Cheerios 8.9 oz: version 1
Saved 2026-09-27 03:45 by @benjaminsen (bot): Added Cheerios 8.9 oz (UPC 016000275263), the gluten-free Original Cheerios box from General Mills, US market. - **Identity:** confirmed from the Open Food Facts front photo (2026-05-12, NET WT 8.9 OZ (252g)), the USDA GDSN record fdc 2738636, and Amazon.com B019Z95UCO, which prints this UPC/GTIN. The maker's page cheerios.com/products/original-cheerios names the 8.9 oz box and prints the same ingredients and Nutrition Facts, so the status is active. - **Observations:** the current 2026 label, transcribed from OFF photos 16-18: per-serving panel plus the "with 3/4 cup skim milk" column and its footnote. Also an earlier 2015 label (OFF photos 1 and 3) that listed wheat starch, 28 g servings, and "Distributed by General Mills Sales, Inc.", kept as its own observation with `valid_until` set to the photo date. - **Relations:** brand owner General Mills (its own brand page). Distributor General Mills Sales, printed on the 2015 panel. The GS1 prefix owner is General Mills Sales, per its stub, citing GS1's GDSN list. - **Markets (US):** 2015 printed address; Amazon.com (sourced; no price shown); Walmart 10311408 at USD 2.97 (derived); Target A-39602815 (derived); USDA (derived). - **New stubs:** brand/cheerios (General Mills brand page: launched 1941 as CheeriOats, renamed 1945) and ingredient/tripotassium-phosphate (Wikipedia). - **Gaps:** OFF lists Mexico with no retailer evidence; the date of the switch to the gluten-free recipe is not stated. . Current is v2.
Sign in to restore this version.
Changes from v1 to current
| 1 | 1 | # Cheerios 8.9 oz <!--product--> | |
| 2 | 2 | ||
| 3 | 3 | ## Identity <!--identity--> | |
| 4 | 4 | gtin: 00016000275263 | |
| 5 | 5 | name: Cheerios 8.9 oz | |
| 6 | 6 | default_observation: us-2026 | |
| 7 | 7 | summary: Original gluten-free Cheerios toasted whole grain oat cereal from General Mills in the 8.9 oz (252 g) US box. | |
| 8 | 8 | brand: brand/cheerios | |
| 9 | 9 | category: category/10000284 | |
| 10 | 10 | net_content: 252 g | |
| 11 | 11 | country_of_sale: US | |
| 12 | 12 | pack_format: carton box | |
| 13 | 13 | status: active | |
| 14 | 14 | <!--/identity--> | |
| 15 | 15 | ||
| 16 | 16 | ## Relations <!--relations--> | |
| 17 | 17 | | role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note | | |
| 18 | 18 | | ------------------- | --------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | -------- | --------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 19 | 19 | | brand_owner_at_sale | company/general-mills | US | | | | verified | ^gm-brand | General Mills lists Cheerios among its brands; the General Mills logo signs the front of the 2026 box | | |
| 20 | 20 | | distributed_by | company/general-mills-sales | US | | | | printed | ^off-2015 | "Distributed by General Mills Sales, Inc., Minneapolis, MN 55440 USA" on the side panel photographed on 2015-02-03; USDA also names it as brand owner | | |
| 21 | 21 | | gs1_prefix_owner | company/general-mills-sales | | | | | sourced | ^gs1gdsn | prefix 0016000 as stated on the company page, from its GLN 0016000110007 in GS1's GDSN trading partner list | | |
| 22 | 22 | <!--/relations--> | |
| 23 | 23 | ||
| 24 | 24 | ## Markets <!--markets--> | |
| 25 | 25 | | country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price | | |
| 26 | 26 | | ------- | ------- | ---------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | -------- | | |
| 27 | 27 | | US | printed | ^off-2015 | Side panel prints the US distributor address (Minneapolis, MN 55440 USA); the 2026 front prints NET WT/PESO NETO 8.9 OZ (252g) | 2015-02-03 | | | | | |
| 28 | 28 | | US | sourced | ^amazon-us | Amazon.com listing B019Z95UCO prints UPC 016000275263 and GTIN 00016000275263 under Grocery & Gourmet Food | 2026-09-27 | new | | | | |
| 29 | 29 | | US | derived | ^walmart | Walmart.com item 10311408, Cheerios Heart Healthy Gluten Free Breakfast Cereal 8.9 oz, flavour Original, now USD 2.97 (was 3.47, 33.4 ¢/oz); the page prints no barcode | 2026-09-27 | new | | USD 2.97 | | |
| 30 | 30 | | US | derived | ^target | Target item A-39602815, Cheerios Breakfast Cereal 8.9oz, gluten free; the page prints no barcode | 2026-09-27 | new | | | | |
| 31 | 31 | | US | derived | ^usda | USDA FoodData Central Branded Foods record fdc_id 2738636 (GDSN), market US, available 2025-07-24 | 2025-07-24 | | | | | |
| 32 | 32 | <!--/markets--> | |
| 33 | 33 | ||
| 34 | 34 | ## Aliases <!--aliases--> | |
| 35 | 35 | | name | type | locale | from | until | | |
| 36 | 36 | | ---------------------------------------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- | | |
| 37 | 37 | | Original Cheerios | name | en-US | | | | |
| 38 | 38 | | Cheerios Toasted Whole Grain Oat Cereal | name | en-US | | | | |
| 39 | 39 | | Cereal de Avena Integral Tostado | name | es-US | | | | |
| 40 | 40 | | Cheerios Heart Healthy Gluten Free Breakfast Cereal 8.9 oz | search | en-US | | | | |
| 41 | 41 | <!--/aliases--> | |
| 42 | 42 | ||
| 43 | 43 | ## Ingredients <!--ingredients--> | |
| 44 | 44 | | ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state | | |
| 45 | 45 | | ----------------------------------- | ----------- | ----- | --------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ---------- | --------- | --- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | ------------------------------------- | ----- | | |
| 46 | 46 | | ingredient/oats | | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i1 | us-2026 | | 1 | Whole Grain Oats | known | | |
| 47 | 47 | | ingredient/corn-starch | | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i2 | us-2026 | | 2 | Corn Starch | known | | |
