{"format":"barcodepedia.product.v2","key":"00012000008221","url":"/product/012000008221/diet-pepsi-wild-cherry-12-fl-oz","version":{"number":2,"recorded_at":"2026-09-25T16:46:20.511Z","author_type":"user_bot","bot_pass":"review","change_note":"Flag from review-5ecf31 checked: the aspartame/potassium benzoate formula stays current. The PepsiCo SmartLabel ingredients page for UPC 012000008221 still lists it on 2026-09-25 (updated 17-Aug-2023), and USDA FoodData Central fdc 2653677 (Pepsi Wild Cherry Diet 12 fl oz can, GTIN 0012000063367, published 2023-10-26) prints the identical list. The sucralose/acesulfame K/potassium sorbate list belongs to other GTINs (012000022012, fdc 2493737, modified 2023-01-06, and older 2019-2021 records), matching Diet Pepsi's 2015 switch to sucralose and later return to aspartame. No source ties this UPC to the sucralose label, so no earlier label revision was added; instead a disputed ingredients research gap records the disagreement. Added References rows usda-63367, usda-22012 and dietpepsi; extended the observation note and the second About paragraph with the cited sweetener history. No facts removed; nutrition, allergens, relations and markets unchanged (Amazon gap row still stands)."},"product":{"schemaVersion":2,"identity":{"gtin":"00012000008221","name":"Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 12 fl oz","brand":"brand/pepsi","family":"family/diet-pepsi","status":"active","category":"category/10000201","net_content":{"unit":"floz","value":12},"pack_format":"can","country_of_sale":["US"],"default_observation":"us-label"},"selectedId":"us-label","observations":[{"id":"us-label","label":"US label (SmartLabel)","kind":"label","market":["US"],"language":"en","validFrom":null,"validUntil":null,"observed":"2026-09-25","status":"supported","source":"^smartlabel-ing","note":"Read from the PepsiCo SmartLabel page for this UPC; product information updated 17-Aug-2023; USDA fdc 2653677 (12 fl oz can, 2023-10-26) gives the same list","legacy":false,"ingredientsText":"Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Phosphoric Acid, Natural Flavor, Aspartame, Potassium Benzoate (Preserves Freshness), Potassium Citrate, Citric Acid, Caffeine, Acesulfame Potassium, Calcium Disodium EDTA (To Protect Flavor)","ingredientsDeclaration":"listed","ingredientsExemptBasis":null,"ingredients":[{"id":"ing-water","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":1,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/carbonated-water","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Carbonated Water","children":[]},{"id":"ing-caramel","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"colour","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":2,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/caramel-colour","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Caramel Color","children":[]},{"id":"ing-phos","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"acid","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":3,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/phosphoric-acid","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Phosphoric Acid","children":[]},{"id":"ing-flavour","from":null,"kind":"label","note":"Wild cherry flavour with other natural flavours","role":"flavouring","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":4,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/natural-flavourings","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Natural Flavor","children":[]},{"id":"ing-aspartame","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"sweetener","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":5,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/aspartame","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Aspartame","children":[]},{"id":"ing-kbenz","from":null,"kind":"label","note":"\"Preserves Freshness\" on the label","role":"preservative","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":6,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/potassium-benzoate","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Potassium Benzoate","children":[]},{"id":"ing-kcit","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":7,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/potassium-citrate","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Potassium Citrate","children":[]},{"id":"ing-citric","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"acid","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":8,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/citric-acid","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Citric Acid","children":[]},{"id":"ing-caffeine","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":9,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/caffeine","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Caffeine","children":[]},{"id":"ing-acek","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"sweetener","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":10,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/acesulfame-k","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Acesulfame Potassium","children":[]},{"id":"ing-edta","from":null,"kind":"label","note":"\"To Protect Flavor\" on the label","role":"antioxidant","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":11,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/calcium-disodium-edta","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Calcium Disodium EDTA","children":[]}],"panels":[{"id":"us-can","observation":"us-label","label":"Per can","basis":{"value":12,"unit":"floz"},"basisText":"12 