Extra Spearmint Sugar Free Chewing Gum 15 sticks: version 2

Saved 2026-09-25 15:31 by @benjaminsen (bot): Open Food Facts photos requested with the result. This is the current version.

Source of v2

# Extra Spearmint Sugar Free Chewing Gum 15 sticks <!--product-->

## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 00022000008992
name: Extra Spearmint Sugar Free Chewing Gum 15 sticks
family: family/wrigley-s-extra
default_observation: maker-2026
summary: Wrigley's Extra spearmint sugar free chewing gum in the American 15-stick slim pack, sold in the United States.
brand: brand/wrigley-s
category: category/10006390
country_of_sale: US
piece_count: 15
pack_format: slim pack
status: active
last_seen: 2026-09-25
last_seen_note: Listed on the maker's product page and at two US hardware-store listings on this date
<!--/identity-->

## Relations <!--relations-->
| role                | target                        | market | from | until | ended | status  | source    | note                                                                                                                                                                      |
| ------------------- | ----------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| brand_owner_at_sale | company/wm-wrigley-jr-company | global |      |       |       | sourced | ^wp-extra | Wikipedia: Extra is a brand of sugarfree chewing gum produced by the Wrigley Company; Wrigley has been a subsidiary of Mars, Incorporated since 2008                      |
| gs1_prefix_owner    | company/wm-wrigley-jr-company |        |      |       |       | derived | ^amazon   | prefix 0022000, held on inference by Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company; the amazon.com listing of this UPC names WM. Wrigley Jr. Company, Chicago, IL 60642 as manufacturer contact |
<!--/relations-->

## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status  | source    | note                                                                                                                                                                            | observed   | condition | origin | price    |
| ------- | ------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | -------- |
| US      | sourced | ^koopman  | Koopman Lumber, Sharon, Massachusetts: "Extra Spearmint Gum, 15 Pc.", UPC 022000008992, SKU 3314275, model 487029, regular price per pack                                       | 2026-09-25 | new       |        | USD 2.77 |
| US      | sourced | ^wdbryant | W.D. Bryant & Son, Corbin, Kentucky: "Wrigley's Extra Sugar Free Spearmint Chewing Gum 15 pc", UPC 022000008992, SKU 9026331; price per single pack, ordered in multiples of 10 | 2026-09-25 | new       |        | USD 2.79 |
| US      | sourced | ^amazon   | amazon.com ASIN B01GFPSAUA prints UPC 022000008992 and sells one 15-stick pack, titled as a Back to School edition; the page showed no featured offer, so no price is recorded  | 2026-09-25 |           |        |          |
<!--/markets-->

## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name                                                         | type   | locale | from | until |
| ------------------------------------------------------------ | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Extra Spearmint                                              | name   | en     |      |       |
| EXTRA Spearmint Sugar Free Chewing Gum, 15-Stick Single Pack | search | en     |      |       |
| Extra Spearmint Gum, 15 Pc.                                  | search | en     |      |       |
| Wrigley's Extra Sugar Free Spearmint Chewing Gum 15 pc       | search | en     |      |       |
<!--/aliases-->

## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient                                 | role        | kind  | note                                                                      | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id  | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name                    | state |
| ------------------------------------------ | ----------- | ----- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ------ | --- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | ------------------------------- | ----- |
| ingredient/sorbitol                        |             | label |                                                                           |         |       |        |      |       | ^eg    | i1  | maker-2026  |           | 1        | Sorbitol                        | known |
| ingredient/gum-base                        |             | label |                                                                           |         |       |        |      |       | ^eg    | i2  | maker-2026  |           | 2        | Gum Base                        | known |
| ingredient/glycerol                        |             | label |                                                                           |         |       |        |      |       | ^eg    | i3  | maker-2026  |           | 3        | Glycerol                        | known |
| ingredient/natural-flavourings             |             | label | One of two components of the printed "Natural And Artificial Flavors"     |         |       |        |      |       | ^eg    | i4a | maker-2026  |           | 4        | Natural And Artificial Flavors  | known |
| ingredient/artificial-flavouring           |             | label | Second component of the printed "Natural And Artificial Flavors"          |         |       |        |      |       | ^eg    | i4b | maker-2026  |           | 4        | Natural And Artificial Flavors  | known |
| ingredient/hydrogenated-starch-hydrolysate |             | label | First of the ingredients declared under "Less Than 2% Of"                 |         |       |        |      |       | ^eg    | i5  | maker-2026  |           | 5        | Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate | known |
| ingredient/aspartame                       | sweetener   | label | Declared under "Less Than 2% Of"                                          |         |       |        |      |       | ^eg    | i6  | maker-2026  |           | 6        | Aspartame                       | known |
| ingredient/mannitol                        |             | label | Declared under "Less Than 2% Of"                                          |         |       |        |      |       | ^eg    | i7  | maker-2026  |           | 7        | Mannitol                        | known |
| ingredient/acesulfame-k                    | sweetener   | label | Declared under "Less Than 2% Of"                                          |         |       |        |      |       | ^eg    | i8  | maker-2026  |           | 8        | Acesulfame K                    | known |
| ingredient/soy-lecithin                    |             | label | Declared under "Less Than 2% Of"                                          |         |       |        |      |       | ^eg    | i9  | maker-2026  |           | 9        | Soy Lecithin                    | known |
| ingredient/butylated-hydroxytoluene        | antioxidant | label | Declared under "Less Than 2% Of" with the purpose "To Maintain Freshness" |         |       |        |      |       | ^eg    | i10 | maker-2026  |           | 10       | Bht (To Maintain Freshness)     | known |
| ingredient/colours                         | colour      | label | Class name heading the bracket of two colours                             |         |       |        |      |       | ^eg    | i11 | maker-2026  |           | 11       | Colors                          | known |
| ingredient/turmeric                        | colour      | label |                                                                           |         |       |        |      |       | ^eg    | i12 | maker-2026  | i11       | 1        | Turmeric                        | known |
| ingredient/brilliant-blue-fcf              | colour      | label | The aluminium lake of Blue 1                                              |         |       |        |      |       | ^eg    | i13 | maker-2026  | i11       | 2        | Blue 1 Lake                     | known |
<!--/ingredients-->

## Observations <!--observations-->
| id         | label                                                          | kind  | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed   | status      | ingredients_text                                                                                                                                                                                                                           | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source     | note                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
| ---------- | -------------------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | ---------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ |
| maker-2026 | US 15-stick slim pack as described on the maker's product page | label | US     | en       |            |             | 2026-09-25 | supported   | INGREDIENTS: Sorbitol, Gum Base, Glycerol, Natural And Artificial Flavors; Less Than 2% Of: Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate, Aspartame, Mannitol, Acesulfame K, Soy Lecithin, Bht (To Maintain Freshness), Colors (Turmeric, Blue 1 Lake). | listed                  |                          | ^eg        | Nutrition Facts and ingredient statement as reproduced on extragum.com, whose where-to-buy link for this page carries SKU 022000008992; the page gives 15 pieces and adds "Please refer to the product label for the most accurate nutrition, ingredient, and allergen information" |             |               | 15          | slim pack   |              |
| front-2025 | Front of the 15-stick pack photographed in 2025                | label |        | en       |            |             | 2025-01-17 | unconfirmed |                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            |                         |                          | ^off-front | Open Food Facts raw upload 1 (1230 x 2304 px), slightly blurred: Wrigley's Extra, "Long Lasting Flavor", Spearmint, "15 Sticks", "Sugarfree Gum", "Naturally and Artificially Flavored". Only the front is photographed; the market is not stated on it                             |             |               | 15          | slim pack   |              |
<!--/observations-->

## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
| id       | observation | label                        | basis | basis_state | basis_note                                             | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note                                                                                                 |
| -------- | ----------- | ---------------------------- | ----- | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------------ | ----------- | ------------ | ------ | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| np-serve | maker-2026  | Per serving, 1 piece (2.5 g) | 2.5 g | as_sold     | Serving size 1 piece (2.5g); servings per container 15 | transcribed |              | ^eg    | US Nutrition Facts panel as given on the maker's page; "Not a significant source of other nutrients" |
<!--/nutrition_panels-->

## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
| panel    | nutrient       | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value | state | method  | source | note                               |
| -------- | -------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | ------ | ---------------------------------- |
| np-serve | energy_kcal    | 5     |           |           |            | 5             | known | printed | ^eg    | Printed as "Calories"              |
| np-serve | fat_g          | 0     |           |           | 0          | 0 g           | known | printed | ^eg    | Printed as "Total Fat"             |
| np-serve | sodium_mg      | 0     |           |           | 0          | 0 mg          | known | printed | ^eg    |                                    |
| np-serve | carbohydrate_g | 2     |           |           | 1          | 2 g           | known | printed | ^eg    | Printed as "Total Carbohydrate"    |
| np-serve | sugars_g       | 0     |           |           |            | 0 g           | known | printed | ^eg    | Printed as "Total Sugars"          |
| np-serve | added_sugars_g | 0     |           |           | 0          | 0 g           | known | printed | ^eg    | Printed as "Includes Added Sugars" |
| np-serve | polyols_g      | 2     |           |           |            | 2 g           | known | printed | ^eg    | Printed as "Sugar Alcohol"         |
| np-serve | protein_g      | 0     |           |           |            | 0 g           | known | printed | ^eg    |                                    |
<!--/nutrition_values-->

## Allergen declarations <!--allergens-->
| observation | allergen | declaration | source | note                                          |
| ----------- | -------- | ----------- | ------ | --------------------------------------------- |
| maker-2026  | soybeans | contains    | ^eg    | The ingredient statement lists "Soy Lecithin" |
<!--/allergens-->

## Label claims <!--claims-->
| observation | claim                                    | kind         | source     | note                                                                  |
| ----------- | ---------------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| maker-2026  | Sugar Free                               | manufacturer | ^eg        | In the product name on the maker's page                               |
| maker-2026  | Phenylketonurics: contains phenylalanine | label        | ^eg        | Mandatory warning for aspartame, reproduced below the ingredient list |
| front-2025  | Sugarfree Gum                            | label        | ^off-front | Printed beside "15 Sticks" at the lower left of the front             |
| front-2025  | Long Lasting Flavor                      | label        | ^off-front | Printed under the Extra logo                                          |
| front-2025  | Naturally and Artificially Flavored      | label        | ^off-front | Printed at the lower right of the front                               |
<!--/claims-->

## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
| observation | domain        | state    | detail                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 | source    |
| ----------- | ------------- | -------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | --------- |
| maker-2026  | packaging     | unknown  | The net weight of the pack is not stated by the maker's page or the retailer listings read; W.D. Bryant gives "0.11 oz", which does not fit fifteen 2.5 g pieces, and amazon.com gives 1.59 ounces as a shipping weight, so no net_content is recorded | ^wdbryant |
| front-2025  | markets       | disputed | Open Food Facts countries_tags lists Spain and the record's languages include Spanish, but the only photo is an English-language front with no Spanish text visible, so Spain is not recorded as a market                                              | ^off      |
|             | images        | unknown  | Only a slightly blurred front photo is available; no back, ingredient or nutrition panel photo of this pack was found                                                                                                                                  | ^off      |
|             | markets       | unknown  | Dollar General lists "EXTRA Gum Spearmint Sugar Free Chewing Gum, Single Pack, 15 Stick" under this UPC but its page refused retrieval (HTTP 403), so it is not cited as a listing                                                                     |           |
|             | relationships | unknown  | The holder of GS1 prefix 0022000 is not named by a source read, so no prefix is written to a company; the relation rests on the inference recorded on the Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company page                                                                 |           |
<!--/research_gaps-->

## Research <!--research-->
structure_version: 2
reviewed_on: 2026-09-25
note: New entry built from the maker's product page (nutrition facts and ingredients), two US hardware-store listings and the amazon.com listing that print the UPC, the Open Food Facts front photo, and Wikipedia for the brand.
<!--/research-->

## Meta <!--meta-->
title: Extra Spearmint Sugar Free Chewing Gum, 15-stick slim pack (UPC 022000008992)
description: The American 15-stick slim pack of Wrigley's Extra spearmint sugar free chewing gum: ingredients, nutrition facts, brand owner and US store listings.
<!--/meta-->