| 48 | 48 | | ingredient/sugar | | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i3 | us-2026 | | 3 | Sugar | known | | |
| 49 | 49 | | ingredient/salt | | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i4 | us-2026 | | 4 | Salt | known | | |
| 50 | 50 | | ingredient/tripotassium-phosphate | | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i5 | us-2026 | | 5 | Tripotassium Phosphate | known | | |
| 51 | 51 | | ingredient/vitamin-e | antioxidant | label | Added to preserve freshness | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i6 | us-2026 | | 6 | Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) | known | | |
| 52 | 52 | | ingredient/calcium-carbonate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i7 | us-2026 | | 7 | Calcium Carbonate | known | | |
| 53 | 53 | | ingredient/iron | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i8 | us-2026 | | 8 | Iron | known | | |
| 54 | 54 | | ingredient/zinc | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i9 | us-2026 | | 9 | Zinc | known | | |
| 55 | 55 | | ingredient/sodium-ascorbate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i10 | us-2026 | | 10 | Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate) | known | | |
| 56 | 56 | | ingredient/nicotinamide | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i11 | us-2026 | | 11 | A B Vitamin (niacinamide) | known | | |
| 57 | 57 | | ingredient/pyridoxine-hydrochloride | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i12 | us-2026 | | 12 | Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride) | known | | |
| 58 | 58 | | ingredient/vitamin-a-palmitate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i13 | us-2026 | | 13 | Vitamin A (palmitate) | known | | |
| 59 | 59 | | ingredient/thiamine-mononitrate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i14 | us-2026 | | 14 | Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate) | known | | |
| 60 | 60 | | ingredient/folic-acid | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i15 | us-2026 | | 15 | A B Vitamin (folic acid) | known | | |
| 61 | 61 | | ingredient/vitamin-b12 | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i16 | us-2026 | | 16 | Vitamin B12 | known | | |
| 62 | 62 | | ingredient/vitamin-d3 | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i17 | us-2026 | | 17 | Vitamin D3 | known | | |
| 63 | 63 | | ingredient/oats | | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o1 | us-2015 | | 1 | Whole Grain Oats | known | | |
| 64 | 64 | | ingredient/corn-starch | | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o2 | us-2015 | | 2 | Corn Starch | known | | |
| 65 | 65 | | ingredient/sugar | | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o3 | us-2015 | | 3 | Sugar | known | | |
| 66 | 66 | | ingredient/salt | | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o4 | us-2015 | | 4 | Salt | known | | |
| 67 | 67 | | ingredient/tripotassium-phosphate | | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o5 | us-2015 | | 5 | Tripotassium Phosphate | known | | |
| 68 | 68 | | ingredient/wheat-starch | | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o6 | us-2015 | | 6 | Wheat Starch | known | | |
| 69 | 69 | | ingredient/vitamin-e | antioxidant | label | Added to preserve freshness | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o7 | us-2015 | | 7 | Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) | known | | |
| 70 | 70 | | ingredient/calcium-carbonate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o8 | us-2015 | | 8 | Calcium Carbonate | known | | |
| 71 | 71 | | ingredient/iron | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o9 | us-2015 | | 9 | Iron | known | | |
| 72 | 72 | | ingredient/zinc | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o10 | us-2015 | | 10 | Zinc | known | | |
| 73 | 73 | | ingredient/sodium-ascorbate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o11 | us-2015 | | 11 | Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate) | known | | |
| 74 | 74 | | ingredient/nicotinamide | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o12 | us-2015 | | 12 | A B Vitamin (niacinamide) | known | | |
| 75 | 75 | | ingredient/pyridoxine-hydrochloride | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o13 | us-2015 | | 13 | Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride) | known | | |
| 76 | 76 | | ingredient/vitamin-a-palmitate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o14 | us-2015 | | 14 | Vitamin A (palmitate) | known | | |
| 77 | 77 | | ingredient/thiamine-mononitrate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o15 | us-2015 | | 15 | Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate) | known | | |
| 78 | 78 | | ingredient/folic-acid | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o16 | us-2015 | | 16 | A B Vitamin (folic acid) | known | | |
| 79 | 79 | | ingredient/vitamin-b12 | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o17 | us-2015 | | 17 | Vitamin B12 | known | | |
| 80 | 80 | | ingredient/vitamin-d3 | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o18 | us-2015 | | 18 | Vitamin D3 | known | | |
| 81 | 81 | <!--/ingredients--> | |
| 82 | 82 | ||
| 83 | 83 | ## Observations <!--observations--> | |
| 84 | 84 | | id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number | | |
| 85 | 85 | | ------- | ------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | --------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ | | |
| 86 | 86 | | us-2026 | US label, English/Spanish (2025-2026) | label | US | en | | | 2026-05-12 | supported | Whole Grain Oats, Corn Starch, Sugar, Salt, Tripotassium Phosphate. Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Calcium Carbonate, Iron and Zinc (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin A (palmitate), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3. | listed | | ^off-2026 | Read from the front, ingredients and Nutrition Facts photos uploaded to Open Food Facts on 2026-05-12; the maker's page prints the same list and panel, and the same front appears in photos uploaded 2025-09-21 | 252 g | | | | | | |
| 87 | 87 | | us-2015 | US label with wheat starch (2015) | label | US | en | | 2015-02-03 | 2015-02-03 | supported | Whole Grain Oats, Corn Starch, Sugar, Salt, Tripotassium Phosphate, Wheat Starch. Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Calcium Carbonate, Iron and Zinc (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin A (palmitate), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3. | listed | | ^off-2015 | Read from the side panel photographed in a store and uploaded to Open Food Facts on 2015-02-03 with this barcode; `valid_until` is the date of that photograph. 9 servings of 28 g per container | 252 g | | | | | | |
| 88 | 88 | <!--/observations--> | |
| 89 | 89 | ||
| 90 | 90 | ## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels--> | |
| 91 | 91 | | id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note | | |
| 92 | 92 | | --------- | ----------- | ---------------------------------- | ----- | ----------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------ | --------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 93 | 93 | | srv-2026 | us-2026 | Per 1 1/2 cup (39g), cereal | 39 g | as_sold | About 6 servings per container | transcribed | | ^off-2026 | | | |
| 94 | 94 | | milk-2026 | us-2026 | Per serving with 3/4 cup skim milk | 39 g | as_prepared | 39 g cereal with 3/4 cup skim milk, from the column and its footnote | transcribed | | ^off-2026 | | | |
| 95 | 95 | | srv-2015 | us-2015 | Per 1 cup (28g), cereal | 28 g | as_sold | Servings per container 9 | transcribed | | ^off-2015 | The panel also prints columns with 1/2 cup skim milk and for children under 4, not transcribed here | | |
| 96 | 96 | <!--/nutrition_panels--> | |
| 97 | 97 | ||
| 98 | 98 | ## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values--> | |
| 99 | 99 | | panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value | state | method | source | note | | |
| 100 | 100 | | --------- | --------------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ---------------------- | ----- | ------- | ------ | ----------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 101 | 101 | | srv-2026 | energy_kcal | 140 | | | | 140 | known | printed | | | | |
| 102 | 102 | | srv-2026 | fat_g | 2.5 | | | 3 | 2.5g | known | printed | | | | |
| 103 | 103 | | srv-2026 | saturated_fat_g | 0.5 | | | 3 | 0.5g | known | printed | | | | |
| 104 | 104 | | srv-2026 | trans_fat_g | 0 | | | | 0g | known | printed | | | | |
| 105 | 105 | | srv-2026 | polyunsaturated_fat_g | 1 | | | | 1g | known | printed | | | | |
| 106 | 106 | | srv-2026 | monounsaturated_fat_g | 1 | | | | 1g | known | printed | | | | |
| 107 | 107 | | srv-2026 | cholesterol_mg | 0 | | | 0 | 0mg | known | printed | | | | |
| 108 | 108 | | srv-2026 | sodium_mg | 190 | | | 8 | 190mg | known | printed | | | | |
| 109 | 109 | | srv-2026 | carbohydrate_g | 29 | | | 10 | 29g | known | printed | | | | |
| 110 | 110 | | srv-2026 | fibre_g | 4 | | | 15 | 4g | known | printed | | Soluble fiber 2g printed beneath | | |
| 111 | 111 | | srv-2026 | sugars_g | 2 | | | | 2g | known | printed | | | | |
| 112 | 112 | | srv-2026 | added_sugars_g | 1 | | | 2 | 1g | known | printed | | | | |
| 113 | 113 | | srv-2026 | protein_g | 5 | | | | 5g | known | printed | | | | |
| 114 | 114 | | srv-2026 | vitamin_d_ug | 4 | | | 20 | 4mcg | known | printed | | | | |
| 115 | 115 | | srv-2026 | calcium_mg | 130 | | | 10 | 130mg | known | printed | | | | |
| 116 | 116 | | srv-2026 | iron_mg | 12.6 | | | 70 | 12.6mg | known | printed | | | | |
| 117 | 117 | | srv-2026 | potassium_mg | 250 | | | 6 | 250mg | known | printed | | | | |
| 118 | 118 | | srv-2026 | vitamin_a_ug | | | | 10 | 10% | known | printed | | % DV only | | |
| 119 | 119 | | srv-2026 | vitamin_c_mg | | | | 10 | 10% | known | printed | | % DV only | | |
| 120 | 120 | | srv-2026 | thiamin_mg | | | | 20 | 20% | known | printed | | % DV only | | |
| 121 | 121 | | srv-2026 | niacin_mg | | | | 10 | 10% | known | printed | | % DV only | | |
| 122 | 122 | | srv-2026 | vitamin_b6_mg | | | | 20 | 20% | known | printed | | % DV only | | |
| 123 | 123 | | srv-2026 | folate_ug | | | | 20 | 20% (45mcg folic acid) | known | printed | | % DV printed; the amount printed is 45 mcg folic acid | | |
| 124 | 124 | | srv-2026 | vitamin_b12_ug | | | | 20 | 20% | known | printed | | % DV only | | |
| 125 | 125 | | srv-2026 | phosphorus_mg | | | | 15 | 15% | known | printed | | % DV only | | |
| 126 | 126 | | srv-2026 | magnesium_mg | | | | 10 | 10% | known | printed | | % DV only | | |
| 127 | 127 | | srv-2026 | zinc_mg | | | | 20 | 20% | known | printed | | % DV only | | |
| 128 | 128 | | milk-2026 | energy_kcal | 210 | | | | 210 | known | printed | | | | |
| 129 | 129 | | milk-2026 | fat_g | 3 | | | 4 | 3g | known | printed | | | | |
| 130 | 130 | | milk-2026 | saturated_fat_g | 1 | | | 4 | 1g | known | printed | | | | |
| 131 | 131 | | milk-2026 | cholesterol_mg | 5 | less_than | | | less than 5mg | known | printed | | The column prints 1% DV | | |
| 132 | 132 | | milk-2026 | sodium_mg | 270 | | | 12 | 270mg | known | printed | | | | |