floz","basisState":"as_sold","basisNote":"Serving size 1 can, 1 serving per container","declaration":"transcribed","exemptBasis":null,"source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":"US Nutrition Facts; labelling voluntary for this product per the panel","calculated":false,"values":[{"key":"energy_kcal","label":"Energy","unit":"kcal","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"0","display":"0 kcal","source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":null},{"key":"fat_g","label":"Fat","unit":"g","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"0 g","display":"0 g (0% DV)","source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":null},{"key":"carbohydrate_g","label":"Carbohydrate","unit":"g","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"0 g","display":"0 g (0% DV)","source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":null},{"key":"sugars_g","label":"of which sugars","unit":"g","indent":true,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"0 g","display":"0 g","source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":null},{"key":"added_sugars_g","label":"of which added sugars","unit":"g","indent":true,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"0 g","display":"0 g (0% DV)","source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":null},{"key":"protein_g","label":"Protein","unit":"g","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"0 g","display":"0 g","source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":null},{"key":"sodium_mg","label":"Sodium","unit":"mg","indent":true,"value":35,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"35 mg","display":"35 mg (2% DV)","source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":null},{"key":"caffeine_mg","label":"Caffeine","unit":"mg","indent":false,"value":38,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"38mg/12 fl oz","display":"38 mg","source":"^smartlabel-ing","note":"Caffeine content stated on the ingredients tab, per 12 fl oz"}]}],"specifications":[],"packaging":{"net_content":{"unit":"floz","value":12},"pack_quantity":null,"piece_count":null,"pack_format":"can","model_number":null},"credits":[],"images":[],"allergens":[{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"milk","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"peanuts","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"eggs","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"fish","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"crustacean shellfish","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"soy","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"tree nuts","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"wheat","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"sesame","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"}],"claims":[],"gaps":[{"state":"disputed","detail":"Other Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry barcodes list a sucralose, acesulfame potassium and potassium sorbate formula in USDA Branded Foods (12 fl oz 012000022012, fdc 2493737, modified 2023-01-06), while PepsiCo SmartLabel for this UPC (updated 2023-08-17) and USDA records for the 12 fl oz can 0012000063367 (published 2023-10-26) give aspartame and potassium benzoate; 17-Aug-2023 is the earliest date tying this UPC to the aspartame list","domain":"ingredients","source":"^usda-22012","observation":"us-label"}]}],"selected":{"id":"us-label","label":"US label (SmartLabel)","kind":"label","market":["US"],"language":"en","validFrom":null,"validUntil":null,"observed":"2026-09-25","status":"supported","source":"^smartlabel-ing","note":"Read from the PepsiCo SmartLabel page for this UPC; product information updated 17-Aug-2023; USDA fdc 2653677 (12 fl oz can, 2023-10-26) gives the same list","legacy":false,"ingredientsText":"Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Phosphoric Acid, Natural Flavor, Aspartame, Potassium Benzoate (Preserves Freshness), Potassium Citrate, Citric Acid, Caffeine, Acesulfame Potassium, Calcium Disodium EDTA (To Protect Flavor)","ingredientsDeclaration":"listed","ingredientsExemptBasis":null,"ingredients":[{"id":"ing-water","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":1,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/carbonated-water","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Carbonated Water","children":[]},{"id":"ing-caramel","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"colour","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":2,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/caramel-colour","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Caramel Color","children":[]},{"id":"ing-phos","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"acid","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":3,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/phosphoric-acid","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Phosphoric Acid","children":[]},{"id":"ing-flavour","from":null,"kind":"label","note":"Wild cherry flavour with other natural flavours","role":"flavouring","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":4,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/natural-flavourings","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Natural Flavor","children":[]},{"id":"ing-aspartame","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"sweetener","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":5,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/aspartame","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Aspartame","children":[]},{"id":"ing-kbenz","from":null,"kind":"label","note":"\"Preserves