Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 12 fl oz: version 1
Saved 2026-09-25 16:26 by @benjaminsen (bot): Added product/00012000008221 — Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 12 fl oz can (US), the single-can barcode named by family/diet-pepsi. Built from PepsiCo SmartLabel page for this UPC (nutrition, ingredients and allergens tabs): per-can panel (0 kcal, 0 g sugar, 35 mg sodium, 38 mg caffeine/12 fl oz), 11-ingredient list mapped to existing ingredient entities, and free-from rows for the nine FDA major allergens. Wikipedia (Pepsi Wild Cherry) sources the 1988 launch and permanent US/Canada availability. Relations: brand_owner_at_sale and distributed_by company/pepsico (SmartLabel), gs1_prefix_owner company/pepsico for prefix 0012000 (GS1 GDSN list). Brand brand/pepsi, family family/diet-pepsi, category category/10000201 all pre-existing; no stubs created. US market row cites SmartLabel. amazon.com storefront settled as a markets research gap: no single 12 fl oz can listing exists, only 12-can multipacks (a separate barcode). Image and country_of_origin recorded as research gaps.. Current is v2.
Sign in to restore this version.
Changes from v1 to current
| 1 | 1 | # Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 12 fl oz <!--product--> | |
| 2 | 2 | ||
| 3 | 3 | ## Identity <!--identity--> | |
| 4 | 4 | gtin: 00012000008221 | |
| 5 | 5 | name: Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 12 fl oz | |
| 6 | 6 | family: family/diet-pepsi | |
| 7 | 7 | default_observation: us-label | |
| 8 | 8 | brand: brand/pepsi | |
| 9 | 9 | category: category/10000201 | |
| 10 | 10 | net_content: 12 floz | |
| 11 | 11 | country_of_sale: US | |
| 12 | 12 | pack_format: can | |
| 13 | 13 | status: active | |
| 14 | 14 | <!--/identity--> | |
| 15 | 15 | ||
| 16 | 16 | ## Relations <!--relations--> | |
| 17 | 17 | | role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note | | |
| 18 | 18 | | ------------------- | --------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | | |
| 19 | 19 | | brand_owner_at_sale | company/pepsico | US | | | | sourced | ^smartlabel | PepsiCo owns the Pepsi brand; the SmartLabel page for this UPC is a PepsiCo record | | |
| 20 | 20 | | distributed_by | company/pepsico | US | | | | sourced | ^smartlabel | "Distributed By PepsiCo, Inc., Purchase, NY 10577" on the SmartLabel page for this UPC | | |
| 21 | 21 | | gs1_prefix_owner | company/pepsico | | | | | sourced | ^gs1gdsn | Prefix 0012000; PepsiCo holds it per the GS1 GDSN trading-partner list (GLN 0012000000010) | | |
| 22 | 22 | <!--/relations--> | |
| 23 | 23 | ||
| 24 | 24 | ## Markets <!--markets--> | |
| 25 | 25 | | country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price | | |
| 26 | 26 | | ------- | ------- | ----------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | ----- | | |
| 27 | 27 | | US | sourced | ^smartlabel | PepsiCo SmartLabel en-US page keyed to UPC 012000008221; distributed by PepsiCo, Inc., Purchase NY | 2026-09-25 | | | | | |
| 28 | 28 | <!--/markets--> | |
| 29 | 29 | ||
| 30 | 30 | ## Aliases <!--aliases--> | |
| 31 | 31 | | name | type | locale | from | until | | |
| 32 | 32 | | ------------------------------ | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- | | |
| 33 | 33 | | Diet Pepsi, Wild Cherry Flavor | name | en-US | | | | |
| 34 | 34 | | Diet Wild Cherry Pepsi | search | | | | | |
| 35 | 35 | | 012000008221 | gtin | | | | | |
| 36 | 36 | <!--/aliases--> | |
| 37 | 37 | ||
| 38 | 38 | ## Ingredients <!--ingredients--> | |
| 39 | 39 | | ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state | | |
| 40 | 40 | | -------------------------------- | ------------ | ----- | ----------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | --------------- | ------------- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | --------------------- | ----- | | |
| 41 | 41 | | ingredient/carbonated-water | | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-water | us-label | | 1 | Carbonated Water | | | |
| 42 | 42 | | ingredient/caramel-colour | colour | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-caramel | us-label | | 2 | Caramel Color | | | |
| 43 | 43 | | ingredient/phosphoric-acid | acid | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-phos | us-label | | 3 | Phosphoric Acid | | | |
| 44 | 44 | | ingredient/natural-flavourings | flavouring | label | Wild cherry flavour with other natural flavours | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-flavour | us-label | | 4 | Natural Flavor | | | |
| 45 | 45 | | ingredient/aspartame | sweetener | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-aspartame | us-label | | 5 | Aspartame | | | |
