Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 L: version 1

Saved 2026-09-13 21:40 by @benjaminsen (bot): Added **Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 L** (UPC 012000003417), taken from the wanted list (the 2007 Barcodepedia page "Pepsi Diet Wild Cherry Cola, 2 Liter Bottle, 67.6 fl oz"). - **Identity:** the USDA Branded Foods GDSN record (fdc 1457355) and the Open Food Facts record both name this exact GTIN as "Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 Liter Plastic Bottle". The lookup's `conflict` compared two identical strings, so it is not a real conflict. Brand is brand/pepsi, family is family/diet-pepsi (Wikipedia names Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry as a Diet Pepsi variant, launched 1988), category is 10000201. Net content is 2 l, in a bottle. - **Relations:** brand_owner_at_sale is company/pepsico (sourced: USDA names Pepsico Inc.). gs1_prefix_owner is company/pepsi-cola-north-america (sourced: that stub states prefix 012000, even though the lookup reported prefix_owner null). - **Markets:** US, sourced from the USDA record. Walmart, Safeway, Smith's, Amazon and Publix listings could not be fetched, so there is no price. - **Ingredients and nutrition:** 11 label rows from the USDA statement, plus a per-100 ml panel of USDA-normalised values. Salt is calculated from sodium. Caffeine is left not_researched for this GTIN. - **Unresolved:** the USDA label lists sucralose, but Wikipedia reports Diet Pepsi went back to aspartame in February 2018; recorded as disputed. PepsiCo's facts site does not recognise this GTIN and lists the 67 fl oz bottle under 00012000172373, so no status or successor is set. Brand owner (Pepsico Inc.) and the prefix stub (Pepsi-Cola North America) disagree. No photos exist. - **No stubs created:** all brand, company, family and ingredient entities already existed. - **Feedback:** id 84adc979-9b80-4548-8312-af7a6f708b22.. Current is v2.

Sign in to restore this version.

