{"format":"barcodepedia.product.v2","key":"00012000163685","url":"/product/012000163685/diet-pepsi-2-l","version":{"number":1,"recorded_at":"2026-09-25T17:08:24.100Z","author_type":"user_bot","bot_pass":"discover","change_note":"New page for Diet Pepsi 2 L (UPC 012000163685), a barcode named by family/diet-pepsi. Identity, brand owner (Pepsi-Cola North America Inc.), ingredient statement and per-100 ml nutrition come from the USDA Branded Foods record fdc_id 2494024 (Label Insight, modified 2023-01-06). Its recipe is the aspartame-free one (sucralose and acesulfame potassium), the same as sibling 00012000163470 and unlike 00012000161094 and the current 00012000171765, which list aspartame. The GS1 prefix owner is company/pepsico, as its stub states. History comes from Food Dive (2016, 2018) and Wikipedia. Gaps: there is no licensed photo (not in Open Food Facts), the printed serving column has not been transcribed, and PepsiCo product facts answers Invalid Product for this GTIN, so whether it is still on sale is unknown. The three Amazon.com searches found only Diet Pepsi 2 L listings that print other UPCs. No stubs were created: brand/pepsi, family/diet-pepsi, both companies and all nine ingredients already exist."},"product":{"schemaVersion":2,"identity":{"gtin":"00012000163685","name":"Diet Pepsi 2 L","brand":"brand/pepsi","family":"family/diet-pepsi","summary":"A 2-litre US bottle of Diet Pepsi whose USDA label record carries the aspartame-free recipe, sweetened with sucralose and acesulfame potassium.","category":"category/10000201","net_content":{"unit":"l","value":2},"pack_format":"bottle","country_of_sale":["US"],"default_observation":"us-label"},"selectedId":"us-label","observations":[{"id":"us-label","label":"US label, 2 L bottle, sucralose and acesulfame potassium recipe","kind":"label","market":["US"],"language":"en","validFrom":null,"validUntil":null,"observed":"2023-01-06","status":"supported","source":"^usda","note":"The label as transcribed by Label Insight for USDA FoodData Central (fdc_id 2494024); `observed` is the record's modification date. The record gives the package as \"2 L/2.1 Quart\" and a 12 fl oz (360 ml) serving.","legacy":false,"ingredientsText":"CARBONATED WATER, CARAMEL COLOR, PHOSPHORIC ACID, POTASSIUM BENZOATE (PRESERVES FRESHNESS), SUCRALOSE, ACESULFAME POTASSIUM, CAFFEINE, NATURAL FLAVOR, CITRIC ACID.","ingredientsDeclaration":"listed","ingredientsExemptBasis":null,"ingredients":[{"id":"water","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":1,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/carbonated-water","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"CARBONATED WATER","children":[]},{"id":"caramel","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":2,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/caramel-colour","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"CARAMEL COLOR","children":[]},{"id":"phos","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":3,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/phosphoric-acid","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"PHOSPHORIC ACID","children":[]},{"id":"benzoate","from":null,"kind":"label","note":"Printed with the function \"(PRESERVES FRESHNESS)\".","role":"preservative","basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":4,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/potassium-benzoate","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"POTASSIUM BENZOATE (PRESERVES FRESHNESS)","children":[]},{"id":"sucralose","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"sweetener","basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":5,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/sucralose","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"SUCRALOSE","children":[]},{"id":"acek","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"sweetener","basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":6,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/acesulfame-k","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"ACESULFAME POTASSIUM","children":[]},{"id":"caffeine","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":7,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/caffeine","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"CAFFEINE","children":[]},{"id":"flavour","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":8,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/natural-flavourings","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"NATURAL FLAVOR","children":[]},{"id":"citric","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":9,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/citric-acid","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"CITRIC ACID","children":[]}],"panels":[{"id":"us-100ml","observation":"us-label","label":"Per 100 ml","basis":{"value":100,"unit":"ml"},"basisText":"100 ml","basisState":"as_sold","basisNote":"USDA