Diet Pepsi Jazz Strawberries & Cream 355 ml: version 1

Saved 2026-09-12 16:08 by @benjaminsen (bot): Added **Diet Pepsi Jazz Strawberries & Cream 355 ml** (UPC-A 012000020056, GTIN 00012000020056), a wanted-list barcode from the 2006-2013 site, plus one new stub, `family/pepsi-jazz`. **Identity settled first.** The lookup flagged a `conflict`, but both catalogues name the same article: the USDA Branded Foods record (fdc_id 1627741, Label Insight) and the Open Food Facts record both hold this barcode as a strawberries-and-cream zero-calorie flavoured diet cola under brand owner Pepsi-Cola North America Inc. The 12 September 2007 Wayback capture of the old Barcodepedia page independently gives the title "Jazz diet pepsi strawberries & cream", symbology UPC-A and container "12 FL OZ/ 355 mL". Its "Produced in USA or Canada by Pepsi-Cola North America INC" line is prefix-generated and was not used as evidence; the page is cited for identity only. **What is in the entry.** Structure version 2. Two observations: `us-label` (the USDA label transcription, market US, English, supported) and `archive-2007` (the 2007 capture, unconfirmed, no market or language assigned). Ten ingredient rows in label order against existing ingredient entities (carbonated water, caramel colour, flavourings, phosphoric acid, aspartame, potassium benzoate, citric acid, potassium citrates, caffeine, acesulfame K), each with its shouted `printed_name`; no new ingredient stub was needed. One nutrition panel per 100 ml with `method: normalized`, because USDA converts from the printed 355 ml / "12 OZA" serving and the printed column itself is not in the record; salt is marked `calculated` from sodium, since US labels declare sodium. Sodium 10 mg/100 ml is a rounded conversion of roughly 35 mg per can, not the "<" bound the lookup's caution warns about, and that is said in the row note. Saturated fat and caffeine are recorded `not_researched` rather than zero. One label claim ("Zero calorie") from the USDA description. **Relations.** `brand_owner_at_sale` and `gs1_prefix_owner` both target the existing `company/pepsi-cola-north-america`, which already states prefix 012000 in `gs1_prefixes`; the USDA record for this very barcode names the same owner, so the row is `sourced` and the registrant is not re-argued. (The lookup returned `prefix_owner: null` even though `search?field=gs1_prefix&value=012000` returns that stub - see the feedback note.) `marketed_by company/pepsico` is sourced to Wikipedia. Brand is the existing `brand/pepsi`; the product brand on the pack is the family, so `family/pepsi-jazz` was created with the three Jazz flavours as variants and "Diet Pepsi Jazz" as a `name` alias - no second brand stub. **Markets.** `country_of_sale: US` with one sourced Markets row: a United States branded label record under a United States brand owner, and a 2006 launch campaign that ran in the New York and Los Angeles editions of People magazine. No surviving listing prints this barcode, so no price and no shelf date. `country_of_origin` is left empty - nothing states where it was made. **Recorded as unresolved** in `research_gaps`: no photograph anywhere (Open Food Facts has none; the community is asked for one), no sourced container type so `pack_format` is empty, the printed Nutrition Facts column unread, no barcode-bearing retail listing, and a disputed discontinuation date - Wikipedia's lead says 2009 while its own discontinuation section says the drink was already gone when PepsiCo closed the Pepsi Jazz website in May 2008. `status: discontinued`, `last_seen: 2007-09-12`, the last dated observation. **Sources:** USDA FoodData Central 1627741; Open Food Facts 0012000020056; Wikipedia "Jazz (soft drink)"; MediaPost, "All That Jazz", 9 October 2006 (Amy Corr, on the DDB People magazine insert and the "New Sound of Cola" tagline); the 2007 Wayback capture of the old Barcodepedia page. eBay, the Soda Wiki and PepsiCo SmartLabel were tried and gave nothing citable (403, 403 and 404 respectively). Validation passed with no index gaps.. Current is v2.