Freshness\" on the label","role":"preservative","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":6,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/potassium-benzoate","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Potassium Benzoate","children":[]},{"id":"ing-kcit","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":7,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/potassium-citrate","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Potassium Citrate","children":[]},{"id":"ing-citric","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"acid","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":8,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/citric-acid","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Citric Acid","children":[]},{"id":"ing-caffeine","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":9,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/caffeine","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Caffeine","children":[]},{"id":"ing-acek","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"sweetener","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":10,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/acesulfame-k","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Acesulfame Potassium","children":[]},{"id":"ing-edta","from":null,"kind":"label","note":"\"To Protect Flavor\" on the label","role":"antioxidant","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":11,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/calcium-disodium-edta","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Calcium Disodium EDTA","children":[]}],"panels":[{"id":"us-can","observation":"us-label","label":"Per can","basis":{"value":12,"unit":"floz"},"basisText":"12 floz","basisState":"as_sold","basisNote":"Serving size 1 can, 1 serving per container","declaration":"transcribed","exemptBasis":null,"source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":"US Nutrition Facts; labelling voluntary for this product per the panel","calculated":false,"values":[{"key":"energy_kcal","label":"Energy","unit":"kcal","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"0","display":"0 kcal","source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":null},{"key":"fat_g","label":"Fat","unit":"g","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"0 g","display":"0 g (0% DV)","source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":null},{"key":"carbohydrate_g","label":"Carbohydrate","unit":"g","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"0 g","display":"0 g (0% DV)","source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":null},{"key":"sugars_g","label":"of which sugars","unit":"g","indent":true,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"0 g","display":"0 g","source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":null},{"key":"added_sugars_g","label":"of which added sugars","unit":"g","indent":true,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"0 g","display":"0 g (0% DV)","source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":null},{"key":"protein_g","label":"Protein","unit":"g","indent":false,"value":0,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"0 g","display":"0 g","source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":null},{"key":"sodium_mg","label":"Sodium","unit":"mg","indent":true,"value":35,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"35 mg","display":"35 mg (2% DV)","source":"^smartlabel-nut","note":null},{"key":"caffeine_mg","label":"Caffeine","unit":"mg","indent":false,"value":38,"qualifier":"exact","state":"known","method":"printed","printed":"38mg/12 fl oz","display":"38 mg","source":"^smartlabel-ing","note":"Caffeine content stated on the ingredients tab, per 12 fl oz"}]}],"specifications":[],"packaging":{"net_content":{"unit":"floz","value":12},"pack_quantity":null,"piece_count":null,"pack_format":"can","model_number":null},"credits":[],"images":[],"allergens":[{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"milk","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"peanuts","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"eggs","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"fish","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"crustacean shellfish","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"soy","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"tree nuts","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"wheat","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"sesame","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"}],"claims":[],"gaps":[{"state":"disputed","detail":"Other Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry barcodes list a sucralose, acesulfame potassium and potassium sorbate formula in USDA Branded Foods (12 fl oz 012000022012, fdc 2493737, modified 2023-01-06), while PepsiCo SmartLabel for this UPC (updated 2023-08-17) and USDA records for the 12 fl oz can 0012000063367 (published 2023-10-26) give aspartame and potassium benzoate; 17-Aug-2023 is the earliest date tying this UPC to the aspartame list","domain":"ingredients","source":"^usda-22012","observation":"us-label"}]},"references":[{"ref":"smartlabel","url":"https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/index.html","kind":"manufacturer","title":"Diet Pepsi, Wild Cherry Flavor – SmartLabel","licence":null,"locator":"About/Company tab: 12 FL OZ (355 mL) Can, UPC 012000008221; Distributed By PepsiCo, Inc., Purchase, NY 