FoodData Central converts the label's 12 fl oz (360 ml) serving column to 100 ml.","declaration":"transcribed","exemptBasis":null,"source":"^usda","note":null,"calculated":false,"values":[{"key":"energy_kcal","label":"Energy","unit":"kcal","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"normalized","printed":null,"display":"0 kcal","source":"^usda","note":null},{"key":"fat_g","label":"Fat","unit":"g","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"normalized","printed":null,"display":"0 g","source":"^usda","note":null},{"key":"carbohydrate_g","label":"Carbohydrate","unit":"g","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"normalized","printed":null,"display":"0 g","source":"^usda","note":null},{"key":"sugars_g","label":"of which sugars","unit":"g","indent":true,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"normalized","printed":null,"display":"0 g","source":"^usda","note":null},{"key":"protein_g","label":"Protein","unit":"g","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"normalized","printed":null,"display":"0 g","source":"^usda","note":null},{"key":"salt_g","label":"Salt","unit":"g","indent":false,"value":0.025,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"calculated","printed":null,"display":"0.025 g","source":"^usda","note":"USDA derives salt from sodium; the US label declares sodium only."},{"key":"sodium_mg","label":"Sodium","unit":"mg","indent":true,"value":10,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"normalized","printed":null,"display":"10 mg","source":"^usda","note":null}]}],"specifications":[],"packaging":{"net_content":{"unit":"l","value":2},"pack_quantity":null,"piece_count":null,"pack_format":"bottle","model_number":null},"credits":[],"images":[],"allergens":[],"claims":[],"gaps":[{"state":"not_researched","detail":"The printed Nutrition Facts serving column (12 fl oz) has not been transcribed from a label; only USDA's per-100 ml conversion is recorded.","domain":"nutrition","source":"^usda","observation":"us-label"}]}],"selected":{"id":"us-label","label":"US label, 2 L bottle, sucralose and acesulfame potassium recipe","kind":"label","market":["US"],"language":"en","validFrom":null,"validUntil":null,"observed":"2023-01-06","status":"supported","source":"^usda","note":"The label as transcribed by Label Insight for USDA FoodData Central (fdc_id 2494024); `observed` is the record's modification date. The record gives the package as \"2 L/2.1 Quart\" and a 12 fl oz (360 ml) serving.","legacy":false,"ingredientsText":"CARBONATED WATER, CARAMEL COLOR, PHOSPHORIC ACID, POTASSIUM BENZOATE (PRESERVES FRESHNESS), SUCRALOSE, ACESULFAME POTASSIUM, CAFFEINE, NATURAL FLAVOR, CITRIC ACID.","ingredientsDeclaration":"listed","ingredientsExemptBasis":null,"ingredients":[{"id":"water","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":1,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/carbonated-water","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"CARBONATED WATER","children":[]},{"id":"caramel","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":2,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/caramel-colour","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"CARAMEL COLOR","children":[]},{"id":"phos","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":3,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/phosphoric-acid","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"PHOSPHORIC ACID","children":[]},{"id":"benzoate","from":null,"kind":"label","note":"Printed with the function \"(PRESERVES FRESHNESS)\".","role":"preservative","basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":4,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/potassium-benzoate","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"POTASSIUM BENZOATE (PRESERVES FRESHNESS)","children":[]},{"id":"sucralose","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"sweetener","basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":5,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/sucralose","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"SUCRALOSE","children":[]},{"id":"acek","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"sweetener","basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":6,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/acesulfame-k","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"ACESULFAME POTASSIUM","children":[]},{"id":"caffeine","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":7,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/caffeine","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"CAFFEINE","children":[]},{"id":"flavour","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":8,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/natural-flavourings","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"NATURAL