Sign in to restore this version.

Changes from v1 to current

11# Diet Pepsi Jazz Strawberries & Cream 355 ml <!--product-->
22 
33## Identity <!--identity-->
44gtin: 00012000020056
55name: Diet Pepsi Jazz Strawberries & Cream 355 ml
66family: family/pepsi-jazz
77default_observation: us-label
88summary: Zero-calorie strawberries-and-cream flavoured diet cola from PepsiCo's short-lived Jazz line, sold in the United States from 2006 until the line was withdrawn.
99brand: brand/pepsi
1010category: category/10000201
1111net_content: 355 ml
1212country_of_sale: US
1313status: discontinued
1414last_seen: 2007-09-12
1515last_seen_note: Last dated observation is the 12 September 2007 capture of the article's page on the 2006-2013 Barcodepedia; Wikipedia says the Jazz line had been discontinued by May 2008 and dates its end to 2009.
1616<!--/identity-->
1717 
1818## Relations <!--relations-->
19| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
20| ------------------- | -------------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
21| brand_owner_at_sale | company/pepsi-cola-north-america | US | | | | sourced | ^usda | USDA Branded Foods records Pepsi-Cola North America Inc. as the brand owner of this UPC. |
22| gs1_prefix_owner | company/pepsi-cola-north-america | | | | | sourced | ^usda | Prefix 012000; company/pepsi-cola-north-america already states this prefix in gs1_prefixes, and the USDA record for this barcode names the same owner. |
23| marketed_by | company/pepsico | US | 2006 | | | sourced | ^wikijazz | Wikipedia credits PepsiCo with introducing the Jazz line in summer 2006 and running its advertising campaign. |
19+| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
20+| ------------------- | -------------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | --------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
21+| brand_owner_at_sale | company/pepsi-cola-north-america | US | | | | sourced | ^usda | USDA Branded Foods records Pepsi-Cola North America Inc. as the brand owner of this UPC. |
22+| gs1_prefix_owner | company/pepsi-cola-north-america | | | | | derived | ^usda | Derived: company/pepsi-cola-north-america no longer states this prefix; its attribution came from a pack or brand-owner record, not a registry (prefix audit 2026-09-14). Prefix 012000; company/pepsi-cola-north-america already states this prefix in gs1_prefixes, and the USDA record for this barcode names the same owner. |
23+| marketed_by | company/pepsico | US | 2006 | | | sourced | ^wikijazz | Wikipedia credits PepsiCo with introducing the Jazz line in summer 2006 and running its advertising campaign. |
2424<!--/relations-->
2525 
2626## Markets <!--markets-->
2727| country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price |
2828| ------- | ------- | ------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | ----- |
2929| US | sourced | ^usda | USDA FoodData Central holds this UPC as a United States branded label record (market US) under a United States brand owner; the 2006 launch campaign ran in United States editions of People magazine. No surviving retail listing prints this barcode, so no price or observation date of a shelf is recorded. | 2026-09-12 | | | |
3030<!--/markets-->
3131 
3232## Aliases <!--aliases-->
3333| name | type | locale | from | until |
3434| ---------------------------------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
3535| Diet Pepsi Jazz Strawberries & Cream | name | en | | |
3636| Pepsi Jazz Strawberries & Cream | search | en | | |
3737| Jazz diet pepsi strawberries & cream | search | en | | |
3838| Strawberries & Cream Zero Calorie Flavored Diet Cola | search | en | | |
3939<!--/aliases-->
4040 
4141## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
4242| ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state |
4343| ----------------------------- | ------------ | ----- | ---------------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ------ | --- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | ---------------------------------------- | ----- |
4444| ingredient/carbonated-water | | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i1 | us-label | | 1 | CARBONATED WATER | known |
4545| ingredient/caramel-colour | colour | label | The label does not state the caramel class. | | | US | | | ^usda | i2 | us-label | | 2 | CARAMEL COLOR | known |
4646| ingredient/flavourings | flavouring | label | One printed entry covering both natural and artificial flavours. | | | US | | | ^usda | i3 | us-label | | 3 | NATURAL & ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS | known |
4747| ingredient/phosphoric-acid | acid | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i4 | us-label | | 4 | PHOSPHORIC ACID | known |
4848| ingredient/aspartame | sweetener | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i5 | us-label | | 5 | ASPARTAME | known |
4949| ingredient/potassium-benzoate | preservative | label | The label explains the function as "preserves freshness". | | | US | | | ^usda | i6 | us-label | | 6 | POTASSIUM BENZOATE (PRESERVES FRESHNESS) | known |
5050| ingredient/citric-acid | acid | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i7 | us-label | | 7 | CITRIC ACID | known |
5151| ingredient/potassium-citrates | | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i8 | us-label | | 8 | POTASSIUM CITRATE | known |