Changes from v1 to current

11# Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 L <!--product-->
22 
33## Identity <!--identity-->
44gtin: 00012000003417
55name: Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 L
66family: family/diet-pepsi
77default_observation: usda-label
88summary: Sugar-free cherry-flavoured cola from PepsiCo's Diet Pepsi line in the US 2-litre plastic bottle, UPC 012000003417.
99brand: brand/pepsi
1010category: category/10000201
1111net_content: 2 l
1212country_of_sale: US
1313pack_format: bottle
1414<!--/identity-->
1515 
1616## Relations <!--relations-->
17| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
18| ------------------- | -------------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
19| brand_owner_at_sale | company/pepsico | US | | | | sourced | ^usda | USDA Branded Foods (GDSN) names Pepsico Inc. as the brand owner of this GTIN; the Open Food Facts record repeats the same field, so it is one line of evidence. |
20| gs1_prefix_owner | company/pepsi-cola-north-america | | | | | sourced | ^usda1215 | The company stub states GS1 prefix 012000, citing the USDA record for UPC 012000001215. This barcode's own USDA record names Pepsico Inc. as brand owner instead; see Research gaps. |
17+| role | target | market | from | until | ended | status | source | note |
18+| ------------------- | -------------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | --------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
19+| brand_owner_at_sale | company/pepsico | US | | | | sourced | ^usda | USDA Branded Foods (GDSN) names Pepsico Inc. as the brand owner of this GTIN; the Open Food Facts record repeats the same field, so it is one line of evidence. |
20+| gs1_prefix_owner | company/pepsi-cola-north-america | | | | | derived | ^usda1215 | Derived: company/pepsi-cola-north-america no longer states this prefix; its attribution came from a pack or brand-owner record, not a registry (prefix audit 2026-09-14). The company stub states GS1 prefix 012000, citing the USDA record for UPC 012000001215. This barcode's own USDA record names Pepsico Inc. as brand owner instead; see Research gaps. |
2121<!--/relations-->
2222 
2323## Markets <!--markets-->
2424| country | status | source | note | observed | condition | origin | price |
2525| ------- | ------- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ---------- | --------- | ------ | ----- |
2626| US | sourced | ^usda | USDA FoodData Central holds a United States GDSN label record for this exact GTIN (market US, brand owner Pepsico Inc., release 2026-04-30). US grocery listings found by web search (Walmart, Safeway, Smith's) refused server-side retrieval (HTTP 412, HTTP 403, timeout), so no dated price is recorded. | 2026-09-13 | | | |
2727<!--/markets-->
2828 
2929## Aliases <!--aliases-->
3030| name | type | locale | from | until |
3131| ------------------------------------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
3232| Diet Wild Cherry Pepsi | name | en | | |
3333| Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 Liter Plastic Bottle | search | en | | |
3434| Pepsi Diet Wild Cherry Cola, 2 Liter Bottle, 67.6 fl oz | search | en | | |
3535<!--/aliases-->
3636 
3737## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
3838| ingredient | role | kind | note | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name | state |
3939| -------------------------------- | ------------ | ----- | ------------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ------ | --- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | --------------------- | ----- |
4040| ingredient/carbonated-water | | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i1 | usda-label | | 1 | CARBONATED WATER | known |
4141| ingredient/caramel-colour | colour | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i2 | usda-label | | 2 | CARAMEL COLOR | known |
4242| ingredient/natural-flavourings | flavouring | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i3 | usda-label | | 3 | NATURAL FLAVOR | known |
4343| ingredient/phosphoric-acid | acid | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i4 | usda-label | | 4 | PHOSPHORIC ACID | known |
4444| ingredient/potassium-citrate | | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i5 | usda-label | | 5 | POTASSIUM CITRATE | known |
4545| ingredient/sucralose | sweetener | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i6 | usda-label | | 6 | SUCRALOSE | known |
4646| ingredient/citric-acid | acid | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i7 | usda-label | | 7 | CITRIC ACID | known |
4747| ingredient/acesulfame-k | sweetener | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i8 | usda-label | | 8 | ACESULFAME POTASSIUM | known |
4848| ingredient/caffeine | | label | | | | US | | | ^usda | i9 | usda-label | | 9 | CAFFEINE | known |
4949| ingredient/potassium-sorbate | preservative | label | The label adds "(PRESERVES FRESHNESS)" after this ingredient. | | | US | | | ^usda | i10 | usda-label | | 10 | POTASSIUM SORBATE | known |
5050| ingredient/calcium-disodium-edta | | label | The label adds "(TO PROTECT FLAVOR)" after this ingredient. | | | US | | | ^usda | i11 | usda-label | | 11 | CALCIUM DISODIUM EDTA | known |
5151<!--/ingredients-->
5252 
5353## Observations <!--observations-->
5454| id | label | kind | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed | status | ingredients_text | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
5555| ---------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ |
5656| usda-label | United States label as recorded by USDA Branded Foods | label | US | en | | | 2021-03-19 | supported | CARBONATED WATER, CARAMEL COLOR, NATURAL FLAVOR, PHOSPHORIC ACID, POTASSIUM CITRATE, SUCRALOSE, CITRIC ACID, ACESULFAME POTASSIUM, CAFFEINE, POTASSIUM SORBATE (PRESERVES FRESHNESS), CALCIUM DISODIUM EDTA (TO PROTECT FLAVOR). | listed | | ^usda | GDSN record for this GTIN, USDA release 2026-04-30, label data modified 2018-05-10 and published 2021-03-19; USDA stores the statement in upper case as captured. The date the label data was modified is not a formulation-change date. No label photograph exists for this barcode. | 2 l | | | bottle | |
5757<!--/observations-->
5858 
5959## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
6060| id | observation | label | basis | basis_state | basis_note | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note |
6161| -------- | ----------- | ------------------------------ | ------ | ----------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------ | ------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
6262| usda-100 | usda-label | Per 100 ml, USDA normalisation | 100 ml | as_sold | USDA restates the label panel per 100 ml; the printed serving column for this article was not available. | transcribed | | ^usda | The record gives a serving of 507 ml with the household serving "16.9 fl oz (500 mL) Per Serving", which does not match a 2 L bottle's usual 12 fl oz column; the per-serving figures are therefore not stored. |
6363<!--/nutrition_panels-->
6464 
6565## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
66| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
67| -------- | --------------- | ----- | --------- | ------------- | -------------- | ---------- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
68| usda-100 | energy_kcal | 0 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
69| usda-100 | fat_g | 0 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
70| usda-100 | saturated_fat_g | 0 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
71| usda-100 | trans_fat_g | 0 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
72| usda-100 | cholesterol_mg | 0 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
73| usda-100 | carbohydrate_g | 0.05 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
74| usda-100 | sugars_g | 0.01 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
75| usda-100 | fibre_g | 0 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
76| usda-100 | protein_g | 0 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
77| usda-100 | sodium_mg | 10 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
78| usda-100 | potassium_mg | 16 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
79| usda-100 | calcium_mg | 0 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
80| usda-100 | iron_mg | 0 | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
81| usda-100 | salt_g | 0.025 | | | known | calculated | ^usda | Salt equivalent computed from sodium; United States labels declare sodium, not salt. |
82| usda-100 | caffeine_mg | | | | not_researched | printed | | Caffeine is in the ingredient list; no amount for this GTIN was found. PepsiCo gives 38 mg per 12 fl oz for its current 67 fl oz article under another barcode (^ppf67), which is not assumed to be this one. |
66+| panel | nutrient | value | qualifier | value_max | dv_percent | printed_value | state | method | source | note |
67+| -------- | --------------- | ----- | --------- | --------- | ---------- | ------------- | -------------- | ---------- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
68+| usda-100 | energy_kcal | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
69+| usda-100 | fat_g | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
70+| usda-100 | saturated_fat_g | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
71+| usda-100 | trans_fat_g | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
72+| usda-100 | cholesterol_mg | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
73+| usda-100 | carbohydrate_g | 0.05 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
74+| usda-100 | sugars_g | 0.01 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
75+| usda-100 | fibre_g | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
76+| usda-100 | protein_g | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
77+| usda-100 | sodium_mg | 10 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
78+| usda-100 | potassium_mg | 16 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
79+| usda-100 | calcium_mg | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
80+| usda-100 | iron_mg | 0 | | | | | known | normalized | ^usda | |
81+| usda-100 | salt_g | 0.025 | | | | | known | calculated | ^usda | Salt equivalent computed from sodium; United States labels declare sodium, not salt. |
82+| usda-100 | caffeine_mg | | | | | | not_researched | printed | | Caffeine is in the ingredient list; no amount for this GTIN was found. PepsiCo gives 38 mg per 12 fl oz for its current 67 fl oz article under another barcode (^ppf67), which is not assumed to be this one. |
8383<!--/nutrition_values-->
8484 
8585## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
8686| observation | domain | state | detail | source |
8787| ----------- | ------------- | -------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------- |
8888| usda-label | ingredients | disputed | The USDA statement names sucralose, but Wikipedia reports Diet Pepsi returned from sucralose to aspartame market-wide on 25 February 2018, and a web search snippet for this pack's Kroger code lists aspartame and potassium benzoate. No label photo or maker ingredient page for this GTIN was readable, so which sweetener the current bottle carries is unconfirmed. | ^wikidietpepsi |
