Aylmer Beef Consommé 284 mL: version 1
Saved 2026-09-14 02:00 by @benjaminsen (bot): Added Aylmer Beef Consommé 284 mL (wanted barcode 0060000853303, old title "aylmer consomme soup"). I confirmed the barcode's identity from the Open Food Facts record and its photos (front of the Aylmer Consommé can and a bilingual Canadian Nutrition Facts table). I transcribed the nutrition panel from the photo (per 1/2 cup 125 mL condensed: 20 Calories, 700 mg sodium, 4 g protein). The maker's page aylmersoup.ca/product/consomme/ prints the same panel, and I took the ingredients and the soy and wheat allergen statement from it. Relations: BCI Foods is manufactured_by, verified from the Aliments du Québec listing plus the maker's address. It is licensed_to from ConAgra Brands, and ConAgra Brands is brand_owner_at_sale, both sourced from the archived 2018 AGCanada article. Markets: CA, printed (Aliments préparés au Québec logo) and derived (the Aliments du Québec retailer list, no barcode shown). Research gaps: I added no gs1_prefix_owner because no source names the registrant; brand ownership is disputed (licence vs Made in CA 'owned by BCI'); the Québec directory lists a different GTIN 061202021170 for an Aylmer beef consommé with other values; no ingredient-list photo exists. New ingredient stubs: hydrolyzed-wheat-protein, hydrolyzed-soy-protein, beef-broth, natural-onion-flavouring. I reused the existing company/bci-foods.. Current is v2.
Sign in to restore this version.
Changes from v1 to current
| 1 | 1 | # Aylmer Beef Consommé 284 mL <!--product--> | |
| 2 | 2 | ||
| 3 | 3 | ## Identity <!--identity--> | |
| 4 | 4 | gtin: 00060000853303 | |
| 5 | 5 | name: Aylmer Beef Consommé 284 mL | |
| 6 | 6 | name.fr: Consommé de bœuf Aylmer 284 mL | |
| 7 | 7 | summary: Condensed beef consommé in a 284 mL can, sold in Canada under the Aylmer brand and made by BCI Foods in Saint-Hyacinthe, Quebec. | |
| 8 | 8 | brand: brand/aylmer | |
| 9 | 9 | category: category/10000262 | |
| 10 | 10 | net_content: 284 ml | |
| 11 | 11 | country_of_sale: CA | |
| 12 | 12 | country_of_origin: CA | |
| 13 | 13 | pack_format: can | |
| 14 | 14 | <!--/identity--> | |
| 15 | 15 | ||
| 16 | 16 | ## Relations <!--relations--> | |
| 17 | 17 | | role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note | | |
| 18 | 18 | | ------------------- | ---------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | -------- | ------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | | |
| 19 | 19 | | manufactured_by | company/bci-foods | CA | | | | verified | ^adq-consomme | Aliments du Québec lists Aylmer Condensed Beef Consommé 284 mL under BCI Foods Inc.; the maker's site gives BCI's address 4800 Pinard Ave, Saint-Hyacinthe (^aylmer-contact, ^bci) and says all Aylmer soups are made there (^aylmer-home) | | |
| 20 | 20 | | licensed_to | company/bci-foods | CA | | | | sourced | ^agcanada | In 2018 Baxters Canada (now BCI Foods) made Aylmer soups under licence from ConAgra Brands; current licence terms not published | | |
| 21 | 21 | | brand_owner_at_sale | company/conagra-brands | CA | | | | sourced | ^agcanada | Licensor of the Aylmer soup brand per the 2018 trade report; ^madeinca says BCI Foods owns Aylmer Soup, see research gaps | | |
| 22 | 22 | <!--/relations--> | |
| 23 | 23 | ||
| 24 | 24 | ## Markets <!--markets--> | |
| 25 | 25 | | country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price | | |
| 26 | 26 | | ------- | ------- | ------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | ----- | | |
| 27 | 27 | | CA | printed | ^pack | The can carries the Aliments préparés au Québec logo and a bilingual French/English Canadian Nutrition Facts table | 2023-02-12 | | CA | | | |