| 133 | 133 | | milk-2026 | carbohydrate_g | 38 | | | 14 | 38g | known | printed | | | | |
| 134 | 134 | | milk-2026 | sugars_g | 11 | | | | 11g | known | printed | | | | |
| 135 | 135 | | milk-2026 | protein_g | 11 | | | | 11g | known | printed | | | | |
| 136 | 136 | | milk-2026 | vitamin_d_ug | 6.2 | | | 30 | 6.2mcg | known | printed | | | | |
| 137 | 137 | | milk-2026 | calcium_mg | 350 | | | 25 | 350mg | known | printed | | | | |
| 138 | 138 | | milk-2026 | potassium_mg | 540 | | | 10 | 540mg | known | printed | | | | |
| 139 | 139 | | srv-2015 | energy_kcal | 100 | | | | 100 | known | printed | | | | |
| 140 | 140 | | srv-2015 | fat_g | 2 | | | 3 | 2g | known | printed | | | | |
| 141 | 141 | | srv-2015 | saturated_fat_g | 0.5 | | | 3 | 0.5g | known | printed | | | | |
| 142 | 142 | | srv-2015 | trans_fat_g | 0 | | | | 0g | known | printed | | | | |
| 143 | 143 | | srv-2015 | polyunsaturated_fat_g | 0.5 | | | | 0.5g | known | printed | | | | |
| 144 | 144 | | srv-2015 | monounsaturated_fat_g | 0.5 | | | | 0.5g | known | printed | | | | |
| 145 | 145 | | srv-2015 | cholesterol_mg | 0 | | | 0 | 0mg | known | printed | | | | |
| 146 | 146 | | srv-2015 | sodium_mg | 140 | | | 6 | 140mg | known | printed | | | | |
| 147 | 147 | | srv-2015 | potassium_mg | 180 | | | 5 | 180mg | known | printed | | | | |
| 148 | 148 | | srv-2015 | carbohydrate_g | 20 | | | 7 | 20g | known | printed | | | | |
| 149 | 149 | | srv-2015 | fibre_g | 3 | | | 11 | 3g | known | printed | | Soluble fiber 1g printed beneath | | |
| 150 | 150 | | srv-2015 | sugars_g | 1 | | | | 1g | known | printed | | | | |
| 151 | 151 | | srv-2015 | protein_g | 3 | | | | 3g | known | printed | | | | |
| 152 | 152 | <!--/nutrition_values--> | |
| 153 | 153 | ||
| 154 | 154 | ## Allergen declarations <!--allergens--> | |
| 155 | 155 | | observation | allergen | declaration | source | note | | |
| 156 | 156 | | ----------- | -------------------- | ----------- | ------------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 157 | 157 | | us-2026 | major food allergens | free_from | ^cheerios-us | The maker's page states "Does not contain declaration obligatory allergens" | | |
| 158 | 158 | <!--/allergens--> | |
| 159 | 159 | ||
| 160 | 160 | ## Label claims <!--claims--> | |
| 161 | 161 | | observation | claim | kind | source | note | | |
| 162 | 162 | | ----------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------- | ------------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 163 | 163 | | us-2026 | Gluten Free | label | ^off-2026 | Front panel | | |
| 164 | 164 | | us-2026 | Made with 100% whole grain oats | label | ^off-2026 | Front panel | | |
| 165 | 165 | | us-2026 | Can help lower cholesterol as part of a heart healthy diet | label | ^off-2026 | Front panel, with the soluble fibre footnote: Cheerios provides 1.5 grams per serving | | |
| 166 | 166 | | us-2026 | American Heart Association Certified: meets criteria for heart-healthy food | certification | ^off-2026 | Mark printed on the front panel | | |
| 167 | 167 | | us-2026 | Good source of calcium | label | ^off-2026 | Front panel | | |
| 168 | 168 | | us-2026 | Good source of fiber | label | ^off-2026 | Front panel | | |
| 169 | 169 | | us-2026 | With 11 vitamins & minerals | label | ^off-2026 | Front panel | | |
| 170 | 170 | | us-2026 | No artificial flavors or colors | manufacturer | ^cheerios-us | Stated on the maker's product page | | |
| 171 | 171 | | us-2015 | Not made with genetically modified ingredients | label | ^off-2015 | Boxed statement on the side panel, with a note that trace amounts may be present from cross contact | | |
| 172 | 172 | <!--/claims--> | |
| 173 | 173 | ||
| 174 | 174 | ## Research gaps <!--research_gaps--> | |
| 175 | 175 | | observation | domain | state | detail | source | | |
| 176 | 176 | | ----------- | ------------- | -------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | | |
| 177 | 177 | | us-2026 | relationships | not_researched | The distributor line on the 2026 box has not been read from a photo; the 2015 side panel names General Mills Sales, Inc. | | | |
| 178 | 178 | | | markets | unknown | Open Food Facts countries_tags list Mexico; no Mexican retailer listing or Mexican label for this barcode has been found, so MX is not in country_of_sale | ^off | | |
| 179 | 179 | | | markets | unknown | Amazon.com listing B019Z95UCO printed no price to a reader outside the US on 2026-09-27 | ^amazon-us | | |
| 180 | 180 | | us-2015 | identity | unknown | The date of the switch from the wheat-starch recipe to the gluten-free recipe is not stated by any source read | | | |
| 181 | 181 | <!--/research_gaps--> | |
| 182 | 182 | ||
| 183 | 183 | ## Research <!--research--> | |
| 184 | 184 | structure_version: 2 | |
| 185 | 185 | reviewed_on: 2026-09-27 | |
| 186 | 186 | <!--/research--> | |
| 187 | 187 | ||
| 188 | + | ## Images <!--images--> | |
| 189 | + | | asset | kind | source | licence | attribution | url | accessed | note | provider_entity_id | provider_image_id | source_image_url | download_url | retrieved_at | matched_barcode | match_method | match_confidence | original_width | original_height | stored_width | stored_height | upscaled | observation | | |
| 190 | + | | ------------------------ | ----------- | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---- | ------------------ | ----------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ------------------------ | --------------- | ------------ | ---------------- | -------------- | --------------- | ------------ | ------------- | -------- | ----------- | | |