10577","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-08-17","publisher":"PepsiCo","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"smartlabel-nut","url":"https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-nutrition.html","kind":"manufacturer","title":"Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Nutrition","licence":null,"locator":"Nutrition Facts: 1 serving per container, serving size 1 can","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-08-17","publisher":"PepsiCo","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"smartlabel-ing","url":"https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-ingredients.html","kind":"manufacturer","title":"Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Ingredients","licence":null,"locator":"Ingredients list; Juice Content 0%; Caffeine 38mg/12 fl oz; Wild Cherry Flavor With Other Natural Flavors","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-08-17","publisher":"PepsiCo","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"smartlabel-alg","url":"https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-allergens.html","kind":"manufacturer","title":"Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Allergens","licence":null,"locator":"All Allergens tab: does not contain any of the FDA major food allergens","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-08-17","publisher":"PepsiCo","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"wildcherry","url":"https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pepsi_Wild_Cherry","kind":"publication","title":"Pepsi Wild Cherry","licence":"cc-by-sa-4.0","locator":"History and Availability: introduced 1988; sold in the US and Canada as a permanent product; Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry variant","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"Wikipedia","record_id":null,"attribution":"Wikipedia contributors"},{"ref":"gs1gdsn","url":"https://www.gs1.org/docs/gdsn/stats/gdsn_trading_partners.pdf","kind":"catalogue","title":"GS1: GDSN trading partners","licence":null,"locator":"PepsiCo GLN 0012000000010, issued from company prefix 0012000","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"GS1","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"usda-63367","url":"https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2653677/nutrients","kind":"catalogue","title":"USDA FoodData Central: Wild Cherry Diet Soda, Cherry (fdc 2653677)","licence":"cc0","locator":"GTIN 0012000063367, 355 mL serving; brand owner Pepsi-Cola North America Inc.","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-10-26","publisher":"USDA","record_id":"2653677","attribution":"USDA FoodData Central"},{"ref":"usda-22012","url":"https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2493737/nutrients","kind":"catalogue","title":"USDA FoodData Central: Wild Cherry Diet Cola, Wild Cherry (fdc 2493737)","licence":"cc0","locator":"GTIN 012000022012, 12 fl oz/355 mL; modified 2023-01-06; sucralose formula","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-03-16","publisher":"USDA","record_id":"2493737","attribution":"USDA FoodData Central"},{"ref":"dietpepsi","url":"https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diet_Pepsi","kind":"publication","title":"Diet Pepsi","licence":"cc-by-sa-4.0","locator":"Sweetener history: sucralose from August 2015, aspartame formula revived and later restored as the main sweetener","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"Wikipedia","record_id":null,"attribution":"Wikipedia contributors"}],"domains":{"book":{},"release":{},"game":{},"tracks":[],"contents":[]},"gaps":[{"state":"unknown","detail":"No single 12 fl oz can listing found on amazon.com on 2026-09-25: searched the barcode 012000008221, the full name \"Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry\", and the brand; only 12-can multipacks (a separate pack with its own barcode) are listed","domain":"markets","source":null,"observation":null},{"state":"unknown","detail":"No openly licensed front photo of this single 12 fl oz can was available; the PepsiCo SmartLabel image is not under an open licence. A community photo is requested","domain":"images","source":null,"observation":null},{"state":"unknown","detail":"country_of_origin is not stated on the SmartLabel page; the can is distributed by PepsiCo in the United States but no \"Product of\" line was available","domain":"identity","source":null,"observation":null},{"state":"disputed","detail":"Other Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry barcodes list a sucralose, acesulfame potassium and potassium sorbate formula in USDA Branded Foods (12 fl oz 012000022012, fdc 2493737, modified 2023-01-06), while PepsiCo SmartLabel for this UPC (updated 2023-08-17) and USDA records for the 12 fl oz can 0012000063367 (published 2023-10-26) give aspartame and potassium benzoate; 17-Aug-2023 is the earliest date tying this UPC to the aspartame list","domain":"ingredients","source":"^usda-22012","observation":"us-label"}]},"quality":{"structureVersion":2,"needsRebuild":false,"reviewedOn":"2026-09-25","coverage":[{"domain":"Identity","recorded":3,"expected":3,"detail":"Name, brand and classification recorded"},{"domain":"Context","recorded":1,"expected":1,"detail":"Evidence groups assigned to a researched label, edition or analysis"},{"domain":"Label photographs","recorded":0,"expected":1,"detail":"Researched contexts with an assigned photograph"},{"domain":"US label (SmartLabel): nutrient evidence","recorded":8,"expected":8,"detail":"Recorded nutrient rows linked to a source; not the number of nutrients that ought to exist"}],"gaps":[{"domain":"markets","state":"unknown","detail":"No single 12 fl oz can listing found on amazon.com on 2026-09-25: searched the barcode 012000008221, the