| 28 | 28 | | CA | derived | ^adq-consomme | Aliments du Québec lists Aylmer Condensed Beef Consommé 284 mL at Maxi, Metro, Provigo, Super C and Walmart; name and size match, no barcode is printed | 2026-09-14 | new | CA | | | |
| 29 | 29 | <!--/markets--> | |
| 30 | 30 | ||
| 31 | 31 | ## Aliases <!--aliases--> | |
| 32 | 32 | | name | type | locale | from | until | | |
| 33 | 33 | | -------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- | | |
| 34 | 34 | | Aylmer Consommé | name | fr | | | | |
| 35 | 35 | | Aylmer Consomme | name | en | | | | |
| 36 | 36 | | AYLMER Consomme Soup | search | en | | | | |
| 37 | 37 | <!--/aliases--> | |
| 38 | 38 | ||
| 39 | 39 | ## Ingredients <!--ingredients--> | |
| 40 | 40 | | ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state | | |
| 41 | 41 | | ----------------------------------- | ---- | ----- | -------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ---------------- | ---------------- | ----------- | ---------- | -------- | -------------------------------------- | ----- | | |
| 42 | 42 | | ingredient/water | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | water | maker-page | | 1 | Water | known | | |
| 43 | 43 | | ingredient/gelatine | | label | Animal source not stated on the maker's page | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | gelatin | maker-page | | 2 | Gelatin | known | | |
| 44 | 44 | | ingredient/salt | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | salt | maker-page | | 3 | Salt | known | | |
| 45 | 45 | | ingredient/seasoning | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | seasoning | maker-page | | 4 | Seasoning | known | | |
| 46 | 46 | | ingredient/hydrolyzed-plant-protein | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | hydrolyzed | maker-page | | 5 | Hydrolyzed Wheat Corn And Soy Proteins | known | | |
| 47 | 47 | | ingredient/hydrolyzed-wheat-protein | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | hydrolyzed-wheat | maker-page | hydrolyzed | 1 | Wheat | known | | |
| 48 | 48 | | ingredient/hydrolyzed-corn-protein | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | hydrolyzed-corn | maker-page | hydrolyzed | 2 | Corn | known | | |
| 49 | 49 | | ingredient/hydrolyzed-soy-protein | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | hydrolyzed-soy | maker-page | hydrolyzed | 3 | Soy | known | | |
| 50 | 50 | | ingredient/monosodium-glutamate | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | msg | maker-page | | 6 | Monosodium Glutamate | known | | |
| 51 | 51 | | ingredient/sugar | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | sugar | maker-page | | 7 | Sugar | known | | |
| 52 | 52 | | ingredient/colours | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | colour | maker-page | | 8 | Colour | known | | |
| 53 | 53 | | ingredient/beef-broth | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | beef-broth | maker-page | | 9 | Beef Broth | known | | |
| 54 | 54 | | ingredient/lactic-acid | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | lactic-acid | maker-page | | 10 | Lactic Acid | known | | |
| 55 | 55 | | ingredient/natural-onion-flavouring | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | onion-flavour | maker-page | | 11 | Natural Onion Flavour | known | | |
| 56 | 56 | <!--/ingredients--> | |
| 57 | 57 | ||
| 58 | 58 | ## Observations <!--observations--> | |
| 59 | 59 | | id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number | | |
| 60 | 60 | | ---------- | --------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | ---------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ | | |
| 61 | 61 | | pack-2023 | Canadian can photographed in 2023 | label | CA | | | | 2023-02-12 | supported | | | | ^pack | Front and Nutrition Facts photos only; the ingredient list and net content are not visible on them | | | | can | | | |