## Images <!--images-->
| asset              | kind  | source          | licence      | attribution                  | url                                                   | accessed   | note | provider_entity_id | provider_image_id | source_image_url                                                                      | download_url | retrieved_at             | matched_barcode | match_method | match_confidence | original_width | original_height | stored_width | stored_height | upscaled | observation |
| ------------------ | ----- | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---- | ------------------ | ----------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ------------------------ | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------- | -------------- | --------------- | ------------ | ------------- | -------- | ----------- |
| front-0b30a300.jpg | front | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0022000008992 | 2026-09-25 |      | 0022000008992      | front_es          | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/002/200/000/8992/front_es.3.full.jpg |              | 2026-09-25T15:31:26.371Z | 0022000008992   | barcode      | 1                | 1230           | 2304            | 854          | 1600          |          |             |
<!--/images-->

## References <!--references-->
| ref        | url                                                                                                  | title                                                                             | accessed   | publisher         | kind         | published  | record_id     | locator                                | licence      | attribution                  | upstream |
| ---------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ----------------- | ------------ | ---------- | ------------- | -------------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | -------- |
| eg         | https://www.extragum.com/products/extra-spearmint-sugar-free-chewing-gum-15-stick-single-pack-single | EXTRA Spearmint Sugar Free Chewing Gum, 15-Stick Single Pack                      | 2026-09-25 | Mars Wrigley      | manufacturer |            | 022000008992  | Nutrition tab and ingredient statement |              |                              |          |
| koopman    | https://shop.koopmanlumber.com/p/wrigleys-extra-sugar-free-spearmint-chewing-gum-022000008992        | Extra Spearmint Gum, 15 Pc., Koopman Lumber                                       | 2026-09-25 | Koopman Lumber    | retailer     |            | 3314275       |                                        |              |                              |          |
| wdbryant   | https://wdbryant.com/p/wrigleys-extra-sugar-free-spearmint-chewing-gum-022000008992                  | Wrigley's Extra Sugar Free Spearmint Chewing Gum 15 pc 0.11 oz, W.D. Bryant & Son | 2026-09-25 | W.D. Bryant & Son | retailer     |            | 9026331       |                                        |              |                              |          |
| amazon     | https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01GFPSAUA                                                                 | EXTRA Spearmint Sugar Free Chewing Gum, Back to School, 15 Stick Pack             | 2026-09-25 | Amazon.com        | retailer     |            | B01GFPSAUA    | Product details: UPC 022000008992      |              |                              |          |
| off        | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0022000008992                                                | Open Food Facts record 0022000008992                                              | 2026-09-25 | Open Food Facts   | catalogue    | 2025-05-22 | 0022000008992 |                                        | ODbL         | Open Food Facts contributors |          |
| off-front  | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/002/200/000/8992/1.jpg                              | Front of the 15-stick Extra Spearmint pack                                        | 2026-09-25 | Open Food Facts   | pack         | 2025-01-17 |               | Front panel, raw upload 1              | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors |          |
| wp-extra   | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extra_(gum)                                                            | Extra (gum)                                                                       | 2026-09-25 | Wikipedia         | publication  |            |               |                                        | CC BY-SA     | Wikipedia contributors       |          |
| wp-wrigley | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wrigley_Company                                                        | Wrigley Company                                                                   | 2026-09-25 | Wikipedia         | publication  |            |               |                                        | CC BY-SA     | Wikipedia contributors       |          |
<!--/references-->

## About <!--about-->
Extra Spearmint in the 15-stick slim pack is one of the basic American packs of Extra, the sugarfree chewing gum line the Wrigley Company launched in the United States in 1984.[^wp-extra] The maker's page lists fifteen pieces of 2.5 g, each with 5 calories and 2 g of sugar alcohol, and an ingredient list led by sorbitol, gum base and glycerol, sweetened with aspartame and acesulfame K and coloured with turmeric and Blue 1 lake.[^eg] The front of the pack promises "Long Lasting Flavor".[^off-front] Wrigley, the world's largest chewing gum maker, has been a subsidiary of Mars, Incorporated since 2008.[^wp-wrigley] The pack sells at US hardware stores for USD 2.77 to 2.79 and is listed on amazon.com.[^koopman][^wdbryant][^amazon]
<!--/about-->