full name \"Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry\", and the brand; only 12-can multipacks (a separate pack with its own barcode) are listed"},{"domain":"images","state":"unknown","detail":"No openly licensed front photo of this single 12 fl oz can was available; the PepsiCo SmartLabel image is not under an open licence. A community photo is requested"},{"domain":"identity","state":"unknown","detail":"country_of_origin is not stated on the SmartLabel page; the can is distributed by PepsiCo in the United States but no \"Product of\" line was available"},{"domain":"ingredients","state":"disputed","detail":"Other Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry barcodes list a sucralose, acesulfame potassium and potassium sorbate formula in USDA Branded Foods (12 fl oz 012000022012, fdc 2493737, modified 2023-01-06), while PepsiCo SmartLabel for this UPC (updated 2023-08-17) and USDA records for the 12 fl oz can 0012000063367 (published 2023-10-26) give aspartame and potassium benzoate; 17-Aug-2023 is the earliest date tying this UPC to the aspartame list","observation":"us-label"},{"domain":"images","state":"not_researched","detail":"No product photographs recorded."}],"observations":[{"id":"us-label","label":"US label (SmartLabel)","supportedValues":8,"declaredValues":8,"sourceLinked":8,"stale":false}]},"images":[],"data":{"about":"Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry is the sugar-free, cherry-flavoured version of PepsiCo's Diet Pepsi cola, sold in the United States in this 12 fl oz (355 mL) can.[^smartlabel] It carries the crisp Diet Pepsi cola taste with an added wild-cherry note, and its label declares zero calories, no sugar and 35 mg of sodium per can, with 38 mg of caffeine per 12 fl oz.[^smartlabel-nut][^smartlabel-ing] The drink is sweetened with aspartame and acesulfame potassium and coloured with caramel colour.[^smartlabel-ing] Pepsi Wild Cherry, the cherry cola line this diet version belongs to, was introduced by PepsiCo in 1988 and remains a permanent product in the United States and Canada.[^wildcherry] The can is distributed by PepsiCo, Inc. of Purchase, New York.[^smartlabel]\n\nThe 12-digit UPC 012000008221 sits inside GS1 company prefix 0012000, which PepsiCo licenses and from which its GLN 0012000000010 is issued.[^gs1gdsn] The SmartLabel record for this barcode was last updated on 17 August 2023.[^smartlabel] USDA Branded Foods records for PepsiCo's 12 fl oz Wild Cherry Diet can, published in October 2023, list the same aspartame-sweetened ingredients,[^usda-63367] while older records for other Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry packs list sucralose, acesulfame potassium and potassium sorbate.[^usda-22012] Diet Pepsi itself moved from aspartame to sucralose in August 2015 before PepsiCo restored aspartame as its main sweetener.[^dietpepsi]","aliases":[{"from":null,"name":"Diet Pepsi, Wild Cherry Flavor","type":"name","until":null,"locale":"en-US"},{"from":null,"name":"Diet Wild Cherry Pepsi","type":"search","until":null,"locale":null},{"from":null,"name":"012000008221","type":"gtin","until":null,"locale":null}],"markets":[{"note":"PepsiCo SmartLabel en-US page keyed to UPC 012000008221; distributed by PepsiCo, Inc., Purchase NY","price":null,"origin":null,"source":"^smartlabel","status":"sourced","country":"US","observed":"2026-09-25","condition":null}],"identity":{"gtin":"00012000008221","name":"Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry 12 fl oz","brand":"brand/pepsi","family":"family/diet-pepsi","status":"active","category":"category/10000201","net_content":{"unit":"floz","value":12},"pack_format":"can","country_of_sale":["US"],"default_observation":"us-label"},"research":{"note":"Built from the PepsiCo SmartLabel page for UPC 012000008221 (nutrition, ingredients and allergens tabs) and Wikipedia for the product line's history.","reviewed_on":"2026-09-25","structure_version":2},"allergens":[{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"milk","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"peanuts","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"eggs","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"fish","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"crustacean shellfish","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"soy","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"tree nuts","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"wheat","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"},{"note":"SmartLabel allergens tab: does not contain any FDA major food allergen","source":"^smartlabel-alg","allergen":"sesame","declaration":"free_from","observation":"us-label"}],"relations":[{"from":null,"note":"PepsiCo owns the Pepsi brand; the SmartLabel page for this UPC is a PepsiCo record","role":"brand_owner_at_sale","ended":null,"until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^smartlabel","status":"sourced","target":"company/pepsico"},{"from":null,"note":"\"Distributed By PepsiCo, Inc., Purchase, NY 10577\" on the SmartLabel page for this UPC","role":"distributed_by","ended":null,"until":null,"market":["US"],"source":"^smartlabel","status":"sourced","target":"company/pepsico"},{"from":null,"note":"Prefix 0012000; PepsiCo holds it per the GS1 GDSN trading-partner list (GLN 0012000000010)","role":"gs1_prefix_owner","ended":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^gs1gdsn","status":"sourced","target":"company/pepsico"}],"references":[{"ref":"smartlabel","url":"https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/index.html","kind":"manufacturer","title":"Diet Pepsi, Wild Cherry Flavor – SmartLabel","licence":null,"locator":"About/Company tab: 12 FL OZ (355 mL) Can, UPC 012000008221; Distributed By PepsiCo, Inc., Purchase, NY 10577","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-08-17","publisher":"PepsiCo","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"smartlabel-nut","url":"https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-nutrition.html","kind":"manufacturer","title":"Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Nutrition","licence":null,"locator":"Nutrition Facts: 1 serving per container, serving size 1 can","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-08-17","publisher":"PepsiCo","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"smartlabel-ing","url":"https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-ingredients.html","kind":"manufacturer","title":"Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Ingredients","licence":null,"locator":"Ingredients list; Juice Content 0%; Caffeine 38mg/12 fl oz; Wild Cherry Flavor With Other Natural Flavors","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-08-17","publisher":"PepsiCo","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"smartlabel-alg","url":"https://smartlabel.pepsico.info/012000008221-0001-en-US/68c2da64-8725-44bd-b750-5f132dbdff36-allergens.html","kind":"manufacturer","title":"Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry – SmartLabel Allergens","licence":null,"locator":"All Allergens tab: does not contain any of the FDA major food allergens","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-08-17","publisher":"PepsiCo","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"wildcherry","url":"https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pepsi_Wild_Cherry","kind":"publication","title":"Pepsi Wild Cherry","licence":"cc-by-sa-4.0","locator":"History and Availability: introduced 1988; sold in the US and Canada as a permanent product; Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry variant","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"Wikipedia","record_id":null,"attribution":"Wikipedia contributors"},{"ref":"gs1gdsn","url":"https://www.gs1.org/docs/gdsn/stats/gdsn_trading_partners.pdf","kind":"catalogue","title":"GS1: GDSN trading partners","licence":null,"locator":"PepsiCo GLN 0012000000010, issued from company prefix 0012000","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"GS1","record_id":null,"attribution":null},{"ref":"usda-63367","url":"https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2653677/nutrients","kind":"catalogue","title":"USDA FoodData Central: Wild Cherry Diet Soda, Cherry (fdc 2653677)","licence":"cc0","locator":"GTIN 0012000063367, 355 mL serving; brand owner Pepsi-Cola North America Inc.","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-10-26","publisher":"USDA","record_id":"2653677","attribution":"USDA FoodData Central"},{"ref":"usda-22012","url":"https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/food-details/2493737/nutrients","kind":"catalogue","title":"USDA FoodData Central: Wild Cherry Diet Cola, Wild Cherry (fdc 2493737)","licence":"cc0","locator":"GTIN 012000022012, 12 fl oz/355 mL; modified 2023-01-06; sucralose formula","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":"2023-03-16","publisher":"USDA","record_id":"2493737","attribution":"USDA FoodData Central"},{"ref":"dietpepsi","url":"https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diet_Pepsi","kind":"publication","title":"Diet Pepsi","licence":"cc-by-sa-4.0","locator":"Sweetener history: sucralose from August 2015, aspartame formula revived and later restored as the main sweetener","accessed":"2026-09-25","upstream":null,"published":null,"publisher":"Wikipedia","record_id":null,"attribution":"Wikipedia contributors"}],"ingredients":[{"id":"ing-water","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":1,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/carbonated-water","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Carbonated Water"},{"id":"ing-caramel","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"colour","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":2,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/caramel-colour","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Caramel Color"},{"id":"ing-phos","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"acid","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":3,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/phosphoric-acid","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Phosphoric Acid"},{"id":"ing-flavour","from":null,"kind":"label","note":"Wild cherry flavour with other natural flavours","role":"flavouring","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":4,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/natural-flavourings","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Natural Flavor"},{"id":"ing-aspartame","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"sweetener","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":5,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/aspartame","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Aspartame"},{"id":"ing-kbenz","from":null,"kind":"label","note":"\"Preserves Freshness\" on the label","role":"preservative","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":6,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/potassium-benzoate","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Potassium Benzoate"},{"id":"ing-kcit","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":7,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/potassium-citrate","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Potassium