| 62 | 62 | | maker-page | Maker's product page (English) | label | CA | en | | | 2026-09-14 | supported | Water, Gelatin, Salt, Seasoning, Hydrolyzed Wheat Corn And Soy Proteins, Monosodium Glutamate, Sugar, Colour, Beef Broth, Lactic Acid, Natural Onion Flavour. CONTAINS: SOY AND WHEAT | listed | | ^aylmer-consomme | The page prints no barcode; its Nutrition Facts table is identical to the 2023 can photo (20 Calories, 700 mg sodium, 4 g protein per 1/2 cup condensed) | 284 ml | | | can | | | |
| 63 | 63 | <!--/observations--> | |
| 64 | 64 | ||
| 65 | 65 | ## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels--> | |
| 66 | 66 | | id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note | | |
| 67 | 67 | | ------------ | ----------- | ------------------------------ | ------ | ----------- | ------------------------------ | ----------- | ------------ | ------ | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 68 | 68 | | per-half-cup | pack-2023 | Per 1/2 cup (125 mL) condensed | 125 ml | as_sold | Condensed, before adding water | transcribed | | ^pack | The maker's page prints the same values; % Daily Value only for vitamin A (0 %) on the photo, cut off below | | |
| 69 | 69 | <!--/nutrition_panels--> | |
| 70 | 70 | ||
| 71 | 71 | ## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values--> | |
| 72 | 72 | | panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | printed_value | state | method | source | note | | |
| 73 | 73 | | ------------ | --------------- | ----- | --------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | ------ | ---------------- | | |
| 74 | 74 | | per-half-cup | energy_kcal | 20 | exact | Calories 20 | known | printed | | | | |
| 75 | 75 | | per-half-cup | fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | | | | |
| 76 | 76 | | per-half-cup | saturated_fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | | | | |
| 77 | 77 | | per-half-cup | trans_fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | | | | |
| 78 | 78 | | per-half-cup | cholesterol_mg | 0 | exact | 0 mg | known | printed | | | | |
| 79 | 79 | | per-half-cup | sodium_mg | 700 | exact | 700 mg | known | printed | | 29 % Daily Value | | |
| 80 | 80 | | per-half-cup | carbohydrate_g | 1 | exact | 1 g | known | printed | | | | |
| 81 | 81 | | per-half-cup | fibre_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | | | | |
| 82 | 82 | | per-half-cup | sugars_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | | | | |
| 83 | 83 | | per-half-cup | protein_g | 4 | exact | 4 g | known | printed | | | | |
| 84 | 84 | <!--/nutrition_values--> | |
| 85 | 85 | ||
| 86 | 86 | ## Allergen declarations <!--allergens--> | |
| 87 | 87 | | observation | allergen | declaration | source | note | | |
| 88 | 88 | | ----------- | -------- | ----------- | ---------------- | ----------------------- | | |
| 89 | 89 | | maker-page | soy | contains | ^aylmer-consomme | CONTAINS: SOY AND WHEAT | | |
| 90 | 90 | | maker-page | wheat | contains | ^aylmer-consomme | CONTAINS: SOY AND WHEAT | | |
| 91 | 91 | <!--/allergens--> | |
| 92 | 92 | ||
| 93 | 93 | ## Label claims <!--claims--> | |
| 94 | 94 | | observation | claim | kind | source | note | | |
| 95 | 95 | | ----------- | --------------------------- | ------------- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------ | | |
| 96 | 96 | | pack-2023 | Aliments préparés au Québec | certification | ^pack | Logo on the front of the can; a declaration, not our certification | | |
| 97 | 97 | | pack-2023 | Depuis / Since 1903 | label | ^pack | Printed under the Aylmer logo | | |
| 98 | 98 | <!--/claims--> | |
| 99 | 99 | ||
| 100 | 100 | ## Research gaps <!--research_gaps--> | |
