 as "Unico Balsamic Vinegar", 500 mL.[^barcodepedia-2008] | |
| 154 | 162 | <!--/about--> |
Source of v1
# Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena 500 ml <!--product-->
## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 00067800000678
name: Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena 500 ml
name.fr: Vinaigre balsamique de Modène Unico 500 ml
default_observation: label-2025
summary: Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI from Italy, imported into Canada by Unico Inc. in a 500 ml bottle.
brand: brand/unico
category: category/10000051
net_content: 500 ml
country_of_sale: CA
country_of_origin: IT
pack_quantity: 1
pack_format: bottle
status: active
<!--/identity-->
## Relations <!--relations-->
| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
| ---------------- | ------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ---------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| imported_by | company/unico | CA | | | | printed | ^label-2025 | Imported by / Importé par Unico Inc., Concord, Ontario, Canada L4K 2A4; the same importer block is on the 2019 label (^label-2019). |
| gs1_prefix_owner | company/unico | | | | | sourced | ^off-black-beans | GS1 company prefix 0067800 is stated in the gs1_prefixes of company/unico, which derives it from other Unico articles under the same prefix. |
<!--/relations-->
## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price |
| ------- | ------- | ------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | -------- |
| CA | printed | ^label-2025 | The back label prints a bilingual Canadian Nutrition Facts / Valeur nutritive table and the Canadian importer address (Unico Inc., Concord, Ontario). | 2025-01-12 | new | IT | |
| CA | sourced | ^cornerpantry | Corner Pantry Co. listing prints SKU 067800000678, Unico, 500ml, product origin Italy. | 2026-09-14 | new | IT | CAD 6.99 |
| CA | derived | ^walmart | Walmart.ca listing matches brand, name (Balsamic Vinegar of Modena PGI), 500 mL and bottle; the page prints no barcode. | 2026-09-14 | new | | CAD 5.27 |
<!--/markets-->
## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name | type | locale | from | until |
| ----------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Vinaigre balsamique de Modène | name | fr | | |
| Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI | name | it | | |
| Unico Balsamic Vinegar | search | en | | |
<!--/aliases-->
## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state |
| ---------------------------------- | ---- | ----- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ---------- | ----------- | -------------- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | ----------------------- | ----- |
| ingredient/wine-vinegar | | label | | | | CA | | | ^label-2025 | n-wine-vinegar | label-2025 | | 1 | Wine vinegar | known |
| ingredient/sugar | | label | Printed as Sugar with concentrated grape must in brackets. | | | CA | | | ^label-2025 | n-sugar | label-2025 | | 2 | Sugar | known |
| ingredient/concentrated-grape-must | | label | | | | CA | | | ^label-2025 | n-grape-must | label-2025 | n-sugar | 1 | concentrated grape must | known |
| ingredient/caramel-colour | | label | Printed as Caramel; the class (E150a to E150d) is not stated. | | | CA | | | ^label-2025 | n-caramel | label-2025 | | 3 | Caramel | known |
| ingredient/wine-vinegar | | label | until is the date of the last photo showing this label (2020-08-05), not a known change date. | | | CA | | 2020-08-05 | ^label-2019 | o-wine-vinegar | label-2019 | | 1 | WINE VINEGAR | known |
| ingredient/concentrated-grape-must | | label | until is the date of the last photo showing this label (2020-08-05), not a known change date. | | | CA | | 2020-08-05 | ^label-2019 | o-grape-must | label-2019 | | 2 | CONCENTRATED GRAPE MUST | known |
| ingredient/caramel-colour | | label | Printed as CARAMEL; class not stated. until is the date of the last photo showing this label (2020-08-05), not a known change date. | | | CA | | 2020-08-05 | ^label-2019 | o-caramel | label-2019 | | 3 | CARAMEL | known |
| ingredient/sulphites | | label | until is the date of the last photo showing this label (2020-08-05), not a known change date. | | | CA | | 2020-08-05 | ^label-2019 | o-sulphites | label-2019 | | 4 | SULFITES | known |
<!--/ingredients-->
## Specifications <!--specifications-->
| property | value | unit | source | note | observation | key | numeric_value | mode | state | method | qualifier |
| -------- | --------------------- | ---- | ----------- | ------------------------ | ----------- | --- | ------------- | ---- | ----- | ------- | --------- |
| Acidity | 6% Acetic Acid | % | ^label-2025 | Front label, 2025 photo. | label-2025 | | 6 | | known | printed | exact |
| Acidity | 6% Acetic Acid/Volume | % | ^label-2019 | Front label, 2019 photo. | label-2019 | | 6 | | known | printed | exact |
<!--/specifications-->
## Observations <!--observations-->
| id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
| ---------- | ----------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | -------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ |
| label-2025 | Canadian English/French label, best before 2028 | label | CA | en | | | 2025-01-12 | supported | Ingredients Wine vinegar, Sugar (concentrated grape must), Caramel. Contains Sulphites. / Ingrédients Vinaigre de vin, Sucre (moût de raisin concentré), Caramel. Contient Sulfites. | listed | | ^label-2025 | Front and back photographed 2025-01-12; lot L.24236E1, BB/MA 2028/AU/23; bottling site n° CSQA 213281; Produced in Modena. | 500 ml | 1 | | bottle | |
| label-2019 | Canadian English/French label, best before 2021 | label | CA | en | | 2020-08-05 | 2019-02-11 | supported | INGREDIENTS: WINE VINEGAR, CONCENTRATED GRAPE MUST, CARAMEL, SULFITES. / INGRÉDIENTS: VINAIGRE DE VIN, MOÛT DE RAISIN CONCENTRÉ, CARAMEL, SULFITES. | listed | | ^label-2019 | Front and back photographed 2019-02-11 (BBD 2021.MA.11); the same nutrition panel is on a 2020-08-05 upload, the last date this label was seen. Front band reads Our Premium Collection. Bottling sites A CSQA 215611 and B CSQA 216311 (second number read from a curved label). Produced in Province of Modena. | 500 ml | 1 | | bottle | |
| maker-site | Unico product page (500 mL and 5 L) | label | | | | | 2026-09-14 | unconfirmed | | | | ^unico-product | Unico's page for Unico Balsamic Vinegar names two sizes and prints one panel that matches neither photographed label; which size or label revision it describes is not stated. | | | | | |
<!--/observations-->
## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
| id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note |
| ----------- | ----------- | ------------------ | ----- | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ------------ | -------------- | -------------------------------------------------------- |
| p2025-tbsp | label-2025 | Per 1 tbsp (15 mL) | 15 ml | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^label-2025 | |
| p2019-tbsp | label-2019 | Per 1 tbsp (15 mL) | 15 ml | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^label-2019 | |
| pmaker-tbsp | maker-site | 1 tbsp (15ml) | 15 ml | as_sold | | transcribed | | ^unico-product | Transcribed from the maker's web page, not from a label. |
<!--/nutrition_panels-->
## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
| ----------- | --------------- | ----- | --------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | -------------- | ---- |
| p2025-tbsp | energy_kcal | 10 | exact | Calories 10 | known | printed | ^label-2025 | |
| p2025-tbsp | fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | |
| p2025-tbsp | carbohydrate_g | 2 | exact | 2 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | |
| p2025-tbsp | sugars_g | 2 | exact | 2 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | |
| p2025-tbsp | protein_g | 0.1 | exact | 0.1 g | known | printed | ^label-2025 | |
| p2019-tbsp | energy_kcal | 15 | exact | Calories 15 | known | printed | ^label-2019 | |
| p2019-tbsp | fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | |
| p2019-tbsp | carbohydrate_g | 3 | exact | 3 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | |
| p2019-tbsp | sugars_g | 3 | exact | 3 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | |
| p2019-tbsp | protein_g | 0.2 | exact | 0.2 g | known | printed | ^label-2019 | |
| pmaker-tbsp | energy_kcal | 10 | exact | Calories 10 | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | saturated_fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | trans_fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | cholesterol_mg | 0 | exact | 0 mg | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | sodium_mg | 0 | exact | 0 mg | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | carbohydrate_g | 2 | exact | 2 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | fibre_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | sugars_g | 1 | exact | 1 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
| pmaker-tbsp | protein_g | 0.2 | exact | 0.2 g | known | printed | ^unico-product | |
<!--/nutrition_values-->
## Allergen declarations <!--allergens-->
| observation | allergen | declaration | source | note |
| ----------- | --------- | ----------- | ----------- | ---------------------------------------- |
| label-2025 | sulphites | contains | ^label-2025 | Contains Sulphites. / Contient Sulfites. |
<!--/allergens-->
## Label claims <!--claims-->
| observation | claim | kind | source | note |
| ----------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------- | ----------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| label-2025 | Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI (Protected Geographical Indication) | certification | ^label-2025 | EU PGI logo on the front; back: Certified by a Control Body authorized by the Competent Ministry - ITALY. Declared on the label, not checked by us. |
| label-2025 | Product of Italy / Produit d'Italie | label | ^label-2025 | Front band; back reads Produced in Modena / Produit à Modène. |
| label-2019 | Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI (Protected Geographical Indication) | certification | ^label-2019 | EU PGI logo on the front; back: Certified by control body authorized by Ministero delle Politiche Agricole Alimentari e Forestali. Declared on the label, not checked by us. |
| label-2019 | Product of Italy / Produit d'Italie | label | ^label-2019 | Front band; back reads Produced in Province of Modena. |