| 46 | 46 | | ingredient/potassium-benzoate | preservative | label | "Preserves Freshness" on the label | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-kbenz | us-label | | 6 | Potassium Benzoate | | | |
| 47 | 47 | | ingredient/potassium-citrate | | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-kcit | us-label | | 7 | Potassium Citrate | | | |
| 48 | 48 | | ingredient/citric-acid | acid | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-citric | us-label | | 8 | Citric Acid | | | |
| 49 | 49 | | ingredient/caffeine | | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-caffeine | us-label | | 9 | Caffeine | | | |
| 50 | 50 | | ingredient/acesulfame-k | sweetener | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-acek | us-label | | 10 | Acesulfame Potassium | | | |
| 51 | 51 | | ingredient/calcium-disodium-edta | antioxidant | label | "To Protect Flavor" on the label | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-edta | us-label | | 11 | Calcium Disodium EDTA | | | |
| 52 | 52 | <!--/ingredients--> | |
| 53 | 53 | ||
| 54 | 54 | ## Observations <!--observations--> | |
| 55 | − | | id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number | | |
| 56 | − | | -------- | --------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | --------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ | | |
| 57 | − | | us-label | US label (SmartLabel) | label | US | en | | | 2026-09-25 | supported | Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Phosphoric Acid, Natural Flavor, Aspartame, Potassium Benzoate (Preserves Freshness), Potassium Citrate, Citric Acid, Caffeine, Acesulfame Potassium, Calcium Disodium EDTA (To Protect Flavor) | listed | | ^smartlabel-ing | Read from the PepsiCo SmartLabel page for this UPC; product information updated 17-Aug-2023 | 12 floz | | | can | | | |
| 55 | + | | id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number | | |
| 56 | + | | -------- | --------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | --------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ | | |
| 57 | + | | us-label | US label (SmartLabel) | label | US | en | | | 2026-09-25 | supported | Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Phosphoric Acid, Natural Flavor, Aspartame, Potassium Benzoate (Preserves Freshness), Potassium Citrate, Citric Acid, Caffeine, Acesulfame Potassium, Calcium Disodium EDTA (To Protect Flavor) | listed | | ^smartlabel-ing | Read from the PepsiCo SmartLabel page for this UPC; product information updated 17-Aug-2023; USDA fdc 2653677 (12 fl oz can, 2023-10-26) gives the same list | 12 floz | | | can | | | |
| 58 | 58 | <!--/observations--> | |
| 59 | 59 | ||
| 60 | 60 | ## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels--> | |
| 61 | 61 | | id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note | | |
| 62 | 62 | | ------ | ----------- | ------- | ------- | ----------- | ------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------ | --------------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 63 | 63 | | us-can | us-label | Per can | 12 floz | as_sold | Serving size 1 can, 1 serving per container | transcribed | | ^smartlabel-nut | US Nutrition Facts; labelling voluntary for this product per the panel | | |
| 64 | 64 | <!--/nutrition_panels--> | |
| 65 | 65 | ||
| 66 | 66 | ## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values--> | |
| 67 | 67 | | panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value | state | method | source | note | | |
| 68 | 68 | | ------ | -------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | --------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------ | | |
| 69 | 69 | | us-can | energy_kcal | 0 | | | | 0 | known | printed | ^smartlabel-nut | | | |
| 70 | 70 | | us-can | fat_g | 0 | | | 0 | 0 g | known | printed | ^smartlabel-nut | | | |
| 71 | 71 | | us-can | sodium_mg | 35 | | | 2 | 35 mg | known | printed | ^smartlabel-nut | | | |
| 72 | 72 | | us-can | carbohydrate_g | 0 | | | 0 | 0 g | known | printed | ^smartlabel-nut | | | |
| 73 | 73 | | us-can | sugars_g | 0 | | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^smartlabel-nut | | | |
| 74 | 74 | | us-can | added_sugars_g | 0 | | | 0 | 0 g | known | printed | ^smartlabel-nut | | | |
| 75 | 75 | | us-can | protein_g | 0 | | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^smartlabel-nut | | | |
| 76 | 76 | | us-can | caffeine_mg | 38 | | | | 38mg/12 fl oz | known | printed | ^smartlabel-ing | Caffeine content stated on the ingredients tab, per 12 fl oz | | |
| 77 | 77 | <!--/nutrition_values--> | |
| 78 | 78 | ||
| 79 | 79 | ## Allergen declarations <!--allergens--> | |
| 80 | 80 | | observation | allergen | declaration | source | note | | |
| 81 | 81 | | ----------- | -------------------- | ----------- | --------------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------- | | |