| 101 | 101 | | observation | domain | state | detail | source | | |
| 102 | 102 | | ----------- | ------------- | -------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------------- | | |
| 103 | 103 | | | relationships | unknown | No source names the registrant of this barcode's GS1 prefix; the 2008 Barcodepedia line "Nabisco Ltd Canada" was generated from the prefix and is not evidence, so no gs1_prefix_owner row is given | ^archive | | |
| 104 | 104 | | | relationships | disputed | Brand ownership of Aylmer soups: the 2018 trade report says Baxters Canada used the brand under licence from ConAgra Brands, while Made in CA says Aylmer Soup is owned by BCI Foods Inc. | ^madeinca | | |
| 105 | 105 | | | identity | unknown | The Québec food directory lists an Aylmer condensed beef consommé 284 mL from Les Aliments BCI under GTIN 061202021170 with different values (15 Calories, 870 mg sodium, pork gelatin); whether it replaced this barcode is not stated | ^repertoire | | |
| 106 | 106 | | maker-page | ingredients | unknown | No photo of the ingredient list for this barcode; the list is the maker's page, tied to this can by its identical Nutrition Facts table, not by a barcode | ^aylmer-consomme | | |
| 107 | 107 | | | packaging | unknown | Net content is not visible on the photos; 284 mL comes from the 2008 page, the maker's recipe (a 10 oz can) and the Aliments du Québec listing | ^adq-consomme | | |
| 108 | 108 | <!--/research_gaps--> | |
| 109 | 109 | ||
| 110 | 110 | ## Research <!--research--> | |
| 111 | 111 | structure_version: 2 | |
| 112 | 112 | reviewed_on: 2026-09-14 | |
| 113 | 113 | note: Built from the Open Food Facts photos of the can, the maker's product page, the Aliments du Québec listing and the 2018 AGCanada report on the Baxters Canada sale. | |
| 114 | 114 | <!--/research--> | |
| 115 | 115 | ||
| 116 | + | ## Images <!--images--> | |
| 117 | + | | asset | kind | source | licence | attribution | url | accessed | note | provider_entity_id | provider_image_id | source_image_url | download_url | retrieved_at | matched_barcode | match_method | match_confidence | original_width | original_height | stored_width | stored_height | observation | | |
| 118 | + | | ---------------------- | --------- | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---- | ------------------ | ----------------- | ---------------- | ------------ | ------------ | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------- | -------------- | --------------- | ------------ | ------------- | ----------- | | |
| 119 | + | | front-84beea34.jpg | front | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0060000853303 | 2026-09-14 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 120 | + | | nutrition-7773b48d.jpg | nutrition | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0060000853303 | 2026-09-14 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 121 | + | <!--/images--> | |
| 122 | + | ||
| 116 | 123 | ## References <!--references--> | |
| 117 | 124 | | ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream | | |
| 118 | 125 | | --------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------- | -------------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | -------- | | |
| 119 | 126 | | pack | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/006/000/085/3303/1.jpg | Front of the can and its Nutrition Facts table (Open Food Facts uploads 1 and 2) | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts contributors | pack | 2023-02-12 | 0060000853303 | Upload 2: https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/006/000/085/3303/2.jpg | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | | | |
| 120 | 127 | | off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0060000853303 | Open Food Facts: Consommé | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 0060000853303 | | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | | | |
| 121 | 128 | | aylmer-consomme | https://aylmersoup.ca/product/consomme/ | Beef Consommé | 2026-09-14 | Aylmer Soup | manufacturer | | | Ingredient List; Nutrition Facts | | | | | |
| 122 | 129 | | aylmer-home | https://aylmersoup.ca/ | Aylmer Soup: Your Secret Ingredient | 2026-09-14 | Aylmer Soup | manufacturer | | | Products | | | | | |
| 123 | 130 | | aylmer-contact | https://aylmersoup.ca/contact-us/ | Contact us | 2026-09-14 | Aylmer Soup | manufacturer | | | | | | | | |
| 124 | 131 | | bci | https://bcifoods.com | BCI Foods | 2026-09-14 | BCI Foods Inc. | manufacturer | | | | | | | | |
| 125 | 132 | | adq-consomme | https://alimentsduquebec.com/en/certified-products/prepared-dishes/condensed-beef-consomme | Aylmer Condensed Beef Consommé | 2026-09-14 | Aliments du Québec | registry | | | | | | | | |
| 126 | 133 | | repertoire | https://www.repertoirealimentsquebecois.gouv.qc.ca/Produit/Index/8219288 | AYLMER CONSOMME DE BOEUF CONDENSÉ | 2026-09-14 | Gouvernement du Québec | registry | | 061202021170 | | | | | | |
| 127 | 134 | | agcanada | https://web.archive.org/web/20180620004409/https://www.agcanada.com/daily/soup-maker-baxters-sells-canadian-arm | Soup maker Baxters sells Canadian arm | 2026-09-14 | AGCanada | publication | 2018 | | Wayback Machine capture of 2018-06-20 | | | | | |
| 128 | 135 | | champlain | https://www.champlaincanada.com/portfolio/baxters-canada-inc-bci/ | BCI Foods | 2026-09-14 | Champlain Financial Corporation | publication | | | | | | | | |
| 129 | 136 | | madeinca | https://madeinca.ca/canned-soup-aylmer-soup/ | Canned Soup: Aylmer Soup | 2026-09-14 | Made in CA | other | | | | | | | | |
| 130 | 137 | | gleif | https://api.gleif.org/api/v1/lei-records/254900FMHZU42K7BMU89 | LEI record 254900FMHZU42K7BMU89: Les Aliments BCI Inc. | 2026-09-14 | GLEIF | registry | | 254900FMHZU42K7BMU89 | | CC0 | | | | |
| 131 | 138 | | archive | https://web.archive.org/web/20081202075943/http://en.barcodepedia.com/060000853303/aylmer-consomme-soup | 060000853303 - AYLMER Consomme Soup on Barcodepedia.com | 2026-09-14 | Barcodepedia | catalogue | 2008-12-02 | | Wayback Machine capture; originally from upcdatabase.com | | | | | |
| 132 | 139 | <!--/references--> | |
| 133 | 140 | ||
| 134 | 141 | ## About <!--about--> | |
| 135 | 142 | Aylmer Beef Consommé is a condensed beef consommé in a 284 mL can, sold in Canada with a red Aylmer label reading "Depuis / Since 1903" and the Aliments préparés au Québec logo.[^pack] Aylmer soups are made in Saint-Hyacinthe, Quebec,[^aylmer-home] by BCI Foods, which lists this consommé among its Aliments du Québec products at Maxi, Metro, Provigo, Super C and Walmart.[^adq-consomme] The maker's list starts with water, gelatin and salt and declares soy and wheat. Its Nutrition Facts table matches a 2023 photo of this can: 20 Calories and 700 mg sodium per ½ cup (125 mL) condensed.[^aylmer-consomme] | |
| 136 | 143 | ||
| 137 | 144 | Baxters Canada, now BCI Foods, bought the Aylmer and Primo soup businesses from CanGro Foods in 2007. In 2018 it made Aylmer soups under licence from ConAgra Brands.[^agcanada] Barcodepedia first listed this barcode in 2008 as a 10 fl oz / 284 ml can.[^archive] | |
| 138 | 145 | <!--/about--> |
Source of v1
# Aylmer Beef Consommé 284 mL <!--product-->
## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 00060000853303
name: Aylmer Beef Consommé 284 mL
name.fr: Consommé de bœuf Aylmer 284 mL
summary: Condensed beef consommé in a 284 mL can, sold in Canada under the Aylmer brand and made by BCI Foods in Saint-Hyacinthe, Quebec.