<!--/claims-->
## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
| observation | domain | state | detail | source |
| ----------- | ------------- | -------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------- |
| | relationships | unknown | Neither label nor any source found names the bottler behind CSQA bottling-site numbers 215611, 216311 (2019) and 213281 (2025), so there is no bottled_by or manufactured_by row. | ^label-2025 |
| maker-site | nutrition | disputed | Unico's product page prints sugars 1 g and protein 0.2 g per 15 ml with 10 Calories; the 2025 label prints sugars 2 g and protein 0.1 g, the 2019 label 15 Calories, 3 g sugars. | ^unico-product |
| | packaging | unknown | The date the label changed from the 2019 revision (15 Calories, no sugar listed) to the 2025 revision is unknown; photos bound it between 2020-08-05 and 2025-01-12. | ^off |
| | evidence | disputed | Walmart.ca copy says the vinegar is aged at least 6 years (6 stars) with a certificate of authenticity; neither label states an age, so it is not recorded as a claim. | ^walmart |
| | images | stale | Open Food Facts files the 2025 front and back photos under Romanian (front_ro, nutrition_ro); the label is English and French. | ^off |
| | markets | not_researched | Unico lists a 5 L size; its barcode was not researched and it is a separate article. | ^unico-product |
| | schema | schema_gap | Acidity (6% acetic acid) has no controlled specification key; kept as a free property. | ^label-2025 |
<!--/research_gaps-->
## Research <!--research-->
structure_version: 2
reviewed_on: 2026-09-14
note: New entry built from two photographed label revisions (2019 and 2025) on Open Food Facts, the maker's product page and Canadian retailer listings.
<!--/research-->
## References <!--references-->
| ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream |
| ----------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ----------------- | ------------ | ---------- | ------------- | --------------------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- |
| off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 | Open Food Facts: Balsamic Vinegar of Modena, Unico, 500 ml | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 0067800000678 | | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | |
| label-2025 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/006/780/000/0678/9.jpg | Photographs of the bottle: front (imgid 8) and back label (imgid 9), uploaded 2025-01-12 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | pack | 2025-01-12 | 0067800000678 | Uploads 8.jpg, 9.jpg | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 |
| label-2019 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/006/780/000/0678/2.jpg | Photographs of the bottle: front (imgid 1) and back label (imgid 2), uploaded 2019-02-11; nutrition panel again in imgid 6, 2020-08-05 | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | pack | 2019-02-11 | 0067800000678 | Uploads 1.jpg, 2.jpg, 6.jpg | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800000678 |
| unico-product | https://www.unico.ca/products.php?id=5&catid=10 | Unico Balsamic Vinegar | 2026-09-14 | Unico | manufacturer | | | | | | |
| unico-history | https://www.unico.ca/corporate.php?id=3 | Unico Corporate Overview: Our History | 2026-09-14 | Unico | manufacturer | | | | | | |
| cornerpantry | https://shop.cornerpantry.ca/products/unico-balsamic-vinegar-of-modena-500ml | Corner Pantry Co.: Unico - Balsamic Vinegar of Modena - 500ml | 2026-09-14 | Corner Pantry Co. | retailer | | 067800000678 | | | | |
| walmart | https://www.walmart.ca/en/ip/Unico-Balsamic-Vinegar-of-Modena-PGI/10284578 | Walmart.ca: Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena PGI | 2026-09-14 | Walmart Canada | retailer | | 10284578 | | | | |
| off-black-beans | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0067800002528 | Open Food Facts: Black Beans, Unico, 540 mL | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 0067800002528 | | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | |
| barcodepedia-2008 | https://web.archive.org/web/20081120171544/http://en.barcodepedia.com/067800000678/unico-balsamic-vinegar | Barcodepedia (archived 2008-11-20): Unico Balsamic Vinegar | 2026-09-14 | Barcodepedia | other | 2008-11-20 | | | | | |
<!--/references-->
## About <!--about-->
Unico Balsamic Vinegar of Modena is an Aceto Balsamico di Modena PGI sold in a 500 ml bottle under Unico, a Canadian brand of Mediterranean-style foods. The label says it was produced in Modena and certified by a control body authorised by the Italian ministry.[^label-2025] Unico Inc. of Concord, Ontario imports it into Canada,[^label-2025] and Sun-Brite Foods has owned Unico Inc. since 1997.[^unico-history] The current label lists wine vinegar, sugar (concentrated grape must) and caramel, declares sulphites and prints 10 Calories per tablespoon.[^label-2025] The 2019 label listed concentrated grape must without the word sugar and printed 15 Calories.[^label-2019] Canadian retailers sell it, including Corner Pantry, whose listing shows this barcode.[^cornerpantry]
Barcodepedia's original site listed the barcode in 2008 as "Unico Balsamic Vinegar", 500 mL.[^barcodepedia-2008]
<!--/about-->