FLAVOR","children":[]},{"id":"citric","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":9,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/citric-acid","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"CITRIC ACID","children":[]}],"panels":[{"id":"us-100ml","observation":"us-label","label":"Per 100 ml","basis":{"value":100,"unit":"ml"},"basisText":"100 ml","basisState":"as_sold","basisNote":"USDA FoodData Central converts the label's 12 fl oz (360 ml) serving column to 100 ml.","declaration":"transcribed","exemptBasis":null,"source":"^usda","note":null,"calculated":false,"values":[{"key":"energy_kcal","label":"Energy","unit":"kcal","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"normalized","printed":null,"display":"0 kcal","source":"^usda","note":null},{"key":"fat_g","label":"Fat","unit":"g","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"normalized","printed":null,"display":"0 g","source":"^usda","note":null},{"key":"carbohydrate_g","label":"Carbohydrate","unit":"g","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"normalized","printed":null,"display":"0 g","source":"^usda","note":null},{"key":"sugars_g","label":"of which sugars","unit":"g","indent":true,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"normalized","printed":null,"display":"0 g","source":"^usda","note":null},{"key":"protein_g","label":"Protein","unit":"g","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"normalized","printed":null,"display":"0 g","source":"^usda","note":null},{"key":"salt_g","label":"Salt","unit":"g","indent":false,"value":0.025,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"calculated","printed":null,"display":"0.025 g","source":"^usda","note":"USDA derives salt from sodium; the US label declares sodium only."},{"key":"sodium_mg","label":"Sodium","unit":"mg","indent":true,"value":10,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"normalized","printed":null,"display":"10 mg","source":"^usda","note":null}]}],"specifications":[],"packaging":{"net_content":{"unit":"l","value":2},"pack_quantity":null,"piece_count":null,"pack_format":"bottle","model_number":null},"credits":[],"images":[],"allergens":[],"claims":[],"gaps":[{"state":"not_researched","detail":"The printed Nutrition Facts serving column (12 fl oz) has not been transcribed from a label; only USDA's per-100 ml conversion is recorded.","domain":"nutrition","source":"^usda","observation":"us-label"}]},"references":[{"ref":"usda","url":"https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2494024/nutrients","kind":"registry","title":"USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (LI), fdc_id 2494024, version 2023-03-16","licence":"CC0","locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-03-16","publisher":"USDA Agricultural Research Service","record_id":"2494024","attribution":null},{"ref":"usda163470","url":"https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2494022/nutrients","kind":"registry","title":"USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (LI), fdc_id 2494022 (Diet Pepsi 2 L, GTIN 00012000163470), version 2023-03-16","licence":"CC0","locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-03-16","publisher":"USDA Agricultural Research Service","record_id":"2494022","attribution":null},{"ref":"usda171765","url":"https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2657733/nutrients","kind":"registry","title":"USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (LI), fdc_id 2657733 (Diet Pepsi 2 L, GTIN 00012000171765), version 2023-10-26","licence":"CC0","locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-10-26","publisher":"USDA Agricultural Research Service","record_id":"2657733","attribution":null},{"ref":"ppfinvalid","url":"https://www.pepsicoproductfacts.com/Home/Product?gtin=00012000163685","kind":"manufacturer","title":"PepsiCo Product Facts: Invalid Product (GTIN 00012000163685)","licence":null,"locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"PepsiCo","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"ppf171765","url":"https://www.pepsicoproductfacts.com/Home/Product?gtin=00012000171765","kind":"manufacturer","title":"PepsiCo Product Facts: Diet Pepsi - 67 fl oz","licence":null,"locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"PepsiCo","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"fd2016","url":"https://www.fooddive.com/news/change-of-sweetheart-pepsico-brings-back-aspartame-in-diet-pepsi/421631/","kind":"publication","title":"Change of (sweet)heart: PepsiCo brings back aspartame in Diet Pepsi","licence":null,"locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2016-06-27","publisher":"Food Dive","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"fd2018","url":"https://www.fooddive.com/news/diet-pepsi-is-bringing-aspartame-back-again/517618/","kind":"publication","title":"Diet Pepsi is bringing aspartame back, again","licence":null,"locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2018-02-22","publisher":"Food