brand: brand/aylmer
category: category/10000262
net_content: 284 ml
country_of_sale: CA
country_of_origin: CA
pack_format: can
<!--/identity-->
## Relations <!--relations-->
| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
| ------------------- | ---------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | -------- | ------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
| manufactured_by | company/bci-foods | CA | | | | verified | ^adq-consomme | Aliments du Québec lists Aylmer Condensed Beef Consommé 284 mL under BCI Foods Inc.; the maker's site gives BCI's address 4800 Pinard Ave, Saint-Hyacinthe (^aylmer-contact, ^bci) and says all Aylmer soups are made there (^aylmer-home) |
| licensed_to | company/bci-foods | CA | | | | sourced | ^agcanada | In 2018 Baxters Canada (now BCI Foods) made Aylmer soups under licence from ConAgra Brands; current licence terms not published |
| brand_owner_at_sale | company/conagra-brands | CA | | | | sourced | ^agcanada | Licensor of the Aylmer soup brand per the 2018 trade report; ^madeinca says BCI Foods owns Aylmer Soup, see research gaps |
<!--/relations-->
## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price |
| ------- | ------- | ------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | ----- |
| CA | printed | ^pack | The can carries the Aliments préparés au Québec logo and a bilingual French/English Canadian Nutrition Facts table | 2023-02-12 | | CA | |
| CA | derived | ^adq-consomme | Aliments du Québec lists Aylmer Condensed Beef Consommé 284 mL at Maxi, Metro, Provigo, Super C and Walmart; name and size match, no barcode is printed | 2026-09-14 | new | CA | |
<!--/markets-->
## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name | type | locale | from | until |
| -------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Aylmer Consommé | name | fr | | |
| Aylmer Consomme | name | en | | |
| AYLMER Consomme Soup | search | en | | |
<!--/aliases-->
## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state |
| ----------------------------------- | ---- | ----- | -------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ---------------- | ---------------- | ----------- | ---------- | -------- | -------------------------------------- | ----- |
| ingredient/water | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | water | maker-page | | 1 | Water | known |
| ingredient/gelatine | | label | Animal source not stated on the maker's page | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | gelatin | maker-page | | 2 | Gelatin | known |
| ingredient/salt | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | salt | maker-page | | 3 | Salt | known |
| ingredient/seasoning | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | seasoning | maker-page | | 4 | Seasoning | known |
| ingredient/hydrolyzed-plant-protein | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | hydrolyzed | maker-page | | 5 | Hydrolyzed Wheat Corn And Soy Proteins | known |
| ingredient/hydrolyzed-wheat-protein | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | hydrolyzed-wheat | maker-page | hydrolyzed | 1 | Wheat | known |
| ingredient/hydrolyzed-corn-protein | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | hydrolyzed-corn | maker-page | hydrolyzed | 2 | Corn | known |
| ingredient/hydrolyzed-soy-protein | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | hydrolyzed-soy | maker-page | hydrolyzed | 3 | Soy | known |
| ingredient/monosodium-glutamate | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | msg | maker-page | | 6 | Monosodium Glutamate | known |
| ingredient/sugar | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | sugar | maker-page | | 7 | Sugar | known |
| ingredient/colours | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | colour | maker-page | | 8 | Colour | known |
| ingredient/beef-broth | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | beef-broth | maker-page | | 9 | Beef Broth | known |
| ingredient/lactic-acid | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | lactic-acid | maker-page | | 10 | Lactic Acid | known |
| ingredient/natural-onion-flavouring | | label | | | | CA | | | ^aylmer-consomme | onion-flavour | maker-page | | 11 | Natural Onion Flavour | known |
<!--/ingredients-->
## Observations <!--observations-->
| id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
| ---------- | --------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | ---------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ |
| pack-2023 | Canadian can photographed in 2023 | label | CA | | | | 2023-02-12 | supported | | | | ^pack | Front and Nutrition Facts photos only; the ingredient list and net content are not visible on them | | | | can | |