8989| | identity | stale | PepsiCo's product facts site answers "Product not found" for GTIN 00012000003417 and lists Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 67 fl oz under 00012000172373. Whether that article replaced this number, and whether this pack is still sold, is unconfirmed, so no status or successor is recorded. | ^ppf67 |
9090| usda-label | nutrition | not_researched | Values are USDA's per-100 ml restatement, not a transcription of the printed panel; the printed serving column is unread. | ^usda |
9191| | markets | not_researched | Walmart, Safeway, Publix, Amazon and Smith's listings for this pack could not be read from the server (blocked, geo-gated or timed out), so the entry carries no dated retail price. | |
9292| | relationships | disputed | This GTIN's USDA record names Pepsico Inc. as brand owner, while the company stub holding prefix 012000 is Pepsi-Cola North America Inc., derived from another Pepsi UPC's USDA record. Which entity licensed the prefix is not stated by any register. | ^usda |
9393| | images | not_researched | No photograph of this pack: Open Food Facts holds none for this barcode. | ^off |
9494<!--/research_gaps-->
9595 
9696## Research <!--research-->
9797structure_version: 2
9898reviewed_on: 2026-09-13
9999note: New entry built from the USDA Branded Foods (GDSN) record for this GTIN, the Open Food Facts record, PepsiCo's product facts pages for Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry, Wikipedia and the archived 2007 Barcodepedia entry the wanted list links to.
100100<!--/research-->
101101 
102102## Meta <!--meta-->
103103title: Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 L bottle - UPC 012000003417
104104description: Sugar-free Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry cola in the US 2-litre bottle: label ingredients, nutrition, brand owner and sources for barcode 012000003417.
105105<!--/meta-->
106106 
107107## References <!--references-->
108108| ref | url | title | accessed | publisher | kind | published | record_id | locator | licence | attribution | upstream |
109109| -------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ----------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------- | -------------- | ------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ------------- |
110110| usda | https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/1457355/nutrients | USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (GDSN), fdc_id 1457355, version 2021-03-19 | 2026-09-13 | U.S. Department of Agriculture | registry | 2021-03-19 | 1457355 | | cc0 | | GDSN |
111111| off | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0012000003417 | Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 Liter Plastic Bottle, Pepsi | 2026-09-13 | Open Food Facts | catalogue | | 0012000003417 | | ODbL | Open Food Facts contributors | |
112112| ppf67 | https://www.pepsicoproductfacts.com/Home/Product?gtin=00012000172373 | Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry - 67 fl oz | 2026-09-13 | PepsiCo | manufacturer | | 00012000172373 | | | | |
113113| ppfgtin | https://www.pepsicoproductfacts.com/Home/Product?gtin=00012000003417 | The Facts About Your Favorite Foods and Beverages (U.S.): Invalid Product, for GTIN 00012000003417 | 2026-09-13 | PepsiCo | manufacturer | | 00012000003417 | | | | |
114114| wikiwildcherry | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pepsi_Wild_Cherry | Pepsi Wild Cherry | 2026-09-13 | Wikipedia | publication | | | | cc-by-sa-4.0 | Wikipedia contributors | |
115115| wikidietpepsi | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diet_Pepsi | Diet Pepsi | 2026-09-13 | Wikipedia | publication | | | | cc-by-sa-4.0 | Wikipedia contributors | |
116116| oldbp | https://web.archive.org/web/20070914075338/http://en.barcodepedia.com/012000003417/pepsi-diet-wild-cherry-cola-2-liter-bottle-676-fl-oz | Pepsi Diet Wild Cherry Cola, 2 Liter Bottle, 67.6 fl oz: the 2006-2013 Barcodepedia entry for this UPC | 2026-09-13 | Barcodepedia (archived by the Internet Archive) | publication | 2007-09-14 | | | | | Amazon.com |
117117| usda1215 | https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/1624750/nutrients | USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (LI), fdc_id 1624750, version 2021-03-19 (source of the prefix on the Pepsi-Cola North America stub) | 2026-09-13 | U.S. Department of Agriculture | registry | 2021-03-19 | 1624750 | | cc0 | | Label Insight |
118118<!--/references-->
119119 
120120## About <!--about-->
121121Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 L is the two-litre plastic bottle of PepsiCo's sugar-free cherry-flavoured cola, sold in the United States.[^usda] The cherry flavour arrived in 1988 with Pepsi Wild Cherry, and Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry launched the same year as a variant of Diet Pepsi.[^wikiwildcherry] [^wikidietpepsi] The USDA Branded Foods record for this barcode names Pepsico Inc. as brand owner and lists a label sweetened with sucralose and acesulfame potassium.[^usda] Diet Pepsi had moved to sucralose in 2015 and went back to aspartame market-wide in February 2018, so that statement may describe an earlier label.[^wikidietpepsi] The barcode already identified this bottle in 2007, when the first Barcodepedia called it "Pepsi Diet Wild Cherry Cola, 2 Liter Bottle, 67.6 fl oz".[^oldbp] PepsiCo's product facts site does not recognise the number and lists its 67 fl oz bottle under another barcode.[^ppfgtin] [^ppf67]
122122<!--/about-->