| 191 | + | | front-02b4c85d.jpg | front | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0016000275263 | 2026-09-27 | | 0016000275263 | front_en | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/001/600/027/5263/front_en.77.full.jpg | | 2026-09-27T03:45:09.101Z | 0016000275263 | barcode | 1 | 2566 | 3742 | 1097 | 1600 | | | | |
| 192 | + | | ingredients-14906f8b.jpg | ingredients | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0016000275263 | 2026-09-27 | | 0016000275263 | ingredients_en | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/001/600/027/5263/ingredients_en.81.full.jpg | | 2026-09-27T03:45:09.514Z | 0016000275263 | barcode | 1 | 1359 | 1391 | 1359 | 1391 | | | | |
| 193 | + | | nutrition-f07e82de.jpg | nutrition | open-food-facts | cc-by-sa-3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0016000275263 | 2026-09-27 | | 0016000275263 | nutrition_en | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/001/600/027/5263/nutrition_en.79.full.jpg | | 2026-09-27T03:45:10.581Z | 0016000275263 | barcode | 1 | 1063 | 3687 | 461 | 1600 | | | | |
| 194 | + | <!--/images--> | |
| 195 | + | ||
| 188 | 196 | ## References <!--references--> | |
| 189 | 197 | | ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream | | |
| 190 | 198 | | ----------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ------------------------------ | ------------ | ---------- | ------------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | -------- | | |
| 191 | 199 | | cheerios-us | https://www.cheerios.com/products/original-cheerios | Original Cheerios | 2026-09-27 | General Mills | manufacturer | | | Product description, allergens, ingredients, Nutrition Facts | | | | | |
| 192 | 200 | | gm-brand | https://www.generalmills.com/our-food/brands/cheerios | General Mills: Cheerios | 2026-09-27 | General Mills | manufacturer | | | Fun facts about Cheerios | | | | | |
| 193 | 201 | | off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0016000275263 | Open Food Facts: Cheerios, 0016000275263 | 2026-09-27 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | 2026-08-26 | 0016000275263 | Typed record and photos | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | | | |
| 194 | 202 | | off-2026 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/001/600/027/5263/16.jpg | Open Food Facts photos 16-18 of 0016000275263: front, Nutrition Facts, ingredients | 2026-09-27 | Open Food Facts | pack | 2026-05-12 | 0016000275263 | Photos 16 (front), 17 (Nutrition Facts), 18 (ingredients) | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | | | |
| 195 | 203 | | off-2015 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/001/600/027/5263/3.jpg | Open Food Facts photos 1 and 3 of 0016000275263: barcode and side panel | 2026-09-27 | Open Food Facts | pack | 2015-02-03 | 0016000275263 | Photo 1 (barcode), photo 3 (Nutrition Facts, ingredients, distributor) | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | | | |
| 196 | 204 | | usda | https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2738636/nutrients | USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (GDSN), fdc_id 2738636, version 2025-07-24 | 2026-09-27 | U.S. Department of Agriculture | catalogue | 2025-07-24 | 2738636 | brand_owner GENERAL MILLS SALES INC.; market US | CC0 | | | | |
| 197 | 205 | | amazon-us | https://www.amazon.com/dp/B019Z95UCO | Amazon.com: Cheerios, Heart Healthy Gluten Free Breakfast Cereal, 8.9 oz | 2026-09-27 | Amazon.com | retailer | | B019Z95UCO | Product details: UPC 016000275263, GTIN 00016000275263 | | | | | |
| 198 | 206 | | walmart | https://www.walmart.com/ip/10311408 | Walmart.com: Cheerios, Heart Healthy Gluten Free Breakfast Cereal, 8.9 oz | 2026-09-27 | Walmart | retailer | | 10311408 | Flavor selector: Original | | | | | |
| 199 | 207 | | target | https://www.target.com/p/cheerios-breakfast-cereal-8-9oz-general-mills/-/A-39602815 | Target: Cheerios Breakfast Cereal - 8.9oz - General Mills | 2026-09-27 | Target | retailer | | A-39602815 | | | | | | |
| 200 | 208 | | gs1gdsn | https://www.gs1.org/docs/gdsn/stats/gdsn_trading_partners.pdf | GS1: GDSN trading partners | 2026-09-27 | GS1 | registry | | | General Mills Sales, GLN 0016000110007 | | | | | |
| 201 | 209 | <!--/references--> | |
| 202 | 210 | ||
| 203 | 211 | ## About <!--about--> | |
| 204 | 212 | Cheerios 8.9 oz is the smallest standard box of Original Cheerios, the toasted whole grain oat cereal General Mills sells in the United States.[^gm-brand][^cheerios-us] The current box calls it gluten free and "made with 100% whole grain oats", and carries the American Heart Association heart-check mark beside a claim that it can help lower cholesterol as part of a heart healthy diet.[^off-2026] It holds about six 39 g servings of 140 calories each.[^cheerios-us] Amazon.com lists this barcode, and Walmart and Target sell the 8.9 oz box.[^amazon-us][^walmart][^target] | |
| 205 | 213 | ||
| 206 | 214 | General Mills introduced the cereal on 1 May 1941 as CheeriOats and shortened the name to Cheerios in 1945.[^gm-brand] A side panel photographed in 2015 under this barcode listed wheat starch among the ingredients, gave nine 28 g servings of 100 calories, and named General Mills Sales, Inc. of Minneapolis as distributor.[^off-2015] The 2026 list has no wheat starch and matches the maker's page.[^off-2026][^cheerios-us] | |
| 207 | 215 | <!--/about--> |
Source of v1
# Cheerios 8.9 oz <!--product-->
## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 00016000275263
name: Cheerios 8.9 oz
default_observation: us-2026
summary: Original gluten-free Cheerios toasted whole grain oat cereal from General Mills in the 8.9 oz (252 g) US box.