| maker-page | Maker's product page (English) | label | CA | en | | | 2026-09-14 | supported | Water, Gelatin, Salt, Seasoning, Hydrolyzed Wheat Corn And Soy Proteins, Monosodium Glutamate, Sugar, Colour, Beef Broth, Lactic Acid, Natural Onion Flavour. CONTAINS: SOY AND WHEAT | listed | | ^aylmer-consomme | The page prints no barcode; its Nutrition Facts table is identical to the 2023 can photo (20 Calories, 700 mg sodium, 4 g protein per 1/2 cup condensed) | 284 ml | | | can | |
<!--/observations-->
## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
| id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note |
| ------------ | ----------- | ------------------------------ | ------ | ----------- | ------------------------------ | ----------- | ------------ | ------ | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| per-half-cup | pack-2023 | Per 1/2 cup (125 mL) condensed | 125 ml | as_sold | Condensed, before adding water | transcribed | | ^pack | The maker's page prints the same values; % Daily Value only for vitamin A (0 %) on the photo, cut off below |
<!--/nutrition_panels-->
## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
| ------------ | --------------- | ----- | --------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | ------ | ---------------- |
| per-half-cup | energy_kcal | 20 | exact | Calories 20 | known | printed | | |
| per-half-cup | fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | | |
| per-half-cup | saturated_fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | | |
| per-half-cup | trans_fat_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | | |
| per-half-cup | cholesterol_mg | 0 | exact | 0 mg | known | printed | | |
| per-half-cup | sodium_mg | 700 | exact | 700 mg | known | printed | | 29 % Daily Value |
| per-half-cup | carbohydrate_g | 1 | exact | 1 g | known | printed | | |
| per-half-cup | fibre_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | | |
| per-half-cup | sugars_g | 0 | exact | 0 g | known | printed | | |
| per-half-cup | protein_g | 4 | exact | 4 g | known | printed | | |
<!--/nutrition_values-->
## Allergen declarations <!--allergens-->
| observation | allergen | declaration | source | note |
| ----------- | -------- | ----------- | ---------------- | ----------------------- |
| maker-page | soy | contains | ^aylmer-consomme | CONTAINS: SOY AND WHEAT |
| maker-page | wheat | contains | ^aylmer-consomme | CONTAINS: SOY AND WHEAT |
<!--/allergens-->
## Label claims <!--claims-->
| observation | claim | kind | source | note |
| ----------- | --------------------------- | ------------- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------ |
| pack-2023 | Aliments préparés au Québec | certification | ^pack | Logo on the front of the can; a declaration, not our certification |
| pack-2023 | Depuis / Since 1903 | label | ^pack | Printed under the Aylmer logo |
<!--/claims-->
## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
| observation | domain | state | detail | source |
| ----------- | ------------- | -------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------------- |
| | relationships | unknown | No source names the registrant of this barcode's GS1 prefix; the 2008 Barcodepedia line "Nabisco Ltd Canada" was generated from the prefix and is not evidence, so no gs1_prefix_owner row is given | ^archive |
| | relationships | disputed | Brand ownership of Aylmer soups: the 2018 trade report says Baxters Canada used the brand under licence from ConAgra Brands, while Made in CA says Aylmer Soup is owned by BCI Foods Inc. | ^madeinca |
| | identity | unknown | The Québec food directory lists an Aylmer condensed beef consommé 284 mL from Les Aliments BCI under GTIN 061202021170 with different values (15 Calories, 870 mg sodium, pork gelatin); whether it replaced this barcode is not stated | ^repertoire |
| maker-page | ingredients | unknown | No photo of the ingredient list for this barcode; the list is the maker's page, tied to this can by its identical Nutrition Facts table, not by a barcode | ^aylmer-consomme |
| | packaging | unknown | Net content is not visible on the photos; 284 mL comes from the 2008 page, the maker's recipe (a 10 oz can) and the Aliments du Québec listing | ^adq-consomme |
<!--/research_gaps-->
## Research <!--research-->
structure_version: 2
reviewed_on: 2026-09-14
note: Built from the Open Food Facts photos of the can, the maker's product page, the Aliments du Québec listing and the 2018 AGCanada report on the Baxters Canada sale.