Source of v1

# Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 L <!--product-->

## Identity <!--identity-->
gtin: 00012000003417
name: Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 L
family: family/diet-pepsi
default_observation: usda-label
summary: Sugar-free cherry-flavoured cola from PepsiCo's Diet Pepsi line in the US 2-litre plastic bottle, UPC 012000003417.
brand: brand/pepsi
category: category/10000201
net_content: 2 l
country_of_sale: US
pack_format: bottle
<!--/identity-->

## Relations <!--relations-->
| role                | target                           | market | from | until | ended | status  | source    | note                                                                                                                                                                                 |
| ------------------- | -------------------------------- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ----- | ------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
| brand_owner_at_sale | company/pepsico                  | US     |      |       |       | sourced | ^usda     | USDA Branded Foods (GDSN) names Pepsico Inc. as the brand owner of this GTIN; the Open Food Facts record repeats the same field, so it is one line of evidence.                      |
| gs1_prefix_owner    | company/pepsi-cola-north-america |        |      |       |       | sourced | ^usda1215 | The company stub states GS1 prefix 012000, citing the USDA record for UPC 012000001215. This barcode's own USDA record names Pepsico Inc. as brand owner instead; see Research gaps. |
<!--/relations-->

## Markets <!--markets-->
| country | status  | source | note                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         | observed   | condition | origin | price |
| ------- | ------- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ---------- | --------- | ------ | ----- |
| US      | sourced | ^usda  | USDA FoodData Central holds a United States GDSN label record for this exact GTIN (market US, brand owner Pepsico Inc., release 2026-04-30). US grocery listings found by web search (Walmart, Safeway, Smith's) refused server-side retrieval (HTTP 412, HTTP 403, timeout), so no dated price is recorded. | 2026-09-13 |           |        |       |
<!--/markets-->

## Aliases <!--aliases-->
| name                                                    | type   | locale | from | until |
| ------------------------------------------------------- | ------ | ------ | ---- | ----- |
| Diet Wild Cherry Pepsi                                  | name   | en     |      |       |
| Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 Liter Plastic Bottle           | search | en     |      |       |
| Pepsi Diet Wild Cherry Cola, 2 Liter Bottle, 67.6 fl oz | search | en     |      |       |
<!--/aliases-->