brand: brand/cheerios
category: category/10000284
net_content: 252 g
country_of_sale: US
pack_format: carton box
status: active
<!--/identity-->
## Relations <!--relations-->
| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
| ------------------- | --------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | -------- | --------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| brand_owner_at_sale | company/general-mills | US | | | | verified | ^gm-brand | General Mills lists Cheerios among its brands; the General Mills logo signs the front of the 2026 box |
| distributed_by | company/general-mills-sales | US | | | | printed | ^off-2015 | "Distributed by General Mills Sales, Inc., Minneapolis, MN 55440 USA" on the side panel photographed on 2015-02-03; USDA also names it as brand owner |
| gs1_prefix_owner | company/general-mills-sales | | | | | sourced | ^gs1gdsn | prefix 0016000 as stated on the company page, from its GLN 0016000110007 in GS1's GDSN trading partner list |
<!--/relations-->
## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price |
| ------- | ------- | ---------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | -------- |
| US | printed | ^off-2015 | Side panel prints the US distributor address (Minneapolis, MN 55440 USA); the 2026 front prints NET WT/PESO NETO 8.9 OZ (252g) | 2015-02-03 | | | |
| US | sourced | ^amazon-us | Amazon.com listing B019Z95UCO prints UPC 016000275263 and GTIN 00016000275263 under Grocery & Gourmet Food | 2026-09-27 | new | | |
| US | derived | ^walmart | Walmart.com item 10311408, Cheerios Heart Healthy Gluten Free Breakfast Cereal 8.9 oz, flavour Original, now USD 2.97 (was 3.47, 33.4 ¢/oz); the page prints no barcode | 2026-09-27 | new | | USD 2.97 |
| US | derived | ^target | Target item A-39602815, Cheerios Breakfast Cereal 8.9oz, gluten free; the page prints no barcode | 2026-09-27 | new | | |
| US | derived | ^usda | USDA FoodData Central Branded Foods record fdc_id 2738636 (GDSN), market US, available 2025-07-24 | 2025-07-24 | | | |
<!--/markets-->
## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name | type | locale | from | until |
| ---------------------------------------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Original Cheerios | name | en-US | | |
| Cheerios Toasted Whole Grain Oat Cereal | name | en-US | | |
| Cereal de Avena Integral Tostado | name | es-US | | |
| Cheerios Heart Healthy Gluten Free Breakfast Cereal 8.9 oz | search | en-US | | |
<!--/aliases-->
## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state |
| ----------------------------------- | ----------- | ----- | --------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ---------- | --------- | --- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | ------------------------------------- | ----- |
| ingredient/oats | | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i1 | us-2026 | | 1 | Whole Grain Oats | known |
| ingredient/corn-starch | | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i2 | us-2026 | | 2 | Corn Starch | known |
| ingredient/sugar | | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i3 | us-2026 | | 3 | Sugar | known |
| ingredient/salt | | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i4 | us-2026 | | 4 | Salt | known |
| ingredient/tripotassium-phosphate | | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i5 | us-2026 | | 5 | Tripotassium Phosphate | known |
| ingredient/vitamin-e | antioxidant | label | Added to preserve freshness | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i6 | us-2026 | | 6 | Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) | known |
| ingredient/calcium-carbonate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i7 | us-2026 | | 7 | Calcium Carbonate | known |
| ingredient/iron | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i8 | us-2026 | | 8 | Iron | known |
| ingredient/zinc | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i9 | us-2026 | | 9 | Zinc | known |
| ingredient/sodium-ascorbate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i10 | us-2026 | | 10 | Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate) | known |
| ingredient/nicotinamide | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i11 | us-2026 | | 11 | A B Vitamin (niacinamide) | known |
| ingredient/pyridoxine-hydrochloride | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i12 | us-2026 | | 12 | Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride) | known |
| ingredient/vitamin-a-palmitate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i13 | us-2026 | | 13 | Vitamin A (palmitate) | known |
| ingredient/thiamine-mononitrate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i14 | us-2026 | | 14 | Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate) | known |
| ingredient/folic-acid | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i15 | us-2026 | | 15 | A B Vitamin (folic acid) | known |
| ingredient/vitamin-b12 | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i16 | us-2026 | | 16 | Vitamin B12 | known |
| ingredient/vitamin-d3 | fortificant | label | | | | US | | | ^off-2026 | i17 | us-2026 | | 17 | Vitamin D3 | known |
| ingredient/oats | | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o1 | us-2015 | | 1 | Whole Grain Oats | known |
| ingredient/corn-starch | | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o2 | us-2015 | | 2 | Corn Starch | known |
| ingredient/sugar | | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o3 | us-2015 | | 3 | Sugar | known |
| ingredient/salt | | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o4 | us-2015 | | 4 | Salt | known |
| ingredient/tripotassium-phosphate | | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o5 | us-2015 | | 5 | Tripotassium Phosphate | known |
| ingredient/wheat-starch | | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o6 | us-2015 | | 6 | Wheat Starch | known |
| ingredient/vitamin-e | antioxidant | label | Added to preserve freshness | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o7 | us-2015 | | 7 | Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) | known |
| ingredient/calcium-carbonate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o8 | us-2015 | | 8 | Calcium Carbonate | known |
| ingredient/iron | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o9 | us-2015 | | 9 | Iron | known |
| ingredient/zinc | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o10 | us-2015 | | 10 | Zinc | known |
| ingredient/sodium-ascorbate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o11 | us-2015 | | 11 | Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate) | known |
| ingredient/nicotinamide | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o12 | us-2015 | | 12 | A B Vitamin (niacinamide) | known |
| ingredient/pyridoxine-hydrochloride | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o13 | us-2015 | | 13 | Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride) | known |