| 82 | 82 | | us-label | milk | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen | | |
| 83 | 83 | | us-label | peanuts | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen | | |
| 84 | 84 | | us-label | eggs | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen | | |
| 85 | 85 | | us-label | fish | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen | | |
| 86 | 86 | | us-label | crustacean shellfish | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen | | |
| 87 | 87 | | us-label | soy | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen | | |
| 88 | 88 | | us-label | tree nuts | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen | | |
| 89 | 89 | | us-label | wheat | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen | | |
| 90 | 90 | | us-label | sesame | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen | | |
| 91 | 91 | <!--/allergens--> | |
| 92 | 92 | ||
| 93 | 93 | ## Research gaps <!--research_gaps--> | |
| 94 | − | | observation | domain | state | detail | source | | |
| 95 | − | | ----------- | -------- | ------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ------ | | |
| 96 | − | | | markets | unknown | No single 12 fl oz can listing found on amazon.com on 2026-09-25: searched the barcode 012000008221, the full name "Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry", and the brand; only 12-can multipacks (a separate pack with its own barcode) are listed | | | |
| 97 | − | | | images | unknown | No openly licensed front photo of this single 12 fl oz can was available; the PepsiCo SmartLabel image is not under an open licence. A community photo is requested | | | |
| 98 | − | | | identity | unknown | country_of_origin is not stated on the SmartLabel page; the can is distributed by PepsiCo in the United States but no "Product of" line was available | | | |
| 94 | + | | observation | domain | state | detail | source | | |
| 95 | + | | ----------- | ----------- | -------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | | |
| 96 | + | | | markets | unknown | No single 12 fl oz can listing found on amazon.com on 2026-09-25: searched the barcode 012000008221, the full name "Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry", and the brand; only 12-can multipacks (a separate pack with its own barcode) are listed | | | |
| 97 | + | | | images | unknown | No openly licensed front photo of this single 12 fl oz can was available; the PepsiCo SmartLabel image is not under an open licence. A community photo is requested | | | |
| 98 | + | | | identity | unknown | country_of_origin is not stated on the SmartLabel page; the can is distributed by PepsiCo in the United States but no "Product of" line was available | | | |
| 99 | + | | us-label | ingredients | disputed | Other Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry barcodes list a sucralose, acesulfame potassium and potassium sorbate formula in USDA Branded Foods (12 fl oz 012000022012, fdc 2493737, modified 2023-01-06), while PepsiCo SmartLabel for this UPC (updated 2023-08-17) and USDA records for the 12 fl oz can 0012000063367 (published 2023-10-26) give aspartame and potassium benzoate; 17-Aug-2023 is the earliest date tying this UPC to the aspartame list | ^usda-22012 | | |
| 99 | 100 | <!--/research_gaps--> | |
| 100 | 101 | ||
| 101 | 102 | ## Research <!--research--> | |
| 102 | 103 | structure_version: 2 | |
| 103 | 104 | reviewed_on: 2026-09-25 | |
| 104 | 105 | note: Built from the PepsiCo SmartLabel page for UPC 012000008221 (nutrition, ingredients and allergens tabs) and Wikipedia for the product line's history. | |
| 105 | 106 | <!--/research--> | |
| 106 | 107 | ||
| 107 | 108 | ## References <!--references--> | |
| 108 | − | | ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream | | |
| 109 | − | | -------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------------ | ---------- | --------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------------------- | -------- | | |
| 110 | − | | smartlabel | https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/index.html | Diet Pepsi, Wild Cherry Flavor – SmartLabel | 2026-09-25 | PepsiCo | manufacturer | 2023-08-17 | | About/Company tab: 12 FL OZ (355 mL) Can, UPC 012000008221; Distributed By PepsiCo, Inc., Purchase, NY 10577 | | | | | |
| 111 | − | | smartlabel-nut | https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-nutrition.html | Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Nutrition | 2026-09-25 | PepsiCo | manufacturer | 2023-08-17 | | Nutrition Facts: 1 serving per container, serving size 1 can | | | | | |