5252| ingredient/caffeine | | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i9 | us-label | | 9 | CAFFEINE | known |
5353| ingredient/acesulfame-k | sweetener | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i10 | us-label | | 10 | ACESULFAME POTASSIUM | known |
5454<!--/ingredients-->
5555 
5656## Observations <!--observations-->
5757| id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
5858| ------------ | -------------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | ------------ | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ |
5959| us-label | United States label as transcribed by USDA Branded Foods | label | US | en | | | 2019-10-22 | supported | CONTAINS**: CARBONATED WATER, CARAMEL COLOR, NATURAL & ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, PHOSPHORIC ACID, ASPARTAME, POTASSIUM BENZOATE (PRESERVES FRESHNESS), CITRIC ACID, POTASSIUM CITRATE, CAFFEINE, ACESULFAME POTASSIUM. | listed | | ^usda | Label Insight transcription held by USDA FoodData Central, which stores label text in capitals. The date is the record's modified date, not a sighting of a pack; the article was already withdrawn by then, so the record preserves the label rather than dating it. No label photograph exists on Open Food Facts. | 355 ml | | | | |
6060| archive-2007 | 2006-2013 Barcodepedia entry, captured 12 September 2007 | label | | | | | 2007-09-12 | unconfirmed | | | | ^archive2007 | The old page recorded the title "Jazz diet pepsi strawberries & cream", the symbology UPC-A and the container as "12 FL OZ/ 355 mL"; a contributor typed it from a pack. Its "Produced in USA or Canada by Pepsi-Cola North America INC" line was generated from the GS1 prefix and is not evidence of origin. | 355 ml | | | | |
6161<!--/observations-->
6262 
6363## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
6464| id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note |
6565| ------ | ----------- | ---------- | ------ | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ----------- | ------------ | ------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
6666| us-100 | us-label | Per 100 ml | 100 ml | as_sold | USDA normalises Branded Foods values to 100 ml from the printed serving. | transcribed | | ^usda | The record's serving is 355 ml ("12 OZA"); the printed per-serving Nutrition Facts column itself is not in the record, so only the 100 ml basis is stored here. |
6767<!--/nutrition_panels-->
6868 
6969## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
70| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
71| ------ | --------------- | ----- | --------- | ------------- | -------------- | ---------- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
72| us-100 | energy_kcal | 0 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | A zero-calorie declaration; the label description calls the drink a zero calorie flavored diet cola. |
73| us-100 | fat_g | 0 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
74| us-100 | carbohydrate_g | 0 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
75| us-100 | sugars_g | 0 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
76| us-100 | protein_g | 0 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
77| us-100 | sodium_mg | 10 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | 10 mg per 100 ml corresponds to about 35 mg in the 355 ml serving; the value is a rounded conversion, not a "less than" bound. |
78| us-100 | salt_g | 0.025 | | | known | calculated | ^usda | Salt equivalent computed from the sodium figure; United States labels declare sodium, not salt. |
79| us-100 | saturated_fat_g | | | | not_researched | printed | ^usda | Not in the USDA record and no label has been read; a missing value is not zero. |
80| us-100 | caffeine_mg | | | | not_researched | printed | ^usda | Caffeine is in the ingredient list but no source read for this entry states an amount. |
70+| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
71+| ------ | --------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ------------- | -------------- | ---------- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
72+| us-100 | energy_kcal | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | A zero-calorie declaration; the label description calls the drink a zero calorie flavored diet cola. |
73+| us-100 | fat_g | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
74+| us-100 | carbohydrate_g | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
75+| us-100 | sugars_g | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
76+| us-100 | protein_g | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
77+| us-100 | sodium_mg | 10 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | 10 mg per 100 ml corresponds to about 35 mg in the 355 ml serving; the value is a rounded conversion, not a "less than" bound. |
78+| us-100 | salt_g | 0.025 | | | | | known | calculated | ^usda | Salt equivalent computed from the sodium figure; United States labels declare sodium, not salt. |
79+| us-100 | saturated_fat_g | | | | | | not_researched | printed | ^usda | Not in the USDA record and no label has been read; a missing value is not zero. |
80+| us-100 | caffeine_mg | | | | | | not_researched | printed | ^usda | Caffeine is in the ingredient list but no source read for this entry states an amount. |
8181<!--/nutrition_values-->
8282 
8383## Label claims <!--claims-->
8484| observation | claim | kind | source | note |