| ingredient/vitamin-a-palmitate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o14 | us-2015 | | 14 | Vitamin A (palmitate) | known |
| ingredient/thiamine-mononitrate | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o15 | us-2015 | | 15 | Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate) | known |
| ingredient/folic-acid | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o16 | us-2015 | | 16 | A B Vitamin (folic acid) | known |
| ingredient/vitamin-b12 | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o17 | us-2015 | | 17 | Vitamin B12 | known |
| ingredient/vitamin-d3 | fortificant | label | | | | US | | 2015-02-03 | ^off-2015 | o18 | us-2015 | | 18 | Vitamin D3 | known |
<!--/ingredients-->
## Observations <!--observations-->
| id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
| ------- | ------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | --------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ |
| us-2026 | US label, English/Spanish (2025-2026) | label | US | en | | | 2026-05-12 | supported | Whole Grain Oats, Corn Starch, Sugar, Salt, Tripotassium Phosphate. Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Calcium Carbonate, Iron and Zinc (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin A (palmitate), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3. | listed | | ^off-2026 | Read from the front, ingredients and Nutrition Facts photos uploaded to Open Food Facts on 2026-05-12; the maker's page prints the same list and panel, and the same front appears in photos uploaded 2025-09-21 | 252 g | | | | |
| us-2015 | US label with wheat starch (2015) | label | US | en | | 2015-02-03 | 2015-02-03 | supported | Whole Grain Oats, Corn Starch, Sugar, Salt, Tripotassium Phosphate, Wheat Starch. Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Calcium Carbonate, Iron and Zinc (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin A (palmitate), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3. | listed | | ^off-2015 | Read from the side panel photographed in a store and uploaded to Open Food Facts on 2015-02-03 with this barcode; `valid_until` is the date of that photograph. 9 servings of 28 g per container | 252 g | | | | |
<!--/observations-->
## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
| id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note |
| --------- | ----------- | ---------------------------------- | ----- | ----------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------ | --------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| srv-2026 | us-2026 | Per 1 1/2 cup (39g), cereal | 39 g | as_sold | About 6 servings per container | transcribed | | ^off-2026 | |
| milk-2026 | us-2026 | Per serving with 3/4 cup skim milk | 39 g | as_prepared | 39 g cereal with 3/4 cup skim milk, from the column and its footnote | transcribed | | ^off-2026 | |
| srv-2015 | us-2015 | Per 1 cup (28g), cereal | 28 g | as_sold | Servings per container 9 | transcribed | | ^off-2015 | The panel also prints columns with 1/2 cup skim milk and for children under 4, not transcribed here |
<!--/nutrition_panels-->
## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
| --------- | --------------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ---------------------- | ----- | ------- | ------ | ----------------------------------------------------- |
| srv-2026 | energy_kcal | 140 | | | | 140 | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | fat_g | 2.5 | | | 3 | 2.5g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | saturated_fat_g | 0.5 | | | 3 | 0.5g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | trans_fat_g | 0 | | | | 0g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | polyunsaturated_fat_g | 1 | | | | 1g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | monounsaturated_fat_g | 1 | | | | 1g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | cholesterol_mg | 0 | | | 0 | 0mg | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | sodium_mg | 190 | | | 8 | 190mg | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | carbohydrate_g | 29 | | | 10 | 29g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | fibre_g | 4 | | | 15 | 4g | known | printed | | Soluble fiber 2g printed beneath |
| srv-2026 | sugars_g | 2 | | | | 2g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | added_sugars_g | 1 | | | 2 | 1g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | protein_g | 5 | | | | 5g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | vitamin_d_ug | 4 | | | 20 | 4mcg | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | calcium_mg | 130 | | | 10 | 130mg | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | iron_mg | 12.6 | | | 70 | 12.6mg | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | potassium_mg | 250 | | | 6 | 250mg | known | printed | | |
| srv-2026 | vitamin_a_ug | | | | 10 | 10% | known | printed | | % DV only |
| srv-2026 | vitamin_c_mg | | | | 10 | 10% | known | printed | | % DV only |
| srv-2026 | thiamin_mg | | | | 20 | 20% | known | printed | | % DV only |
| srv-2026 | niacin_mg | | | | 10 | 10% | known | printed | | % DV only |
| srv-2026 | vitamin_b6_mg | | | | 20 | 20% | known | printed | | % DV only |
| srv-2026 | folate_ug | | | | 20 | 20% (45mcg folic acid) | known | printed | | % DV printed; the amount printed is 45 mcg folic acid |
| srv-2026 | vitamin_b12_ug | | | | 20 | 20% | known | printed | | % DV only |
| srv-2026 | phosphorus_mg | | | | 15 | 15% | known | printed | | % DV only |
| srv-2026 | magnesium_mg | | | | 10 | 10% | known | printed | | % DV only |
| srv-2026 | zinc_mg | | | | 20 | 20% | known | printed | | % DV only |
| milk-2026 | energy_kcal | 210 | | | | 210 | known | printed | | |
| milk-2026 | fat_g | 3 | | | 4 | 3g | known | printed | | |
| milk-2026 | saturated_fat_g | 1 | | | 4 | 1g | known | printed | | |
| milk-2026 | cholesterol_mg | 5 | less_than | | | less than 5mg | known | printed | | The column prints 1% DV |
| milk-2026 | sodium_mg | 270 | | | 12 | 270mg | known | printed | | |
| milk-2026 | carbohydrate_g | 38 | | | 14 | 38g | known | printed | | |
| milk-2026 | sugars_g | 11 | | | | 11g | known | printed | | |
| milk-2026 | protein_g | 11 | | | | 11g | known | printed | | |
| milk-2026 | vitamin_d_ug | 6.2 | | | 30 | 6.2mcg | known | printed | | |
| milk-2026 | calcium_mg | 350 | | | 25 | 350mg | known | printed | | |
| milk-2026 | potassium_mg | 540 | | | 10 | 540mg | known | printed | | |
| srv-2015 | energy_kcal | 100 | | | | 100 | known | printed | | |
| srv-2015 | fat_g | 2 | | | 3 | 2g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2015 | saturated_fat_g | 0.5 | | | 3 | 0.5g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2015 | trans_fat_g | 0 | | | | 0g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2015 | polyunsaturated_fat_g | 0.5 | | | | 0.5g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2015 | monounsaturated_fat_g | 0.5 | | | | 0.5g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2015 | cholesterol_mg | 0 | | | 0 | 0mg | known | printed | | |