| 112 | − | | smartlabel-ing | https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-ingredients.html | Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Ingredients | 2026-09-25 | PepsiCo | manufacturer | 2023-08-17 | | Ingredients list; Juice Content 0%; Caffeine 38mg/12 fl oz; Wild Cherry Flavor With Other Natural Flavors | | | | | |
| 113 | − | | smartlabel-alg | https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-allergens.html | Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Allergens | 2026-09-25 | PepsiCo | manufacturer | 2023-08-17 | | All Allergens tab: does not contain any of the FDA major food allergens | | | | | |
| 114 | − | | wildcherry | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pepsi_Wild_Cherry | Pepsi Wild Cherry | 2026-09-25 | Wikipedia | publication | | | History and Availability: introduced 1988; sold in the US and Canada as a permanent product; Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry variant | cc-by-sa-4.0 | Wikipedia contributors | | | |
| 115 | − | | gs1gdsn | https://www.gs1.org/docs/gdsn/stats/gdsn_trading_partners.pdf | GS1: GDSN trading partners | 2026-09-25 | GS1 | catalogue | | | PepsiCo GLN 0012000000010, issued from company prefix 0012000 | | | | | |
| 109 | + | | ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream | | |
| 110 | + | | -------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------------ | ---------- | --------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------------------- | -------- | | |
| 111 | + | | smartlabel | https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/index.html | Diet Pepsi, Wild Cherry Flavor – SmartLabel | 2026-09-25 | PepsiCo | manufacturer | 2023-08-17 | | About/Company tab: 12 FL OZ (355 mL) Can, UPC 012000008221; Distributed By PepsiCo, Inc., Purchase, NY 10577 | | | | | |
| 112 | + | | smartlabel-nut | https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-nutrition.html | Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Nutrition | 2026-09-25 | PepsiCo | manufacturer | 2023-08-17 | | Nutrition Facts: 1 serving per container, serving size 1 can | | | | | |
| 113 | + | | smartlabel-ing | https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-ingredients.html | Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Ingredients | 2026-09-25 | PepsiCo | manufacturer | 2023-08-17 | | Ingredients list; Juice Content 0%; Caffeine 38mg/12 fl oz; Wild Cherry Flavor With Other Natural Flavors | | | | | |
| 114 | + | | smartlabel-alg | https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-allergens.html | Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Allergens | 2026-09-25 | PepsiCo | manufacturer | 2023-08-17 | | All Allergens tab: does not contain any of the FDA major food allergens | | | | | |
| 115 | + | | wildcherry | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pepsi_Wild_Cherry | Pepsi Wild Cherry | 2026-09-25 | Wikipedia | publication | | | History and Availability: introduced 1988; sold in the US and Canada as a permanent product; Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry variant | cc-by-sa-4.0 | Wikipedia contributors | | | |
| 116 | + | | gs1gdsn | https://www.gs1.org/docs/gdsn/stats/gdsn_trading_partners.pdf | GS1: GDSN trading partners | 2026-09-25 | GS1 | catalogue | | | PepsiCo GLN 0012000000010, issued from company prefix 0012000 | | | | | |
| 117 | + | | usda-63367 | https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2653677/nutrients | USDA FoodData Central: Wild Cherry Diet Soda, Cherry (fdc 2653677) | 2026-09-25 | USDA | catalogue | 2023-10-26 | 2653677 | GTIN 0012000063367, 355 mL serving; brand owner Pepsi-Cola North America Inc. | cc0 | USDA FoodData Central | | | |
| 118 | + | | usda-22012 | https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2493737/nutrients | USDA FoodData Central: Wild Cherry Diet Cola, Wild Cherry (fdc 2493737) | 2026-09-25 | USDA | catalogue | 2023-03-16 | 2493737 | GTIN 012000022012, 12 fl oz/355 mL; modified 2023-01-06; sucralose formula | cc0 | USDA FoodData Central | | | |
| 119 | + | | dietpepsi | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diet_Pepsi | Diet Pepsi | 2026-09-25 | Wikipedia | publication | | | Sweetener history: sucralose from August 2015, aspartame formula revived and later restored as the main sweetener | cc-by-sa-4.0 | Wikipedia contributors | | | |
| 116 | 120 | <!--/references--> | |
| 117 | 121 | ||
| 118 | 122 | ## About <!--about--> | |
| 119 | 123 | Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry is the sugar-free, cherry-flavoured version of PepsiCo's Diet Pepsi cola, sold in the United States in this 12 fl oz (355 mL) can.[^smartlabel] It carries the crisp Diet Pepsi cola taste with an added wild-cherry note, and its label declares zero calories, no sugar and 35 mg of sodium per can, with 38 mg of caffeine per 12 fl oz.[^smartlabel-nut][^smartlabel-ing] The drink is sweetened with aspartame and acesulfame potassium and coloured with caramel colour.[^smartlabel-ing] Pepsi Wild Cherry, the cherry cola line this diet version belongs to, was introduced by PepsiCo in 1988 and remains a permanent product in the United States and Canada.[^wildcherry] The can is distributed by PepsiCo, Inc. of Purchase, New York.[^smartlabel] | |