<!--/research-->
## References <!--references-->
| ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream |
| --------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------- | -------------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | -------- |
| pack | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/006/000/085/3303/1.jpg | Front of the can and its Nutrition Facts table (Open Food Facts uploads 1 and 2) | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts contributors | pack | 2023-02-12 | 0060000853303 | Upload 2: https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/006/000/085/3303/2.jpg | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | |
| off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0060000853303 | Open Food Facts: Consommé | 2026-09-14 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 0060000853303 | | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | |
| aylmer-consomme | https://aylmersoup.ca/product/consomme/ | Beef Consommé | 2026-09-14 | Aylmer Soup | manufacturer | | | Ingredient List; Nutrition Facts | | | |
| aylmer-home | https://aylmersoup.ca/ | Aylmer Soup: Your Secret Ingredient | 2026-09-14 | Aylmer Soup | manufacturer | | | Products | | | |
| aylmer-contact | https://aylmersoup.ca/contact-us/ | Contact us | 2026-09-14 | Aylmer Soup | manufacturer | | | | | | |
| bci | https://bcifoods.com | BCI Foods | 2026-09-14 | BCI Foods Inc. | manufacturer | | | | | | |
| adq-consomme | https://alimentsduquebec.com/en/certified-products/prepared-dishes/condensed-beef-consomme | Aylmer Condensed Beef Consommé | 2026-09-14 | Aliments du Québec | registry | | | | | | |
| repertoire | https://www.repertoirealimentsquebecois.gouv.qc.ca/Produit/Index/8219288 | AYLMER CONSOMME DE BOEUF CONDENSÉ | 2026-09-14 | Gouvernement du Québec | registry | | 061202021170 | | | | |
| agcanada | https://web.archive.org/web/20180620004409/https://www.agcanada.com/daily/soup-maker-baxters-sells-canadian-arm | Soup maker Baxters sells Canadian arm | 2026-09-14 | AGCanada | publication | 2018 | | Wayback Machine capture of 2018-06-20 | | | |
| champlain | https://www.champlaincanada.com/portfolio/baxters-canada-inc-bci/ | BCI Foods | 2026-09-14 | Champlain Financial Corporation | publication | | | | | | |
| madeinca | https://madeinca.ca/canned-soup-aylmer-soup/ | Canned Soup: Aylmer Soup | 2026-09-14 | Made in CA | other | | | | | | |
| gleif | https://api.gleif.org/api/v1/lei-records/254900FMHZU42K7BMU89 | LEI record 254900FMHZU42K7BMU89: Les Aliments BCI Inc. | 2026-09-14 | GLEIF | registry | | 254900FMHZU42K7BMU89 | | CC0 | | |
| archive | https://web.archive.org/web/20081202075943/http://en.barcodepedia.com/060000853303/aylmer-consomme-soup | 060000853303 - AYLMER Consomme Soup on Barcodepedia.com | 2026-09-14 | Barcodepedia | catalogue | 2008-12-02 | | Wayback Machine capture; originally from upcdatabase.com | | | |
<!--/references-->
## About <!--about-->
Aylmer Beef Consommé is a condensed beef consommé in a 284 mL can, sold in Canada with a red Aylmer label reading "Depuis / Since 1903" and the Aliments préparés au Québec logo.[^pack] Aylmer soups are made in Saint-Hyacinthe, Quebec,[^aylmer-home] by BCI Foods, which lists this consommé among its Aliments du Québec products at Maxi, Metro, Provigo, Super C and Walmart.[^adq-consomme] The maker's list starts with water, gelatin and salt and declares soy and wheat. Its Nutrition Facts table matches a 2023 photo of this can: 20 Calories and 700 mg sodium per ½ cup (125 mL) condensed.[^aylmer-consomme]
Baxters Canada, now BCI Foods, bought the Aylmer and Primo soup businesses from CanGro Foods in 2007. In 2018 it made Aylmer soups under licence from ConAgra Brands.[^agcanada] Barcodepedia first listed this barcode in 2008 as a 10 fl oz / 284 ml can.[^archive]
<!--/about-->