| srv-2015 | sodium_mg | 140 | | | 6 | 140mg | known | printed | | |
| srv-2015 | potassium_mg | 180 | | | 5 | 180mg | known | printed | | |
| srv-2015 | carbohydrate_g | 20 | | | 7 | 20g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2015 | fibre_g | 3 | | | 11 | 3g | known | printed | | Soluble fiber 1g printed beneath |
| srv-2015 | sugars_g | 1 | | | | 1g | known | printed | | |
| srv-2015 | protein_g | 3 | | | | 3g | known | printed | | |
<!--/nutrition_values-->
## Allergen declarations <!--allergens-->
| observation | allergen | declaration | source | note |
| ----------- | -------------------- | ----------- | ------------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| us-2026 | major food allergens | free_from | ^cheerios-us | The maker's page states "Does not contain declaration obligatory allergens" |
<!--/allergens-->
## Label claims <!--claims-->
| observation | claim | kind | source | note |
| ----------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------- | ------------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| us-2026 | Gluten Free | label | ^off-2026 | Front panel |
| us-2026 | Made with 100% whole grain oats | label | ^off-2026 | Front panel |
| us-2026 | Can help lower cholesterol as part of a heart healthy diet | label | ^off-2026 | Front panel, with the soluble fibre footnote: Cheerios provides 1.5 grams per serving |
| us-2026 | American Heart Association Certified: meets criteria for heart-healthy food | certification | ^off-2026 | Mark printed on the front panel |
| us-2026 | Good source of calcium | label | ^off-2026 | Front panel |
| us-2026 | Good source of fiber | label | ^off-2026 | Front panel |
| us-2026 | With 11 vitamins & minerals | label | ^off-2026 | Front panel |
| us-2026 | No artificial flavors or colors | manufacturer | ^cheerios-us | Stated on the maker's product page |
| us-2015 | Not made with genetically modified ingredients | label | ^off-2015 | Boxed statement on the side panel, with a note that trace amounts may be present from cross contact |
<!--/claims-->
## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
| observation | domain | state | detail | source |
| ----------- | ------------- | -------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- |
| us-2026 | relationships | not_researched | The distributor line on the 2026 box has not been read from a photo; the 2015 side panel names General Mills Sales, Inc. | |
| | markets | unknown | Open Food Facts countries_tags list Mexico; no Mexican retailer listing or Mexican label for this barcode has been found, so MX is not in country_of_sale | ^off |
| | markets | unknown | Amazon.com listing B019Z95UCO printed no price to a reader outside the US on 2026-09-27 | ^amazon-us |
| us-2015 | identity | unknown | The date of the switch from the wheat-starch recipe to the gluten-free recipe is not stated by any source read | |
<!--/research_gaps-->
## Research <!--research-->
structure_version: 2
reviewed_on: 2026-09-27
<!--/research-->
## References <!--references-->
| ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream |
| ----------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ------------------------------ | ------------ | ---------- | ------------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | -------- |
| cheerios-us | https://www.cheerios.com/products/original-cheerios | Original Cheerios | 2026-09-27 | General Mills | manufacturer | | | Product description, allergens, ingredients, Nutrition Facts | | | |
| gm-brand | https://www.generalmills.com/our-food/brands/cheerios | General Mills: Cheerios | 2026-09-27 | General Mills | manufacturer | | | Fun facts about Cheerios | | | |
| off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0016000275263 | Open Food Facts: Cheerios, 0016000275263 | 2026-09-27 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | 2026-08-26 | 0016000275263 | Typed record and photos | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | |
| off-2026 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/001/600/027/5263/16.jpg | Open Food Facts photos 16-18 of 0016000275263: front, Nutrition Facts, ingredients | 2026-09-27 | Open Food Facts | pack | 2026-05-12 | 0016000275263 | Photos 16 (front), 17 (Nutrition Facts), 18 (ingredients) | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | |
| off-2015 | https://images.openfoodfacts.org/images/products/001/600/027/5263/3.jpg | Open Food Facts photos 1 and 3 of 0016000275263: barcode and side panel | 2026-09-27 | Open Food Facts | pack | 2015-02-03 | 0016000275263 | Photo 1 (barcode), photo 3 (Nutrition Facts, ingredients, distributor) | CC BY-SA 3.0 | Open Food Facts contributors | |
| usda | https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2738636/nutrients | USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (GDSN), fdc_id 2738636, version 2025-07-24 | 2026-09-27 | U.S. Department of Agriculture | catalogue | 2025-07-24 | 2738636 | brand_owner GENERAL MILLS SALES INC.; market US | CC0 | | |
| amazon-us | https://www.amazon.com/dp/B019Z95UCO | Amazon.com: Cheerios, Heart Healthy Gluten Free Breakfast Cereal, 8.9 oz | 2026-09-27 | Amazon.com | retailer | | B019Z95UCO | Product details: UPC 016000275263, GTIN 00016000275263 | | | |
| walmart | https://www.walmart.com/ip/10311408 | Walmart.com: Cheerios, Heart Healthy Gluten Free Breakfast Cereal, 8.9 oz | 2026-09-27 | Walmart | retailer | | 10311408 | Flavor selector: Original | | | |
| target | https://www.target.com/p/cheerios-breakfast-cereal-8-9oz-general-mills/-/A-39602815 | Target: Cheerios Breakfast Cereal - 8.9oz - General Mills | 2026-09-27 | Target | retailer | | A-39602815 | | | | |
| gs1gdsn | https://www.gs1.org/docs/gdsn/stats/gdsn_trading_partners.pdf | GS1: GDSN trading partners | 2026-09-27 | GS1 | registry | | | General Mills Sales, GLN 0016000110007 | | | |
<!--/references-->
## About <!--about-->
Cheerios 8.9 oz is the smallest standard box of Original Cheerios, the toasted whole grain oat cereal General Mills sells in the United States.[^gm-brand][^cheerios-us] The current box calls it gluten free and "made with 100% whole grain oats", and carries the American Heart Association heart-check mark beside a claim that it can help lower cholesterol as part of a heart healthy diet.[^off-2026] It holds about six 39 g servings of 140 calories each.[^cheerios-us] Amazon.com lists this barcode, and Walmart and Target sell the 8.9 oz box.[^amazon-us][^walmart][^target]
General Mills introduced the cereal on 1 May 1941 as CheeriOats and shortened the name to Cheerios in 1945.[^gm-brand] A side panel photographed in 2015 under this barcode listed wheat starch among the ingredients, gave nine 28 g servings of 100 calories, and named General Mills Sales, Inc. of Minneapolis as distributor.[^off-2015] The 2026 list has no wheat starch and matches the maker's page.[^off-2026][^cheerios-us]
<!--/about-->