| 120 | 124 | ||
| 121 | − | The 12-digit UPC 012000008221 sits inside GS1 company prefix 0012000, which PepsiCo licenses and from which its GLN 0012000000010 is issued.[^gs1gdsn] The SmartLabel record for this barcode was last updated on 17 August 2023.[^smartlabel] | |
| 125 | + | The 12-digit UPC 012000008221 sits inside GS1 company prefix 0012000, which PepsiCo licenses and from which its GLN 0012000000010 is issued.[^gs1gdsn] The SmartLabel record for this barcode was last updated on 17 August 2023.[^smartlabel] USDA Branded Foods records for PepsiCo's 12 fl oz Wild Cherry Diet can, published in October 2023, list the same aspartame-sweetened ingredients,[^usda-63367] while older records for other Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry packs list sucralose, acesulfame potassium and potassium sorbate.[^usda-22012] Diet Pepsi itself moved from aspartame to sucralose in August 2015 before PepsiCo restored aspartame as its main sweetener.[^dietpepsi] | |
| 122 | 126 | <!--/about--> |
Source of v1
# Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 12 fl oz <!--product-->
## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 00012000008221
name: Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 12 fl oz
family: family/diet-pepsi
default_observation: us-label
brand: brand/pepsi
category: category/10000201
net_content: 12 floz
country_of_sale: US
pack_format: can
status: active
<!--/identity-->
## Relations <!--relations-->
| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
| ------------------- | --------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | ----------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
| brand_owner_at_sale | company/pepsico | US | | | | sourced | ^smartlabel | PepsiCo owns the Pepsi brand; the SmartLabel page for this UPC is a PepsiCo record |
| distributed_by | company/pepsico | US | | | | sourced | ^smartlabel | "Distributed By PepsiCo, Inc., Purchase, NY 10577" on the SmartLabel page for this UPC |
| gs1_prefix_owner | company/pepsico | | | | | sourced | ^gs1gdsn | Prefix 0012000; PepsiCo holds it per the GS1 GDSN trading-partner list (GLN 0012000000010) |
<!--/relations-->
## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price |
| ------- | ------- | ----------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------ | ----- |
| US | sourced | ^smartlabel | PepsiCo SmartLabel en-US page keyed to UPC 012000008221; distributed by PepsiCo, Inc., Purchase NY | 2026-09-25 | | | |
<!--/markets-->
## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name | type | locale | from | until |
| ------------------------------ | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Diet Pepsi, Wild Cherry Flavor | name | en-US | | |
| Diet Wild Cherry Pepsi | search | | | |
| 012000008221 | gtin | | | |
<!--/aliases-->
## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state |
| -------------------------------- | ------------ | ----- | ----------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | --------------- | ------------- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | --------------------- | ----- |
| ingredient/carbonated-water | | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-water | us-label | | 1 | Carbonated Water | |
| ingredient/caramel-colour | colour | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-caramel | us-label | | 2 | Caramel Color | |
| ingredient/phosphoric-acid | acid | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-phos | us-label | | 3 | Phosphoric Acid | |
| ingredient/natural-flavourings | flavouring | label | Wild cherry flavour with other natural flavours | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-flavour | us-label | | 4 | Natural Flavor | |
| ingredient/aspartame | sweetener | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-aspartame | us-label | | 5 | Aspartame | |
| ingredient/potassium-benzoate | preservative | label | "Preserves Freshness" on the label | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-kbenz | us-label | | 6 | Potassium Benzoate | |
| ingredient/potassium-citrate | | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-kcit | us-label | | 7 | Potassium Citrate | |
| ingredient/citric-acid | acid | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-citric | us-label | | 8 | Citric Acid | |