## Ingredients <!--ingredients-->
| ingredient                       | role         | kind  | note                                                          | percent | basis | market | from | until | source | id  | observation | parent_id | position | printed_name          | state |
| -------------------------------- | ------------ | ----- | ------------------------------------------------------------- | ------- | ----- | ------ | ---- | ----- | ------ | --- | ----------- | --------- | -------- | --------------------- | ----- |
| ingredient/carbonated-water      |              | label |                                                               |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i1  | usda-label  |           | 1        | CARBONATED WATER      | known |
| ingredient/caramel-colour        | colour       | label |                                                               |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i2  | usda-label  |           | 2        | CARAMEL COLOR         | known |
| ingredient/natural-flavourings   | flavouring   | label |                                                               |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i3  | usda-label  |           | 3        | NATURAL FLAVOR        | known |
| ingredient/phosphoric-acid       | acid         | label |                                                               |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i4  | usda-label  |           | 4        | PHOSPHORIC ACID       | known |
| ingredient/potassium-citrate     |              | label |                                                               |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i5  | usda-label  |           | 5        | POTASSIUM CITRATE     | known |
| ingredient/sucralose             | sweetener    | label |                                                               |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i6  | usda-label  |           | 6        | SUCRALOSE             | known |
| ingredient/citric-acid           | acid         | label |                                                               |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i7  | usda-label  |           | 7        | CITRIC ACID           | known |
| ingredient/acesulfame-k          | sweetener    | label |                                                               |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i8  | usda-label  |           | 8        | ACESULFAME POTASSIUM  | known |
| ingredient/caffeine              |              | label |                                                               |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i9  | usda-label  |           | 9        | CAFFEINE              | known |
| ingredient/potassium-sorbate     | preservative | label | The label adds "(PRESERVES FRESHNESS)" after this ingredient. |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i10 | usda-label  |           | 10       | POTASSIUM SORBATE     | known |
| ingredient/calcium-disodium-edta |              | label | The label adds "(TO PROTECT FLAVOR)" after this ingredient.   |         |       | US     |      |       | ^usda  | i11 | usda-label  |           | 11       | CALCIUM DISODIUM EDTA | known |
<!--/ingredients-->

## Observations <!--observations-->
| id         | label                                                 | kind  | market | language | valid_from | valid_until | observed   | status    | ingredients_text                                                                                                                                                                                                                 | ingredients_declaration | ingredients_exempt_basis | source | note                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  | net_content | pack_quantity | piece_count | pack_format | model_number |
| ---------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ----- | ------ | -------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------- | --------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------- | ------------------------ | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------- | ----------- | ----------- | ------------ |
| usda-label | United States label as recorded by USDA Branded Foods | label | US     | en       |            |             | 2021-03-19 | supported | CARBONATED WATER, CARAMEL COLOR, NATURAL FLAVOR, PHOSPHORIC ACID, POTASSIUM CITRATE, SUCRALOSE, CITRIC ACID, ACESULFAME POTASSIUM, CAFFEINE, POTASSIUM SORBATE (PRESERVES FRESHNESS), CALCIUM DISODIUM EDTA (TO PROTECT FLAVOR). | listed                  |                          | ^usda  | GDSN record for this GTIN, USDA release 2026-04-30, label data modified 2018-05-10 and published 2021-03-19; USDA stores the statement in upper case as captured. The date the label data was modified is not a formulation-change date. No label photograph exists for this barcode. | 2 l         |               |             | bottle      |              |
<!--/observations-->

## Nutrition panels <!--nutrition_panels-->
| id       | observation | label                          | basis  | basis_state | basis_note                                                                                               | declaration | exempt_basis | source | note                                                                                                                                                                                                            |
| -------- | ----------- | ------------------------------ | ------ | ----------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------- | ------------ | ------ | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| usda-100 | usda-label  | Per 100 ml, USDA normalisation | 100 ml | as_sold     | USDA restates the label panel per 100 ml; the printed serving column for this article was not available. | transcribed |              | ^usda  | The record gives a serving of 507 ml with the household serving "16.9 fl oz (500 mL) Per Serving", which does not match a 2 L bottle's usual 12 fl oz column; the per-serving figures are therefore not stored. |
<!--/nutrition_panels-->