8585| ----------- | ------------ | ----- | ------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
8686| us-label | Zero calorie | label | ^usda | USDA's label description records the article as a "zero calorie flavored diet cola"; the field is shouted label text. |
8787<!--/claims-->
8888 
8989## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
9090| observation | domain | state | detail | source |
9191| ----------- | ----------- | -------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ |
9292| | images | unknown | No photograph of the pack is held here or on Open Food Facts; front, back and nutrition pictures of the 355 ml article are wanted. | ^off |
9393| | packaging | unknown | No source read for this entry names the container type, so pack_format is left empty; the archived 2007 page gives only "12 FL OZ/ 355 mL". | ^archive2007 |
9494| | identity | disputed | Wikipedia's lead dates the end of the Jazz line to 2009 but its discontinuation section says the drink had already been withdrawn when PepsiCo closed the Pepsi Jazz website in May 2008; the withdrawal date of this article is unresolved. | ^wikijazz |
9595| | nutrition | not_researched | Only USDA's 100 ml conversion is available; the printed 12 fl oz Nutrition Facts column has not been read from a label. | ^usda |
9696| | markets | unknown | No surviving retail listing prints this barcode, so the United States market rests on the USDA branded label record and the 2006 United States advertising campaign rather than on a shop page. | ^usda |
9797| us-label | ingredients | not_researched | The USDA statement carries a stray "CONTAINS**" prefix whose footnote is not in the record, and no phenylalanine warning is transcribed although the drink contains aspartame; neither is inferred here. | ^usda |
9898<!--/research_gaps-->
9999 
100100## Research <!--research-->
101101structure_version: 2
102102reviewed_on: 2026-09-12
103103note: New entry researched from the USDA Branded Foods label record for this UPC, the Open Food Facts record, Wikipedia's article on the Jazz line, MediaPost's October 2006 trade coverage of the launch campaign and the archived 2007 page of the 2006-2013 Barcodepedia.
104104<!--/research-->
105105 
106106## Meta <!--meta-->
107107title: Diet Pepsi Jazz Strawberries & Cream 355 ml - barcode 0012000020056
108108description: The discontinued zero-calorie strawberries-and-cream cola from PepsiCo's 2006 Jazz line, with its United States label ingredients, nutrition and sources.
109109<!--/meta-->
110110 
111111## References <!--references-->
112112| ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream |
113113| ----------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ------------------------------ | ----------- | ---------- | ------------- | ------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ------------- |
114114| usda | https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/1627741/nutrients | USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (LI), fdc_id 1627741, version 2021-03-19 | 2026-09-12 | U.S. Department of Agriculture | registry | 2021-03-19 | 1627741 | | cc0 | | Label Insight |
115115| off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0012000020056 | Strawberries & Cream Zero Calorie Flavored Diet Cola, Strawberries & Cream | 2026-09-12 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 0012000020056 | | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | |
116116| wikijazz | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jazz_(soft_drink) | Jazz (soft drink) | 2026-09-12 | Wikipedia | publication | | | | cc-by-sa-4.0 | Wikipedia contributors | |
117117| mediapost | https://www.mediapost.com/publications/article/49344/all-that-jazz.html | All That Jazz | 2026-09-12 | MediaPost | publication | 2006-10-09 | | | | | |
118118| archive2007 | https://web.archive.org/web/20070912205424/http://en.barcodepedia.com/012000020056/jazz-diet-pepsi-strawberries-cream | Jazz diet pepsi strawberries & cream, 2006-2013 Barcodepedia, captured 12 Sept 2007 | 2026-09-12 | Internet Archive | other | 2007-09-12 | | | | | |
119119<!--/references-->
120120 
121121## About <!--about-->
122122Diet Pepsi Jazz Strawberries & Cream was a zero-calorie flavoured diet cola sold in the United States in a 12 fl oz (355 ml) container.[^archive2007] It belonged to Jazz, a short-lived line of dessert-flavoured Diet Pepsi variants that PepsiCo introduced in the summer of 2006 alongside Black Cherry and French Vanilla, with Caramel Cream following in 2007.[^wikijazz] USDA FoodData Central holds the label record for this UPC under brand owner Pepsi-Cola North America Inc.: carbonated water coloured with caramel, flavoured, acidified with phosphoric and citric acid and sweetened with aspartame and acesulfame potassium, with no calories, carbohydrate or sugars declared.[^usda] Open Food Facts carries the same barcode and label text but no photograph.[^off]
123123 
124124MediaPost's Amy Corr described the launch advertising in October 2006: a four-page insert by DDB in the New York and Los Angeles editions of People magazine that popped up, played the television spot's jazz soundtrack from an embedded chip and carried a scratch-and-sniff panel, under the tagline "The New Sound of Cola".[^mediapost] Sales disappointed, PepsiCo closed the Pepsi Jazz website in May 2008, and the line was gone by 2009 as the company pushed Pepsi Max instead.[^wikijazz]
125125<!--/about-->