Dive","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"wikidietpepsi","url":"https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diet_Pepsi","kind":"publication","title":"Wikipedia: Diet Pepsi","licence":"CC BY-SA 4.0","locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"Wikipedia","record_id":null,"attribution":"Wikipedia contributors"},{"ref":"gs1gdsn","url":"https://www.gs1.org/docs/gdsn/stats/gdsn_trading_partners.pdf","kind":"catalogue","title":"GS1: GDSN trading partners, the companies publishing and receiving data in the Global Data Synchronisation Network, with their GLNs","licence":null,"locator":"0012000000010 PepsiCo","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"GS1","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"amazon2l","url":"https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079D8FG3F","kind":"retailer","title":"Amazon.com: Diet Pepsi Cola Soda, 2 Liter Bottle (64.7oz) (ASIN B079D8FG3F, UPC 012000171765, 012000172526)","licence":null,"locator":"Product details","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"Amazon.com","record_id":"B079D8FG3F","attribution":null}],"domains":{"book":{},"release":{},"game":{},"tracks":[],"contents":[]},"gaps":[{"state":"unknown","detail":"No licensed photograph of this pack is available: Open Food Facts has no record for 0012000163685.","domain":"images","source":null,"observation":null},{"state":"not_researched","detail":"The printed Nutrition Facts serving column (12 fl oz) has not been transcribed from a label; only USDA's per-100 ml conversion is recorded.","domain":"nutrition","source":"^usda","observation":"us-label"},{"state":"unknown","detail":"Whether this barcode is still on sale: PepsiCo's product-facts site answers \"Invalid Product\" for GTIN 00012000163685 (read 2026-09-25), and PepsiCo's current 2 L Diet Pepsi is 00012000171765, whose USDA label lists aspartame. No dated retail sighting of this barcode was found.","domain":"identity","source":"^ppfinvalid","observation":null},{"state":"unknown","detail":"USDA holds a second 2 L Diet Pepsi record with the same sucralose and acesulfame potassium ingredient statement under 00012000163470 (fdc_id 2494022); what distinguishes the two barcodes (label design, promotion or region) is not stated in either record.","domain":"identity","source":"^usda163470","observation":null},{"state":"unknown","detail":"Amazon.com: searched \"Diet Pepsi 2 Liter\", \"Diet Pepsi\" and \"012000163685\" on 2026-09-25. The Diet Pepsi 2 L listings found (ASINs B079D8FG3F and B079T2C93W print UPCs 012000171765 and 012000172526; B000R9AL4O prints 012000002311 and 012000001321) all list aspartame and none prints this barcode.","domain":"markets","source":"^amazon2l","observation":null},{"state":"not_researched","detail":"No dated retail price for this barcode.","domain":"markets","source":null,"observation":null},{"state":"unknown","detail":"No source states a country of origin or bottling plant for this pack.","domain":"identity","source":null,"observation":null}]},"quality":{"structureVersion":2,"needsRebuild":false,"reviewedOn":"2026-09-25","coverage":[{"domain":"Identity","recorded":3,"expected":3,"detail":"Name, brand and classification recorded"},{"domain":"Context","recorded":1,"expected":1,"detail":"Evidence groups assigned to a researched label, edition or analysis"},{"domain":"Label photographs","recorded":0,"expected":1,"detail":"Researched contexts with an assigned photograph"},{"domain":"US label, 2 L bottle, sucralose and acesulfame potassium recipe: nutrient evidence","recorded":7,"expected":7,"detail":"Recorded nutrient rows linked to a source; not the number of nutrients that ought to exist"}],"gaps":[{"domain":"images","state":"unknown","detail":"No licensed photograph of this pack is available: Open Food Facts has no record for 0012000163685."},{"domain":"nutrition","state":"not_researched","detail":"The printed Nutrition Facts serving column (12 fl oz) has not been transcribed from a label; only USDA's per-100 ml conversion is recorded.","observation":"us-label"},{"domain":"identity","state":"unknown","detail":"Whether this barcode is still on sale: PepsiCo's product-facts site answers \"Invalid Product\" for GTIN 00012000163685 (read 2026-09-25), and PepsiCo's current 2 L Diet Pepsi is 00012000171765, whose USDA label lists aspartame. No dated retail sighting of this barcode was found."},{"domain":"identity","state":"unknown","detail":"USDA holds a second 2 L Diet Pepsi record with the same sucralose and acesulfame potassium ingredient statement under 00012000163470 (fdc_id 2494022); what distinguishes the two barcodes (label design, promotion or region) is not stated in either record."},{"domain":"markets","state":"unknown","detail":"Amazon.com: searched \"Diet Pepsi 2 Liter\", \"Diet Pepsi\" and \"012000163685\" on 2026-09-25. The Diet Pepsi 2 L listings found (ASINs B079D8FG3F and B079T2C93W print UPCs 012000171765 and 012000172526; B000R9AL4O prints 012000002311 and 012000001321) all list aspartame and none prints this barcode."