## Nutrition values <!--nutrition_values-->
| panel    | nutrient        | value | qualifier | printed_value | state          | method     | source | note                                                                                                                                                                                                          |
| -------- | --------------- | ----- | --------- | ------------- | -------------- | ---------- | ------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| usda-100 | energy_kcal     | 0     |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                                                                                               |
| usda-100 | fat_g           | 0     |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                                                                                               |
| usda-100 | saturated_fat_g | 0     |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                                                                                               |
| usda-100 | trans_fat_g     | 0     |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                                                                                               |
| usda-100 | cholesterol_mg  | 0     |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                                                                                               |
| usda-100 | carbohydrate_g  | 0.05  |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                                                                                               |
| usda-100 | sugars_g        | 0.01  |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                                                                                               |
| usda-100 | fibre_g         | 0     |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                                                                                               |
| usda-100 | protein_g       | 0     |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                                                                                               |
| usda-100 | sodium_mg       | 10    |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                                                                                               |
| usda-100 | potassium_mg    | 16    |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                                                                                               |
| usda-100 | calcium_mg      | 0     |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                                                                                               |
| usda-100 | iron_mg         | 0     |           |               | known          | normalized | ^usda  |                                                                                                                                                                                                               |
| usda-100 | salt_g          | 0.025 |           |               | known          | calculated | ^usda  | Salt equivalent computed from sodium; United States labels declare sodium, not salt.                                                                                                                          |
| usda-100 | caffeine_mg     |       |           |               | not_researched | printed    |        | Caffeine is in the ingredient list; no amount for this GTIN was found. PepsiCo gives 38 mg per 12 fl oz for its current 67 fl oz article under another barcode (^ppf67), which is not assumed to be this one. |
<!--/nutrition_values-->

## Research gaps <!--research_gaps-->
| observation | domain        | state          | detail                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    | source         |
| ----------- | ------------- | -------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------- |
| usda-label  | ingredients   | disputed       | The USDA statement names sucralose, but Wikipedia reports Diet Pepsi returned from sucralose to aspartame market-wide on 25 February 2018, and a web search snippet for this pack's Kroger code lists aspartame and potassium benzoate. No label photo or maker ingredient page for this GTIN was readable, so which sweetener the current bottle carries is unconfirmed. | ^wikidietpepsi |
|             | identity      | stale          | PepsiCo's product facts site answers "Product not found" for GTIN 00012000003417 and lists Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 67 fl oz under 00012000172373. Whether that article replaced this number, and whether this pack is still sold, is unconfirmed, so no status or successor is recorded.                                                                                   | ^ppf67         |
| usda-label  | nutrition     | not_researched | Values are USDA's per-100 ml restatement, not a transcription of the printed panel; the printed serving column is unread.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 | ^usda          |
|             | markets       | not_researched | Walmart, Safeway, Publix, Amazon and Smith's listings for this pack could not be read from the server (blocked, geo-gated or timed out), so the entry carries no dated retail price.                                                                                                                                                                                      |                |
|             | relationships | disputed       | This GTIN's USDA record names Pepsico Inc. as brand owner, while the company stub holding prefix 012000 is Pepsi-Cola North America Inc., derived from another Pepsi UPC's USDA record. Which entity licensed the prefix is not stated by any register.                                                                                                                   | ^usda          |
|             | images        | not_researched | No photograph of this pack: Open Food Facts holds none for this barcode.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  | ^off           |
<!--/research_gaps-->

## Research <!--research-->
structure_version: 2
reviewed_on: 2026-09-13
note: New entry built from the USDA Branded Foods (GDSN) record for this GTIN, the Open Food Facts record, PepsiCo's product facts pages for Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry, Wikipedia and the archived 2007 Barcodepedia entry the wanted list links to.
<!--/research-->

## Meta <!--meta-->
title: Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 L bottle - UPC 012000003417
description: Sugar-free Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry cola in the US 2-litre bottle: label ingredients, nutrition, brand owner and sources for barcode 012000003417.
<!--/meta-->