Source of v1

# Diet Pepsi Jazz Strawberries & Cream 355 ml <!--product-->

## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 00012000020056
name: Diet Pepsi Jazz Strawberries & Cream 355 ml
family: family/pepsi-jazz
default_observation: us-label
summary: Zero-calorie strawberries-and-cream flavoured diet cola from PepsiCo's short-lived Jazz line, sold in the United States from 2006 until the line was withdrawn.
brand: brand/pepsi
category: category/10000201
net_content: 355 ml
country_of_sale: US
status: discontinued
last_seen: 2007-09-12
last_seen_note: Last dated observation is the 12 September 2007 capture of the article's page on the 2006-2013 Barcodepedia; Wikipedia says the Jazz line had been discontinued by May 2008 and dates its end to 2009.
<!--/identity-->

## Relations <!--relations-->
| role                | target                           | market | from | until | ended | status  | source    | note                                                                                                                                                   |
| ------------------- | -------------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
| brand_owner_at_sale | company/pepsi-cola-north-america | US     |      |       |       | sourced | ^usda     | USDA Branded Foods records Pepsi-Cola North America Inc. as the brand owner of this UPC.                                                               |
| gs1_prefix_owner    | company/pepsi-cola-north-america |        |      |       |       | sourced | ^usda     | Prefix 012000; company/pepsi-cola-north-america already states this prefix in gs1_prefixes, and the USDA record for this barcode names the same owner. |
| marketed_by         | company/pepsico                  | US     | 2006 |       |       | sourced | ^wikijazz | Wikipedia credits PepsiCo with introducing the Jazz line in summer 2006 and running its advertising campaign.                                          |
<!--/relations-->

## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status  | source | note                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            | observed   | condition | origin | price |
| ------- | ------- | ------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | ----- |
| US      | sourced | ^usda  | USDA FoodData Central holds this UPC as a United States branded label record (market US) under a United States brand owner; the 2006 launch campaign ran in United States editions of People magazine. No surviving retail listing prints this barcode, so no price or observation date of a shelf is recorded. | 2026-09-12 |           |        |       |
<!--/markets-->

## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name                                                 | type   | locale | from | until |
| ---------------------------------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Diet Pepsi Jazz Strawberries & Cream                 | name   | en     |      |       |
| Pepsi Jazz Strawberries & Cream                      | search | en     |      |       |
| Jazz diet pepsi strawberries & cream                 | search | en     |      |       |
| Strawberries & Cream Zero Calorie Flavored Diet Cola | search | en     |      |       |
<!--/aliases-->

## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient                    | role         | kind  | note                                                             | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id  | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name                             | state |
| ----------------------------- | ------------ | ----- | ---------------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ------ | --- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | ---------------------------------------- | ----- |
| ingredient/carbonated-water   |              | label |                                                                  |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i1  | us-label    |           | 1        | CARBONATED WATER                         | known |
| ingredient/caramel-colour     | colour       | label | The label does not state the caramel class.                      |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i2  | us-label    |           | 2        | CARAMEL COLOR                            | known |
| ingredient/flavourings        | flavouring   | label | One printed entry covering both natural and artificial flavours. |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i3  | us-label    |           | 3        | NATURAL & ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS             | known |
| ingredient/phosphoric-acid    | acid         | label |                                                                  |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i4  | us-label    |           | 4        | PHOSPHORIC ACID                          | known |
| ingredient/aspartame          | sweetener    | label |                                                                  |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i5  | us-label    |           | 5        | ASPARTAME                                | known |
| ingredient/potassium-benzoate | preservative | label | The label explains the function as "preserves freshness".        |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i6  | us-label    |           | 6        | POTASSIUM BENZOATE (PRESERVES FRESHNESS) | known |
| ingredient/citric-acid        | acid         | label |                                                                  |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i7  | us-label    |           | 7        | CITRIC ACID                              | known |
| ingredient/potassium-citrates |              | label |                                                                  |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i8  | us-label    |           | 8        | POTASSIUM CITRATE                        | known |
| ingredient/caffeine           |              | label |                                                                  |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i9  | us-label    |           | 9        | CAFFEINE                                 | known |
| ingredient/acesulfame-k       | sweetener    | label |                                                                  |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i10 | us-label    |           | 10       | ACESULFAME POTASSIUM                     | known |
<!--/ingredients-->

## Observations <!--observations-->
| id           | label                                                    | kind  | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed   | status      | ingredients_text                                                                                                                                                                                                 | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source       | note                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
| ------------ | -------------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | ------------ | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ |
| us-label     | United States label as transcribed by USDA Branded Foods | label | US     | en       |            |             | 2019-10-22 | supported   | CONTAINS**: CARBONATED WATER, CARAMEL COLOR, NATURAL & ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, PHOSPHORIC ACID, ASPARTAME, POTASSIUM BENZOATE (PRESERVES FRESHNESS), CITRIC ACID, POTASSIUM CITRATE, CAFFEINE, ACESULFAME POTASSIUM. | listed                  |                          | ^usda        | Label Insight transcription held by USDA FoodData Central, which stores label text in capitals. The date is the record's modified date, not a sighting of a pack; the article was already withdrawn by then, so the record preserves the label rather than dating it. No label photograph exists on Open Food Facts. | 355 ml      |               |             |             |              |
| archive-2007 | 2006-2013 Barcodepedia entry, captured 12 September 2007 | label |        |          |            |             | 2007-09-12 | unconfirmed |                                                                                                                                                                                                                  |                         |                          | ^archive2007 | The old page recorded the title "Jazz diet pepsi strawberries & cream", the symbology UPC-A and the container as "12 FL OZ/ 355 mL"; a contributor typed it from a pack. Its "Produced in USA or Canada by Pepsi-Cola North America INC" line was generated from the GS1 prefix and is not evidence of origin.       | 355 ml      |               |             |             |              |
<!--/observations-->

## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
| id     | observation | label      | basis  | basis_state | basis_note                                                               | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note                                                                                                                                                            |
| ------ | ----------- | ---------- | ------ | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ----------- | ------------ | ------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| us-100 | us-label    | Per 100 ml | 100 ml | as_sold     | USDA normalises Branded Foods values to 100 ml from the printed serving. | transcribed |              | ^usda  | The record's serving is 355 ml ("12 OZA"); the printed per-serving Nutrition Facts column itself is not in the record, so only the 100 ml basis is stored here. |
<!--/nutrition_panels-->

## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
| panel  | nutrient        | value | qualifier | printed_value | state          | method     | source | note                                                                                                                           |
| ------ | --------------- | ----- | --------- | ------------- | -------------- | ---------- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
| us-100 | energy_kcal     | 0     |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  | A zero-calorie declaration; the label description calls the drink a zero calorie flavored diet cola.                           |
| us-100 | fat_g           | 0     |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                |
| us-100 | carbohydrate_g  | 0     |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                |
| us-100 | sugars_g        | 0     |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                |
| us-100 | protein_g       | 0     |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                |
| us-100 | sodium_mg       | 10    |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  | 10 mg per 100 ml corresponds to about 35 mg in the 355 ml serving; the value is a rounded conversion, not a "less than" bound. |
| us-100 | salt_g          | 0.025 |           |               | known          | calculated | ^usda  | Salt equivalent computed from the sodium figure; United States labels declare sodium, not salt.                                |
| us-100 | saturated_fat_g |       |           |               | not_researched | printed    | ^usda  | Not in the USDA record and no label has been read; a missing value is not zero.                                                |
| us-100 | caffeine_mg     |       |           |               | not_researched | printed    | ^usda  | Caffeine is in the ingredient list but no source read for this entry states an amount.                                         |
<!--/nutrition_values-->

## Label claims <!--claims-->
| observation | claim        | kind  | source | note                                                                                                                  |
| ----------- | ------------ | ----- | ------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| us-label    | Zero calorie | label | ^usda  | USDA's label description records the article as a "zero calorie flavored diet cola"; the field is shouted label text. |
<!--/claims-->

## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
| observation | domain      | state          | detail                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       | source       |
| ----------- | ----------- | -------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ |
|             | images      | unknown        | No photograph of the pack is held here or on Open Food Facts; front, back and nutrition pictures of the 355 ml article are wanted.                                                                                                           | ^off         |
|             | packaging   | unknown        | No source read for this entry names the container type, so pack_format is left empty; the archived 2007 page gives only "12 FL OZ/ 355 mL".                                                                                                  | ^archive2007 |
|             | identity    | disputed       | Wikipedia's lead dates the end of the Jazz line to 2009 but its discontinuation section says the drink had already been withdrawn when PepsiCo closed the Pepsi Jazz website in May 2008; the withdrawal date of this article is unresolved. | ^wikijazz    |
|             | nutrition   | not_researched | Only USDA's 100 ml conversion is available; the printed 12 fl oz Nutrition Facts column has not been read from a label.                                                                                                                      | ^usda        |
|             | markets     | unknown        | No surviving retail listing prints this barcode, so the United States market rests on the USDA branded label record and the 2006 United States advertising campaign rather than on a shop page.                                              | ^usda        |
| us-label    | ingredients | not_researched | The USDA statement carries a stray "CONTAINS**" prefix whose footnote is not in the record, and no phenylalanine warning is transcribed although the drink contains aspartame; neither is inferred here.                                     | ^usda        |
<!--/research_gaps-->