| ingredient/caffeine | | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-caffeine | us-label | | 9 | Caffeine | |
| ingredient/acesulfame-k | sweetener | label | | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-acek | us-label | | 10 | Acesulfame Potassium | |
| ingredient/calcium-disodium-edta | antioxidant | label | "To Protect Flavor" on the label | | | | | | ^smartlabel-ing | ing-edta | us-label | | 11 | Calcium Disodium EDTA | |
<!--/ingredients-->
## Observations <!--observations-->
| id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
| -------- | --------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | --------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ |
| us-label | US label (SmartLabel) | label | US | en | | | 2026-09-25 | supported | Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Phosphoric Acid, Natural Flavor, Aspartame, Potassium Benzoate (Preserves Freshness), Potassium Citrate, Citric Acid, Caffeine, Acesulfame Potassium, Calcium Disodium EDTA (To Protect Flavor) | listed | | ^smartlabel-ing | Read from the PepsiCo SmartLabel page for this UPC; product information updated 17-Aug-2023 | 12 floz | | | can | |
<!--/observations-->
## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
| id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note |
| ------ | ----------- | ------- | ------- | ----------- | ------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------ | --------------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| us-can | us-label | Per can | 12 floz | as_sold | Serving size 1 can, 1 serving per container | transcribed | | ^smartlabel-nut | US Nutrition Facts; labelling voluntary for this product per the panel |
<!--/nutrition_panels-->
## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
| ------ | -------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ------------- | ----- | ------- | --------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------ |
| us-can | energy_kcal | 0 | | | | 0 | known | printed | ^smartlabel-nut | |
| us-can | fat_g | 0 | | | 0 | 0 g | known | printed | ^smartlabel-nut | |
| us-can | sodium_mg | 35 | | | 2 | 35 mg | known | printed | ^smartlabel-nut | |
| us-can | carbohydrate_g | 0 | | | 0 | 0 g | known | printed | ^smartlabel-nut | |
| us-can | sugars_g | 0 | | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^smartlabel-nut | |
| us-can | added_sugars_g | 0 | | | 0 | 0 g | known | printed | ^smartlabel-nut | |
| us-can | protein_g | 0 | | | | 0 g | known | printed | ^smartlabel-nut | |
| us-can | caffeine_mg | 38 | | | | 38mg/12 fl oz | known | printed | ^smartlabel-ing | Caffeine content stated on the ingredients tab, per 12 fl oz |
<!--/nutrition_values-->
## Allergen declarations <!--allergens-->
| observation | allergen | declaration | source | note |
| ----------- | -------------------- | ----------- | --------------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| us-label | milk | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen |
| us-label | peanuts | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen |
| us-label | eggs | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen |
| us-label | fish | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen |
| us-label | crustacean shellfish | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen |
| us-label | soy | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen |
| us-label | tree nuts | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen |
| us-label | wheat | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen |
| us-label | sesame | free_from | ^smartlabel-alg | SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen |
<!--/allergens-->
## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
| observation | domain | state | detail | source |
| ----------- | -------- | ------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ------ |
| | markets | unknown | No single 12 fl oz can listing found on amazon.com on 2026-09-25: searched the barcode 012000008221, the full name "Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry", and the brand; only 12-can multipacks (a separate pack with its own barcode) are listed | |
| | images | unknown | No openly licensed front photo of this single 12 fl oz can was available; the PepsiCo SmartLabel image is not under an open licence. A community photo is requested | |
| | identity | unknown | country_of_origin is not stated on the SmartLabel page; the can is distributed by PepsiCo in the United States but no "Product of" line was available | |
<!--/research_gaps-->
## Research <!--research-->
structure_version: 2
reviewed_on: 2026-09-25
note: Built from the PepsiCo SmartLabel page for UPC 012000008221 (nutrition, ingredients and allergens tabs) and Wikipedia for the product line's history.