Citrate"},{"id":"ing-citric","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"acid","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":8,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/citric-acid","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Citric Acid"},{"id":"ing-caffeine","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":null,"basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":9,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/caffeine","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Caffeine"},{"id":"ing-acek","from":null,"kind":"label","note":null,"role":"sweetener","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":10,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/acesulfame-k","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Acesulfame Potassium"},{"id":"ing-edta","from":null,"kind":"label","note":"\"To Protect Flavor\" on the label","role":"antioxidant","basis":null,"state":null,"until":null,"market":null,"source":"^smartlabel-ing","percent":null,"position":11,"parent_id":null,"ingredient":"ingredient/calcium-disodium-edta","observation":"us-label","printed_name":"Calcium Disodium EDTA"}],"observations":[{"id":"us-label","kind":"label","note":"Read from the PepsiCo SmartLabel page for this UPC; product information updated 17-Aug-2023; USDA fdc 2653677 (12 fl oz can, 2023-10-26) gives the same list","label":"US label (SmartLabel)","market":["US"],"source":"^smartlabel-ing","status":"supported","language":"en","observed":"2026-09-25","valid_from":null,"net_content":{"unit":"floz","value":12},"pack_format":"can","piece_count":null,"valid_until":null,"model_number":null,"pack_quantity":null,"ingredients_text":"Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Phosphoric Acid, Natural Flavor, Aspartame, Potassium Benzoate (Preserves Freshness), Potassium Citrate, Citric Acid, Caffeine, Acesulfame Potassium, Calcium Disodium EDTA (To Protect Flavor)","ingredients_declaration":"listed","ingredients_exempt_basis":null}],"research_gaps":[{"state":"unknown","detail":"No single 12 fl oz can listing found on amazon.com on 2026-09-25: searched the barcode 012000008221, the full name \"Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry\", and the brand; only 12-can multipacks (a separate pack with its own barcode) are listed","domain":"markets","source":null,"observation":null},{"state":"unknown","detail":"No openly licensed front photo of this single 12 fl oz can was available; the PepsiCo SmartLabel image is not under an open licence. A community photo is requested","domain":"images","source":null,"observation":null},{"state":"unknown","detail":"country_of_origin is not stated on the SmartLabel page; the can is distributed by PepsiCo in the United States but no \"Product of\" line was available","domain":"identity","source":null,"observation":null},{"state":"disputed","detail":"Other Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry barcodes list a sucralose, acesulfame potassium and potassium sorbate formula in USDA Branded Foods (12 fl oz 012000022012, fdc 2493737, modified 2023-01-06), while PepsiCo SmartLabel for this UPC (updated 2023-08-17) and USDA records for the 12 fl oz can 0012000063367 (published 2023-10-26) give aspartame and potassium benzoate; 17-Aug-2023 is the earliest date tying this UPC to the aspartame list","domain":"ingredients","source":"^usda-22012","observation":"us-label"}],"nutrition_panels":[{"id":"us-can","note":"US Nutrition Facts; labelling voluntary for this product per the panel","basis":{"unit":"floz","value":12},"label":"Per can","source":"^smartlabel-nut","basis_note":"Serving size 1 can, 1 serving per container","basis_state":"as_sold","declaration":"transcribed","observation":"us-label","exempt_basis":null}],"nutrition_values":[{"note":null,"panel":"us-can","state":"known","value":0,"method":"printed","source":"^smartlabel-nut","nutrient":"energy_kcal","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":null,"printed_value":"0"},{"note":null,"panel":"us-can","state":"known","value":0,"method":"printed","source":"^smartlabel-nut","nutrient":"fat_g","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":0,"printed_value":"0 g"},{"note":null,"panel":"us-can","state":"known","value":35,"method":"printed","source":"^smartlabel-nut","nutrient":"sodium_mg","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":2,"printed_value":"35 mg"},{"note":null,"panel":"us-can","state":"known","value":0,"method":"printed","source":"^smartlabel-nut","nutrient":"carbohydrate_g","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":0,"printed_value":"0 g"},{"note":null,"panel":"us-can","state":"known","value":0,"method":"printed","source":"^smartlabel-nut","nutrient":"sugars_g","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":null,"printed_value":"0 g"},{"note":null,"panel":"us-can","state":"known","value":0,"method":"printed","source":"^smartlabel-nut","nutrient":"added_sugars_g","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":0,"printed_value":"0 g"},{"note":null,"panel":"us-can","state":"known","value":0,"method":"printed","source":"^smartlabel-nut","nutrient":"protein_g","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":null,"printed_value":"0 g"},{"note":"Caffeine content stated on the ingredients tab, per 12 fl oz","panel":"us-can","state":"known","value":38,"method":"printed","source":"^smartlabel-ing","nutrient":"caffeine_mg","qualifier":null,"value_max":null,"dv_percent":null,"printed_value":"38mg/12 fl oz"}]},"licences":{"database":"ODbL-1.0","text":"CC-BY-SA-4.0","images":"See each image record"}}