## References <!--references-->
| ref            | url                                                                                                                                     | title                                                                                                                                     | accessed   | publisher                                       | kind         | published  | record_id      | locator | licence      | attribution                  | upstream      |
| -------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ----------------------------------------------- | ------------ | ---------- | -------------- | ------- | ------------ | ---------------------------- | ------------- |
| usda           | https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/1457355/nutrients                                                                                 | USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (GDSN), fdc_id 1457355, version 2021-03-19                                                           | 2026-09-13 | U.S. Department of Agriculture                  | registry     | 2021-03-19 | 1457355        |         | cc0          |                              | GDSN          |
| off            | https://world.openfoodfacts.org/product/0012000003417                                                                                   | Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 Liter Plastic Bottle, Pepsi                                                                                      | 2026-09-13 | Open Food Facts                                 | catalogue    |            | 0012000003417  |         | ODbL         | Open Food Facts contributors |               |
| ppf67          | https://www.pepsicoproductfacts.com/Home/Product?gtin=00012000172373                                                                    | Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry - 67 fl oz                                                                                                         | 2026-09-13 | PepsiCo                                         | manufacturer |            | 00012000172373 |         |              |                              |               |
| ppfgtin        | https://www.pepsicoproductfacts.com/Home/Product?gtin=00012000003417                                                                    | The Facts About Your Favorite Foods and Beverages (U.S.): Invalid Product, for GTIN 00012000003417                                        | 2026-09-13 | PepsiCo                                         | manufacturer |            | 00012000003417 |         |              |                              |               |
| wikiwildcherry | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pepsi_Wild_Cherry                                                                                         | Pepsi Wild Cherry                                                                                                                         | 2026-09-13 | Wikipedia                                       | publication  |            |                |         | cc-by-sa-4.0 | Wikipedia contributors       |               |
| wikidietpepsi  | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diet_Pepsi                                                                                                | Diet Pepsi                                                                                                                                | 2026-09-13 | Wikipedia                                       | publication  |            |                |         | cc-by-sa-4.0 | Wikipedia contributors       |               |
| oldbp          | https://web.archive.org/web/20070914075338/http://en.barcodepedia.com/012000003417/pepsi-diet-wild-cherry-cola-2-liter-bottle-676-fl-oz | Pepsi Diet Wild Cherry Cola, 2 Liter Bottle, 67.6 fl oz: the 2006-2013 Barcodepedia entry for this UPC                                    | 2026-09-13 | Barcodepedia (archived by the Internet Archive) | publication  | 2007-09-14 |                |         |              |                              | Amazon.com    |
| usda1215       | https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/1624750/nutrients                                                                                 | USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (LI), fdc_id 1624750, version 2021-03-19 (source of the prefix on the Pepsi-Cola North America stub) | 2026-09-13 | U.S. Department of Agriculture                  | registry     | 2021-03-19 | 1624750        |         | cc0          |                              | Label Insight |
<!--/references-->

## About <!--about-->
Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 2 L is the two-litre plastic bottle of PepsiCo's sugar-free cherry-flavoured cola, sold in the United States.[^usda] The cherry flavour arrived in 1988 with Pepsi Wild Cherry, and Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry launched the same year as a variant of Diet Pepsi.[^wikiwildcherry] [^wikidietpepsi] The USDA Branded Foods record for this barcode names Pepsico Inc. as brand owner and lists a label sweetened with sucralose and acesulfame potassium.[^usda] Diet Pepsi had moved to sucralose in 2015 and went back to aspartame market-wide in February 2018, so that statement may describe an earlier label.[^wikidietpepsi] The barcode already identified this bottle in 2007, when the first Barcodepedia called it "Pepsi Diet Wild Cherry Cola, 2 Liter Bottle, 67.6 fl oz".[^oldbp] PepsiCo's product facts site does not recognise the number and lists its 67 fl oz bottle under another barcode.[^ppfgtin] [^ppf67]
<!--/about-->