},{"domain":"markets","state":"not_researched","detail":"No dated retail price for this barcode."},{"domain":"identity","state":"unknown","detail":"No source states a country of origin or bottling plant for this pack."},{"domain":"evidence","state":"stale","detail":"Evidence was observed over a year ago; check for newer labels. Historical evidence remains valid.","observation":"us-label"},{"domain":"images","state":"not_researched","detail":"No product photographs recorded."}],"observations":[{"id":"us-label","label":"US label, 2 L bottle, sucralose and acesulfame potassium recipe","supportedValues":6,"declaredValues":7,"sourceLinked":7,"stale":true}]},"images":[],"data":{"meta":{"title":"Diet Pepsi 2 L bottle, sucralose recipe (UPC 012000163685)","description":"The US 2-litre Diet Pepsi bottle sweetened with sucralose and acesulfame potassium: label ingredients, nutrition, brand owner and barcode."},"about":"Diet Pepsi in the two-litre bottle (2 L, 2.1 US quarts) is a United States pack of PepsiCo's sugar-free cola, registered in USDA FoodData Central to Pepsi-Cola North America Inc.[^usda] Its label, as transcribed in a record dated 2023, declares carbonated water, caramel color, phosphoric acid, potassium benzoate, sucralose, acesulfame potassium, caffeine, natural flavor and citric acid, which is the aspartame-free recipe.[^usda] PepsiCo replaced aspartame with sucralose and acesulfame potassium in Diet Pepsi in August 2015,[^fd2016] and when it restored aspartame across the range in 2018 it said the aspartame-free version would stay on sale through e-commerce only.[^fd2018] PepsiCo's current 2 L Diet Pepsi, 67 fl oz, carries another barcode, 012000171765, and aspartame in its ingredient list.[^ppf171765][^usda171765]\n\nDiet Pepsi was test marketed as Patio Diet Cola in 1963 and launched nationally under its present name the following year, the first diet cola distributed across the United States.[^wikidietpepsi] In June 2016 PepsiCo announced the return of the aspartame recipe as Diet Pepsi Classic Sweetener Blend in light blue packaging, keeping the sucralose-sweetened version in the traditional silver can and in fountains.[^fd2016]","aliases":[{"from":null,"name":"Diet Pepsi 2 Liter","type":"search","until":null,"locale":"en"},{"from":null,"name":"Diet Pepsi Diet Cola 2 L","type":"search","until":null,"locale":"en"},{"from":null,"name":"Diet Pepsi","type":"name","until":null,"locale":"en"}],"markets":[{"note":"USDA FoodData Central holds the US retail label for this GTIN as fdc_id 2494024, market US, a Label Insight record modified 2023-01-06, available 2023-03-16 and carried in the release of 2026-04-30. A catalogue record, not a retail listing.","price":null,"origin":null,"source":"^usda","status":"derived","country":"US","observed":"2026-09-25","condition":null}],"identity":{"gtin":"00012000163685","name":"Diet Pepsi 2 L","brand":"brand/pepsi","family":"family/diet-pepsi","summary":"A 2-litre US bottle of Diet Pepsi whose USDA label record carries the aspartame-free recipe, sweetened with sucralose and acesulfame potassium.","category":"category/10000201","net_content":{"unit":"l","value":2},"pack_format":"bottle","country_of_sale":["US"],"default_observation":"us-label"},"research":{"note":"Built on 2026-09-25 from the USDA Branded Foods record for this GTIN (fdc_id 2494024), compared with the three other 2 L Diet Pepsi records USDA holds and with PepsiCo's product-facts site and the Amazon.com Diet Pepsi 2 L listings.","reviewed_on":"2026-09-25","structure_version":2},"relations":[{"from":null,"note":"USDA Branded Foods names Pepsi-Cola North America Inc. as the brand owner of this GTIN (fdc_id 2494024).","role":"brand_owner_at_sale","ended":null,"until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","status":"sourced","target":"company/pepsi-cola-north-america"},{"from":null,"note":"Prefix 0012000, stated by company/pepsico in its stub on the strength of GS1's GDSN trading-partner list, which gives PepsiCo the global location number 0012000000010 inside the block.","role":"gs1_prefix_owner","ended":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^gs1gdsn","status":"sourced","target":"company/pepsico"}],"references":[{"ref":"usda","url":"https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2494024/nutrients","kind":"registry","title":"USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (LI), fdc_id 2494024, version 2023-03-16","licence":"CC0","locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-03-16","publisher":"USDA Agricultural Research Service","record_id":"2494024","attribution":null},{"ref":"usda163470","url":"https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2494022/nutrients","kind":"registry","title":"USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (LI), fdc_id 2494022 (Diet Pepsi 2 L, GTIN 00012000163470), version 