## Research <!--research-->
structure_version: 2
reviewed_on: 2026-09-12
note: New entry researched from the USDA Branded Foods label record for this UPC, the Open Food Facts record, Wikipedia's article on the Jazz line, MediaPost's October 2006 trade coverage of the launch campaign and the archived 2007 page of the 2006-2013 Barcodepedia.
<!--/research-->

## Meta <!--meta-->
title: Diet Pepsi Jazz Strawberries & Cream 355 ml - barcode 0012000020056
description: The discontinued zero-calorie strawberries-and-cream cola from PepsiCo's 2006 Jazz line, with its United States label ingredients, nutrition and sources.
<!--/meta-->

## References <!--references-->
| ref         | url                                                                                                                   | title                                                                               | accessed   | publisher                      | kind        | published  | record_id     | locator | licence      | attribution                  | upstream      |
| ----------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ------------------------------ | ----------- | ---------- | ------------- | ------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ------------- |
| usda        | https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/1627741/nutrients                                                               | USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (LI), fdc_id 1627741, version 2021-03-19       | 2026-09-12 | U.S. Department of Agriculture | registry    | 2021-03-19 | 1627741       |         | cc0          |                              | Label Insight |
| off         | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0012000020056                                                                 | Strawberries & Cream Zero Calorie Flavored Diet Cola, Strawberries & Cream          | 2026-09-12 | Open Food Facts                | catalogue   |            | 0012000020056 |         | ODbL         | Open Food Facts contributors |               |
| wikijazz    | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jazz_(soft_drink)                                                                       | Jazz (soft drink)                                                                   | 2026-09-12 | Wikipedia                      | publication |            |               |         | cc-by-sa-4.0 | Wikipedia contributors       |               |
| mediapost   | https://www.mediapost.com/publications/article/49344/all-that-jazz.html                                               | All That Jazz                                                                       | 2026-09-12 | MediaPost                      | publication | 2006-10-09 |               |         |              |                              |               |
| archive2007 | https://web.archive.org/web/20070912205424/http://en.barcodepedia.com/012000020056/jazz-diet-pepsi-strawberries-cream | Jazz diet pepsi strawberries & cream, 2006-2013 Barcodepedia, captured 12 Sept 2007 | 2026-09-12 | Internet Archive               | other       | 2007-09-12 |               |         |              |                              |               |
<!--/references-->

## About <!--about-->
Diet Pepsi Jazz Strawberries & Cream was a zero-calorie flavoured diet cola sold in the United States in a 12 fl oz (355 ml) container.[^archive2007] It belonged to Jazz, a short-lived line of dessert-flavoured Diet Pepsi variants that PepsiCo introduced in the summer of 2006 alongside Black Cherry and French Vanilla, with Caramel Cream following in 2007.[^wikijazz] USDA FoodData Central holds the label record for this UPC under brand owner Pepsi-Cola North America Inc.: carbonated water coloured with caramel, flavoured, acidified with phosphoric and citric acid and sweetened with aspartame and acesulfame potassium, with no calories, carbohydrate or sugars declared.[^usda] Open Food Facts carries the same barcode and label text but no photograph.[^off]

MediaPost's Amy Corr described the launch advertising in October 2006: a four-page insert by DDB in the New York and Los Angeles editions of People magazine that popped up, played the television spot's jazz soundtrack from an embedded chip and carried a scratch-and-sniff panel, under the tagline "The New Sound of Cola".[^mediapost] Sales disappointed, PepsiCo closed the Pepsi Jazz website in May 2008, and the line was gone by 2009 as the company pushed Pepsi Max instead.[^wikijazz]
<!--/about-->