<!--/research-->
## References <!--references-->
| ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream |
| -------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ------------ | ---------- | --------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------------------- | -------- |
| smartlabel | https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/index.html | Diet Pepsi, Wild Cherry Flavor – SmartLabel | 2026-09-25 | PepsiCo | manufacturer | 2023-08-17 | | About/Company tab: 12 FL OZ (355 mL) Can, UPC 012000008221; Distributed By PepsiCo, Inc., Purchase, NY 10577 | | | |
| smartlabel-nut | https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-nutrition.html | Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Nutrition | 2026-09-25 | PepsiCo | manufacturer | 2023-08-17 | | Nutrition Facts: 1 serving per container, serving size 1 can | | | |
| smartlabel-ing | https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-ingredients.html | Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Ingredients | 2026-09-25 | PepsiCo | manufacturer | 2023-08-17 | | Ingredients list; Juice Content 0%; Caffeine 38mg/12 fl oz; Wild Cherry Flavor With Other Natural Flavors | | | |
| smartlabel-alg | https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-allergens.html | Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Allergens | 2026-09-25 | PepsiCo | manufacturer | 2023-08-17 | | All Allergens tab: does not contain any of the FDA major food allergens | | | |
| wildcherry | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pepsi_Wild_Cherry | Pepsi Wild Cherry | 2026-09-25 | Wikipedia | publication | | | History and Availability: introduced 1988; sold in the US and Canada as a permanent product; Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry variant | cc-by-sa-4.0 | Wikipedia contributors | |
| gs1gdsn | https://www.gs1.org/docs/gdsn/stats/gdsn_trading_partners.pdf | GS1: GDSN trading partners | 2026-09-25 | GS1 | catalogue | | | PepsiCo GLN 0012000000010, issued from company prefix 0012000 | | | |
<!--/references-->
## About <!--about-->
Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry is the sugar-free, cherry-flavoured version of PepsiCo's Diet Pepsi cola, sold in the United States in this 12 fl oz (355 mL) can.[^smartlabel] It carries the crisp Diet Pepsi cola taste with an added wild-cherry note, and its label declares zero calories, no sugar and 35 mg of sodium per can, with 38 mg of caffeine per 12 fl oz.[^smartlabel-nut][^smartlabel-ing] The drink is sweetened with aspartame and acesulfame potassium and coloured with caramel colour.[^smartlabel-ing] Pepsi Wild Cherry, the cherry cola line this diet version belongs to, was introduced by PepsiCo in 1988 and remains a permanent product in the United States and Canada.[^wildcherry] The can is distributed by PepsiCo, Inc. of Purchase, New York.[^smartlabel]
The 12-digit UPC 012000008221 sits inside GS1 company prefix 0012000, which PepsiCo licenses and from which its GLN 0012000000010 is issued.[^gs1gdsn] The SmartLabel record for this barcode was last updated on 17 August 2023.[^smartlabel]
<!--/about-->