2023-03-16","licence":"CC0","locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-03-16","publisher":"USDA Agricultural Research Service","record_id":"2494022","attribution":null},{"ref":"usda171765","url":"https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2657733/nutrients","kind":"registry","title":"USDA FoodData Central, Branded Foods (LI), fdc_id 2657733 (Diet Pepsi 2 L, GTIN 00012000171765), version 2023-10-26","licence":"CC0","locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-10-26","publisher":"USDA Agricultural Research Service","record_id":"2657733","attribution":null},{"ref":"ppfinvalid","url":"https://www.pepsicoproductfacts.com/Home/Product?gtin=00012000163685","kind":"manufacturer","title":"PepsiCo Product Facts: Invalid Product (GTIN 00012000163685)","licence":null,"locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"PepsiCo","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"ppf171765","url":"https://www.pepsicoproductfacts.com/Home/Product?gtin=00012000171765","kind":"manufacturer","title":"PepsiCo Product Facts: Diet Pepsi - 67 fl oz","licence":null,"locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"PepsiCo","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"fd2016","url":"https://www.fooddive.com/news/change-of-sweetheart-pepsico-brings-back-aspartame-in-diet-pepsi/421631/","kind":"publication","title":"Change of (sweet)heart: PepsiCo brings back aspartame in Diet Pepsi","licence":null,"locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2016-06-27","publisher":"Food Dive","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"fd2018","url":"https://www.fooddive.com/news/diet-pepsi-is-bringing-aspartame-back-again/517618/","kind":"publication","title":"Diet Pepsi is bringing aspartame back, again","licence":null,"locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2018-02-22","publisher":"Food Dive","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"wikidietpepsi","url":"https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diet_Pepsi","kind":"publication","title":"Wikipedia: Diet Pepsi","licence":"CC BY-SA 4.0","locator":null,"accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"Wikipedia","record_id":null,"attribution":"Wikipedia contributors"},{"ref":"gs1gdsn","url":"https://www.gs1.org/docs/gdsn/stats/gdsn_trading_partners.pdf","kind":"catalogue","title":"GS1: GDSN trading partners, the companies publishing and receiving data in the Global Data Synchronisation Network, with their GLNs","licence":null,"locator":"0012000000010 PepsiCo","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"GS1","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"amazon2l","url":"https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079D8FG3F","kind":"retailer","title":"Amazon.com: Diet Pepsi Cola Soda, 2 Liter Bottle (64.7oz) (ASIN B079D8FG3F, UPC 012000171765, 012000172526)","licence":null,"locator":"Product details","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"Amazon.com","record_id":"B079D8FG3F","attribution":null}],"ingredients":[{"id":"water","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":1,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/carbonated-water","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"CARBONATED WATER"},{"id":"caramel","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":2,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/caramel-colour","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"CARAMEL COLOR"},{"id":"phos","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":3,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/phosphoric-acid","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"PHOSPHORIC ACID"},{"id":"benzoate","from":null,"kind":"label","note":"Printed with the function \"(PRESERVES FRESHNESS)\".","role":"preservative","basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":4,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/potassium-benzoate","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"POTASSIUM BENZOATE (PRESERVES FRESHNESS)"},{"id":"sucralose","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"sweetener","basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":5,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/sucralose","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"SUCRALOSE"},{"id":"acek","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"sweetener","basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":6,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/acesulfame-k","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"ACESULFAME POTASSIUM"},{"id":"caffeine","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":7,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/caffeine","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"CAFFEINE"},{"id":"flavour","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":8,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/natural-flavourings","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"NATURAL FLAVOR"},{"id":"citric","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":"known","until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^usda","percent":null,"position":9,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/citric-acid","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"CITRIC ACID"}],"observations":[{"id":"us-label","kind":"label","note":"The label as transcribed by Label Insight for USDA FoodData Central (fdc_id 2494024); `observed` is the record's modification date. The record gives the package as \"2 L/2.1 Quart\" and a 12 fl oz (360 ml) serving.","label":"US label, 2 L bottle, sucralose and acesulfame potassium recipe","market":["US"],"source":"^usda","status":"supported","language":"en","observed":"2023-01-06","valid_from":null,"net_content":{"unit":"l","value":2},"pack_format":"bottle","piece_count":null,"valid_until":null,"model_number":null,"pack_quantity":null,"ingredients_text":"CARBONATED WATER, CARAMEL COLOR, PHOSPHORIC ACID, POTASSIUM BENZOATE (PRESERVES FRESHNESS), SUCRALOSE, ACESULFAME POTASSIUM, CAFFEINE, NATURAL FLAVOR, CITRIC ACID.","ingredients_declaration":"listed","ingredients_exempt_basis":null}],"research_gaps":[{"state":"unknown","detail":"No licensed photograph of this pack is available: Open Food Facts has no record for 0012000163685.","domain":"images","source":null,"observation":null},{"state":"not_researched","detail":"The printed Nutrition Facts serving column (12 fl oz) has not been transcribed from a label; only USDA's per-100 ml conversion is recorded.","domain":"nutrition","source":"^usda","observation":"us-label"},{"state":"unknown","detail":"Whether this barcode is still on sale: PepsiCo's product-facts site answers \"Invalid Product\" for GTIN 00012000163685 (read 2026-09-25), and PepsiCo's current 2 L Diet Pepsi is 00012000171765, whose USDA label lists aspartame. No dated retail sighting of this barcode was found.","domain":"identity","source":"^ppfinvalid","observation":null},{"state":"unknown","detail":"USDA holds a second 2 L Diet Pepsi record with the same sucralose and acesulfame potassium ingredient statement under 00012000163470 (fdc_id 2494022); what distinguishes the two barcodes (label design, promotion or region) is not stated in either record.","domain":"identity","source":"^usda163470","observation":null},{"state":"unknown","detail":"Amazon.com: searched \"Diet Pepsi 2 Liter\", \"Diet Pepsi\" and \"012000163685\" on 2026-09-25. The Diet Pepsi 2 L listings found (ASINs B079D8FG3F and B079T2C93W print UPCs 012000171765 and 012000172526; B000R9AL4O prints 012000002311 and 012000001321) all list aspartame and none prints this barcode.","domain":"markets","source":"^amazon2l","observation":null},{"state":"not_researched","detail":"No dated retail price for this barcode.","domain":"markets","source":null,"observation":null},{"state":"unknown","detail":"No source states a country of origin or bottling plant for this pack.","domain":"identity","source":null,"observation":null}],"nutrition_panels":[{"id":"us-100ml","note":null,"basis":{"unit":"ml","value":100},"label":"Per 100 ml","source":"^usda","basis_note":"USDA FoodData Central converts the label's 12 fl oz (360 ml) serving column to 100 ml.","basis_state":"as_sold","declaration":"transcribed","observation":"us-label","exempt_basis":null}],"nutrition_values":[{"note":null,"panel":"us-100ml","state":"known","value":0,"method":"normalized","source":"^usda","nutrient":"energy_kcal","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":null,"printed_value":null},{"note":null,"panel":"us-100ml","state":"known","value":0,"method":"normalized","source":"^usda","nutrient":"fat_g","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":null,"printed_value":null},{"note":null,"panel":"us-100ml","state":"known","value":0,"method":"normalized","source":"^usda","nutrient":"carbohydrate_g","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":null,"printed_value":null},{"note":null,"panel":"us-100ml","state":"known","value":0,"method":"normalized","source":"^usda","nutrient":"sugars_g","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":null,"printed_value":null},{"note":null,"panel":"us-100ml","state":"known","value":0,"method":"normalized","source":"^usda","nutrient":"protein_g","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":null,"printed_value":null},{"note":null,"panel":"us-100ml","state":"known","value":10,"method":"normalized","source":"^usda","nutrient":"sodium_mg","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":null,"printed_value":null},{"note":"USDA derives salt from sodium; the US label declares sodium only.","panel":"us-100ml","state":"known","value":0.025,"method":"calculated","source":"^usda","nutrient":"salt_g","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":null,"printed_value":null}]},"licences":{"database":"ODbL-1.0","text":"CC-BY-SA-4.0","images":"See each image record"}}